Mega Thread Delist/Trade/Draft Supermegaultrathread - Trade Period Edition

Fox Footy Analyst sinking the boot in:

"Since 2006 all clubs have made 9+ trades, except Essendon who have made 6. Same story every year, notoriously bad to deal with."

Interesting stat. Can't actually remember too many trades they've been involved in, other than somehow getting a first rounder from St Kilda for Lovett who never played a game for them.

Don't mind drafting shallow this year and upgrading our second pick with a FRINGE player to get a slider . That means we upgrade McGovern , tunners and bennell and have 3 rookie spots available . Who are we looking at in the rookie draft ? Ugle , Marlon Pickett , maybe another young Ruck ( Toby Nackervis ) or KPD how was Rodda's year ? Then Simpson can do his clean out next year in a supposedly deep draft

Wouldn't have thought we need another ruck if Sinclair is staying.

Should look at rookie-listing Cam Eardley from Geelong I reckon. Small quick defender, originally from East Freo, has shown a bit in the VFL and was unlucky to get the chop.

maxrm, are you sure your mate wasn't jealous/pulling the piss? I've heard quite the opposite and I think Bondy or ROYAL EAGLE posted on here that the Eagles? were quite surprised at how hard he did train and how much he wanted this opportunity.
Strange, 2 very conflicting reports though? :confused:

Yeah I've heard the same. I don't think he would've been jealous because he's an underage player (draft year 2014). If I had to hazard a guess I'd suggest that, as Happy Mastenator said, he's probably on a specialised training program outside of Subi Colts, and when he does make it to Colts training he does more so to bond with teammates etc rather than actually train hard.

Should look at rookie-listing Cam Eardley from Geelong I reckon. Small quick defender, originally from East Freo, has shown a bit in the VFL and was unlucky to get the chop.

He's had an opportunity and found to be not good enough. Would rather we went someone who hasn't had the chance and see what happens. Eardly will be available for a rookie list spot next year if shows more in the state leagues.

Wouldn't have thought we need another ruck if Sinclair is staying.

Yep, I rated Eardley at East Freo, could be worth a look, and he's probably a chance because we seem to be into taking Geelong castoffs in the rookie draft, *cough Bedford *cough. :D

He's had an opportunity and found to be not good enough. Would rather we went someone who hasn't had the chance and see what happens. Eardly will be available for a rookie list spot next year if shows more in the state leagues.

I agree, I want big modied midfielders from the VFL, SANFL and WAFL. Not delisted players from other clubs

He showed plenty but got squeezed out at Geelong, similar to Jon Simpkin last year who went on to get a premiership medal with the Hawks this year.

With most other teams I'd agree that we shouldn't be grabbing their discards (we've taken enough JONs and Bennells) but Geelong have a very deep list and are cutting players that don't deserve to be cut.

Yeah I've heard the same. I don't think he would've been jealous because he's an underage player (draft year 2014). If I had to hazard a guess I'd suggest that, as Happy Mastenator said, he's probably on a specialised training program outside of Subi Colts, and when he does make it to Colts training he does more so to bond with teammates etc rather than actually train hard.

this summed it up pretty well imo. He played league from the get go this year, so anytime spent down at colts training was probably just to see the boys. would've been training with the 18s as well as the league squad

One of the facebook pages is reporting that West Coast are showing significant interest in Varcoe now that GWS have knocked him back.

Not really keen on the idea of Varcoe. I can't see us getting him cheap and he is just a more injury prone and older version of Yarran. Still hoping that Yarran spits it with Carlton and demands a trade to WC. Adding Yarran, Yeo and Pick 6 in one offseason would be a success imo.

One of the facebook pages is reporting that West Coast are showing significant interest in Varcoe now that GWS have knocked him back.

Not really keen on the idea of Varcoe. I can't see us getting him cheap and he is just a more injury prone and older version of Yarran. Still hoping that Yarran spits it with Carlton and demands a trade to WC. Adding Yarran, Yeo and Pick 6 in one offseason would be a success imo.

The facebook page is a load of crap

People can't criticize Priddis and then praise Hutchings at the same time. Will be a bit part midfielder at most for this club if we are to go anywhere.

Not sure how you can come up with that line of thinking after 9 games from Hutch compared to Priddis's 150+. Hutch is already better skilled (can actually hit forward targets), tackles more (gotta be a club record 16 tackles in one game against Freo), doesnt get run away from on the turnover, can kick goals and doesnt handball to a teammate standing next to him as much as Priddis. I'd give him at least 50 games before you write him off. Confidence is a massive thing, if he gets confident at AFL level like he is at WAFL level you might find he plays a more substantial role in our midfield. I'd also agree that he could play the high half forwad role or defensive forward role for us as well, going by his goal kicking ability in the WAFL and his tackling ability shown so far. We wont know til we try.

Yarran is contracted, right? If so, it would be hard to get him and keep pick 6.

If Adam Simpson is putting a premium on 'football intelligence' and 'feel for the game' who do you think would be trade bait? I'm thinking Ash Smith, Brad Sheppard and Jacob Brennan.

Yarran is contracted, right? If so, it would be hard to get him and keep pick 6.

Yep he is but he also isn't worth anything near pick 6. He would have to demand a trade to us and Carlton let him go this year for something rather than risk losing him for nothing next year. It's unlikely I know, but would be nice.

If Varcoe wasn't so injury prone i would be interested but he has not been the same since he kept getting injured last year/this year.

Yeah, i can't actually remember the last really good game he played since the 2011 Grand Final..always seems to be injured.

He showed plenty but got squeezed out at Geelong, similar to Jon Simpkin last year who went on to get a premiership medal with the Hawks this year.

With most other teams I'd agree that we shouldn't be grabbing their discards (we've taken enough JONs and Bennells) but Geelong have a very deep list and are cutting players that don't deserve to be cut.

If Eardly was any good, they would have kept and traded. Simpkin is different in that he's 25 and was a mature body who could provide depth. Pass.