Doggies seek legal advice re Akker

Re: Doggies Sue Akker

And I quote

"A member of the Johnson camp said last night: "He will have to be incredibly careful. He can have opinions, but as soon as he starts alleging different versions of events, he would want to have a big bank.""

Nothing to do with drug allegations mate. Brad Johnson doesn't want Jason Akermanis to make public his opinion on him.

Like DapperDon said before, loks like they have something to hide

Why can't they just get an injunction against him stating any facts about the club ?..it's worked for other clubs in the past .

Aker doesn't know the difference. That's the problem.

As far as we are aware Akermanis hasn't implicated any Dog players with drugs. In fact, the only names that have been leaked so far have been players from other clubs.

It was more putting 2 and 2 together about the defamation case.

I agree with you - if anyone is to accuse you of taking drugs - having Aker do it - isn't quite as damaging.

Haha yeah cos Aker was playing so well. Willy would be a better side if Aker was still playing

Hang on. He was injured, took a month off to get his hamstring right and got 20+ disposals and kicked 5 goals for Willy...then you sacked him.

On the other hand, Brad Johnson, also injured, took a month off, played for Willy and racked up the enormous stats of 17 touches, no goals and no tackles and 'earnt' an immediate recall.

I know who I would have sacked :thumbsu:

Hang on. He was injured, took a month off to get his hamstring right and got 20+ disposals and kicked 5 goals for Willy...then you sacked him.

On the other hand, Brad Johnson, also injured, took a month off, played for Willy and racked up the enormous stats of 17 touches, no goals and no tackles and 'earnt' an immediate recall.

I know who I would have sacked :thumbsu:

Oh come on. Akermanis did not have a man all day in that game and Williamstown had a thumping victory. I also have mates who are involved at Williamstown and they said he was creating trouble down there as well.

Johnson's been pretty good this year when he hasn't been injured anyway. But yea, continue trolling a true top bloke and defending an absolute arseh*le.

I love all this sort of he said, she said stuff, it just makes all involved look like a bunch of tools, its like a soap opera for men. Its gold. Personally I dont mind aker, so many of the footy players are boring clones, and at least this guy has a personality (even if he is a freak). The dogs have brought this whole mess onto themselves anyway so I have no sympathy for them. And if aker does make comments about gay or drug using players I would dare those accused to go to court to sue, then we would all know who and what they were allegedly up to. It would just be another big circus "No your honour I am not a pillow bighter and I dont I am not on the crack pipe". Where there is smoke there is fire, and aker wouldnt be stupid enough to go around making unfounded statements. I used to think aker was stupid, but he is stupid like a fox.

Can anyone at all tell me that if a player on their list revealed info from team meetings to media identities, blatantly lied to the club about whether an article had been doctored or not to try and save his own bacon, ridiculed VFL footballers and slagged off current team mates in a book they wouldn't have a problem with it and would side with the player and not the club?

Has anyone here actually played any type of sport? Would you be happy playing with someone who did the same things?

I love all this sort of he said, she said stuff, it just makes all involved look like a bunch of tools, its like a soap opera for men. Its gold. Personally I dont mind aker, so many of the footy players are boring clones, and at least this guy has a personality (even if he is a freak). The dogs have brought this whole mess onto themselves anyway so I have no sympathy for them. And if aker does make comments about gay or drug using players I would dare those accused to go to court to sue, then we would all know who and what they were allegedly up to. It would just be another big circus "No your honour I am not a pillow bighter and I dont I am not on the crack pipe". Where there is smoke there is fire, and aker wouldnt be stupid enough to go around making unfounded statements. I used to think aker was stupid, but he is stupid like a fox.

How is it possibly his business to out AFL footballers? Why is it anyones business?

This whole sorry saga reminds me of an old saying

"You keep you friends close and your enemies closer"

Dogs have bought all this upon themselves by sacking him out of nowhere. When I say nowhere I mean that most of the public issues had blown over already and there was no immediate issue that brought his sacking to a head. They should have kept him close and kept him quiet till the ned of the year. By sacking him they made it a public issue and how they thought that he would just go away quietly is beyond me.

Terible handling of the situation by the dogs and the whole scenario just reeks of a club that has no idea what it takes to be successful. My opinion is that the doggies think where they are now is thier idea of success and don't have the drive or know how to make that next little step to actual success.

Can anyone at all tell me that if a player on their list revealed info from team meetings to media identities, blatantly lied to the club about whether an article had been doctored or not to try and save his own bacon, ridiculed VFL footballers and slagged off current team mates in a book they wouldn't have a problem with it and would side with the player and not the club?

Has anyone here actually played any type of sport? Would you be happy playing with someone who did the same things?

Yes I would be pissed but if you sleep with a dog you get fleas. You let akker into the club fully aware of his colourful personality then treated him like poop. Your club has made its bed now you have to lie in it. If anyone is going to sue anyone it would be aker suing the dogs for unfair dismissal and workplace bullying. I am no legal expert but I reckon he would have a good case and he may well be just waiting till the timing is right to go you for big $$$.

The more the Bulldogs squeal & moan about what may be in the book, the more it appears that there is indeed something they want to hide.

Why would your club endorse his role in the media?

Is it the medias role to out gay footballers?

Many many people in the AFL would know of gay footballers, only one person is classless enough to go around telling strangers about it

Yes I would be pissed but if you sleep with a dog you get fleas. You let akker into the club fully aware of his colourful personality then treated him like poop. Your club has made its bed now you have to lie in it. If anyone is going to sue anyone it would be aker suing the dogs for unfair dismissal and workplace bullying. I am no legal expert but I reckon he would have a good case and he may well be just waiting till the timing is right to go you for big $$$.

You're no legal expert but you think Aker should be suing the Dogs for big bucks for unfair dismissal and workplace bullying! Thanks for sharing that with us.

He was fully payed out his contract, you have no idea if you think he will be able to succesfully sue us.

That is exactly why he can sue you. If he had breached his contract, as suggested, then you would not have to pay him out. The fact you paid him out is an admission that he hasnt breached his contract.

Ie at my workplace we are not allowed to access internet pr0n. If I did I would be sacked and would receive none of my entitlements. Its all speculation and I am no legal expert but the lawyer at my work seems to think that aker may have a good case.

This whole sorry saga reminds me of an old saying

"You keep you friends close and your enemies closer"

Dogs have bought all this upon themselves by sacking him out of nowhere. When I say nowhere I mean that most of the public issues had blown over already and there was no immediate issue that brought his sacking to a head. They should have kept him close and kept him quiet till the ned of the year. By sacking him they made it a public issue and how they thought that he would just go away quietly is beyond me.

Terible handling of the situation by the dogs and the whole scenario just reeks of a club that has no idea what it takes to be successful. My opinion is that the doggies think where they are now is thier idea of success and don't have the drive or know how to make that next little step to actual success.

I can see how having a player that was clearly on the nose and not wanted amongst a large portion of senior players and basically the clubs entire management structure would have been a lot less harmful than getting rid of him.

Particularly if he had to play in the two's at Willy every week because he wasn't in good enough form at the highest level because he was past it and nobody wanted to play with him. No way would he be shooting his gob off on the radio and in the papers on a daily basis. That would have been great for the club, what were they thinking.

Think before you post.

That is exactly why he can sue you. If he had breached his contract, as suggested, then you would not have to pay him out. The fact you paid him out is an admission that he hasnt breached his contract.

Maybe it's because he's a vindictive and narcissistic little shit so it would be better off just paying him off so he'd shut up.

You're no legal expert but you think Aker should be suing the Dogs for big bucks for unfair dismissal and workplace bullying! Thanks for sharing that with us.

Thanks for sharing your opinion as well. After all that is what a internet forum is all about isnt it?, just because I have an opinion that you dont like is no reason to get your knickers in a knot.

Ie at my workplace we are not allowed to access internet pr0n. If I did I would be sacked and would receive none of my entitlements. Its all speculation and I am no legal expert but the lawyer at my work seems to think that aker may have a good case.

At Akers workplace he isn't allowed to divulge information from team meetings or lie to everyone at the club.

Many many people who get given the flick still get their contract paid out. Most people who are sacked and sue is for a loss of earnings, he hasn't had a loss because he was paid out.

Thanks for sharing your opinion as well. After all that is what a internet forum is all about isnt it?, just because I have an opinion that you dont like is no reason to get your knickers in a knot.

I guess I was just a little surprised that somebody who has no legal exptertise and has limited understanding of the reasons why Aker was sacked (other than of course, the purely objective version events Aker has sprayed all over the media and the two or so vague statements released by the Bulldogs) would suggest that Aker should sue for the big bucks. Kind of seemed a little bit silly, that's all.

They are an old side who have at best one year left in their premiership window. And they want further Aker-related distractions? Forget about him. It's going to be almost impossible for them to win the thing without Cooney and Morris. It will be impossible if their minds are anywhere near Aker.

lol. We beat Fremantle in round 18 by 80 points, with 9 kids on the field who have played under 50 games. Freo had 8 kids under 50 games. Is Freo's window closed? Our old guys have given us nothing this year and we sit in 4th spot. Scott Clayton has left us in great shape, with no need to bottom out.

We have enjoyed top 4 three years in a row now and will still be in better shape moving forward than your mob. Suck it up.

Oh, and we have two gun midfielders locked in for next year in Libratore and Wallis, in an extremely compromised draft. Shit.

Doggies seek legal advice re Akker