Autopsy Dogs beaten by Port 107-85

Keath is ******* s**t, along with O’Brien, gardner and co, bevo has had years to rectify this situation.. imagine if we didn’t pick up Jones
Whatever you think of Keath right now he has been a good pickup overall. You would have hoped that Gardner would have gone past him by now.

When it’s all your forwards surely you have to stop looking at individuals and turn your attention to the coaching.
At another individual?

There's plenty of blame to go around. From recruitment. To players. To coaches.

This is a team that is seriously out of balance. It's too tall and slow. It feels like a team built for a game that is no longer relevant. Teams with pace and a willingness to get forward of the ball beat up on us every single time. For the first time in living memory I didn't tip us win tonight for the reasons I just outlined. The problem is that the cupboard underneath is almost bare of guys who can come in and bring a sense of change to this team. Its all journeymen who've we've seen enough of or kids in their first seasons who on the face of it haven't been very impressive for the most part.

Just done with this to be honest, yeah the players have a lot to answer for. I mean Bruce played one of the worst games you’ll ever see, Arty had zero touches, our skills just deplorable but ****. This team has the same issues we’ve had for as long as I can remember.

It’s ****ing coaching man, it doesn’t matter who plays we struggle with the same ****ing things, we make the same mistakes, we haven’t improved a thing. At some point the people in charge have to take some ****ing accountability, maybe the list is shit BUT YOU ****ING BUILT THIS LIST. You built a list full of these weaknesses.

Enoughs enough, we can’t sack 35 players but we sure as shit can sack ****ing 6 shit coaches and one shit head coach. Enough is enough, just **** off Bevo, if you’ve got any bloody respect for this club you will walk away and let us start again.

Literally the same problems week in week out for 6 years like it’s ****ing over bro, you’re not turning this shit show around

I haven't seen Rylee West's name mentioned yet. What do people think of his game? To me, he lacks pace and agility. He's a good kick for goal but just doesn't impact enough. I've got serious doubts he's going to make it but at least he should be given a few more games to see if he can settle in to a useful role.
SPUD!

Two weeks in a row, we conceded multiple goals going back into the corridor. Can’t we play a simpler game plan?

Then we didn’t defend the corridor at all when the ball reached the flanks and wings. Lots of easy goals simply because of poor defensive structure.

Really had enough of the poor tactical nous of this coaching group.

I’ve been over Beveridge for ages.

His stubbornness and pig-headedness drives me absolutely mental.

Refusal to tag, selection debacles, no need for goal kicking practice.

The skill errors we coughed up goals from tonight aren’t his fault but his refusal to adapt and work on issues that are obvious problems just shits me to no end.

I genuinely don’t understand how anyone who has watched our games since the 2021 GF could have any different opinion.

He has been great for the club overall, but he’s killing it now.

At another individual?

There's plenty of blame to go around. From recruitment. To players. To coaches.

This is a team that is seriously out of balance. It's too tall and slow. It feels like a team built for a game that is no longer relevant. Teams with pace and a willingness to get forward of the ball beat up on us every single time. For the first time in living memory I didn't tip us win tonight for the reasons I just outlined. The problem is that the cupboard underneath is almost bare of guys who can come in and bring a sense of change to this team. Its all journeymen who've we've seen enough of or kids in their first seasons who on the face of it haven't been very impressive for the most part.

Get Busslinger in, get Clarke in, get Poulter, Khamis and Cleary in - give us something to look forward to.

While you're at it, get rid of Beveridge and start looking for a new coach. A coach that picks a team that has a chance of winning every week rather than losing the game before the bounce.

Jones and West had 5 tackles in forward 50 between them. They both applied good fwd pressure, just a shame they only played 2/3rds of the game.
You're happy for 2 guys who played predominantly in the forward half having a combined 9 disposals and one goal between them then?

You're much easier pleased than I am. It would seem.

Bevo’s Brief is going to be must see. “Didn’t make the most of our opportunities”, “A disappointing night”, “We’ll learn from this”, “Not playing like a formidable opponent”.

Frustrating game to lose, but there were a number of positives.

1. Despite people trying to sound reasonable by saying the umpiring didn't make a difference. It absolutely did.
The umpiring was disgraceful, and its impact was easily large enough to have made the difference between winning and losing this match. So, when you consider Port are a one of the top sides, at full strength, and on a winning run/streak of hot form, to be able to compete with them so strongly suggests we mustn't have been all that bad.

2. We had a bunch of players come back into the side, so it's not surprising some of them were a bit rusty. Bruce had a bad night but before he got hurt he was going ok, so let's not get too carried away over one bad game. Keath also made some mistakes but did a bunch of good things too.

3. Arty Jones and O'Donnell both really shouldn't have played tonight and need to go back to the VFL for a rest and some further development. It's hard to make too many changes in one week for fear of disrupting the side too much. I would definitely have kept O'Brien instead of O'Donnell in the side this week, but I consider both these mistakes as carry overs from selection mistakes made in the previous fortnight.

4. Our core players are amazingly consistent but even the best players can have off nights. Some occasional ups and downs are understandable particularly given the enormous load they have to carry, and many of them have clearly been dealing with a few injuries so we need to keep things in perspective.

5. We might have lost a game we would have liked to win but we were certainly not at full strength and didn't get the rub of the green, so should try to look on the bright side. We are clearly still competitive, and finals aren't played in June.

Go Dogs!

Get Busslinger in, get Clarke in, get Poulter, Khamis and Cleary in - give us something to look forward to.

While you're at it, get rid of Beveridge and start looking for a new coach. A coach that picks a team that has a chance of winning every week rather than losing the game before the bounce.
Cleary is the only one from that lot who has a justifiable claim on a spot in my view.

The others would be in the Johns/JO'D camp of getting games for reasons.

Lets be honest. We are a mid table team.

Defence is to old, and to slow. That is on the list management team for neglecting the defence until it was way to late. The unit has been ordinary for ages. We recruit a good interceptor in Keath, then make him play man. We recruit O'Brien who was ordinary at Hawks.

Our trade targets have been s***thouse. Can we please stop trading for other teams players? Hannan, Lobb, O'Brien etc. Stop drafting from the VFL team to, another long list of non impact players. Stick to the actual draft because it seems like thats the only thing we are getting right.

The midfield is a little overrated. Great at the clearances today. But we let Port go coast to coast for at least half a dozen goals tonight. We are to slow to chase down small mobile players like Butters. And they walked it out to easily when they do win the ball in the middle. How many times we let teams score a goal seconds after we goal is annoying.

English.... every single season the last two or three years. Has a hot start. "Oh finally, he is breaking out" Then vanishes for the rest of the year. Normally after an injury. But aside from a big game last week, been smashed in the ruck a couple of games before hand, and then again tonight.

Smith. Send him to the army. Maybe then he could be taught to hit a target. He is actually ranked the worst in the AFL just about for his kicks inside 50 being marked by a tea mate. Was like one mark from 40 kicks inside 50 or something, based on a stat I saw the other day. Where Miers from Geelong has like half of his kicks inside 50 hit a target.

Richards is the only elite two way half back we have, maybe even JJ. Not sure what has happened to Dale. Has fallen away big time this season. No longer damaging.

Forward line was much better tonight. Set shots in the first half was probably the only thing I can point out. But our set ups from their kick ins was slow and lazy at times. Anyone see Bont in the fourth quarter, waving at Weightman to pick up his man inside the middle of the 50m arc, but Weightman is too busy f**king around and looking behind him, despite Bont yelling heaps. Port kicks it out to the open man, and they kick to the middle of the ground. Bont went off at Weightman.

Port were just to clean with the ball. Out played us most of the game, so the result is fair.
Did you watch Smith today? Honestly yeah he’s a shit kick for the most part (Although was pretty good today) but does anyone who criticised him actually go to a ****ing game? His work ethic compared to every other campaigner on our list is off the charts. We don’t have a midfielder who gut runs like he does, not many clubs would. The bloke tries his ****ing guts out and yeah he shanks a few but can you blame him? Smith was probably our best midfielder tonight, bar maybe Libba, let’s look elsewhere to lay the blame

Bevo’s Brief is going to be must see. “Didn’t make the most of our opportunities”, “A disappointing night”, “We’ll learn from this”, “Not playing like a formidable opponent”.

He may as well just record the above three quote into a tape recorder and send the work experience kid out to the presser with instructions just to press play.

1. Despite people trying to sound reasonable by saying the umpiring didn't make a difference. It absolutely did.
The umpiring was disgraceful, and its impact was easily large enough to have made the difference between winning and losing this match. So, when you consider Port are a one of the top sides, at full strength, and on a winning run/streak of hot form, to be able to compete with them so strongly suggests we mustn't have been all that bad.

2. We had a bunch of players come back into the side, so it's not surprising some of them were a bit rusty. Bruce had a bad night but before he got hurt he was going ok, so let's not get too carried away over one bad game. Keath also made some mistakes but did a bunch of good things too.

3. Arty Jones and O'Donnell both really shouldn't have played tonight and need to go back to the VFL for a rest and some further development. It's hard to make too many changes in one week for fear of disrupting the side too much. I would definitely have kept O'Brien instead of O'Donnell in the side this week, but I consider both these mistakes as carry overs from selection mistakes made in the previous fortnight.

4. Our core players are amazingly consistent but even the best players can have off nights. Some occasional ups and downs are understandable particularly given the enormous load they have to carry, and many of them have clearly been dealing with a few injuries so we need to keep things in perspective.

5. We might have lost a game we would have liked to win but we were certainly not at full strength and didn't get the rub of the green, so should try to look on the bright side. We are clearly still competitive, and finals aren't played in June.

Go Dogs!

Give us a spell. We've lost three in a row. One against a team of kids, one against a side with a bunch of its stars out and one against a team we dominated on the stats sheet but were shredded through the middle (And by the umps).

All three winnable (first two especially) and now 7-6 will be out of the eight and officially a sputtering, stuttering, impotent, ironically too tall and slow, going nowhere team.

We have a coach that ran out of answers years ago and a coaching group that never had any answers to start with and a President, CEO and Head of Football who will never have the courage to say 'enough' and make the changes the club so desperately needs.

• JUH really coming along well now. Fix up his goalkicking and he can kick 50+ next year. Taking too many shots from around 50m due to poor ball movement and structure
  • Subbing out JOD is hopefully a sign that we’ve finally realised we’re too tall
  • Macrae seriously needs to lift. Too many missing players
  • Libba, Treloar and Caleb great again
  • Dropping Gardner and TOB at once was a disaster waiting to happen. Changing half your backline without clear personnel improvements is never going to work
  • Thought Vandermeer looked ok at halfback. We will severely miss JJ and Richards but he wasn’t an issue tonight
  • Predictably, kicking letting us down yet again. Gifting teams turnovers and can’t convert shots on goal
  • No idea why we continue to switch when we don’t have numbers on the other side. We’ve probably done it 10 times in the past 2 weeks and hasn’t paid off once

Just noticed that we lost the tackle count, pretty poor effort considering we lost the match by 4 goals. B. Smith just the 1 tackle from 2 attempts.

Port players walked through an incredible number of tackle attempts. It’s been a feature for a number of years but the excuse at the start was that we were a young team and those tackles will eventually stick. They aren’t sticking.

If you feel like spewing, watch the last 1:51 in the 3rd quarter. We miss 5 tackle attempts from the ball up alone before JHF gets it away, then somehow get away with not conceding a goal at the end of it.

Did Macrae even attend a centre bounce tonight? I can't recall seeing him. But i can recall Libba and Treloar looking absolutely spent in the last. What idiot makes these decisions. Why wouldnt you rotate all our mids through.

I'm a big believer about setting the tone at the start of the game - to start both Macrae and B.Smith on the bench is very risky. Best players should be on at the start.

Thought VDM was solid down back for his first time, hopefully something to work with and happy to give him some time there. May not always work but we need to know either way.

Again, obviously too tall, and swinging JOD all over the ground how does that help his development. At one stage Keith was playing on SPP and JOD on someone half his height. What a disaster decision to play all these talls. So obvious it wont work.

Ports transition was amazing, that's a well drilled team where everyone knows their role which creates that nice connection between back, mid and forward. Our coaching and selection will never get to that.

I swear there were more Geelong supporters last week than dogs supporters this week. Pretty sad really and i reckon the players would have noticed it.

Go Dogs!
Blaming umpires for the loss? What about the games they’ve helped us win??? Before tonight we had 40 more free kicks than the next team. Don’t give me the umpires chestnut

Autopsy Dogs beaten by Port 107-85