Autopsy Dogs beaten by Port 107-85

This emotional disconnect some of us are feeling for our players is strange.

Who would make you sad if they weren't on the list next year?

Bont obvs. Libba of course. Richards. After that, can't say I really get fired up or inspired by many others.

On SM-S916B using BigFooty.com mobile app
In addition to those three...

Daniel, Naughton, Williams, Marra, Treloar, Weightman, Darcy, L.Jones, English and maybe Dale.

im extremely envious of Collingwood's coaching panel. Mcraes smart enough to get some very experienced former senior coaches to assist him, meanwhile we have several VFL level coaches who are basically "yes men" for the didictator.
I wish the bloke controlling the forward line had vfl level experience as a coach

That backline was truly awful, both personnel and structure wise. Bruce simply cannot play a game in defence for us ever again and O’Donnell needs to go back to the VFL to develop and learn for the rest of the year. VDM was promising and worth persevering with while Ed & JJ are out.

Bruce & O’Donnell out to be replaced with any 2 of Cleary, Crozier or Busslinger. We need people that can actually use the ball well coming out of defence.

Much the same as Bruce had a mare. Fair chance Allir goes to JUH who then doesn’t impact.

What ifs are hard to take a position on and there are always different views.

Naughton forward is a known quantity 2 goal a game forward across the last 2 and a half years.

As a defender we have a small sample size.

Do you think he would be better as a higher forward than being the deepest forward?
Just over 1 and a bit against the better teams

On SM-G996B using BigFooty.com mobile app

if any of you undervalue the importance of good ball use out of defensive 50, I will remind you that our opposition tonight play an extremely undersized 190cm player in Mckenzie as their full back. Sure he may lose 1/2 extra aerial contests but he hits targets every time and can also use his kicking to open the zone up. Meanwhile our 2/3rd KPD's jump all over each other, prevent each other from intercepting and then kick or handball directly to opposition.

I'd rather we go undersized and efficient rather than tall and clunky.

O’Donnell’s continued selection is truly one of the strangest things to occur in V/AFL history that even Columbo wouldn’t be able to work it out.

Anyone could see he was miles off the pace of the game after his first match. He definitely has talent and I can why we picked him up as a Cat B but how is he going to learn and get confidence by being thrown on the likes of Stewart and co week after week?
Just another of Bevs "I'm smarter than everyone else" continued selections.

That backline was truly awful, both personnel and structure wise. Bruce simply cannot play a game in defence for us ever again and O’Donnell needs to go back to the VFL to develop and learn for the rest of the year. VDM was promising and worth persevering with while Ed & JJ are out.

Bruce & O’Donnell out to be replaced with any 2 of Cleary, Crozier or Busslinger. We need people that can actually use the ball well coming out of defence.
How about just moving Bruce back to where we know he can play very well at this level and see if he has anything left in the tank

We have no idea how to move the ball forward. So many pointless turnovers messing around at half back. Doesn’t help when JJ & Ed are out, but they are so try being more direct.

No sure if Jones touched the ball tonight. Bruce gave up 4 first half goals. Keith was fine.

Always felt like a game where we would always be 2+ goals down for the 2nd half and that’s how it played out. Every time we scored, they responded straight out of the guts and to goal

if any of you undervalue the importance of good ball use out of defensive 50, I will remind you that our opposition tonight play an extremely undersized 190cm player in Mckenzie as their full back. Sure he may lose 1/2 extra aerial contests but he hits targets every time and can also use his kicking to open the zone up. Meanwhile our 2/3rd KPD's jump all over each other, prevent each other from intercepting and then kick or handball directly to opposition.

I'd rather we go undersized and efficient rather than tall and clunky.
I wanted Logue for this role, or otherwise for us to draft Weddle. Pity North threw such stupid money at Logue

I chickened out and decided not to make the 2+ hour drive each way. You're a better man than me GJ. Last week was enough to make me realise that I can spend 5 hours driving and three hours at the ground much more productively and happily than I can be watching schoolyard footy.
Felt I owed them Mutt, as I was crook last week (although was happy to miss the Cats game anyway). I'll be there for the remaining home games - I'm a glutton for punishment! Plus it's one of the few opportunities to catch up with friends and some family who all sit with us or nearby. Just taking a break now at Rock bank roadhouse - even more of a glutton for punishment reading the autopsy thread over my coffee!

How about just moving Bruce back to where we know he can play very well at this level and see if he has anything left in the tank

I realise he's not being played in his preferred position currently but that bad form is going to follow him wherever he plays. He looks physically and mentally gone.

I haven't seen Rylee West's name mentioned yet. What do people think of his game? To me, he lacks pace and agility. He's a good kick for goal but just doesn't impact enough. I've got serious doubts he's going to make it but at least he should be given a few more games to see if he can settle in to a useful role.

Felt I owed them Mutt, as I was crook last week (although was happy to miss the Cats game anyway). I'll be there for the remaining home games - I'm a glutton for punishment! Plus it's one of the few opportunities to catch up with friends and some family who all sit with us or nearby. Just taking a break now at Rock bank roadhouse - even more of a glutton for punishment reading the autopsy thread over my coffee!
Maybe I'll run into you at the footy mate. Good on you for going. I'll be there for the North game but sometimes the thought of the time involved in watching the game live is hard to justify. We need some change at the top and in the coaching panel to motivate me.

The losses will continue if Naughton stays forward especially with Bruce worse on ground in defense. Even AJ was better than Bruce without a touch.

Lets see how many people are still defending Naughton forward come seasons end

North will get up next week

Think people are being overly harsh on English.

Had a shocker tonight no doubt, but been just about our best player so far this year.
Yes he's had some very good games. Not as a ruckman though.

It's been as a midfielder who is conveniently very tall and can take some useful grabs at either end of the ground. His best rucking efforts have been when he has perhaps broken even in the hitouts. I can't think of a game where he has dominated in that area, which is essentially what a ruckman is for.

Wouldn't mind seeing his For/Agst stats in the HOs and HOTAs to see if my impressions are correct. Do you have something on that OG?

I realise he's not being played in his preferred position currently but that bad form is going to follow him wherever he plays. He looks physically and mentally gone.
Maybe, but given where our season is heading play him forward to find out and when Darcy is fit put him forward.

Naughton is not improving anything forward but could be the May/Lever or Darcy Moore type defender we are missing

I haven't seen Rylee West's name mentioned yet. What do people think of his game? To me, he lacks pace and agility. He's a good kick for goal but just doesn't impact enough. I've got serious doubts he's going to make it but at least he should be given a few more games to see if he can settle in to a useful role.
He was okay, not terrible. Couple of fumbles when he should have been off but some good moments like setting up the treloar goal. Kicked a set shot too so there's a lot more problems than him right now

Extremely early days but the Weddle thing is haunting me. Still don’t see it with Busslinger.
Buss I wasn’t that keen on (really wanted Weddle) but I’ve liked him to a degree so far. Clarke I’ve seen absolutely nothing from though. I wanted Brayden George or Lachie Cowan with that pick :/

A disappointing result for sure. Don’t think we were as bad as last week, thought we played decently for a large period of the game but as is so often the case, we missed chances when we were on top of the game and gave too many chances in the periods when they were on top.

The third quarter we were particularly poor and were lucky to not be further down, in saying that we survived some opportunities from them, got the Bont goal to keep us closer than we should have been and then immediately give a goal back and be a fair way behind at 3QT. Fourth quarter we were brilliant early, comeback looked on for sure but the two goal swing from the Baker shepherd that never gets paid sucked all hope and the bridge was too big to climb. First quarter was classic Bulldogs, right on top of general play, miss a heap of chances, go in to the break behind against all odds.

Daniel was fantastic again I thought, in really good touch. Thought Bont and Libba were also fantastic all night, Macrae was instrumental when we were making a comeback. More good signs from Jamarra too, keeps building and can’t wait to see the finished product. Going to be a player. A couple of really poor performances, Bruce had an absolute stinker. Ball just kept following him in the first and he kept making mistakes. Shame for him because he seems like a really likeable person but not sure we see much more AFL from him. English had his worst performance of the year by a long way. He looked off from the first bounce. Don’t know if he is sore from rucking alone all year, or if he is ill, but the body language looked off straight away and really didn’t impose himself at all. He’s been unbelievable all season and bad games can happen to everyone but that was the bad English for the first time this year.

We are selecting 2 too many talls across the park. Both can be taken out of defensive and swapped in for runners. I'd pick Cleary and Crozier until Richards and JJ are ready to return.

I can deal with conceeding contested marks inside defensive 50. I can't deal with basic turnovers that are leading to an extra 4-5 easy goals to opposition. Kills us every time.

O'donnell in defence playing on Powell Pepper makes **** all sense.

When a team kicks out from a behind. There is 22 of our players in front of them. The coast to coast thing is a team thing, not a small forward thing. We failed to stop the transition, all 22 players.

Small forward pressure is mainly about the loose ball or live action inside the 50m arc itself. They also cannot do to much when the midfield turn it over kicking directly to a Port player either. Jones had 6 tackles, that is more than all but Vandermeer. Was a good defensive game, just a very poor offensive game.

Our whole team was poor defending, not just our small forwards.
Most of the Ports Coast to coast goals came out of general play in our forward half. This is where small forwards are expected to earn their keep. They are there to apply defensive pressure and to gather the ground ball and you know...get more than 0 disposals. One would think that with more than 50 forward entries would could expect a little more than that

The fact is that he averages 3.8 kicks, 4.5 handballs, lays 2.9 tackles and kicks 0.4 goals a game and is a emblematic of what is wrong with this side. Especially the dysfunctional forward half.

Nobody expects Jones to gather 20 possessions and kick 5 goals. However, 0 is just unacceptable at this level.

He should've been dropped weeks ago. He is getting games because there is literally nothing to replace hime with.

Autopsy Dogs beaten by Port 107-85