Play Nice Dusty Incident #chopstickgate [$5k suspended fine - Club Statement Page 229 of Thread]

To be blunt how he copes with the punishment should not be a consideration

It's about ensuring the sanction is appropriate considering his actions
It should be in the context of things.But hey lets like many others just wipe our hands of him and move on.
As for the sanction,Susan has accepted his apology.If she didn't then the police would be involved.

It should be in the context of things.But hey lets like many others just wipe our hands of him and move on.
As for the sanction,Susan has accepted his apology.If she didn't then the police would be involved.

I can only refer to the age article - where it sounds like a referral to the cops from us and the afl is still a serious consideration

In all of this tho...any punishment must fit the injustice, real or perceived. And when precedents have been set, or not, we are rightly allowed to compare the standard allegedly being upheld.

Lol the irony is a C7 female employee calling Dusty to account, the media in uproar & yet C7/MMM have Wayne Carey up in headlights. Carey gripped a boob when he was building his greatest CHF resume, and did some 'super' things In retirement.

lol! Carey - Mr Moral. He should be the last person to comment on this after his past behaviours.

As per the age article, apparently if the afl/RFC believe the lady felt at risk of physical harm, they will refer to the cops. If she didn't, and he's just a rude drunk flog, the league will handle in house

100% pure speculation, but if a year is in play it would be in conjunction with this being booted to the cops
Don't you think if this was going to the cops then it would've by now. This woman has accepted an over the phone apology and again in person with Dusty and the club, Maybe all she wanted to do was let the club know privately that Dusty was making a dick of himself and never imagined this would descend into the hysteria it has become but C7 got wind and went public. I think level heads in the AFL and RFC will net out a suitable punishment and not succumb to media and public hysterics.

**** this shit...at the end of the day, he has had everything handed to him to get his life in order, from f***ing cooking classes to all types of get better shit and this bone head just dont get it....one of his biggest fans up until now...get rid of him asap..DGAF where he plays or how he plays, we are bigger than that..Dan Connors copped a bullet and Dustin was complicit, other shit has gone down and we have sucked our thumbs...now its time to cut our losses..tell his manager Carr to book return tickets to inspect the GWS facilities from now !!
You whine and dribble goo to much dude, stop talking

Don't you think if this was going to the cops then it would've by now. This woman has accepted an over the phone apology and again in person with Dusty and the club, Maybe all she wanted to do was let the club know privately that Dusty was making a dick of himself and never imagined this would descend into the hysteria it has become but C7 got wind and went public. I think level heads in the AFL and RFC will net out a suitable punishment and not succumb to media and public hysterics.

Apparently a big factor in the decision was going to be how dusty answered certain questions in his interview with the afl today

Just my guess, I think they have decided he's ****ed. It's only how ****ed that's in question

heres my new propasal

misses 3 nab challenge games

$10,000 fine

$10,000 donation to one of those feminist groups

alcohol and anger management counselling for 6 months

Theres no chance he wont learn from the above. Suspending him for regular season games does nothing

theres nothing worse than having to go to counsellin all tired and shit

done. move on

Not much of an integrity dept at the AFL if they choose that path.

Why? It's putting it in the hands of the cops who have stronger investigative and punitive measures available to them

If they handball they are saying the incident is more serious than one that can be handled in house

lol! Carey - Mr Moral. He should be the last person to comment on this after his past behaviours.
Caution mate, not saying he has or will...but his very existence, let alone hi profile especially at C7, makes me wonder why the medja are running so hard on this.

New break on C7 today said Dusty awaits the AFL sanction after his rampage...inflammatory indeed!

I posted earlier that Dusty needs a break & counselling.

I shall take a tangent position now...if he was charged, like some have in the past, would he still be allowed to play?

And if he isn't charged but sent on a bloody long stretch, do we pay his contract? Will he come back after say a year at the relative level he should be? Do we carve up his contract amongst the list because of the extra load? Can we get another player?

This stuff has major downstream implications. At the end of the day, he was one person who was bullying another person it seems. Happy for the blueboys to take it on if they should, happy for the AFL/Club to take a stand for a damn important issue, would have been so much happier if Dusty had grown up by now.

I won't be happy if a key soldier is taken for a heavy space of time from my team on its best quest yet for #11...given the blueboys are not involved.

Why? It's putting it in the hands of the cops who have stronger investigative and punitive measures available to them

If they handball they are saying the incident is more serious than one that can be handled in house
Dude she never went to the cops at all even day after the incident. Clear indication a court would obviously see the incident as over exaggerated and what he did is not even charge worthy.

Richmond will make the right decision unlike other clubs who handed out light sentences when physical assault of women was involved.
Martin never assaulted anyone, while the others got charged and he didn't. Simply he does not deserve a large sentence

Dude she never went to the cops at all even day after the incident. Clear indication a court would obviously see the incident as over exaggerated and what he did is not even charge worthy.

That's crap. That thinking stopped years ago when people said it wasn't rape if you didn't report it immediately

The decision should be hers and hers alone don't you think?

That's crap. That thinking stopped years ago when people said it wasn't rape if you didn't report it immediately
She already accepted a apology, newsflash buddy you dont do that for serious incidents straight away. If the incident was serious, her the manager or others would have called the cops, without question

I hate how people want to punish for punishment sake. There's such a dumb culture in footy particularly where the line between justice and punishment is blurred. Extending Dustin Martin's off-season for 12+ weeks does nothing for this woman, nothing for women, does nothing for society, does nothing for Dustin, does nothing for the club and supporters. I am in the camp of give him a few weeks off but make a decision which can improve all parties involved. Some idiotic supporters from other clubs in particular are calling for him to be punished and to sit out the whole season or to go to prison....please....how does that help anyone. I would rather Dustin do some footy clinics and talks at girls schools, go and work in a shelter for domestic violence victims, make an ad/media campaign and sit with this woman to make positive change. People are lunatics!!

She already accepted a apology, newsflash buddy you dont do that for serious incidents straight away. If the incident was serious, her the manager or others would have called the cops, without question

That was her thinking before she felt RFC were watering down and before the afl got involved

People change their minds

Fwiw I'm hoping she didn't fear for her physical safety so this is a non issue, and it can be managed in house