AFLW 2024 - Round 9 - Indigenous Round - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Very concerned for the teenager from Northern Saints FC, he was cleaned up in the first few seconds of the game by a Jacana pkayer off the line.
Northerns Best Player!!!!
Did not look good, convulsions or a long period of time. Also took a long period of time for the Ambulance to leave. I hope Peter is ok
Not a good sight especially for all to see kids, parents,EDFL etc.
Really???? Kid convulses on the ground for about 3 or so minutes even longer, looked as about as bad as you can see on the football field, it wasn't his head that hit the ground. It was an intentional hit, 100%, kid eyes for the ball, it's easy for someone to run off the line and line up whoever has their head over the ball. I'm sure the player that did it didn't mean for the kid to be knocked out but he did mean to take some one out.
If it was the AFL it would be 4 weeks min, exactly what the AFL don't want to be on the screens on people's TV's. The footage will show exactly what I mean. Again, not saying the bloke meant for the kid to be so severely hurt, but it was intentional.
Other than that congratulations Jacana. Cloke was massive for them, and so was no 23 and no 2.
Billy was athletic AF as a junior, used to be a skinny stick and was Paddy Ryder-Esque.Fortunately Peter is ok. A bit out of it and sore, but he's ok.
Jacana were too good and dominated in the air. 23 marked everything. Cloke played very well, but when he came off the ground halfway through the last quarter there was no need to carry on like such a flog.
Let's just say he didn't get knocked out from his head hitting the ground.It was a good, clean, fair hit.
Shouldn't be cited tbh
No need for the crowd to say some of the stuff they did.Fortunately Peter is ok. A bit out of it and sore, but he's ok.
Jacana were too good and dominated in the air. 23 marked everything. Cloke played very well, but when he came off the ground halfway through the last quarter there was no need to carry on like such a flog.
It was a fair hit!
Side on, while play was still going.
Peter does wear a helmet, not sure why, but it was a fair hit mate.
No one wants to see a kid convulse like that, that's for sure.
I hope Pete is okay, I really do.
At least it wasn't behind play, head over the footy and a fair bump. What footy should be about!!!
He made a choice to hit while he had his head over the ball he didn't wanna go lower and harder? When you make that choice then come consequences see what the video showsIt was a fair hit!
Side on, while play was still going.
Peter does wear a helmet, not sure why, but it was a fair hit mate.
No one wants to see a kid convulse like that, that's for sure.
I hope Pete is okay, I really do.
At least it wasn't behind play, head over the footy and a fair bump. What footy should be about!!!
Will the video be released? I doubt it. Hope the young fella has a speedy recovery. Maybe the bloke that did it feels a bit of remorse. Deserves at least 10 weeks. EDFL needs to come down hard.
The least the EDFL can do is to publicly acknowledge that the incident happened and that it is concerned.I tend to agree. That part will be conveniently edited out. It's a really bad look and EDFL as are the AFL trying to protect the brand of footy, of course it makes sense not to show it, will only create further negative discussion and more problems which they all don't want. Let's see...
They won't even do thatThe least the EDFL can do is to publicly acknowledge that the incident happened and that it is concerned.
I cant see how u can say it was a "fair hit" nothing was fair about it. It wasnt a thug act but young bloke picking up the ball just lifted his head and gets it straight to the head i was standing on that side of the ground was 30m in front of me(there was only about 4 people on that side so majority of you didnt get the right angle). The jacana bloke knew he did wrong because he was scared to go anywhere near it after it until the last quater. However northern were out coached in my opinon jacana had more numbers at the ball and just kicked it over the northern players who wouldnt pick anyone up which left jacana players free everywhere if coburg can even up the numbers jacanas run will be stopped making it harded to get into there foward line. The score line did flatter jacana however will ns giving away free kicks and 50m penalty in the last 5 mins to blow it out.
Guys the kid that got concussed apparently has a plate in his head this is why he wears a helmet and his parents don't want him playing football because any knock to the head can cause serious damage and for the guy that bumped him he wouldn't know this and you would think he would have been worried for the safety of him when he seen some having convulsions and played on his mind for the whole game .
It does not matter what he wears a helmet for he has a the ok to play football. The convulsions where caused from the concussion and the high hit to the head. The sooner people see that the fact is a fact he made a choice to bump. Not tackle and not go lower and harder for the footy. The sooner people see that the better.Guys the kid that got concussed apparently has a plate in his head this is why he wears a helmet and his parents don't want him playing football because any knock to the head can cause serious damage and for the guy that bumped him he wouldn't know this and you would think he would have been worried for the safety of him when he seen some having convulsions and played on his mind for the whole game .
So the bump should be taken out of football all together ? its a split second decision to bump or tackle sometimes .It does not matter what he wears a helmet for he has a the ok to play football. The convulsions where caused from the concussion and the high hit to the head. The sooner people see that the fact is a fact he made a choice to bump. Not tackle and not go lower and harder for the footy. The sooner people see that the better.
So the bump should be taken out of football all together ? its a split second decision to bump or tackle sometimes .
NS wouldn't want to whinge after all the Dog Acts they've served up over the yearsNo you can bump as much as you want but if you make contact to the head you will be missing matches.
NS wouldn't want to whinge after all the Dog Acts they've served up over the years