Review Elimination Final, 2022 - Brisbane Lions vs. Richmond

Who were your five best players against Richmond?

After going brain dead and missing the Members' ticket allocation last week, wife and I decided we'd just stay at home and watch it on TV.

"We're pretty much buggered and will probably lose anyway" I informed better half

Then yesterday, due to happenstance too complicated to relate here, we got offered two free tickets in Section 421 , Row GG, which I knew would be bloody good seats.

So along we go tonight, only to find ourselves amongst a nest of Tigers supporters.

Being pessimistic about the outcome and in theses circumstances, I decided to be as unemotional and detached as I possibly could be. Don't dare to get your hopes up I kept saying to myself. Keep your head down. Just sit and wait for the inevitable loss

Then our boys keep hanging in there. Despite this, at a few crucial points we almost look gone and I kept thinking "oh well, I"ll be put out of my misery pretty soon and better that than a heartbreak loss by less than a goal at the death.

In front, behind, in front, behind....glorious goals followed by silly errors leaking back the other way

AAARGH!!!!

I can't stand it

I've seen this movie before and I know how it ends.

I'm immensely proud of them but when Lynch looks like he's kicked the sealer, I almost breathe a sigh of relief.

Then it's not a goal!

Oh no!

Here comes hope again, which will surely be dashed in the usual cruel fashion.

Then we get it up the other end and that beautiful enigma going by the name of Joe Daniher does a Joe thing and pulls a miracle goal out of his beautiful arse and now I am in agony again.

A minute to go!

Back to the centre.

Here we go again. Don't dare to hope

I wait for inevitable last gasp Tigers goal which I have already conditioned myself NOT to get heartbroken over

But our boys do something really weird.

They literally throw themselves at the ball, total commitment , total belief and we drive it forward, Lions jumpers coming from everywhere, refusing to yield. Richmond get it free in their back half.....here it comes.... a lighting transition and they win.

But the the siren sounds!!!!

We've won and I can't contain my utter joy and I bellow out

"F*** YEAH!!!!!"

In that nest of Richmond supporters.

Fair play to them too. They let me have my moment of glory !!

Thank you Brisbane Lions for one of the best, most gutsy and heart and soul wins I've ever had the privilege to witness

We deserved to win this game.

Karma turned our way for a change.
Good 👍

Last year's semi final vs the dogs was a screw job. Umpires did everything to help the dogs to win.

Last 5 minutes the umpires heavily favoured Richmond.

Glad Brisbane did well enough to overcome that.

What a bloody game!

Robertson is as hard as a cats head! Loved his game.

Hipwood's goals were all super difficult. Clutch to nail them all.

Neale... one of the best games I've ever seen. His poise and touch in traffic is something to behold and he laid a match winning tackling on Shai.

Absolutely loved Mcstay. Epic follow up work on the deck in stoppages. To win stoppages by a landslide without O suggests he did well. Nailed his goal too which was clutch.

Thought the aerial defence held up really well. Defended the high ball resolutely.

Charlie.. oh Charlie. It felt like his goals were all 10% chances and he took them all! Only Charlie kicks those goals.

My mate and I got together tonight and recorded a podcast talking about the game. First time ever, so we hope to be better for you next week when Brissie flog either Melbourne or Sydney with early audio and just some of the basics.

please give it a listen and get your Brisbane mates onto it on this lovely Friday for your commutes or something.

Hey 3KZ I assume your training with the juniors will finish with goal kicking again: this time being the Lynch shot..

Make them try a banana from the Lynch distance, then a drop punt.

Title it "Have you got a brain cell".

Interesting to see that no one in the presser asked Hardwick why he did not put a hard tag on Neale, the obvious question.

I would like to have a graph of when during the game every tiges supporter watching realised Neale was the only thing between them and a win and he had to be stopped.

sad eric cartman GIF by South Park

FWIW I didn't think Hardwick's presser was too bad, only natural to be disappointed about the video review decision, I didn't think he was over the top about it. At the ground I said that the match will hinge on whether the goal umpires call is goal or behind, when he said goal I was resigned to the game being over 90% + they go with umpires call in that circumstance .... thank god they didn't last night.

On another note did anyone else have trouble getting into the ground because the scanners at the gates weren't reading the barcodes correctly? Bring back the membership cards please, it was a lot quicker getting into the ground with them anyway.

Possibly the loudest I have ever heard the Gabba at the end. I think also, except no doubt for a handful of idiots, the crowd from both sides left knowing that win, lose or neutral, they had just witnessed one of the epic games. One that will long live in the memory.

Hipwood played possibly his best game - he didn’t tear the game apart but he did compete relentlessly for everything and worked himself into the ground in effort after effort. He doesn’t often get a lot of accolades but he deserves them after that.

Berry did a lot of work off the ball that was probably not obvious on TV - self-sacrifice stuff to get to positions defensively to cut off easy movement by Richmond. Not an outstanding game but one that was all about the team.

Wilmot looked like he belonged from when he first ran on. What an amazing game to be playing in for a debut. Hopefully he is in the team for a long time to come.

McCarthy deserved better than he got from the umpires. Another one who really lifted and kept going all night. Sitting above the bench and watching him come off several times, he was exhausted each time, then ran back out and did it all again.

And Lachie Neale - at one stage he thought it was his turn to come off and they turned him around - three times in about three minutes. And he just did. Went back out and kept going, and going, and going. And the quality of his work never dropped. One of the great individual performances.

An all-time great game.

FWIW I didn't think Hardwick's presser was too bad, only natural to be disappointed about the video review decision, I didn't think he was over the top about it. At the ground I said that the match will hinge on whether the goal umpires call is goal or behind, when he said goal I was resigned to the game being over 90% + they go with umpires call in that circumstance .... thank god they didn't last night.

On another note did anyone else have trouble getting into the ground because the scanners at the gates weren't reading the barcodes correctly? Bring back the membership cards please, it was a lot quicker getting into the ground with them anyway.
Must admit I agree. I also thought his comment about the impact on their structure with Big O going down was interesting. Not necessarily a review of what works better a 3 or 2 tall forward line as the other side will also adjust in selection. Food for thought (or food for Fort) next week.

ah what a beautiful morning! i hear the birds calling, the blue sky.. and a win!

Big O on his 100th game.. plays 2 mins then gets a broken nose and concussion, spends the night sore and on the bench

Joe on his 150th (and I think first ever finals win?) gets the game winning goal (and lets forget some of his other.. less than game winning moments ;))

bloody hell. Now to sit back and watch the other teams scrap it out.

oh and here is some not-grumpy Fages ;)

lcimg-5929e854-8105-4c62-8b0c-c11f25fadee0.jpg

lcimg-2d93b661-fccf-494d-9cd0-35bf6ef9c94c.jpg

I've always been a glass half full kinda person, not a big gambler and probably have 4 or 5 bets a year. I backed the boys to win , just had a feeling.

In Neale we have a player whom can lift and carry and I would say our next captain.

Dev Robinson was huge, wont win any brownlow votes but he was instrumental in his tagging roles, we have found some defence in the middle. Lyons may be sore but now he has a headache.

In Wilmont and Loman when they have more opportunities we will have 2 excitement machines and lots more speed, our future is bright.

Jack Payne, you beauty, he will a very good player for us.

McStay, I'll never say a negative word about you again, we needed you and you delivered. We will be waving you good bye, thanks for your service.

Robbo, I hope we can send you off with a Premiership, you have that old angry look about you now, luv ya, but in the words of the Lion King - it's time, thank you for your service.

So the morning after, a red wine hangover ringing in my ears I'm thinking - we found our way, we saw the light, something clicked, the issues we have had with momentum shifts and full team defence have been largely been mastered. I hope it's Sydney next but this team can dance the big one.

IMG_5624.jpg

Melbourne media reporting that Anthony Rocca was seen counselling Lynch after being ‘denied’ a goal in a big final🤣

I thought Zorks whilst not massively influential, was good and was focused on the footy and not the niggle. Good response after having the blowtorch on him for a week.
we might have been blown open on occasion in the open ground, but Zorko was one of our best (amongst nearly the whole team) who really kept the ground balls in congestion on our terms. Pressured them in tight and they fumbled a lot, and we kept the ball alive as well without letting them break free.

If we can't fix our defensive running this late, that is how we will win our games.

good to see

Review Elimination Final, 2022 - Brisbane Lions vs. Richmond