Prediction Finals watch

We'll beat Geelong. Its all in the shorts.

Geelong at Simonds Stadium in 2015:

v Frem - White shorts - Loss
v GCS - Navy shorts - Win
v NM - White - Loss
v Melb - White - Loss
v WB - Navy - Win
v BL - Navy - Win
v Syd - Navy - Win
v Adel - White - ???

So thats 4-0 when Geelong wear navy shorts, and 0-3 when they wear white. Unless the AFL change their uniform policy for the final round, they will wear the white shorts against us in full home strip. Win guaranteed!

Sorry to stuff up your theory but we usually wear our full home kit when we play at Simonds and Cats wear full white.

I've got a bad feeling about this Essendon game personally. Our form away from home this season has been absolutely putrid (pretty much other than the first 3 quarters against Collingwood in Rd 2) and I can just see us coming out like our shit doesn't stink and blowing it. Should we still win despite the inevitable slow start and lower intensity at the contest than the Tigers game? Yes. Will we? Can't be sure. 65% chance of victory.

I also have had a bad feeling about the Bombers game, but then I've been watching bits of their game against GWS. They just look like a shot side, mentally and physically. They've got nothing to play for and I think they'd be happy if they could stop their season right now. Add to that we've got an extra day's break.

And Cooney just rubbed himself out.

Ah! Sorry mate
All good! Hoping its a good omen anyway.

Interestingly, I was at the Geel-Syd game last night. Sydney were as stinky as I've seen them for a long time. Geelong did what they had to, but they weren't outstanding by any stretch. I reckon we'd be a good show. Best chance we've had for a long time to get a win down there.

Depends what we bring in the next 3 weeks. We need confident wins against Essendon and Brisbane to take form and confidence in to the last 2 games.

We're capable of winning 3 of them. But we've been here in basically the same position in the last 2 years and stuffed up.

Sydney have been stinky all year, except for against us

We'll beat Geelong. Its all in the shorts.

Geelong at Simonds Stadium in 2015:

v Frem - White shorts - Loss
v GCS - Navy shorts - Win
v NM - White - Loss
v Melb - White - Loss
v WB - Navy - Win
v BL - Navy - Win
v Syd - Navy - Win
v Adel - White - ???

So thats 4-0 when Geelong wear navy shorts, and 0-3 when they wear white. Unless the AFL change their uniform policy for the final round, they will wear the white shorts against us in full home strip. Win guaranteed!
Why would they wear White against us? Considering our away strip is White, I would have thought they'd wear Navy shorts?

I think North Melb drop out

• Melb - win
  • St Kilda -win
  • freo - loss
  • western Bulldogs - loss
  • richmond - loss
  • Essendon - win
  • brisbane - win
  • west coast - win
  • Geelong - loss
  • Hawks - loss
  • St Kilda - win
  • Collingwood - win
  • Adelaide - win

• Gold Coast - win
  • Collingwood - win
  • Essendon - win
  • North Melbourne - win
My top 8

Hawks
West coast

round 1 -

Freo vs western bulldogs (Perth)
Hawks vs west coast (MCG)
Sydney vs Adelaide (Sydney)
Richmond vs Geelong (MCG)

Interesting analysis Alex. But you have left GWS out of the equation. Their only troublesome game is Sydney. I think that they are a good chance to make the finals.

GWS
  • Port - win
  • Sydney - lose
  • Carlton - win
  • Melbourne - win

Interesting analysis Alex. But you have left GWS out of the equation. Their only troublesome game is Sydney. I think that they are a good chance to make the finals.

GWS
  • Port - win
  • Sydney - lose
  • Carlton - win
  • Melbourne - win

If they can beat Port Power. Yes if they can not, they are out this week.

LeCras to no doubt miss with suspension too.

Was surprised to see McGovern come back so quick, might have rushed that one. They said it was at the worse end of hamstrings scale. 4-6 weeks. Think he only missed 2 games.
if our team knows we will get a finals spot if we beat the Eagles, at home in front of a screaming crowd hungry after two years of missing i would tip us. No gov and possibly Le cras as well.
Le Cras would have to miss three matches. I'm thinking he'll get only one match.

If they can beat Port Power. Yes if they can not, they are out this week.
We'll know soon enough. After watching the Port / Dogs this weekend, and GWS this arvo, I think the GWS are a good chance to win. The coverage showed Filthy Phil addressing the team at half time and he gave them both barrels. I was amazed to see Davis so fired up. I think that the senior GWS players are keen to get to the finals sooner than later. When they turned it on in the third they were terrific.

Why would they wear White against us? Considering our away strip is White, I would have thought they'd wear Navy shorts?

Their home jumper is white. We never have and never will wear a white clash jumper against them*. We will wear home with navy shorts, they will wear home with white shorts. See Freo and Melbourne examples from this year for precedent.

*except for that one NAB game where we both wore clash jumpers probably to give them some exposure to boost sales.

It was would take a lot to lose to both Essendon and Brisbane. I base that on their main priority will be tanking for higher picks. Maybe not obviously but if we get enough on them early in the first half, it'll be a cake walk to the final siren.

if our team knows we will get a finals spot if we beat the Eagles, at home in front of a screaming crowd hungry after two years of missing i would tip us. No gov and possibly Le cras as well.
we dont play them for 3 weeks, surely lecras wont be out that long...

Personally I think we'll win 2 more, Essendon and Brisbane should be easy wins, but West Coast will be difficult, hammered us only a couple of weeks ago and their recent form against us is quite good, even in Adelaide. Geelong at Geelong will also be tough, we haven't played that ground well in a long time.

Kangaroos look like they'll drop out, but GWS is a concern, 3 of 4 games against sides below them, win all 3 and we'll need to win 3 to make the finals which I think will be difficult. The GWS game will be really interesting this week, you'd generally go Port at home, but they need some serious mathematics to make it now, how much effort will they put in against a side that's pushing for its first finals spot? Even Sydney's not beyond them given their recent poor showings, our game excluded.

Prediction Finals watch