Finals week 2: Collingwood vs Adelaide

I don't know about Eddie paying people off but that was the worst display of biased umpiring I have seen in a long time. I still can't believe how often Adelaide players were taken out off the ball and not a single free kick paid.
There was no doubt that frees were missed for both teams, but Adelaide actually won the free kick count.
Don't mention the throws that took place in the third quarter. I am utterly stunned at what took place this evening.
Yes, there was a clear throw from Johncock in the third quarter that was missed. Is that the one you mean?
The umpiring completely affected the result of the game. It was a disgraceful exhibition that does the AFL no credit for persuading people that this is a game they should be following.
Well the Crows definitely had the better end of the umpiring, but Collingwood won anyway, so I don't understand how you feel it effected the result of the match.
To be clear I don't support either side.
What is that supposed to mean? Are you trying to suggest that people that don't barrack for Collingwood are fair, and objective regarding Collingwood? Good one. :rolleyes:

What's the point in blaming umpires? Adelaide should have never been in the postion to lose that game with a kick, regardless of umpiring.

What about adelaide kicks the goal to hit the lead and instead of losing the clearance to lose the game, they stop the clearance to win the game! No issue about umpires then.

umpiring mistakes are as part of footy as player mistakes are. I thought overall they did well and kept out of the game to let the two teams put on a great game. Both teams had their chances to win. Both had players step up as well as stumble. Enjoyed the game (hard not to win your team wins), and look forward to the cats next week.

Thought JA's teary at the end just shows the stress that players go through in finals footy. The guy looked like he was tied up in knots on the inside because he felt he had let everyone down for most of the game. Hate to have seen how bad he would have been had he missed.

I reckon no matter what happens from here on footy fans must surely be looking forward to next season. You'd expect the crows and pies to improve, the dogs, cats and saints to stay roughly where they're at, the hawks to rise back up and who knows what the Lions and Blues might do with some bold trading and luck with injuries. Anyways I'm predicting Pies v Dogs GF ! :p

There was no doubt that frees were missed for both teams, but Adelaide actually won the free kick count.

Agreed but from what I saw a lot more free kicks for Adelaide were not paid than those not paid to Collingwood - significantly more. In the third quarter, one passage of play that resulted in a Collingwood goal saw 4 free that shopuld have been paid to Adelaide but weren't.

Yes, there was a clear throw from Johncock in the third quarter that was missed. Is that the one you mean?

No. I didn't see that one but will take your word for it. I saw two clear throws in the third. One out of the centre that resulted in a Collingwood goal and one deep in the forward line for Adelaide that should have resulted in a shot on goal.

Well the Crows definitely had the better end of the umpiring, but Collingwood won anyway, so I don't understand how you feel it effected the result of the match.

Disagree here. The kicks not paid clearly favoured Collingword. To count only paid kicks is only telling part of the story. Your conclusion that Adelaide got the best of the umpiring is clearly erroneous unless you look at all of the factors, not just one. I saw numerous Adelaide players being taken out of the contest through off the ball actions by Collingwood players. It may be good teamwork to you but there are rules in place to prevent that. Had they been enforced, in my view, Collingwood woud have lost the game by a large margin.

What is that supposed to mean? Are you trying to suggest that people that don't barrack for Collingwood are fair, and objective regarding Collingwood? Good one. :rolleyes:

No. I'm suggesting that as a neutral supporter I was looking at the game from an unbiased point of view. Something you cannot claim. I have no reason to like or dislike either team unless I was going to hold a grudge over what Adelaide did to us this year. You really didn't need to distort my comment here...the intent was clear.

Collingwood deserved the win, they have a great spirit at the club, never gave up, and showed why max effort can beat anyone.

Congratulations to Collingwood on a never say die performance.

Doubt the Pies can match the Cats though...the Cats will hit hard and play full tempo, will run all night, I think their weeks break will be the difference against Collingwood.

Cats and Saints for me.........but the Pies sure wont give up without a fight.

No. I'm suggesting that as a neutral supporter I was looking at the game from an unbiased point of view. Something you cannot claim. I have no reason to like or dislike either team unless I was going to hold a grudge over what Adelaide did to us this year. You really didn't need to distort my comment here...the intent was clear.

Nah mate, Collingwood get a raw deal from the umpires every week :thumbsu:

Adelaide had 15 frees to 12. Adelaide kicked 4 goals from free kicks to 3.

No one can honestly say the umpires favoured Collingwood.

Correct. Umps did not affect the outcome. The free was there. What cost us the game was our freakin skill errors. Mcleod and Porpoise missing targets along with all the rest. Terrible. What a heart breaking loss.

Go bulldogs for the flag!

Nah mate, Collingwood get a raw deal from the umpires every week :thumbsu:

Isn't it an irony then that we get hounded for doing the exact thing that supporters of numerous long-since-on-holiday teams are doing right now against us? Or is it only OK when it's not Collingwood supporters doing it?

Enjoy your September holidays, you hypocrites. We've got a prelim to play.

I'm the muppet?

The only reason you came back to Bigfooty was because your maggies once again think they're a chance at the flag. In fact, 2 of your first posts today (the first since 2004) have been of you telling a Geelong supporter that he/she should be scared, and another of you calling me a muppet for implying that your colliwobbles will rise again.

Silly little bandwagoner. Joining in 2002 (go figure), you continue to post until late 2004 after 2 GF losses, and a realization that the black and shite aren't going to be playing Brissy again the next year. Not to mention missing out on finals. Since then, you're not to be heard from until today.

But it's okay, once the Pies choke at the wrong time again, you'll run off and hide as you've done in the past. Scared the black and shite are gonna wobble again?.. so you should be. Bandwagoners don't deserve to taste success. :thumbsu:

Agreed but from what I saw a lot more free kicks for Adelaide were not paid than those not paid to Collingwood - significantly more.
I'm sure you're getting that around the wrong way. There was only one match played on Saturday night, so how can you get so confused? :confused: Collingwood nearly doubled Adelaide's tackles, and many holding the ball decisions were not awarded to Collingwood as reflected in Adelaide winning the free kick count.
In the third quarter, one passage of play that resulted in a Collingwood goal saw 4 free that shopuld have been paid to Adelaide but weren't.
I have not read one single article, or heard one commentator state that Adelaide were hard done by at all, let alone in the manner that you're suggesting. It seems to me that you're making these incidents up because you're disappointed that Collingwood won.
No. I didn't see that one but will take your word for it. I saw two clear throws in the third.
You didn't see it? Maybe you should open both eyes then. That said, I didn't hear any of the Channel 10 commentators mention any throws during the third quarter. I have also listened to a podcast I recorded of the 3AW commentary, and again no mention of any throws or obvious missed free kicks that benefited Collingwood.
One out of the centre that resulted in a Collingwood goal and one deep in the forward line for Adelaide that should have resulted in a shot on goal.
If it's the one I'm thinking of, the slow motion close-up footage showed that it was fine. I don't understand how you can possibly believe that Adelaide were hard done by.
Disagree here. The kicks not paid clearly favoured Collingword.
Rubbish. The amount of holding the balls that were missed from Collingwood's tackles clearly favoured Adelaide. Brett's Burton mark and goal in the second quarter was a clear hand in the back that should not have been allowed. Kurt Tippet's free kick that resulted in his 4th (controversial) goal that put the Crows up by one point was extremely fortunate because Simon Prestigiacomo tackled him when he had the ball before it spilled out. The video of whether it was touched on the line was inconclusive as well. One free and goal against Nick Maxwell was simply wrong.
To count only paid kicks is only telling part of the story.
Of course it is, but rarely does a team that nearly doubles the opposition in the tackle count lose the free kicks total. That is because many were missed, and that definitely benefited Adelaide.
Your conclusion that Adelaide got the best of the umpiring is clearly erroneous unless you look at all of the factors, not just one.
I have stated that Adelaide most definitely were not hard done by, and if anything, they probably got the better of it. They led the free kick count, and many of Collingwood's tackles were definite holding the balls that were not paid.
I saw numerous Adelaide players being taken out of the contest through off the ball actions by Collingwood players.
Which Collingwood players took Adelaide players out? When did that happen, and in which way was it done? I have not heard anybody make mention of these incidents. I saw Scott Stevens and Ben Rutten holding many times that went unpaid though. Adelaide kicked four goals from free kicks, and one in particular against Maxwell was definitely wrong as I mentioned, as well as Brett Burton's goal from a mark that should not have been paid. Collingwood kicked three goals from free kicks.
It may be good teamwork to you but there are rules in place to prevent that.
Are you referring to the times that Stevens and Rutten were holding on, or are you conveniently overlooking those because it doesn't suit your opinion? :rolleyes:
Had they been enforced, in my view, Collingwood woud have lost the game by a large margin.
Ha ha ha! You only feel that way because you wanted Adelaide to be paid the free kicks that were missed while completely ignoring the even more Collingwood free kicks that were missed. :rolleyes:
No. I'm suggesting that as a neutral supporter I was looking at the game from an unbiased point of view.
Ha ha ha! Come on now. You're clearly and obviously looking at it as a neutral supporter that wanted Collingwood to lose. Maybe you just wanted to see Eddie McGuire lose on live television. Whatever it is, you have a clear preference toward Adelaide.
Something you cannot claim.
I'm definitely a Collingwood supporter. No doubt about it. I'm objective though, and I have not heard a single member of the media claim that Adelaide were hard done by. That is because they weren't of course.
I have no reason to like or dislike either team unless I was going to hold a grudge over what Adelaide did to us this year. You really didn't need to distort my comment here...the intent was clear.
It is the only conclusion that I can come up with. Nothing else makes sense. There is no way that Adelaide were hard done by, and if anything, they actually benefited from the umpiring. If you feel that Adelaide were robbed though, then that makes me feel even better about Collingwood's magnificent win! :)

I'm definitely a Collingwood supporter. No doubt about it. I'm objective though, and I have not heard a single member of the media claim that Adelaide were hard done by.

You havent listened to the call from 5AA then and the aftermath :D

simply put ...
2 teams played an awesome game... one befitting their standings in the top 8.

whether or not Collingwood played their GF on Sat night, will just have to wait to be seen.
I was as proud as punch to see our boys get up and win.

only detractor actually being there on the night... 2 Adelaide fans big mouthing all night... and 10 to 20 pies fans venting their spleen at any crow withing ear shot as they left the ground... it was ordinary by those fans to be suckered in, and I felt sorry for the Crows fans who were gratious in defeat, only to be copping sprays.

I dont care if people hate Collingwood, but hate us for what we do to you on the field, not due to loud mouthed exciteable fans

Finals week 2: Collingwood vs Adelaide