Football Lingo/Sayings That Annoy You

I would expand that to commentators using nicknames in general. Shits me up the wall to hear shit like "BIG BOY WITH THE TAP" if you are getting paid to call the game use their ******* name, leave the nicknames for the cheer squad FFS

Im completely sick of Darcy saying 'Dusty' Martin everyyyytimmeeeee as if he's his best mate.

In ratcheting up the melodrama, commentators blithely disregard causality and actual physical laws of the universe. Happens every game.

eg. "If those two early marks had been paid to Brown, he'd have four goals by now."

No. No, he wouldn't have.

He "could have" -- at best.

If that first mark had been paid, guess what? None of the following events would ever play out the same way. He might've kicked six. He might've kicked one. He might've choked on a dreadlock.

See also: "If those three free kicks had been paid, then.." (insert hugely speculative nonsense). You have no way of knowing that without a DeLorean.

"Eye Diddle Diddle" or any other term for that matter that BT makes up to replace the proper words.

Saying we know that, as in "smith is a long kick, we know that." A Brucism.

And in the footy lingo department, how do we get "stacks on the mill" and "waxing" in kick to kicks. I know what they mean, but what is their origin?

Players/coaches calling the opposition a quality team no matter where there sit on the ladder.
Would be pretty cool if a coach just said exactly what he thought e.g. "yeah we're really disappointed to win by only a few goals because they're a pretty ordinary team and the whole week I thought we'd flog them by 10 goals"

Will never happen though haha

Football Lingo/Sayings That Annoy You