Football Related Random Thread - PART 2

While attendances are high and ratings are good, the AFL and its major corporate supporters can (and will) continue to treat all football supporters like idiots, and we've seen a great example of it here.

That's why I'd love to see the AFL Fans Association gain in prominence. We've let the tail wag the dog for so long that we've assumed it's the natural way of things. The players association was largely treated with disdain by the governing body/ies for many years until it got its act together. No reason why with the right approach, the fans association can't achieve the same prominence.

But until it does, we voluntarily hand the reigns of control over to the AFL, the clubs and the corporates, and endorse them treating us, all of us, like idiots. And that means we continue getting subpar outcomes like unfair fixtures aimed solely at maximising TV viewership, rubbish seat allocations at finals and other big games, and Brian Taylor on prime time TV.

I think your last paragraphs contradict the rest. The fixturing and Brian Taylor is tailored to the masses and what fans want

I know the AFL and Channel 7 think that but if you talk to any footy follower from self righteous intellects like , well I was going to say me but I'll perhaps let that pass , to the pie scoffing loudmouth in the outer I've never heard anyone say they really like and appreciate BT. Most say they can't stand the drivel. Nearly everyone I've ever come across.

TV stations and organisations are so used to catering to the lowest common denominator they lose touch to and are tone deaf to the majority. It wouldn't matter who was commentating on Friday night they'd still get the same amount of people watching , probably just as many if no one was commentating.

BT is annoying . As for that bogan cliche riddled Brayshaw don't even start me. I have to watch it on mute. They have someone like Luke Hodge who makes pithy insightful comments every time he opens his mouth and they have his volume so low in the feed you can hardly understand what he says. Don't think Footy Production execs. are all that smarter than the hordes of other execs who misread the room.

As for the weight issue it's a nonsense that players can't be weighed and those weights released for whatever analysis anyone wants to do but if it hurts their feelings too much then it's not info I actually really need.

You should find something else (like the NBA) that will make you happy as it appears all our great game & club does for you is piss you off. Everyone deserves to be happy in their life. Life is a gift so get out there and find something in it that can make you feel great.
That old chestnut, that you dare get pissed off disagree with something the club or AFL does, no matter how pathetic that one should then be questioned that they shouldn’t follow the game or the club.

Perhaps read The Boys Club if you think the AFL is the greatest ran sports organisation out there world. Sure it is well run, but it could get be ran so much better if it also didn’t pander to every virtue signalling thing out there or simply and faultlessly look after its own.

That old chestnut, that you dare get pissed off disagree with something the club or AFL does, no matter how pathetic that one should then be questioned that they shouldn’t follow the game or the club.

Perhaps read The Boys Club if you think the AFL is the greatest ran sports organisation out there world. Sure it is well run, but it could get be ran so much better if it also didn’t pander to every virtue signalling thing out there or simply and faultlessly look after its own.
The Boys Club is a really enlightening, not to mention quite confronting, read. Highly recommended. Could just as easily have called it Jobs For The Boys. And could probably quite easily put out a 2nd edition with extra chapters about more recent events.

Hey old mate, re-read both posts again please.

It was he who suggested he should turn towards follow the NBA instead of the AFL/Lions not me.

I also did not say the AFL is the greatest ran sports organsation in the world..... I said in Australia. Once again not my words.

I've read the Boys Club and it was a fascinating read to say the least. Warner definately wanted to get some stuff off his chest and I am sure some (not all) has some truth to it. One persons side of an event is rarely 100% accurate...a bit like players weights & heights.;)

My post was genuine in saying he should follow something that makes him happy because the theme of his post was saying that. I was endorsing his disappointment in a small way.

32 years a Bears/Lions fanatic and being told to go support something else... wow. Most of those 32 years have seen the Bears/Lions as a rabble of a club but I've been with them every day. The one main stay in my life as been this footy club. To suggest I just pack up and go 'support' something else out of 'happiness' is out of touch.

God forbid I comment on the way the league operates and suggest I watch and support other sporting codes.

32 years a Bears/Lions fanatic and being told to go support something else... wow. Most of those 32 years have seen the Bears/Lions as a rabble of a club but I've been with them every day. The one main stay in my life as been this footy club. To suggest I just pack up and go 'support' something else out of 'happiness' is out of touch.

God forbid I comment on the way the league operates and suggest I watch and support other sporting codes.

I don’t know why you get yourself so worked up Sizey.

Nah, stuff like "go support something else" or the other periodically popular "not a real supporter" is some gatekeeping sports really doesn't need. I'd get annoyed if someone said similar to me.

You’re right and I agree with you. That wasn’t the intention of my post. I replied to the latest post which was misleading but was commenting on the chain of disproportionate outrage to player weights (which aren’t even accurate) being removed from publication. I should have replied to the initial rant.

SM can take that position but it’s ludicrous imo.

Hang in there SM. Everyone sees, and comments, from their own point of view.

When you are a die hard supporter, like us on here, your club is like your family. A lot of the time they give you the shits. They do things you may not approve of. They regularly let you down. But they are your blood. More power to you.

A

And I quote from YOUR post: " I am turning more and more to the NBA and thats * ing something"..... your words Champ.

Dont say stuff if you dont mean it or you dont want other posters to make further comment.

A fox article that does not mention anything about the Lions, so i won't include a link.
However, i thought this was interesting.
Four players missed due to Covid Jack Crisp, Brody Mihocek, Jamie Elliott and Charlie Dean — but are expected to return to the club in the next week.

I stumbled across this YouTube video posted after the Lions won 7 in a row in 2019. We went on to extend that to 9.
They mentioned this was the first time the Lions had achieved this since R15- 21 in year 2002.

The video highlights are just from those 7 wins in 2002.
It is a great clip and a reminder of just how good that team was.
Lynch kicked 7,7 & 5 goals in the first of those 3 wins.
So many great players that we barely get a look at in the clip.
Present coaches and assistant coaches prominent in the clip.
Voss probably does not win a Brownlow if played under present rules. Or he just adapts and still wins.

I don't remember Vossy being so consistently effective up forward... but man there were some quality goals in that vid.
The man kicked seven goals on one leg at full forward! Give the man some credit! ;)

I don't remember Vossy being so consistently effective up forward... but man there were some quality goals in that vid.
After your comment i thought i would compile a list of arguably the best midfielders in the modern era.
Being slack i got this list (players only) from another site (saves time) so i am sure some players missed in other peoples eyes.
I added Lappin as i wanted to compare the fab 4 to our current list.
I was mostly looking at how many of these great players were goal kicking midfielders.

In games player order. The Lions 2024 list is in average goals per game order.
* Indicates in my opinion they played a bit more forward at certain times of their career than just a pure midfielder.
Red: Lions fab 4
Green: Still playing
Blue: Most goals or best average per game

PlayerAFL GamesCareer GoalsAverage /Game
Pendlebury3831940.5
Goodes *3724641.2
Ablett jnr *3574451.2
J Selwood3551750.5
S Mitchell329710.2
Akermanis *3254211.3
Black3221710.5
Dangerfield *3213271.0
M Ricciuto *3122910.9
M Voss2892540.8
D Martin *2893281.1
Buckley2802841.0
Judd2792280.8
N Lappin2791740.6
Swan *2582110.8
Fyfe *2181730.8
Lions 2024 Players
Bailey *1181211.0
Rayner *1131040.9
Zorko *2502240.9
McCluggage *155970.6
Neale2461150.5
Dunkley140670.5

I stumbled across this YouTube video posted after the Lions won 7 in a row in 2019. We went on to extend that to 9.
They mentioned this was the first time the Lions had achieved this since R15- 21 in year 2002.

The video highlights are just from those 7 wins in 2002.
It is a great clip and a reminder of just how good that team was.
Lynch kicked 7,7 & 5 goals in the first of those 3 wins.
So many great players that we barely get a look at in the clip.
Present coaches and assistant coaches prominent in the clip.
Voss probably does not win a Brownlow if played under present rules. Or he just adapts and still wins.

That goal by Luke Power against West Coast is better than Aker's goal against Carlton that won goal of the year. Inspirational stuff. Altho these days he'd give away a free kick for contact below the knees.

Yes, a few things in the clip that you might not get away with now.

2024 FREE AGENTS

*qualifies as previously delisted player
^qualifies as previously having changed clubs as a free agent

BRISBANE

Jarrod Berry
Hugh McCluggage
Darragh Joyce*
Ryan Lester
Jarryd Lyons*
Dayne Zorko

Geelong has the most with 13.
GEELONG

Jed Bews
Patrick Dangerfield
Mitch Duncan
Zach Guthrie
Tom Hawkins
Jack Henry
Jake Kolodjashnij
Mark O'Connor
Brandan Parfitt
Rhys Stanley
Tyson Stengle*
Emerson Jeka*
Zach Tuohy

2024 FREE AGENTS

BRISBANE

Jarrod Berry
Hugh McCluggage
Darragh Joyce*
Ryan Lester
Jarryd Lyons*
Dayne Zorko

GEELONG

Jed Bews
Patrick Dangerfield
Mitch Duncan
Zach Guthrie
Tom Hawkins
Jack Henry
Jake Kolodjashnij
Mark O'Connor
Brandan Parfitt
Rhys Stanley
Tyson Stengle*
Emerson Jeka*
Zach Tuohy
Wouldn’t say no to Henry, O’Connor or Stengle as a free agent.

2024 FREE AGENTS

BRISBANE

Jarrod Berry
Hugh McCluggage
Darragh Joyce*
Ryan Lester
Jarryd Lyons*
Dayne Zorko

GEELONG

Jed Bews
Patrick Dangerfield
Mitch Duncan
Zach Guthrie
Tom Hawkins
Jack Henry
Jake Kolodjashnij
Mark O'Connor
Brandan Parfitt
Rhys Stanley
Tyson Stengle*
Emerson Jeka*
Zach Tuohy
Bez/Bags wont be going anywhere, Joyce unlikely to get a game with Doedee recruited, Lester/Lyons neither are best 22 but likely stay for another year on low pay assuming we have spots post draft, Zorko probably retires after this year (especially after winning the flag). Once again we are in a good list position.

Not sure why the AFL asked the Clubs (coaches) about 5 on the bench if they did not intend bringing it in this year.

Be interesting to see the video of the AFL's interpretation of tackles/smothers/striking (Dusty & Rayner fend offs)
Umpires and fans will be at a loss once again.
They are trying to protect the head which is what their insurance company would be telling them to do.
Interpretation will again be the issue for umpires and fans alike.

Once again i will mention the Brownlow should be open for all players irrespective of a suspension.
You get a week for pretty much nothing these days.
Happy for the tribunal to hand out the week so players will learn. But a suspension should not coat a player the Brownlow.
The Commission also opted to stick with four interchange players and a single substitute for 2024, despite a push from coaches to make it five interchange players.

Football Related Random Thread - PART 2