No Oppo Supporters Fremantle Do Not Contest A Game In Western Australia

Freo fans: tonight hurts but at least be courteous to each other while venting.

Oppostion fans or anyone out to have a crack: don't post here. You will get banned and you will get points.

Heard snippets of the Scotty and Goss breakfast show

Avoid at all cost unless you want to 🤮

Reckon I might give footy media a miss this week. Sitting through the game on Saturday was punishment enough. Will quickly tune in to hear what Duff has to say about our performance but otherwise going full detox on the media front...
Agree. Love Duffields takes.

Isn't "Avoid at all costs..." standard procedure for Scotty & Goss
Lol true. But I had bit of time this morning and as a glutton for punishment, unfortunately as they are the first ones to get content out I clicked play lol....

Maybe the players need to be made to listen to these clowns lol

Lol true. But I had bit of time this morning and as a glutton for punishment, unfortunately as they are the first ones to get content out I clicked play lol....

Maybe the players need to be made to listen to these clowns lol
Trying to be without any comparative competition is their business model.

Thank god I am able to work from home today that’s all I can say fam. Typically I avoid engaging in these discussions with colleagues but even if you say you’re a Freo supporter, the Eagles supporters seem to think it’s then open season.

There’s a bloke at my work (eagles supporter) who in reality should be ashamed to show his face in the office based on his shocking work performance, attendance and onslaught of fake injuries/illnesses. Guarantee he’s in the office right now gloating, on crutches and wearing a neck brace. Cnut.

Agree. Love Duffields takes.

The trouble is with him on SEN is that he tends to interview others on their thoughts, which is fine but it limits time for his own perspectives. He'll do a couple of snippets on his 'deep dive' section but it's not the same quantity we'd get on the Duff and Quarters podcast (does anyone rate Barra and Quarters?)

I really like Purple Reign for the amount of content they cover, but they don't have the same insights and nuances Duff has.

The trouble is with him on SEN is that he tends to interview others on their thoughts, which is fine but it limits time for his own perspectives. He'll do a couple of snippets on his 'deep dive' section but it's not the same quantity we'd get on the Duff and Quarters podcast
Needs a segment like Whateley does with King on Monday mornings.

(does anyone rate Barra and Quarters?)
full

The trouble is with him on SEN is that he tends to interview others on their thoughts, which is fine but it limits time for his own perspectives. He'll do a couple of snippets on his 'deep dive' section but it's not the same quantity we'd get on the Duff and Quarters podcast (does anyone rate Barra and Quarters?)

I really like Purple Reign for the amount of content they cover, but they don't have the same insights and nuances Duff has.

Sometimes listening to Purple Reign can be a bit like being on BigFooty - reactionary. And also overuse of “mate”

I realise how s**t a supporter base they have when they win.... 2 years of being awful wasn't long enough
Yeah they really deserve to dip into that 'break your soul' territory we all reside in.

If we lose this week to the dogs where does it leave us a week ago had thoughts we could compete for top 4 and finals was a given now are we just another st kilda and Essendon

I think we're like the dogs..can beat top teams but can be flaky lol

Needs a segment like Whateley does with King on Monday mornings.

full

Funny thing is I work opposite the Channel 7/West building in Ozzy park and I asked one of their staff (cafe regular) why Duff left - he just said 'he took a redundancy'.

Can someone from the corporate world explain that to me? In order to take a redundancy do you need to be offered one or can you ask for one? Why would he be offered a redundancy?

He makes a few sly comments against the West at times so not sure he left on great terms.

You can be tapped on the shoulder or (more likely in Duff’s case ) is you apply for one. What happens is the business wants to downsize so it offers redundancies to their staff. Obviously over time if nobody takes one then the sackings commence.

Funny thing is I work opposite the Channel 7/West building in Ozzy park and I asked one of their staff (cafe regular) why Duff left - he just said 'he took a redundancy'.

Can someone from the corporate world explain that to me? In order to take a redundancy do you need to be offered one or can you ask for one? Why would he be offered a redundancy?

He makes a few sly comments against the West at times so not sure he left on great terms.

Reading between the lines it's pretty obvious the relationship was no longer a great fit. The West's transition over the last decade towards editorialised tabloid WCE biased clickbait fodder clearly doesn't align with Duff's thoughtful, well reasoned football analysis.

I think him and the editorial staff most likely butted heads a few times behind the scenes and collectively decided the best way forward for Duff to take a redundancy / go their seperate ways. (To clarify - I have zero intel, pure speculation).

It looked like our midfield cheated ahead when Darcy was in the ruck and then if he didn't get it to them clean they were out of position.
This is what happens when you fall behind and can't score from your backline, you're forced to play aggressive at centre bounce, which can backfire and make you look really ordinary.

This is why our inability to capitalise with score board pressure is killing us. We end up having to play too aggressive. If we put some of those early goals on the board, they can play in the more controlled fashion they like and force the opposition to take risks.

As we got further and further behind we had to take more and more risk, more desparate plays, and it made some of their really average players look great.

If we'd kicked 6 goals from our 16 first quarter entries then the game would have likely trended towards a big win for Freo. As it stood, we didn't and their crowd got into it and all the momentum went their way.

When you add in the insane two sets of rules that were applied in the game, what happened all becomes reasonable. It was 22 to 18 on field and another 50,000 Eagles supporters going bananas and expressing three pent up years of frustration. Our guys didn't handle it well.

As the Eagles fans would say if roles were reversed "oh the dockers just played their grand final, winning derbies is all they're good for, at least we'll be in the finals". Well now is our chance to pay back that compliment. The Eagles played their grand final, well done to them.

The AFL tracker stats had us averaging a total 276km in our first 5 games with a positive differential of about +3km more than our opposition (with a range of -3 to +15km vs our opponents).

On Saturday night against West Coast, Freo had a total of 261km vs their 269km for a -8km differential.
It was our worst running performance in 2024 by some margin.

I have my own opinions and theories for that, but football teams are not made of robots ... they are still human and they are not always going to be up and about 100% for whatever reason/s.
Stats reflect facts.

We could have mitigated some of that.

We ran Jackson and Treacy into the ground and in retrospect Reidy getting a game mat have been a good investment.

Our management of Erasmus deserves questioning.

We have other players we can roll into the midfield (I like that we rested Fyfe), but seem locked into a best 22 and a fixed midfield set up. Maybe that needs some rethinking.

Aesthetically I'm not enjoying our game style, unless we win. My main criticism is that with players like Clark, Walker, Aish, Sharp, Jackson, Frederick, Brayshaw, Switkowski etc it doesn't feel like the right glove for that hand. And it is killing our scoring opportunities.

No Oppo Supporters Fremantle Do Not Contest A Game In Western Australia