Review Freo bully the Blues

Brayshaw gets used like a sub. Always has our lowest TOG. Giro had 85% against Carlton (with a lot being in the middle), Cerra had 88% and Brayshaw had only 69% (lowest on the team), yet he had way more touches of the footy and a higher impact. It just makes his performances even more impressive. He is gonna absolutely explode next year i've never been more sure of something in my life, brownlow potential for sure.

I thought SPS looked a bit ordinary, or at least well below what I expected. I think the commentators described some of his work as lazy. I am fine with the risk the club took by going for a trade down and getting Logue who has huge upside. As with all talls it may take awhile to see what he becomes, but he definitely looks like he can become a genuine weapon.
Yeah he has so much talent but he is not convincing on effort for me.
I thought SPS looked ok. I think a lot of players can look lazy when their team is getting shellacked. My only point is that for years we yearned after a tall forward through trade or free agency, and I saw some irony that while the one we traded for is playing 2nds, a guy we could have had would have looked good in our team - IMO.

I agree Logue has upside and Cam Mac has time on his side, I was happy with the deal then and don't have any regrets... Maybe I'm wondering if we don't need to chase (read trade for) key forwards anymore and just let ours develop.
The below is the response to your statement.

IMO, Ryan alone is better than SPS and will likely be of at least a similar standard player to SPS. Getting Darcy, Cam and Logue with him is pure gravy.

effectively ended up with mcarthy, logue, darcy and ryan from that trade from memory
Yep.
Ryan makes that trade look freakin' awesome.
100%.

I'm gonna disagree with the lazy call on SPS on the back of something memorable during the game.
He provided pressure on one of our guys somewhere near the left half forward flank, impacting the game & the blues took the ball away, all the way to their left half forward flank, where SPS had run to, so he ran well over 100m to be the loose man. This was late-ish in the game & I was surprised by that as I thought he was lazy.
Mind you, this was one instance I noted, but it was impressive.

This Brayshaw criticism is 2017 Logue all over again.
As a general rule, I think anybody writing off a first year draftee (at any club) is a moron.

Same reason I won't go to North's board and give them **** for picking LDU over Cerra. For all we know LDU turns into Judd and Cerra into Rich.

As a general rule, I think anybody writing off a first year draftee (at any club) is a moron.

Same reason I won't go to North's board and give them **** for picking LDU over Cerra. For all we know LDU turns into Judd and Cerra into Rich.

That's right. I skimmed over the LDU / Cerra comparison on the other board and immediately cringed.

Agreed, even though directly after the draft I vividly remember some Norf supporters jumping onto BF to deride the club for passing on LDU for Brayshaw.

Flogs.

I cringed because you can't make the comparison when both players haven't been in the system for even 12 months - not because I think Cerra is better or vice versa.

A few things that need to be noted about LDU:

- Watching them play you can tell North Melbourne are one of the most disciplined sides in the competition right now. That is going to be a lot harder for someone of LDU's experience and maturity to walk into and play for at AFL level compared to some other clubs.
- Going off of the above, it's going to be a lot harder to have the same level of exposure and tinkering that Brayshaw & Cerra have already had. That's why right now you may think they look better, when in reality one player is getting freedom and the other isn't.
- When he did play this year, he was on limited time and playing in a role to get him through the game compared to what he was used to at U18 level.
- His fitness and body is clearly at the same timeline point as Brayshaw's, probably a little worse and we've seen Brayshaw's TOG throughout the season. You wouldn't be rushing to play him in an in form team contesting for finals.

The only real disappointment for me was Tucker. Only had the 10 disposals again. Could probably do with being tried in a different position.

With Banfield being released a bit more is he meant to be playing a role as a bit more of a defensive forward? I don't have a replay to see who he was playing on most of the time.

By memory I think SPS wanted to get out of dodge and play in Melbourne anyway...

This is true as well. I wasn't trying to provoke a discussion around the merits of the Cam Mac trade, but I can see why it reads that way. I'll be happy to keep this year's first round pick and continue to build our fwd line around Tabs, Cam Mac, Cox, Apeness (please stay injury free fella) and Dixon. We still have Strad to possibly hit the mix as well.

I get what you're saying but not that fair if a club complained about drafting a Rich either. Will probably be an AFL 200+ gamer shortly. Not an easy feat.

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

I get what you're saying but not that fair if a club complained about drafting a Rich either. Will probably be an AFL 200+ gamer shortly. Not an easy feat.

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app
No I meant what I said. I think Cerra's floor (barring injury) is a player of Rich's quality. As good as a 200 game player is, he is no Judd which was my point.

Hi all, long time lurker here but haven't posted much.

It's great seeing good mates Hamling and Kersten playing together in the backline, could be a reason they have both gone to a new level in the last couple of weeks. I never thought Kersten could make it in the backline permanently but he was very solid yesterday, good signs.

And great to see the Ape string a couple of games together, he was such an imposing figure up forward... I reckon he would give J McGovern trouble with his strength and agression so I pray to the footy gods that he gets a decent run at it this time (bring on Derby #2 2018).

As other posters have mentioned I reckon we should be playing McCarthy further down the ground to take advantage of his running ability and superb kick inside 50. I didn't watch the Peel game, did we play him at CHF? Would mind seeing him play on the wing and half forward
Have to say I highly doubted Kersten would ever make it, but gee he's great as the spare defender role. He's a lot more involved in the play, can mark and fast which is handy for a defender. Glad to be proven wrong.

Mccarthy would excel being deep in the 50 and leading out to the ball carrier e.g. On the lead. That's what he did with GWS and is better as a burst player. He's quick and has the jump on say the third/fourth defender. Ideal for him. If he plays with Tabs and Cox, then he would see kicks over the over towards goal or away from packs.

It's pretty exciting to see what can happen with Tabs/Cox/Mccarthy with Apeness second ruck. Would benefit hugely for all involved.

Agreed, even though directly after the draft I vividly remember some Norf supporters jumping onto BF to deride the club for passing on LDU for Brayshaw.

Flogs.
I have to look it up, but one poster started dancing and yahooing - then proudly telling everyone on BF about it.

Cringe

I'm gonna disagree with the lazy call on SPS on the back of something memorable during the game.
He provided pressure on one of our guys somewhere near the left half forward flank, impacting the game & the blues took the ball away, all the way to their left half forward flank, where SPS had run to, so he ran well over 100m to be the loose man. This was late-ish in the game & I was surprised by that as I thought he was lazy.
Mind you, this was one instance I noted, but it was impressive.
When the blues had the ball, he run hard for sure.
Did you see any 100m runs the other way? Because I didn’t.

When the blues had the ball, he run hard for sure.
Did you see any 100m runs the other way? Because I didn’t.
mate, I wasn't looking specifically for that, so no, I don't remember seeing that.
I do think however, & not accusing you at all, that naturally talented players, in particular Aboriginal players get labelled as lazy, when a lack of intensity at times could be for a number of reasons, especially concentration for younger players.
I'd love to have SPS at Freo.
just my 2 cents worth

SPD doesn't seem particularly lazy to me.

Even a bit where on a paused screen Pav mentioned he wasn't chasing, but when they let the vision go forward you saw he actually was but had just the Ryan get goal side (not ideal but hardly inexcusable in a 2nd year player in a rabble)
Inclined to agree with @youu it has the sniff of lazy stereotyping.

mate, I wasn't looking specifically for that, so no, I don't remember seeing that.
I do think however, & not accusing you at all, that naturally talented players, in particular Aboriginal players get labelled as lazy, when a lack of intensity at times could be for a number of reasons, especially concentration for younger players.
I'd love to have SPS at Freo.
just my 2 cents worth

SPD doesn't seem particularly lazy to me.

Even a bit where on a paused screen Pav mentioned he wasn't chasing, but when they let the vision go forward you saw he actually was but had just the Ryan get goal side (not ideal but hardly inexcusable in a 2nd year player in a rabble)
Inclined to agree with @youu it has the sniff of lazy stereotyping.
Poor form IMO.

On The Couch showed some horrible footage of Carlton's number 11 being the laziest ass on the field last night.

Amazing that in 2 hours of AFL Football Shows (360 & On The Couch) they didn't talk about how well Fremantle played once.

It was all about how bad Carlton and their rebuild are going. I just spent the last 2 hours driving to Sydney listening to SEN and it was all about Carlton until Daisy Pearce joined Whateley and suggested that Fremantle may have just been very good and that Freo were "Richmond like in their pressure".

Nothing like flying under the radar.

Review Freo bully the Blues