News Freo Trade Talk

This could be an absolute shambles the way it is panning out... No Shaw, No Hogan... I can't really blame the club i guess but man the system is killing teams like Freo who havent "tanked" hard for a few years and stocked up. I mean GC will be adding O'meara and Martin in their 3rd/4th seasons as a club respectively. That is not a fair system at all. Getting to put No.1 draft picks into your team 4 years in a row irrespective of where you finish is a classic example of a dumb ill thought afl rule that has been manipulated.

Now we find out Sydney has a $900,000 salary advantage too. Due to living costs/luring players to the city... Someone explain how Sydney is deserving of that compared to freo and west coast trying to keep or get players here?

sick of seeing WA talent pinched through spoon feeding systems instead of competitive ones

This could be an absolute shambles the way it is panning out... No Shaw, No Hogan... I can't really blame the club i guess but man the system is killing teams like Freo who havent "tanked" hard for a few years and stocked up. I mean GC will be adding O'meara and Martin in their 3rd/4th seasons as a club respectively. That is not a fair system at all. Getting to put No.1 draft picks into your team 4 years in a row irrespective of where you finish is a classic example of a dumb ill thought afl rule that has been manipulated.

Now we find out Sydney has a $900,000 salary advantage too. Due to living costs/luring players to the city... Someone explain how Sydney is deserving of that compared to freo and west coast trying to keep or get players here?

sick of seeing WA talent pinched through spoon feeding systems instead of competitive ones
sydney have had this for years. nobody gave a crap until they won the granny this year. can't remember anyone giving a crap about it in 2006, or whenever it was, either. actually, it's only an issue because kennett is a bitch.*

*apologies to good bitches everywhere, i love youse all.

also, we need to get a wriggle on getting a plug-in-and-play KPF. hawks acquiring lake just made it a bit harder. time for bondy to go balls out.

The AFL needs draft picks to be dispersed via lottery, it is the only way to stop incentivising failure. Give the top talent's their fair chance of ending up in a successful environment. The hardest working most talented individuals are not rewarded by being guaranteed draftees of the AFL's least successful clubs, on and off field.

we are going to be in a world of offended in two years time when we lose Pav and Mcpharlin... especially if we have another couple of years like this year... we simply wont get the picks to recruit top end talent in the KPP area.... really quite depressing

The AFL needs draft picks to be dispersed via lottery, it is the only way to stop incentivising failure. Give the top talent's their fair chance of ending up in a successful environment. The hardest working most talented individuals are not rewarded by being guaranteed draftees of the AFL's least successful clubs, on and off field.

So rather than clubs getting picks based on their performance the AFL draws the club and their pick number out of a hat? This is a great idea and clubs like Melbourne won't know what pick they are going to get so no matter how hard they tank it won't guarantee them a top pick. I love it Ghost Pig!!

we are going to be in a world of offended in two years time when we lose Pav and Mcpharlin... especially if we have another couple of years like this year... we simply wont get the picks to recruit top end talent in the KPP area.... really quite depressing

We can trade players for pick upgrades, so there's some chance.

And there are a few good KPs that ended up going through to the second round, so we've got a chance from that perspective.

The reality is, if we seriously consider loading up on KPs, we need to bring in Matt Rendell from the Crows as a KP drafting consultant. His hit rate has been really good, and they haven't all been with high draft picks.

So rather than clubs getting picks based on their performance the AFL draws the club and their pick number out of a hat? This is a great idea and clubs like Melbourne won't know what pick they are going to get so no matter how hard they tank it won't guarantee them a top pick. I love it Ghost Pig!!

The NBA do thus via their draft lottery for the first round. The seasons worst team is weighted with more chances to draw the no.1 pick, but yes it's still by chance.

And there are a few good KPs that ended up going through to the second round, so we've got a chance from that perspective.

The reality is, if we seriously consider loading up on KPs, we need to bring in Matt Rendell from the Crows as a KP drafting consultant. His hit rate has been really good, and they haven't all been with high draft picks.

i mentioned rendell earlier this year.... i personally thought we should sack lloyd and go all out for rendell.. unfortunately rendell has already accepted another role for next year :(

Rendell took a job with Collingwood just recently I think..?

True, but they'll try to keep the best of them... and will make sure whoever takes them pays in picks. So even if a number of guys do fall out, they'll have every chance of keeping a fair chunk of them... and the picks they get for the ones they lose will help shore up holes in their list.

If they can develop/maintain a decent culture, then there shouldn't be an exodus/implosion like is happening at Melbourne and Port.

The reality is GWS, and GC, have probably close to 15 years of massive flow-on benefit over the rest of the comp. Whilst they will not be able to keep all their youth due to salary cap pressures (for which they also have added benefit) they will get high picks for trading many of those lost in coming years, regenerating their stocks - the AFL really did go overboard with the list building benefits

Unless we get pick #12 for Moller and pick # 16

I have no issue with using an unknown quantity like Moller to get a pick or pick upgrade, but if we are trading established players that are currently part of our best 22 or thereabouts I hope it isn't for some pick or net pick upgrade
We still have Roberton and Ibbo uncontracted, Silvagni apparently open to offers, a couple of other guys with currency that could be persuaded that their best opportunities lie elsewhere and there are almost 3 long weeks of trading to go. Plenty of opportunity to get some deals done yet for players that are ready to play finals in 2013, please let that be our focus if we are trading away Ibbo and the like.

sydney have had this for years. nobody gave a crap until they won the granny this year. can't remember anyone giving a crap about it in 2006, or whenever it was, either. actually, it's only an issue because kennett is a bitch.*

*apologies to good bitches everywhere, i love youse all.
People have made a stink about this in the past including Fremantle and West Coast who made joint complaints two years ago when the draft was compromised.

It just comes up now because when every other club is crunching numbers and trying to find ways to gain 1% Sydney can sit back, win a flag and poach arguably one of the best blue chip forwards in the game for roughly 100,000 a year due to the salary exemption...

You are right... why should we complain now that they have won a flag... Why would the AFL ever readjust after clearly seeing the concession worked.

People have made a stink about this in the past including Fremantle and West Coast who made joint complaints two years ago when the draft was compromised.

It just comes up now because when every other club is crunching numbers and trying to find ways to gain 1% Sydney can sit back, win a flag and poach arguably one of the best blue chip forwards in the game for roughly 100,000 a year due to the salary exemption...

You are right... why should we complain now that they have won a flag... Why would the AFL ever readjust after clearly seeing the concession worked.
yeah, it's done what it was intended to. the AFL probably do need to look at now the swans have established themselves in the sydney market. the cost of living reason is furphy now with Perth and Melbourne being just as expensive to live in.

They'll just rename it from "cost of living" expense to "hostile market crutch" and maintain it.

Cost of living is definitely a furphy. The fact that Sydney and Brisbane are dominated by NRL is the issue. Have Brissie had their salary cap concession taken away or have they kept it?

is it just 'cost of living' though? I imagine that there is a big difference in promotional opportunities that players can grab in Sydney. I live in Sydney, and it is an afl desert. We all have a laugh about luring x player over to perth, and getting them to have a little chat to woodside and co, but that would be pretty limited for an afl player in nsw. Plus, we also want to lure gumby and co, former wa boys... Well fewer numbers of nsw wales boys to get for the swans. plus the ones they draft would be subject to the go home factor. The system isnt perfect, but i have some sympathy as to why Sydney gets a bit more cash.

That said, I'm very fond of the swannies, so I'll admit my bias up front... And tell you, it is bloody expensive over here :/

Nothing has changed, we were never in the game for the mini-draft. There are still three KPF's available in the main draft,
with Melbourne probably pulling out of that race. With so many quality mids, KPD's, flankers available, we may still have a
chance. An upgrade of our pick would be nice, or one could slide. The only other solution is Black, Gumbleton, etc, and
with Freo's recent history, this could be on the cards. At worst we will have to rookie list a forward or two.

is it just 'cost of living' though? I imagine that there is a big difference in promotional opportunities that players can grab in Sydney. I live in Sydney, and it is an afl desert. We all have a laugh about luring x player over to perth, and getting them to have a little chat to woodside and co, but that would be pretty limited for an afl player in nsw. Plus, we also want to lure gumby and co, former wa boys... Well fewer numbers of nsw wales boys to get for the swans. plus the ones they draft would be subject to the go home factor. The system isnt perfect, but i have some sympathy as to why Sydney gets a bit more cash.

That said, I'm very fond of the swannies, so I'll admit my bias up front... And tell you, it is bloody expensive over here :/
it's probably more to do with keeping the swans competitive in sydney than cost of living, although i can see sydney being attractive to footy players who don't want the scrutiny of playing in melbourne and still want a the big city lifestyle. the swans culture and recent successes are probablhy established enough to see them withstand losing the concessions, but they probably won't while the rivalry with GWS is being worked and until the derby captures the imagination of the market there.

Right, so all we need is Sydney to win the next 2, then GWS can win a hat-trick, and by 2018 it will be a level playing field.
GC won't be losing their concessions anytime soon. the market there is way too fickle to risk it.

News Freo Trade Talk