Game against hawks wash up

Just further Craigs approach in introducing youth is to be admired - not putting them in b4 they're ready but when he does he is mixing it up between giving them jobs on opposition star players and treating them as a senior player.

Conversely with others he is giving them a glimpse of "The Show"

He has my total support ;)

Wayne's-World said:
Jack NC has made the right calls most of this year - his assessment of players readiness for AFL and how to introduce them is somewhat more astute than us.

He brought Bock in and gave him roles most suggested was a crazy decision - result - tick to Craig.

The same with Rutten

The fact he has decided to really have Knights looking from the bench, experiencing not only the team build up but the traveling routine, is bad?????

Craig has probably thought the pressure of first game, travel and understanding the AFC gameplan, was maybe a bit too much - besides we do not understand how nervous the kid may have been - his next opportunity he'll be much more relaxed.

I think he introduced Van Berlo the same way.

My problem with playing Knights is if we lost our FF and Watts is a foward and he is fit he has to play.Does any one know why he is not playing is there somethiong going on we dont know about because he has to be ready surely? :confused: This would give Kenny some option to kick to when he marks across the wing half foward.

topjars said:
Does anyone know the free kick count?

I think we got it in the neck again... apart from the Hawks not paid a holding the ball decision on Ben Hart right in front of goal.

2 of our first half goals came from umpire help Biglands got a 50 and so did Macca[I think] and from that foward thrust we scored

birdmanptr said:
My problem with playing Knights is if we lost our FF and Watts is a foward and he is fit he has to play.Does any one know why he is not playing is there somethiong going on we dont know about because he has to be ready surely? :confused: This would give Kenny some option to kick to when he marks across the wing half foward.
Watts has been playing CHF - NC gameplan has had Welsh as the leading FF - I don't know who played FF today as I haven't seen the game BUT as a principle I would think Craig would be wary about playing too many inexperienced players at one time.

We forget Bock, Rutten, Reilly,Hentschell, Van Berlo and Knights are very inexperienced in terms of games played - and thats almost 30% of the side - adding Watts may be a bit over the top in that context only ATS

Wayne's-World said:
Watts has been playing CHF - NC gameplan has had Welsh as the leading FF - I don't know who played FF today as I haven't seen the game BUT as a principle I would think Craig would be wary about playing too many inexperienced players at one time.

We forget Bock, Rutten, Reilly, Van Berlo and Knights are very inexperienced in terms of games played - and thats almost 25% of the side - adding Watts may be a bit over the top in that context only ATS

My argument is Watts should have played instead of knights.

topjars said:

I think we got it in the neck again... apart from the Hawks not paid a holding the ball decision on Ben Hart right in front of goal.

Hawks 25

Crows 17

About the same ratio for all non- Victorian teams that beat Victorian teams this week!! Check it out - its a fkg joke. :rolleyes:

birdmanptr said:
My argument is Watts should have played instead of knights.
Iam assuming based on the argument of Watts replacing Welsh - fair argument too.

I guess that Knights performances probably got the nod BUT also Tassie and that ground being a typical "open" surburban oval can be very windy and would not have suited players dependant on marking.

So the club appears to have opted for more a running type player than a marking type - unfortunately we're not selectors ;)

macca23 said:
Hawks 25

Crows 17

About the same ratio for all non- Victorian teams that beat Victorian teams this week!! Check it out - its a fkg joke. :rolleyes:
Cmon get of that umpire bashing bandwagon - when the players play a perfect game then and only then can we look at umpires influence on the game

topjars said:

I reckon the Biglands fiasco didn't help, that's for sure. :rolleyes:

Wayne's-World said:
Just further Craigs approach in introducing youth is to be admired - not putting them in b4 they're ready but when he does he is mixing it up between giving them jobs on opposition star players and treating them as a senior player.

so what did knights learn today in 1 mins game time>?

And ofcourse he has your support while he is winning. His introduction of VB the first time was very unsuccessful, he got little game time and was eventually dropped. The way he did it with rutten was the way to go, ie he put him there gave him a go so he could either fail or show what hes got. Rutten showed he belongs at AFL level. Same principle with bock, couldnt show what he had until he was actually given game time left in a spot and he stepped up.

And i too admire how he hasnt rushed watts in for instance, cause they need to show what they can do at sanfl level first. But once they are given a spot giving a guy 5 min a game, like was done with reilly, VB and now knights, only puts a guy out of form and eventually gets them dropped. Other examples where he has actually backed them has showed generally they have not let him down.

Its fine talking youth but NC has to play them, we were virtually playing with a 3 man bench today. BTW, i have no problem to take them off if he thinks they're not up to it when the game gets tight, but giving them very limited time will only sap their confidence.

Wayne's-World said:
The fact he has decided to really have Knights looking from the bench, experiencing not only the team build up but the traveling routine, is bad?????

Craig has probably thought the pressure of first game, travel and understanding the AFC gameplan, was maybe a bit too much - besides we do not understand how nervous the kid may have been - his next opportunity he'll be much more relaxed.

Apparently young Knights didn't sleep at all last night, he was that nervous.

After the game when the boys sang the club song Knights was made to stand in the middle and they showered him with drink as well!! :)

To the kid's credit he showered a couple of them back!! :D He was grinning like a Cheshire cat.

It's a little bit like being 12th man in a test match first up just to get over the really serious nerves and give the player a good look at things from close up.

I would have loved to see him get more game time as personally I think he would have done okay as he showed when he sharked that ball in the square and shot out the handball which got us a goal in his little cameo appearance on the ground.

Lat's hope that Knights can get another crack at it next week at home.

outback jack said:
so what did knights learn today in 1 mins game time>?

And ofcourse he has your support while he is winning. His introduction of VB the first time was very unsuccessful, he got little game time and was eventually dropped. The way he did it with rutten was the way to go, ie he put him there gave him a go so he could either fail or show what hes got. Rutten showed he belongs at AFL level. Same principle with bock, couldnt show what he had until he was actually given game time left in a spot and he stepped up.

And i too admire how he hasnt rushed watts in for instance, cause they need to show what they can do at sanfl level first. But once they are given a spot giving a guy 5 min a game, like was done with reilly, VB and now knights, only puts a guy out of form and eventually gets them dropped. Other examples where he has actually backed them has showed generally they have not let him down.

Its fine talking youth but NC has to play them, we were virtually playing with a 3 man bench today. BTW, i have no problem to take them off if he thinks they're not up to it when the game gets tight, but giving them very limited time will only sap their confidence.
It's obvious Jack you have necer played any sport

1. Knights learing curve would have been huge today - travelling, understanding and seeing first hand the AFC gameplan rather than the Eagles gamestyle.

He would have been able to sit and view the pace of the game - get rid of his pent up nervousness

His next opportunity he will be much better prepared - did he learn anything I'll leave that for others to judge ;)

2. VB introduction unsuccessfull?? - his game last week was a result of the careful management and into of VB to AFL - how do you judge success?? - did you expect BOG in his first year at 18 years of age??

3. Young kids do not lose confidence and form because they have been given an opportunity to be part of an AFL side at 18 years old - quite the contrary Jack :rolleyes:

macca23 said:
Apparently young Knights didn't sleep at all last night, he was that nervous.

After the game when the boys sang the club song Knights was made to stand in the middle and they showered him with drink as well!! :)

To the kid's credit he showered a couple of them back!! :D He was grinning like a Cheshire cat.
According to Jack todays effort by leaving Knights on the bench has sapped him of confidence and form - yep! your comments simply reinforce Jacks POV ;)

macca23 said:
It's a little bit like being 12th man in a test match first up just to get over the really serious nerves and give the player a good look at things from close up.

I would have loved to see him get more game time as personally I think he would have done okay as he showed when he sharked that ball in the square and shot out the handball which got us a goal in his little cameo appearance on the ground.

Lat's hope that Knights can get another crack at it next week at home.
He'll be much more confident next showing even if he gets dropped after this game:

1. He knows the AFC management have shown confidence in him and rewarded performances

2. He will be far more comfortable next outing and perform better.

Reilly got no possession his first outing, the pace of the game being too much for him.

I think both Van Berlo and Knights are handling their first seasons better than Reilly who was still in Sturts reserves ;)

Wayne's-World said:
It's obvious Jack you have necer played any sport :

very wrong. And to quite a successful level. Not playing footy ofcourse

Wayne's-World said:
1. Knights learing curve would have been huge today - travelling, understanding and seeing first hand the AFC gameplan rather than the Eagles gamestyle. :

you said this is a earlier post, i am talking from his one minutes game time what did he learn. Didnt someone say he travelled to the geelong game as the eagles had a bye>? I would of thought he would of saw how it works then. He wasnt there to watch how to today.

Wayne's-World said:
His next opportunity he will be much better prepared - did he learn anything I'll leave that for others to judge ;) :

wouldn’t be suprised if he is dropped for skippy. If this is the plan i expect him to get 4 or 5 games atleast. If he is dropped you theory doesn’t make sense

Wayne's-World said:
2. VB introduction unsuccessfull?? - his game last week was a result of the careful management and into of VB to AFL - how do you judge success?? - did you expect BOG in his first year at 18 years of age?? :

His game last week was a result of actually getting some game time. Do you call playing 5 mins a game for 3 or 4 games and then getting dropped as a successfully introduction? I'd expect the introduction to start off slow and build up, playing the flanks etc to start with, but playing 5 mins serves no purpose.

Wayne's-World said:
3. Young kids do not lose confidence and form because they have been given an opportunity to be part of an AFL side at 18 years old - quite the contrary Jack :rolleyes:

Yes if someone doesnt back you, you will lose confidence, no matter what age your are. I am actually thinking that you havent played much team sport at all. Say you're a fringe player and your not getting a go, you dont feel a part of it, its as simple as that. Reilly is a classic example of a player who lost form/confidence frrom getting little gametime. I am not saying they should be getting a whole game, but atleast give them a half and back them.

Btw, on your principle, ie this was basically an introduction to afl football, if knights is dropped or gets little game time next week it doesn’t make sense.

Why is everyone talking of a last quarter fadeout? IMO, we only played 1 decent quater & even then it was only the 1st part of it. We were ordinary in the 1st half, blew the game open early in the 3rd quarter, then cruised to a win in the last, rather than finishing it off. It's a a good sign on the 1 hand that we can win a game whilst only being in control for a small time, but we cannot afford to do thi against better teams!

I thought Kenny was a great target up foward & Goody was our best midfielder - our 2 best IMO. Thomo played a great 3rd qtr & Burton was solid all day.

Was hoping Knight would get more minutes & happy with VB's attack on the ball. Reilly's disposal was ordinary & needs a full game in the SANFL to get some match fitness.

outback jack said:
wouldn’t be suprised if he is dropped for skippy. If this is the plan i expect him to get 4 or 5 games atleast. If he is dropped you theory doesn’t make sense
It would be disappointing if he were dropped after toady - I would have given him at least another game to nuild upon today. But who is more derserving at this stage of the season in a show of faith from the coach - Skippy or Knights.

I have said players like Van Berlo and Knights will replace Skippy but not at this stage of the season approaching a final.

His game last week was a result of actually getting some game time. Do you call playing 5 mins a game for 3 or 4 games and then getting dropped as a successfully introduction? I'd expect the introduction to start off slow and build up, playing the flanks etc to start with, but playing 5 mins serves no purpose.
I'd agree but only based on opportunity.

Yes if someone doesnt back you, you will lose confidence, no matter what age your are. I am actually thinking that you havent played much team sport at all. Say you're a fringe player and your not getting a go, you dont feel a part of it, its as simple as that. Reilly is a classic example of a player who lost form/confidence frrom getting little gametime. I am not saying they should be getting a whole game, but atleast give them a half and back them.
I'd also agree with that comment - yes and Reilly is suffering ATM but he has a fantastic relationship with Craig so I'm not sure whats happening there???

There would definately be players (Ladhams, Bode) playing in the SANFL who think they do not have the coaches support - question is does Craig see them as part of the AFC future.

In any side players will feel the way your suggesting - thats life

SpringChoke said:
POSITIVES:

4 Points,

Macca 2nd half was sensational,

Kenny - 13 marks, what a game,

Goody, Trent, Rutts, Burton - Good,

NEGATIVES:

4th quarter fade out, AGAIN,

Reilly, VB, Knights - And the point of taking Knights was ?? I will be spewing if Knights gets dropped next week and Skipworth come straight back in.
I thought Reilly was pretty good for the time he was on :confused: He butchered one ball going forward where it came off his boot and didn't hit a forward but overall I thought he was good.

Stiffy_18 said:
I thought Reilly was pretty good for the time he was on :confused: He butchered one ball going forward where it came off his boot and didn't hit a forward but overall I thought he was good.
Haven't seen the game yet - 3AW covering the game gave Reilly 3/10, Hudson 3/10, Van berlo 3/10 and knights 1/10 :(

Stiffy_18 said:
I thought Reilly presented well when he was on, but geez his disposal has been awful since I got back in Oz. Time to head back to Sturt IMO as he is just trying to be way too cute with his kicking.

Wayne's-World said:

Agree. There is a lot more to the selection 'experience' than just playing the game. There is routine, preparation, pre-match address, rubbing shoulders with the main guys etc

Just because little game time is handed out, doesn't mean there isn't anything to be learnt or gained.

birdmanptr said:
Good effort but need more than 2 goals from so many marks.
Disagree. He plays a different role than what you expect from him. His role was to lead up the ground to meet the ball carrier. Hard to kick a goal when you mark 60+ meters out in front of goal. McGregor played the role Jonathan Brown played when Lynch was still around and that why Brown never kicked big bags on regular basis even though he pulled down ********loads of marks.

Stiffy_18 said:
Disagree. He plays a different role than what you expect from him. His role was to lead up the ground to meet the ball carrier. Hard to kick a goal when you mark 60+ meters out in front of goal. McGregor played the role Jonathan Brown played when Lynch was still around and that why Brown never kicked big bags on regular basis even though he pulled down ********loads of marks.
This is an interesting one.

No doubt Kenny gave us a great target between wing & HF, but I must say I wished he was playing deeper (with Perrie playing Kenny's role) as we were struggling for a target closer to goal with Welshy missing.

Game against hawks wash up