Game against hawks wash up

Wayne's-World said:
Jack NC has made the right calls most of this year - his assessment of players readiness for AFL and how to introduce them is somewhat more astute than us.

He brought Bock in and gave him roles most suggested was a crazy decision - result - tick to Craig.

The same with Rutten

The fact he has decided to really have Knights looking from the bench, experiencing not only the team build up but the traveling routine, is bad?????

Craig has probably thought the pressure of first game, travel and understanding the AFC gameplan, was maybe a bit too much - besides we do not understand how nervous the kid may have been - his next opportunity he'll be much more relaxed.

I think he introduced Van Berlo the same way.
Triggy said on 5AA before the game that Knights told him he had no sleep the night before. The kid was as nervous as a virgin.

Crow-mosone said:
Agree. There is a lot more to the selection 'experience' than just playing the game. There is routine, preparation, pre-match address, rubbing shoulders with the main guys etc

Just because little game time is handed out, doesn't mean there isn't anything to be learnt or gained.
Exactly - one thing to train with the team leaders another thing entirely to play a game with them.

How each players nerves are and how they handle the mental side of playing AFL as a very young player - we sitting from the outside cannot determine - Neil Craigs in the best position to determine the best approach for each player.

For some it will be a long apprenticeship in the SANFL others it will be a quick intro to AFL

Wayne's-World said:
It's obvious Jack you have necer played any sport

1. Knights learing curve would have been huge today - travelling, understanding and seeing first hand the AFC gameplan rather than the Eagles gamestyle.

He would have been able to sit and view the pace of the game - get rid of his pent up nervousness

His next opportunity he will be much better prepared - did he learn anything I'll leave that for others to judge ;)

2. VB introduction unsuccessfull?? - his game last week was a result of the careful management and into of VB to AFL - how do you judge success?? - did you expect BOG in his first year at 18 years of age??

3. Young kids do not lose confidence and form because they have been given an opportunity to be part of an AFL side at 18 years old - quite the contrary Jack :rolleyes:

Totally agree. Andrew Walker had one of the most impressive debuts youll ever see, as did Jarred Brennan. Neither of them have done a hell of a lot since. Id rather have Knights introduced slowly then have that kind of expectation heaped on an 18 year old.

Wayne's-World said:
Watts has been playing CHF - NC gameplan has had Welsh as the leading FF - I don't know who played FF today as I haven't seen the game BUT as a principle I would think Craig would be wary about playing too many inexperienced players at one time.

We forget Bock, Rutten, Reilly,Hentschell, Van Berlo and Knights are very inexperienced in terms of games played - and thats almost 30% of the side - adding Watts may be a bit over the top in that context only ATS
Hentschel started at FF and Biglands in the pocket. Then the customary move of bringing in Perrie to play out of the square with Hentschel. Hentschel played further up the ground when Sarge came on.

Stiffy_18 said:
Triggy said on 5AA before the game that Knights told him he had no sleep the night before. The kid was as nervous as a virgin.
The nervous energy expended would have seen him flat as a tack - well coached then by NC :)

Wayne's-World said:
Haven't seen the game yet - 3AW covering the game gave Reilly 3/10, Hudson 3/10, Van berlo 3/10 and knights 1/10 :(

A couple of harsh marks there.

I agree with Stiffy that apart from one overly cute poor disposal, Reilly did pretty well when he was on. 5/10 from me.

Hudson was the spark that ignited our 3rd quarter spree. In that quarter he took on and beat the best ruckman in the AFL comp. 6/10 from me.

Van Berlo was okay while on. Tons of courage and went hard at it. Made a couple of errors though and I thought Torney did well when he went back there. 4/10 from me.

Knights was only on for the blink of an eye and still set up a goal with his one possession, an excellent piece of crumbing in the goalsquare. But his time on the ground alone restricted him to 1/10.

macca23 said:
Hawks 25

Crows 17

About the same ratio for all non- Victorian teams that beat Victorian teams this week!! Check it out - its a joke. :rolleyes:

Yeah my dad and i have been keeping up with all the games played this weekend and it must be one hell of a cooincidence but all of the interstate teams have been badly treated by the umps, barring Port yesterday. Third week in a row the crows have had atleast 10 fewer frees than the opposition. I agree that umpiring rarely loses a game for a team, but god does it ruin it for the spectators. there is something terribly wrong in a competition when the standard of umpiring recieves as much attention as it does in the AFL. Gieshen should go down to the SANFL where frees are few and far between, and people are talking about footy after the game and not umpiring.

Fudd said:
Totally agree. Andrew Walker had one of the most impressive debuts youll ever see, as did Jarred Brennan. Neither of them have done a hell of a lot since. Id rather have Knights introduced slowly then have that kind of expectation heaped on an 18 year old.
Correct - Stiify Johncock spent most of his first season on the bench getting cameo roles.

Don't burdon them with unrealistic expectations

Don't pander to them either.

Prepare them physically and mentally, introduce them on the basis of merit - gradually expanding the team roles and the natural order of progression in a team.

Wayne's-World said:
Haven't seen the game yet - 3AW covering the game gave Reilly 3/10, Hudson 3/10, Van berlo 3/10 and knights 1/10 :(
Have to agree with these assessments. I would assume Reilly, VB and Knights were based on game time. But I thought Hudson had a bad day. He came good in the 3rd but dropped away again.

Just on VB.. I think he started on a back flank with Doughty on the other..Mcleod was where? Because I felt as soon as VB went off ..or into the middle.. and McLeod went to the back flank Mcleods rate lifted. Did anyone else see this?

macca23 said:
Knights was only on for the blink of an eye and still set up a goal with his one possession, an excellent piece of crumbing in the goalsquare. But his time on the ground alone restricted him to 1/10.
Macca I said the other day that what impressed me most about Knights was his clean hands and ability to read the play - thoughts after today (I know only brief) also from watching WWT

Stiffy_18 said:
Disagree. He plays a different role than what you expect from him. His role was to lead up the ground to meet the ball carrier. Hard to kick a goal when you mark 60+ meters out in front of goal. McGregor played the role Jonathan Brown played when Lynch was still around and that why Brown never kicked big bags on regular basis even though he pulled down ********loads of marks.

Spot on Stiffy. McGregor played it perfectly today.

If Perrie had hung onto a couple of those chest marks it might have worked a lot better too.

IMO we would have lost today without McGregor playing that link role to the forwards that he did.

macca23 said:
A couple of harsh marks there.

I agree with Stiffy that apart from one overly cute poor disposal, Reilly did pretty well when he was on. 5/10 from me.

Hudson was the spark that ignited our 3rd quarter spree. In that quarter he took on and beat the best ruckman in the AFL comp. 6/10 from me.

Van Berlo was okay while on. Tons of courage and went hard at it. Made a couple of errors though and I thought Torney did well when he went back there. 4/10 from me.

I thought Reilly presented well, but can't recall him disposing the ball to well - certainly not to the standard we expect.

Whilst Huddo didn't have his best game, he was good when it mattered & Everitt hardly had any influence.

I just love VB's attack on the ball. Didn't get a heap of it, but this kid must be persisted with.

Hard to rate Knights, given he hardly got much opportunity.

macca23 said:
Spot on Stiffy. McGregor played it perfectly today.

If Perrie had hung onto a couple of those chest marks it might have worked a lot better too.

IMO we would have lost today without McGregor playing that link role to the forwards that he did.
I have been a critic of Kenny at CHB but what has impressed me of late is his new found ability to actually leap at a contest - will make him a far more dangerous player IMO

Wayne's-World said:
I have been a critic of Kenny at CHB but what has impressed me of late is his new found ability to actually leap at a contest - will make him a far more dangerous player IMO
I cannot recall Kenny losing a contest today.

Kane McGoodwin said:
This is an interesting one.

No doubt Kenny gave us a great target between wing & HF, but I must say I wished he was playing deeper (with Perrie playing Kenny's role) as we were struggling for a target closer to goal with Welshy missing.
Gee whiz Kane, I would have set up exactly the way NC set them up today. Sarge's decision making and his ability to hot target with a kick are his weaknesses. To me he is a classic mark and kick type forward. Kenny's disposal by foot is much better than Sarge's so when Kenny gets it he generally hits a man on the lead. His kicking is pretty accurate even though its a bit unorthodox.

With Kenny leading further up the ground and presenting between HF and wing, it creates space for Sarge and Hentschel to run in. Its not a matter of he should be taking those marks closer to goal, its a matter of Kenny playing his role which was clearly to present an option for a ball carrier coming off HBF and creating space behind him.

He still had 4 shots at goal for 2 goals. Considering the role he was playing that is a pretty good return IMHO.

Wayne's-World said:

I think he moves with alot more urgency playing up forward aswell, which was the only thing that worried me when he was at CHB, that he was far to hesitant.

PerthCrow said:
Have to agree with these assessments. I would assume Reilly, VB and Knights were based on game time. But I thought Hudson had a bad day. He came good in the 3rd but dropped away again.

Just on VB.. I think he started on a back flank with Doughty on the other..Mcleod was where? Because I felt as soon as VB went off ..or into the middle.. and McLeod went to the back flank Mcleods rate lifted. Did anyone else see this?
McLeod started forward.

Wayne's-World said:
Macca I said the other day that what impressed me most about Knights was his clean hands and ability to read the play - thoughts after today (I know only brief) also from watching WWT

Reads the play beautifully and will be that crumber we've been looking for up forward even though he's 6'1" tall. Very clean hands. Another asset is that watch him closely in and around the pack - he always keeps his feet and doesn't go to ground.

We've had plenty of debates re players WW, but Knights won't be one of them!! :D

Fudd said:
I think he moves with alot more urgency playing up forward aswell, which was the only thing that worried me when he was at CHB, that he was far to hesitant.
Before he went to CHB that was my impression of him as a CHF - terrible reader of the ball coming in - no idea really.

His time at CHB and some maturity appears to have provided that education which was required in his case.

He's also moving a lot quicker than early season when he had the archilles problem.

macca23 said:
Reads the play beautifully and will be that crumber we've been looking for up forward even though he's 6'1" tall. Very clean hands. Another asset is that watch him closely in and around the pack - he always keeps his feet and doesn't go to ground.

We've had plenty of debates re players WW, but Knights won't be one of them!! :D
I don't think so either - and at 6' 1" he gives that flexibility and marking alternative that limits Skippy - sure he has to get experience but by 2007 we should have a beauty

The sign of a good club is to be able to play awful football and still win the game. Do you think clubs that have finished Top Four in previous years have won all their games playing beautiful football?

I can guarantee you for example that West Coast haven't played 14 perfect games of football this year (far from it) The measure of a truly strong football club is to be flat on the day and still win.

The Adelaide Crows of old would've folded under these circumstances heading to Launceston. We've never won there before and this is another box that can be ticked off.

Positives

Game clear in second with a game coming up soon against the Roos. True test of how far both clubs have come.

First win in Tassie

Played a quarter of football and still came away with the 4 points

Ken McGregor developing a Key Forward mentality (plays a similar role to Tredrea only less goals)

Blooded another youngster today (albeit for a short period of time) and he seemed to really enjoy it. He'll be better for the experience of the routine.

Ben Hudson being thrown into the ruck when the game was there to be lost and nullifying the key influence Everitt was having. Has been the big difference (along with Truck) to the Crows success this year.

The Defence, solid as ever.

Negatives

Played a quarter of football

Looked flat and think we will for one more week at least before Craigy gives the boys a quieter week (3 on 1 off heading into finals as I understand it)

I'm leaving it at that, no point harping on the things that went wrong. A game we certainly would've lost in previous years. Time to prepare for the Bulldogs.

Stiffy_18 said:
Gee whiz Kane, I would have set up exactly the way NC set them up today. Sarge's decision making and his ability to hot target with a kick are his weaknesses. To me he is a classic mark and kick type forward. Kenny's disposal by foot is much better than Sarge's so when Kenny gets it he generally hits a man on the lead. His kicking is pretty accurate even though its a bit unorthodox.

With Kenny leading further up the ground and presenting between HF and wing, it creates space for Sarge and Hentschel to run in. Its not a matter of he should be taking those marks closer to goal, its a matter of Kenny playing his role which was clearly to present an option for a ball carrier coming off HBF and creating space behind him.

He still had 4 shots at goal for 2 goals. Considering the role he was playing that is a pretty good return IMHO.
Ask Port supporters about Tredders getting marks on the wing Stiffy.

McGregor did heaps of good work further up the ground today, yet we lacked finishers to kick goals. If he took half the marks he took today inside 50m we would have won by more IMO.

Wayne's-World said:
Before he went to CHB that was my impression of him as a CHF - terrible reader of the ball coming in - no idea really.

His time at CHB and some maturity appears to have provided that education which was required in his case.

He's also moving a lot quicker than early season when he had the archilles problem.

With Welsh being injured Kenny really needed to step up today - played very similar to his game against Essendon earlier in the year. Very impressive.

I wouldn't mind seeing him in the forward line from now on. Bock was quieter today but still managed to play his role well. If he has a bad one Kenny can always go to CHB. Until Watts comes along (which shouldn't be too long given his rapid progression) Kenny's the only one who can take a genuine contested mark.

Another in my eyes who has progressed to the next level this year is Mattner. Gee he once looked so slow and cumbersome, but now he 's providing real drive, attack and tenacity - rarely gets lets that 15 disposals each week.

Bockchoy67 said:
Another in my eyes who has progressed to the next level this year is Mattner. Gee he once looked so slow and cumbersome, but now he 's providing real drive, attack and tenacity - rarely gets lets that 15 disposals each week.

He's the Andrew Embley of the Adelaide Crows. Plays with the height of a smaller KPP but the ground level skills of a midfielder. Perfect Body type for an AFL winger.

Rave Slave said:
The sign of a good club is to be able to play awful football and still win the game. Do you think clubs that have finished Top Four in previous years have won all their games playing beautiful football?

I can guarantee you for example that West Coast haven't played 14 perfect games of football this year (far from it) The measure of a truly strong football club is to be flat on the day and still win.

The Adelaide Crows of old would've folded under these circumstances heading to Launceston. We've never won there before and this is another box that can be ticked off.

Positives

Game clear in second with a game coming up soon against the Roos. True test of how far both clubs have come.

First win in Tassie

Played a quarter of football and still came away with the 4 points

Ken McGregor developing a Key Forward mentality (plays a similar role to Tredrea only less goals)

Blooded another youngster today (albeit for a short period of time) and he seemed to really enjoy it. He'll be better for the experience of the routine.

Ben Hudson being thrown into the ruck when the game was there to be lost and nullifying the key influence Everitt was having. Has been the big difference (along with Truck) to the Crows success this year.

The Defence, solid as ever.

Negatives

Played a quarter of football

Looked flat and think we will for one more week at least before Craigy gives the boys a quieter week (3 on 1 off heading into finals as I understand it)

I'm leaving it at that, no point harping on the things that went wrong. A game we certainly would've lost in previous years. Time to prepare for the Bulldogs.

Great summary, but I would also add Doughty's game to the positives section.

He was really good today - never going to dominate games but is a clean user of the football. Has upped his courage and attack by 110% this year.

Good decision we didn't drop him then. ;)

Game against hawks wash up