List Mgmt. Geelong chases Hamish McIntosh during trade period

Sydney offered Mummy a fortune.....not sure where they got the money from.....*cough*....I could see at the time why he went though.

Not sure we are disagreeing on much Simon...you're right he was a talent but he hadn't shown a lot up to then....the players could see his potential, and no doubt Geelong could too....but the money he was offered was extraordinary for a player at his stage of development and we couldn't/wouldn't match it.

Sydney did ok out of it, no doubt.

Always good to remind ourselves of Mitch Duncan whenever talking of Mumford. And his premiership win. 1-0.

Until Mumford got his very own medal. 1-1.

Against Hawthorn. 2-1.

Still a good investment for the cost of a rookie upgrade. :thumbsu:

could be dominated by the Suns/Giants by 2015 in the same way the Lions dominated 2001-2003

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/afl/mor...-top-draft-picks/story-e6frf9jf-1226492372863

AFL don't care. As long as footy can eventually become as big as Rugby in Sydney then they will be set for the next 100 years.
Never feel sorry for opposition clubs but jesus!
The poor Dogs, Demons and others are going to be sitting on the bottom for a very long time as these new teams will be up for a good 6 or so years you'd reckon.
25 of the best talented players at one time :p
They will surely find at least 6 champions out of all that talent and it will only need some good list management and drafting to fill in all the others pieces of the puzzle

We are definitely aiming for a 2013 assault.

I wonder if the club thinks the race is wide open in 2013, but could be dominated by the Suns/Giants by 2015 in the same way the Lions dominated 2001-2003 (ie. AFL sponsored flags for the new kids).

I think it's more likely they think (1) it's wide open next year, and (2) we'll be better next year than in 2015.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/afl/mor...-top-draft-picks/story-e6frf9jf-1226492372863

AFL don't care. As long as footy can eventually become as big as Rugby in Sydney then they will be set for the next 100 years.
The poor Dogs, Demons and others are going to be sitting on the bottom for a very long time as these new teams will be up for a good 6 or so years you'd reckon.

I think it will be longer than 6 or so years unfortunately. I sincerely hope not, but with all those first round draft picks they are set for at least a decade IMO. Even when they need to trade some of them, they will get great currency in return as the player is a first rounder after all.

It makes me sick to the stomach but the AFL is hell bent on taking over rugby league territory and even if they don't happen to win flags straight away, the AFL will give them more concessions until they do. That is their mantra and we just have to sit back and take it. Awesome huh. I would love for sport to become about who is the best as it once was, but it's too big of a business now. When the CEO is taking bonuses based on numbers through the gate, you know the corruption is going to continue.

Edit - sorry got completely off topic there.

Would be happy to have HMac at the club. I think Orren deserves another chance and I think the club would be reluctant to chop him. Simpson is the one I think won't make it. He might be big, but he doesn't have the ticker or the skills IMO.

I would love for sport to become about who is the best as it once was, but it's too big of a business now. When the CEO is taking bonuses based on numbers through the gate, you know the corruption is going to continue.

helps to know every fine print as well which Andrew and his colleagues do being solicitors and all.
Unfortunately, the game could be in for a very bumpy ride as the heart of footy which is suburban footy is now on the brink of extinction.

Probably a reason why country football is stronger than ever, it's real and we don't have to put up with being ripped off while watching great talent do what they have always done.
If the AFL got hold of that...:(

25 of the best talented players at one time :p
They will surely find at least 6 champions out of all that talent and it will only need some good list management and drafting to fill in all the others pieces of the puzzle

They DO care very much that the Giants and Suns are successful, and soon, but you're right that they don't care about what the rest of us think about it.

And you know what, in their position I might well take the same view - there is NO WAY on earth that AFL is going to lose it's foothold in Victoria in the next few years, so they can afford to burn the rest of us for a bit while they try to win Sydney over. They did the same thing with Brisbane a decade ago and it worked beautifully. Brisbane gets a supporter base, a lot of the old Fitzroy fans go back, and the rest of us all still love the footy and our club as much as ever. So why not do it again?

As for the club, it would be taking all this into account in its decision making, and maybe its come to the view that 2015-2020 is destined to be the Suns/Giants era because that's what the AFL wants it to be, so maybe our best bet is to try to squeeze another flag out while we still have most of our stars and then build for a massive assault in 2020.

spot on Buster, and although Rivers is clearly light years ahead of Brown...just the the predicament we are currently in for list spots would have you thinking we need to stick with just a quality mid and maybe another ruck.
Maybe the club will likely de-list Stephenson, Simpkin, Sheringham & Blicavs.
Blicavs wont go he hasnt even had a chance yet. Give him at least one full year.

I cannot believe we will bring in Rivers, and lose Mitch Brown. Ridiculous!
I know Brown has said he wants to explore his options, but surely he would have
been told by the Cats that there is a spot for him-(whether it is down back as a 3rd tall defender
or up forward),providing he works hard for it and has a solid pre-season.
In his public response re Mitch, Balmy did say they told him the club's preference was for him to stay but the club would see what's out there if his preference was to go. So far that's all that has been said publicly and leaves things pretty much up in the air as I see it.

Sadly, I think Mitch's name might be on the table as consequence of all that. If we were ultra keen on him staying the 'he's a required player' response would have been forthcoming you'd think. I'm very disappointed as we've put in the hard yards with Mitch for the benefit of someone else. Still, it's not over 'til the fat lady sings.

yeh good points and only thing that has me thinking they may not get it all their own way is there may be upto 5-7 teams who are all peaking at the exact same time.
Geelong during this current era has had to contend with teams like St Kilda, Hawthorn, Collingwood, Western Bulldogs and even recent teams who have been up for a couple of years now and pushing for a flag.

Blicavs wont go he hasnt even had a chance yet. Give him at least one full year.

if it comes down to a natural footballer like Brown and a bloke who's made it his sole ambition in life to run at the Olympics, sorry but Brown it is everyday of the week but that's just my opinion and it's why the club will make the right choice for us all.

Cat B rookie?

mate! B's, C's, free agents, constrictions and new rule changes every year, etc, etc....I dunno what the bloody hell is going on to be honest :confused:
I usually just read those who know better, copy what they say and then type it out a little differently so it looks as though I know a thing or two ;)

In his public response re Mitch, Balmy did say they told him the club's preference was for him to stay but the club would see what's out there if his preference was to go. So far that's all that has been said publicly and leaves things pretty much up in the air as I see it.

Sadly, I think Mitch's name might be on the table as consequence of all that. If we were ultra keen on him staying the 'he's a required player' response would have been forthcoming you'd think. I'm very disappointed as we've put in the hard yards with Mitch for the benefit of someone else. Still, it's not over 'til the fat lady sings.
Yeah i remember Balme saying that. I just couldnt imagine the Cats shopping him around if he was in their
plans for 2013?
The thing that annoys me is that it appears they are willing to offload Brown to accomodate two 28yr olds
from rival clubs.
Maybe its just me,but i dont think Brown has been given a decent chance to show his wares at AFL
level yet. With Scarlett retiring and Gillies looking likely to be delisted,2013 should be the perfect
time for him to step up you would think.

if it comes down to a natural footballer like Brown and a bloke who's made it his sole ambition in life to run at the Olympics, sorry but Brown it is everyday of the week but that's just my opinion and it's why the club will make the right choice for us all.
Cmon footscore, pull your finger out you should know whats going on

mate! B's, C's, free agents, constrictions and new rule changes every year, etc, etc....I dunno what the bloody hell is going on to be honest :confused:
I usually just read those who know better, copy what they say and then type it out a little differently so it looks as though I know a thing or two ;)

Sorta like Caro, except she copies it down wrong.

McIntosh if he can get some of that AA form - he was AA wasn't he?

By the way everyone, I picked that/ I'm new to BF and waited a while before taking the leap of faith. Wish me luck

Good on ya Mike. Now hit the boundary.

It's a good point AM. I recall when Prismall a few years back and Gillies last year were under contract the club basically ignored their attempts to be released. Then when Prismall came out of contract he obviously took the initiative.

The language here is a bit different and may suggest more of a willingness to deal. I just hope that if they do entertain it it's only for fair compensation which for mine would be a top 20 pick or an upgrade on 15. Even then, I'd still feel a bit empty.

Is this the state of play?
At the moment the cat A Rookies are/were Stringer Simpkin Burbury Sheringham Walker Eardley

Cat B Specials Bathie Blicavs

Can only have four Cat A's next year = Eardley Walker Sheringham and one other.
likely list changes so far:
OUT Hogan, Byrnes, Wojak, Scarlett , Gillies, [Simpkin, Burbury - maybe for pick upgrades?]
IN Caddy, Stringer, Draftee 1, Draftee 2, HMac OR Rivers

Conjecture:
The remaining rookie place could go to Burbury or allow Stephenson OR Cowan to be delisted and Rookied.
If say Cowan is delisted and rookied then we could take both HMac AND Rivers. But Burbury goes.

If Walker is upgraded then only one draft pick would be possible but another Rookie place is available - again Burbury could stay OR we delist both Stephenson and Cowan and Rookie both, that would allow two draft picks-Burbury goes.

Brown is in none of this so far.

I reckon: Upgrade Walker. Get Rivers. Forget HMac - Rookie Stephenson and Cowan ( on same salary as if listed) then use three draft picks.

OUT Hogan, Byrnes, Wojak, Scarlett , Cowan, Stephenson, Gillies
plus from Rookie list Simpkin, Burbury
IN Caddy, Stringer, Draftee 1, Draftee 2, Draftee 3, Walker and Rivers
Rookies Stephenson, Cowan, Eardley, Sheringham

Which would answer the question as to why GFC want to improve later picks - they either want to use their third pick or they want to have Hmac as well and need to get the third pick down a fair bit.

My brain hurts.

List Mgmt. Geelong chases Hamish McIntosh during trade period