Autopsy Geelong coaching fact that may interest you!

Agreed. You only have to have seen him on the Footy Show last night & he just doesnt seem comfortable public speaking or being authoritive.
If you cant do that you cant coach senior AFL - look it could change but I cant see it.

Taylor would be good, is a really good speaker & tactician of the game.

He's mighty authoritative out on the field. Huge influence....

Will go into coaching almost certainly. Whether he makes it as a senior coach is anyone's guess.

I'd like to see Tom Harley give it a go. Also think Podsiadly could be good.

I'm another who dislikes Ayres. I think every cats supporter between 30-35 doesn't like him. Found his HT address dull and kinda irritating.

If you get a chance have a listen to his 3/4 time address compared to Knights,he will never be promoted to the no1 position at an AFL club ever again.

:rolleyes: He's generally considered to be the best and most inspiring coach in the VFL, and Port Melbourne and its players love him.

Ayres biggest problems were ones that seem to be common from players of that era. The faith shown in plodders who work hard - hence recruiting absolute stinking duds like McKinnon, Hargreaves, Spinks and plenty more. No doubt they all trained hard. But you need more than that at the top level. Some ability would be nice.

His management skills of his top players was nothing short of appalling. Rule number one is that people are different. You have to understand this and find out their strengths to get the most out of them. Whatever Blight's faults as a coach (and he had plenty), he got the best out of Ablett.
Ayres figured whatever worked for him was the only way. It wasn't.

Look at the list Thompson inherited. That was directly the result of Ayres' mismanagement and poor recruiting. He deserves every bit of blame he gets. Hope he choked on the result last weekend.

I don't really see why we should hate someone for the flaws he had over 10 years ago. People change and people improve.

I was only a teen and wasn't living in Canberra at the time so if anyone has anything a bit more personality based that would at least be a bit more of a reason. I still think it's foolish to hold a grudge against someone from 12-17 years ago (that person basically doesn't exist anymore as we all change so much over the years) but at least if it was personality or some greater misdemeanor I could understand.

He took us to the 95 GF, almost the 97 GF, and then we got crap.

As a Port Melbourne fan I love him for who he is today, but I am genuinely interested in filling the gap I have in Geelong history re the Ayres hate. I mean I was all 'errr Ayres left, screw him err' at the time but I was 16 and stupid.

If it's just because he had some flaws as a coach, well then the hate just sounds like the moron Essendon supporters blaming Knights for all their woes. A comfortable narrative that is a lie.

Veedubs, I just find him arrogant and obnoxious. I could be completely wrong. There's just something about him. When he won that game down at KP coaching Adelaide and proceeded to antagonize the locals that was it.
did you miss the flak he was copping?
I know he was arrogant and virtually made anybody that wanted to talk to him do so by appointments, but that was his upbringing. We as a team were not ready for his ideas on success maybe.

Why do I still, all these years gone, still get worked up when I read the name "Ayres"?
Because he is a flog, though great player, which makes last week's magoos win even more satisfying.

I don't hate him per se but just do not like him, nothing wrong with that. I didn't like Bomber for similar reasons to Ayres though appreciate the success he was a part of with Geelong.

Good thing about 2012 is that although the Cats didn't win, the next best thing happened....The Dawks lost and Gary Ayres got his come uppance(is that a word) against the cats at VFL level. The next best feeling to winning the flag I reckon.

I'd like to see Tom Harley give it a go. Also think Podsiadly could be good.

I'm another who dislikes Ayres. I think every cats supporter between 30-35 doesn't like him. Found his HT address dull and kinda irritating.

nor do supporters over 50 ....

also don't have good memories of John Devine as a coach

Agreed. You only have to have seen him on the Footy Show last night & he just doesnt seem comfortable public speaking or being authoritive.
If you cant do that you cant coach senior AFL - look it could change but I cant see it.

Wayne Carey said on Triple M earlier in the year he thought the same about John Longmire before he started coaching at Sydney and now he seems to be a very good communicator. It might be something Johno is able to develop over time as an assistant.

I know he was arrogant and virtually made anybody that wanted to talk to him do so by appointments, but that was his upbringing. We as a team were not ready for his ideas on success maybe.

Apparently Adelaide weren't "ready" either. And it appears that the many other clubs who have had coaching vacancies ( and Ayres has put his hand up for the large majority of them) didn't want to be ready for his ideas on success.

As long as he stays away from Geelong, I couldn't care less about Ayres.

Mark Thompson mentioned who he thought would be great coaches from the Cats list a few years ago... can't find the article. Stevie J, Ling, Selwood were all mentioned. There was one surprising one that I can't remember.
Mackie?
Comes across as having footy smarts.

No, it was someone really surprising. Might have actually been Milburn at the time.
Milburn would not surprise me as much now he's with Sando, but he's meant to be fairly taciturn

No, it was someone really surprising. Might have actually been Milburn at the time.
Milburn would not surprise me as much now he's with Sando, but he's meant to be fairly taciturn

Neither were Adelaide. His tactical genius and personal magnetism didn't seem to work there either for some strange reason.

Autopsy Geelong coaching fact that may interest you!