Preview Geelong V Essendon - Rd 16 - Fri July 2 750pm @ KP

I'm not being cavalier, but if you got Tigers this year you are in a better spot than compared to any of their last four seasons I reckon.
If you or anyone has no faith in their ability to get enthused for a month of footy in September, with all their players back, I am impressed.
I fully expect them to make the 8, and in fact in the next 2 weeks are very likely wins, (GC&Pies) and they could climb higher.

Cats are AFL #17 for opposition scores per inside 50 since round 7. The Monsters are getting hold of us, because Blicavs is deployed elsewhere to help spud Esava. Hendo, Stewart and Henry lag off too much too. Not too mention small forwards like Rozee and Cameron getting off the chain. Lets see this week how bombers go forward against us..I'm expecting them to lower the eyes and hit the grass more...

Such an arbitrary statistic that requires so much more analysis. You reference monsters and then say Rozee and Cameron hurting us???? Also we have won almost all those games so it might be worth looking into whether he have dominated forward half possession and teams are getting us on the rebound because we have controlled the game and they are kicking into an incredibly open forward line.

Now I'm not saying it isn't an issue but what I am saying is that stat you quote isn't necessarily representative of a problem without a lot more analysis

If you or anyone has no faith in their ability to get enthused for a month of footy in September, with all their players back, I am impressed.
I fully expect them to make the 8, and in fact in the next 2 weeks are very likely wins, (GC&Pies) and they could climb higher.
I think it is more than the outs. Their ability to spread early and flood the rebound has been curtailed with the rule changes, and they lack the finesse to maintain possession and take advantage of the mark rule. They are average for contested balls, effective disposals and dead last for clearances, but leading the pack for clangers and turnovers. So they can't get their hand on the ball and they are coughing it up when they do.

Their loss to the Saints was insipid. Geelong's VFL side would have done better. That can't be blamed on injuries - to me they have significant structural issues with their list and game plan, not enough finesse.

I think it is more than the outs. Their ability to spread early and flood the rebound has been curtailed with the rule changes, and they lack the finesse to maintain possession and take advantage of the mark rule. They are average for contested balls, effective disposals and dead last for clearances, but leading the pack for clangers and turnovers. So they can't get their hand on the ball and they are coughing it up when they do.

Their loss to the Saints was insipid. Geelong's VFL side would have done better. That can't be blamed on injuries - to me they have significant structural issues with their list and game plan, not enough finesse.

In some ways I think you are both right. Of course they could come good at the business end if they get there as they are one of the best teams of the modern era. However we know father time get's every team and at this stage it looks more likely that their time has come to an end than it does they will miraculously turn everything around in September. There is no question that during their time at the top they have never looked this vulnerable.

No totally disagree - i think it all changed for them last Frid night - up to that point i still thought they were a very good chance for the flag

However 2 things happened Frid nigt - a terrible loss to StK ( who they had previously nearly beaten by 100 ) but worse still and alot worse than the loss - they got more long term injuries to important players like Balta - who is their key big defender plus Broad

They might win 2 finals if they get their but who cares - they are not going to win 4 finals - theve lost too many players to long term injuries - do you think Melb/Bris these type of teams are just going to roll over - they will be white hot - they will have the hunger that Rich had in the 2nd half of the 17 GF - and a severely wounded Rich aernt going to cope with that - if they get their

No totally disagree - i think it all changed for them last Frid night - up to that point i still thought they were a very good chance for the flag

However 2 things happened Frid nigt - a terrible loss to StK ( who they had previously nearly beaten by 100 ) but worse still and alot worse than the loss - they got more long term injuries to important players like Balta - who is their key big defender plus Broad

They might win 2 finals if they get their but who cares - they are not going to win 4 finals - theve lost too many players to long term injuries - do you think Melb/Bris these type of teams are just going to roll over - they will be white hot - they will have the hunger that Rich had in the 2nd half of the 17 GF - and a severely wounded Rich aernt going to cope with that - if they get their
I'm only concerned about our (potential) elimination final against them.
Agree, flag is going to be a huge ask, and if they were to do it, surely the greatest effort of all.
But with them, nothing is out of the question until they are eliminated

Such an arbitrary statistic that requires so much more analysis. You reference monsters and then say Rozee and Cameron hurting us???? Also we have won almost all those games so it might be worth looking into whether he have dominated forward half possession and teams are getting us on the rebound because we have controlled the game and they are kicking into an incredibly open forward line.

Now I'm not saying it isn't an issue but what I am saying is that stat you quote isn't necessarily representative of a problem without a lot more analysis
monsters and the likes of Rozee and cameron. C'mon get serious. No. 17 for scores against when the ball enters inside 50. Imagine we start losing the inside 50 count against top end midfields in finals like the demons & dogs and not to mention Brisbane who ripped us apart with that stat.
All is not perfect with the cats despite their wins. Even Scott would agree with that.

I'm sure they'll be quite a bit better with players back, but even when they've had their players on the park they haven't produced anything as good as Melbourne, Bulldogs, or Brisbane. Every chance they knock us out, but they're not who we need to be putting out planning minutes into

P. Dangerfield 7 tackles in 5 games. Where's the pressure? also been involved in two of our losses in those 5 games. He needs to lift and work on his defenside side of his game as his forward half of his game is a disaster with those butchered kicks and poor ability with set shots for goal!
Geez mate you don't take losing well.

monsters and the likes of Rozee and cameron. C'mon get serious. No. 17 for scores against when the ball enters inside 50. Imagine we start losing the inside 50 count against top end midfields in finals like the demons & dogs and not to mention Brisbane who ripped us apart with that stat.
All is not perfect with the cats despite their wins. Even Scott would agree with that.
To convince me that this is a serious issue you would need to couple it with how we rank in total scores, rather than percentage of scores, and also how we rank in scores from centre clearances. If it was a huge problem then you would expect easy scoring from wins in the centre, I'm guessing.

I'm sure if the reverse were true and we were No.2 for points conceded per inside 50 then there would be a lot of pats on the back...funny how a negative stat is taken on here..

Re my comment about dropping blokes: Wojo, Bartel, Dasherand the othersl weren't tapped on the shoulder to say you're dropped, but rather you're finished.
There's a big difference.

Dalhouse, Kolo and others at various times should have been dropped: it's not the end of their careers, and if they're as good as the MC thinks they are, they'll be back.

If you tolerate mediocrity in this very competitive competition you won't win a flag.

They just got smashed by St Kilda and lost 2 of their best 3 defenders this year for at least 2 months, they arent a lock to beat anyone, this is a very different Richmond.

They've been torched by sides all year on the G with or without their best 22 on the park.

Last week's medical sub Quinton Narkle remains firmly in the frame for a place in the starting side as the Cats consider changes off the 44-point loss to Brisbane. Gryan Miers is also up for selection after back-to-back VFL games after his fractured leg, while Charlie Constable (44 disposals), Max Holmes, Zach Guthrie and Rhys Stanley also performed strongly. Shaun Higgins' spot could also be up for debate, while Luke Dahlhaus didn't register a kick against the Lions. Esava Ratugolea lacked impact, however the Cats appear committed to the Ratugolea-Blicavs ruck combination for the short-term, while Brad Close has impressed over the two months.

R15 medical sub: Quinton Narkle (unused)

Verdict: Miers and Narkle for Dahlhaus and Higgins. - Mitch Cleary
Mitch is "one of us". Has Dahl and Higgins in the gun.

Whether we have things to work on and whether that statistic viewed in isolation is something we should be seriously worried about are two totally different things China.

Before worrying about Richmond in finals that may or may not happen, we have to play them again in a couple of weeks...and we have to play Ess this week.

If we start being scared about what the other sides can do, instead of focusing on what we can do...that we may as well pack it in now. In a way Im happy that Brisbane beat us. It highlighted a few issues , maybe gives Chris S the Monty Python fish slap about what they did to us ..and what otehr may try to do to us.

...and to look at us , as good as Brisbane were, we looked flat. The next few weeks will see if that just a blimp or not.

We have a few name players that had a down week, and a few name players that have hardly fired a shot in the games they have played this year. Id expect a response this week. There will be no Mulligan on us if we put in another Gold Coast Suns like effort.

Bombers have some marking power in F50 - Hooker, Jones , Wright and a resting Draper at times - we will need to be switched on :think:

Its a common thread each week. The days of Lonergan and Taylor and Scralett are long gone. Lets face it... if thise names cause us a burning concern then we are not a serious flag side.