Preview Geelong v Port Friday May 10 710 pm @ GMHBA

Bruhn seems fine in our Youtube star's VLOG.
Even though he's listed as "test" I'd imagine he'll be good to go.

Unless someone wants to tell me this was from last week? It seems like it was done this week?

Jezza's Farm with Dempsey and Bruhn

Reckon it might've been filmed before the Dees game. If Jezza dropped "we're paid to kick goals" after that I love him even more.

Debut watch?

Willo_

Choo Choo Train GIF by Sky HISTORY UK

What the Coach Said
“Lawson Humphries has been outstanding. Coming into an AFL environment, his first six games have been super and today I thought he was fantastic. Defensively he wins contests and rarely gets beaten, but then he helps us enormously offensively. He has built a really well rounded game and he understands his role within the group.”
Corrigan is this you?

Was always a lock. People thinking he's anywhere near getting dropped aren't watching the game closely. He's below his best but is still creating space and impacting contests. And being given 100x the respect by quality defenders that Neale with 6 games under his belt would be.
Always a lock

Until the Richmond game

This was posted on the Port Adelaide vs Geelong upcoming Match Thread they created on their board. They seem pretty despondent about playing us at Kardinia coming off a loss but some of the memes including this Carmelo Anthony copypasta got a good chuckle out of me :tearsofjoy:

Third national TV game in four weeks. A classic Friday night footy game deserves a classic result. I can see it now.....

Clock winds down to 15 seconds left in game

ball is kicked to Dixon who turns face to face against De Koning

"You took my family"

moves to the left

"You took my friends"

moves to the right

"You took all that was dear to me"

Clock winds down to 2

"I cant get them back, but I can do this for friendship, FOR MY FRIENDS"

Kicks it, fire coming out of his shoes

"BIG CUMS"

Ball flies over De Konings head, goes straight through the middle. Dixon falls to the ground, exhausted.

"Hinkley.. Senpai... I..."
faints

Final Score
Cats 123
Power 57
What the actual f*** did I just read?

It's really looking like a draft bargain... You have to remember he was playing WAFL reserves last year.... Reserves.... thats amazing on what the recruitment team seen in him to draft him...
If we get a Lawson Humphries every time Mackie slams his fists the table, stamps his feet, and holds his breath until hes blue in the face then I want a hissy fit from him every year

This gets brought up so often and it's simply not true.

Look past the birth certificate for a second, and if you're contributing, he'll pick you.

Higgins, Menegola, Bews, & Dalhaus in the last 24 months alone. Their performance was in our bottom 6, and they were since replaced.

Selwood, Smith, Hawkins, Duncan, etc haven't been...and that's why they've been picked.

We don't push out players who are still contributing just because they're 'old'. Hawthorn & Norf have, and we all see how well that's ended up.

Rightly or wrongly, you can certainly mount a case for all of Hawkins, Touhy, Duncan, & Stanley so far this year approaching the bottom 6.

They've either already missed games, and/or have a sense around them that their next 4-6 weeks will dictate if they're in our best side come finals time.

You can even go back to the tough calls made on Chapman, Pods, Johnson, Enright, & Bartel if you want to...but you don't have to.

Our coach picks who's contributing, and it's created a system over a long period of time that allows for young players to come in and develop without having to carry the load.

We're seeing that live with Dempsey, Conway, Mullin, & Clark right now....while Holmes, Henry, SDK, Bruhn, Zuthrie, Stengle, & Miers were once those players, but have since graduated to being key pieces through that development.

The club doesn't get these wrong. They play the kids when they're ready while being supported by the veterans. It's a system that works.

From my experience and contact with someone in the development program, this could not have been stated more accurately. The Club and the resident player you support have great communication, and are necessarily patient, and we need to be as well. That's not to say you can't be enthusiastic about their form and chances, but all in good time.

Hawkins' slump is just like hitting a speed hump... But Tomahawk never gets out of first gear. Hope he snags a couple but no more than that. I want to see Neale get some AFL games.

Well that's fence sitting if ever I've seen it, if you mean Neale for Hawk.

What I don't want to see is three occasions where passes were made into F50 and where Hawk would normally lead, but there he was standing flat footed 4 metres behind the Melbs player. Crazy, and not decoy.

Surely an aberration, as was Camerons yips? Pride at stake, hope they both kick records.

Well that's fence sitting if ever I've seen it, if you mean Neale for Hawk.

What I don't want to see is three occasions where passes were made into F50 and where Hawk would normally lead, but there he was standing flat footed 4 metres behind the Melbs player. Crazy, and not decoy.

Surely an aberration, as was Camerons yips? Pride at stake, hope they both kick records.
I couldn't explain Cameron's game last week. It wasn't just shanking those kicks, he was doing uncharacteristic things for the first 3 quarters. He was holding back in contests and tapping the ball rather than grabbing it. Completely the opposite of the week before against Carlton. You don't lose your confidence in a week but that's what it looked like.

Sure did. Not to mention (at a vital time) finally taking possession in the centre and just immediately loading it.....to no one.
Looked panicky and stupid. Still, we've done the autopsy, and remember we were 3 points down with 12.20 to go.
On to better days. Restitution will be the big boys starring this week.

Sure did. Not to mention (at a vital time) finally taking possession in the centre and just immediately loading it.....to no one.
Looked panicky and stupid. Still, we've done the autopsy, and remember we were 3 points down with 12.20 to go.
On to better days. Restitution will be the big boys starring this week.
This happened to him last year at about round 8 or 9. He went from the league MVP to someone that was very erratic with kicking and decision making. Especially in front of goals. I'm not going to worry unless it turns into a slump as anyone can have a bad day at the office. If it does drag on, we are obviously in trouble. He is a difference maker and when he is executing his skills properly we have won half the battle against opposition.

It’s simple just whisper to them on gameday 180 and all will be well …they need a coach killing loss and we are the masters of that at least
Do we have a coach killer list?*
snow white lol GIF

*Probably not quite the Geelong way

A salubrious magnificence. The fulgurant fire you have stoked has me fevered in anticipation. Well done on your contribution.

Thank you TC. Am hoping my floccinaucinihilipilification of Port has a serendipitous result, as there are more perspicacious posters than I. A mellifluous win, is my hope.

Speculating VFL players will leave if not given opportunities in AFL is premature. We're 7-1, still in the early part of the season. Melbourne was a reality check. Port game is a chance for a good win at KP. At this stage of the season, we're playing for finals + with high hope for, another tilt at a Premiership. We have older players approaching retirement. Why would kittens leave, when many are about one or two years away in development from AFL level?

Suns next week in Darwin is a sticky one, 32°C daytime maximum temperatures in the shade with an average 10 hours of sunshine per day. Purely looking at the weather, looks good for Suns. Draining for older players, who have played every match? An opportunity to play resilient kittens, perhaps. Placate me with facts + wisdom my :hearteyecat: aficionados.

You know what... I typed up a longish response but must not have hit post.

It sounds like you and I are on the same page that we should have Port covered though.
Something dodgy is happening recently, I thought it was my old phone, with a struggling battery. Happened on MacBook too ???

If anyone is wondering why I'm posting at 2am, although expecting zero wonderings, Les Petites are in the middle of Marathon Zoomies. I reckon they could really enhance our team's sprints. Here in Uralla, players to train from 1am, because my cats sleep all day.

We generally try to give draftees we rate a taste at the top level early so I wouldn't be surprised at all to see him in soon. But off a 5 day break maybe less likely this week?
CatRiot I think you nailed it. Terrific article, thanks Footy Smarts too

"Humphries has slotted seamlessly into the Cats backline, averaging 22 possessions and six marks per game across the opening six weeks of the season."

Only query, who does Humphries replace?

Stewart into the midfield, something the club was talking about anyway, given the absence of Dangerfield and possibly Bruhn. Then one of O'Sullivan, Jeka, or Humphries to move into the now-vacant defensive position.

Thought they might have considered pulling the Stewart lever last week given Danger’s absence.
I wouldn’t mind at least getting a feel for this look at some stage; Zuthrie has demonstrated he is capable of filling in for Stewart to pretty good effect.