Preview GRAND FINAL - Collingwood Magpies vs Brisbane Lions • Saturday 30 September 2023 • 2:30 PM • Melbourne Cricket Ground

Yep think so - not sure what gate, and word of warning that a heap of the park in front of the MCG is currently blocked off for them to put up hospitality tents etc. Probably a good idea to get there a bit early.

As of tomorrow there is a footy festival happening outside the g. Today the seeing up looked like food tents & trucks, Merch sales, stages.

Will wander down tomorrow and report what we see.

Re the captains run before the parade - makes sense that they are limiting the public interaction as they are trying to keep it 'normal'. Doing that order means the players get the afternoon to themselves which is likely better game prep for them.

I reckon Collingwood are going to throw absolutely everything at us in the first quarter, pressure like we haven’t faced before.

It’ll be interesting to see how we work through it and problem solve.
That first quarter against Carlton will be an absolute godsend.

Really fantastic write-up. To add a memory of mine to your theme… I remember travelling in 2018 and seeing through some rickety internet that we’d just beaten Hawthorn for the 2nd time. Wins were hard to come by, yet that made it 3 on-the-trot. We had Hodgey, we had Fages, some gun youngsters and this amazing feeling that something good was finally happening. Felt elated all day and didn’t even see a highlight!

As of tomorrow there is a footy festival happening outside the g. Today the seeing up looked like food tents & trucks, Merch sales, stages.

Will wander down tomorrow and report what we see.

Re the captains run before the parade - makes sense that they are limiting the public interaction as they are trying to keep it 'normal'. Doing that order means the players get the afternoon to themselves which is likely better game prep for them.

Yeah saw the same set up happening on my usual run. Might have to totally change my route tomorrow (though I regularly run through on gamedays and just dodge pedestrians.

As someone who’s never been to the grand final festivities and is landing in Melbourne Thursday night - what’s everyone schedule for Friday? Want to experience this as much as possible!

I resigned myself to not being able to afford to go this year weeks ago and didn't sign up for the ballot. A mate who also didn't sign up for the ballot changed his mind after the prelim and managed to secure two tickets today but I couldn't in good conscience take one because I had been unequivocal previously that I couldn't stretch so my other mate who said he was committed was more deserving.

Also, I was really not keen on road tripping but friend 2 said driving was off the table and there were still some not completely extortionate flights left. At that point FOMO started kicking in bad. Next thing I find an email in my inbox about the standing room/single seat additional release. It was a sign.

Success, M9 standing room secured and flights booked. My bank balance (and ever increasing home maintenance to-do list) will regret it but I will regret not being there more. Dis gonna be good!

Great preview, thank you for that. Every time I think of the dark days I see Daniel Rich in my mind's eye, streaming through off half back, ball in hand, about to let off another big left footer. Gutted for him. Also, the Miracle On Grass was wonderful: I watched it on tv with someone who had never seen Aussie Rules before, say no more.

Wonderful work BRAB, that was a magnificent preview 👏

The turning point for me was the 2017 off-season. At the time, the defining failings of our club were - but not limited to - an absence of on-field leadership, overpaying players to stay, a complete inability recruit star players, and operating as a perennial feeder club. These failures formed a perpetual cycle that was difficult to break and kept us firmly entrenched in the bottom feeders, thus cementing our staus as one of - if not 'the' - laughing stock of the league. It wasn't too long ago that we were routinely mocked for 'Crazy Voss', then the 'Go Home 5', and of course the old 'Fix ya Culcha' just to name a few. In one off season we manged to lure Luke Hodge out of retirement, let Tom Rockliff walk in Free Agency, traded for Charlie Cameron, and our number 1 overall draft pick Cam Rayner resigned with us before a ball was even bounced for the upcoming 2018 season.

For me that was the point where things started to feel different, that there was light at the end of the tunnel, that one day maybe soon we might yet challenge again for premiership glory. Well the day has finally come and I am grateful to witness the journey it took to get here, let us enjoy this while we're here.

CARN THE MIGHTY LIONS!

Flying in and out on the Saturday. Will be my first GF after being unable to afford to go during the threepeat years. Have been overseas for the past week, so sitting here watching the PF replay for the first time, getting slowly psyched.

Does anyone know, is there a Kiss concert post game and you can go on the ground after the game when the players have left?

im sure that was the case with the Killers years ago.

Does anyone know, is there a Kiss concert post game and you can go on the ground after the game when the players have left?

im sure that was the case with the Killers years ago.
Kiss are playing pregame. However, I don’t think you can usually go on the ground at the mcg, but this might be different for the grand final (although I doubt it unfortunately)

The wild card for us in this game could be Zorko. At 35 with an injury riddled couple of years he's the one player the Pies won't be putting a lot of time into.

Has he still got it in him ?? He doesn't want this to be his last game because of a loss.

The wild card for us in this game could be Zorko. At 35 with an injury riddled couple of years he's the one player the Pies won't be putting a lot of time into.

Has he still got it in him ?? He doesn't want this to be his last game because of a loss.
Agree, Zorks on fire would be very damaging, we have not seen it all that often lately but he is an elite player at his best.

Jono Brown thinks he has got it in him, On the Couch he tipped the Lions by 13 and Dayne Zorko for the Norm Smith.

Agree, Zorks on fire would be very damaging, we have not seen it all that often lately but he is an elite player at his best.

Jono Brown thinks he has got it in him, On the Couch he tipped the Lions by 13 and Dayne Zorko for the Norm Smith.
Norm Smith for Zorks ??

Now that's a really long odds call.

Browny will dine out on that for years on the remote chance if it happens.

I reckon we'll see Cam 'Danster' Rayner win the Norm Smith.

In his junior career, he always went up another level in grand finals. This is his time baby!!
I'd like to see it . But has he ever been BOG in AFL footy ?

Expecting him to lift to the level over the 4 quarters you need to win the NS is as far fetched as Zorks .

But you know , if he happened to have a day out and he kicked 5 and we won....well if he kicks 5 we will win.