• Yes

Votes: 44 19.6%
  • No. Never entertained the idea.

Votes: 161 71.6%
  • No. But have entertained the idea.

Votes: 20 8.9%

Moved back to Victoria as a young tacker and all the kids at my new school were into footy cards - I had little idea about sport full stop at the time.

I initially chose Fitzroy as my team, because I liked the colours and I liked Lions. But I made a friend who convinced me Geelong would be a better choice, and I stuck with them.

My Mum eventually convinced my younger brothers and sisters to barrack for Hawthorn like she did, but I stuck with the Cats despite years of heartbreak (and while watching the Hawks win flags - I was stubborn).

I used to switch between Fitzroy & Collingwood when I was really young all the time. ( My Dad was a Fitzroy supporter & my Mum barracked for Collingwood) When I was 8 I gave Sydney a go as they were on TV every second week, played an exciting brand of football & had an exciting bloke up forward called CAPPEEERRR! Later in the year I switched to the Dees who hadn't made the finals for 23 years & were having the run of the lifetime leading into the finals. I have stupidly stuck with them ever since.

I've always supported Collingwood, from a little kid until now never once wanted to change and never will. Should there be a Tasmanian side I would want to try and support both but I know my heart will always be with Collingwood.

Born Blues and can't even comprehend the idea of changing teams. Surely only relevant to non-vic people.

Definitely mainly a non-Vic supporter thing, but it seems for Vic people there is a grace period given for changing teams when you are really little before eventually settling on one full time. Anytime after the age of about 11/12 and it's unofficially a criminal act.

I grew up in country Vic and didn't really watch footy, but Dad is a Dogs supporter so I was also by default. Moved to Adelaide at 18 and got into footy properly, loved the Crows, they're my team still, even now that I'm living in Melbourne. Some of my childhood friends questioned why I'm a Crows man when I supported the Dogs when I was younger so I had to explain it all, they thought it was treacherous.

A Vic issue/non event

Definitely mainly a non-Vic supporter thing, but it seems for Vic people there is a grace period given for changing teams when you are really little before eventually settling on one full time. Anytime after the age of about 11/12 and it's unofficially a criminal act.

🤔

Posted to Melbourne in my early years as a soldier (great years… thanks to the lovely Victorian ladies).
I moved in with two young ladies in Richmond, so could wander down to the MCG on a Saturday arvo.
Even though the Demons weren’t high on the ladder, I loved the team-spirit and marvelled at the abilities of players like the great Robbie Flower. Another memory was weaseling my way into the rooms after Carl Ditterich’s last game as Captain-Coach of the Dees..he was like an exhausted but proud king on his throne.
Years later, introduced my wife to the Dees and she loved them so much she kissed Gary Lyon at the MCG………
After we returned to Adelaide (after a few states inbetween) and the Crows were born.. we went with our state loyalties, but still have many fond memories of Melbourne and Melbourne.

My old Victorian girlfriends…
87C24FD5-AF2B-4FAB-B7A0-0983560E6D51.jpeg

Should've read the OP before voting.

I voted yes, as I bounced around a few clubs in Junior football. Lived at Glenmore Park, so played for Penrith, moved to West Ryde, so I changed clubs to North Ryde, best mate was being recruited so I joined him at Forest. The top of that team went to play u18s (as u16s) at North Shore, so rather than the long travel, I changed to Pennant Hills (3 classmates played there)

But in regards to support? Only NBA and NFL.

Twice, sort of.

Being a Central District supporter in the SANFL, John Platten was my childhood hero. When he went to Hawthorn I started a loose following of them.
When the Crows entered the AFL I decided that as there was now a South Australian team I'd get behind them.
I never really considered myself a supporter as such but wanted them to win and watched them occasionally.

Then Port entered in 97 and I finally felt like I had a team, that Adelaide won the 97 and 98 flags made me question my decision and whilst I was happy for their success, I knew Port was where my allegiances should be.
It helps that I didnt follow the Port Magpies as I never got drawn into the controversy over the Crows entry so I can still appreciate a crows win, unless its a showdown.
I like that we're a small club steeped in tradition and success from the SANFL that earnt its spot in the big league.
That didnt need to be created from scratch for that purpose and have reached the pinnacle.
A true underdog that can trouble the best clubs on a regular basis.

AFL - No, always been a North Melbourne supporter.
English football - Sort of, I started off a Liverpool supporter when I was about 4/5 years old but switched to Carlisle United when I was 7. Liverpool remain my EPL team, but I'm more passionate about the lower leagues than the EPL and Carlisle than Liverpool.

Literally the first game of footy I watched was as a 5 year old - the 89 grand final, and I’ve never left.

In league it was harder, I switched around a lot as a kid and my dad wasn’t into footy so I didn’t have him telling me who to support but I liked the Raiders who were white hot when I was younger. When Brad Fittler joined the roosters I got in their bandwagon as an 11 year old and have stuck with it

On a whim I decided to go for the Eagles after watching on telly when they played their first game, where they ran down the Tigers in the last quarter at Subiaco for a famous win. I was 13. I barely got away with it. I did jump around teams when I was younger though, I even went for the NZ cricket team for a couple of years in the mid 80s.

Anyway, for some unknown reason people would ask me why I went for an interstate team. I would point out that we're Tasmanian and they're all interstate teams. No one in my neck of the woods followed Tasmanian football outside of the local stuff. So you'd have your country footy team and your VFL team. If they end up spaffing a billion dollars on that nonsensical stadium in Hobart they'll probably base the team there and that will make it very easy not to follow them, so maybe no hard choices in my future coming up.

Have You Ever Switched Teams?