Hawks v Geelong: who will win and why?

Save it for when it counts sunshine.. The Cheney match up won you the game and we player a stinker! Enjoy it, you deserved it.

You think Geelong played that well? We ####ed up that many easy chances at goal it was ridiculous. Lonergan won't play on Gunston again either. Could argue that match up was just as bad and kept Hawks in it somewhat. Stop posting ignorant bull shit please and suck it up that you were miles off.

Great call :rolleyes:
Yep wrong call interesting strategy by Geelong today playing really quick players in the forward line whose sole purpose to stop our run and carry from the back half. Outplayed and outgunned but we live to fight another day kudos to the cats they deserved the win :thumbsu:

The pressure got to them a bit - HAwks hadn't played anyone who were able to nullify their gameplan and pressure the +1, not necessarily the bloke with the footy.
Agree with this

The Hawks have had an easy run through the NAB Challenge games and opening 4 rounds. Essendon went hard for a couple of quarters, but the even the Bombers at their very best are nothing like Geelong when it comes to defending and applying the "full court press".

The Hawks played like they hadn't experienced pressure in months. The game became scrappy and they panicked with their disposal, just as I had predicted they might. Geelong did their obligatory shut-down down job of our guns up forward (except Gunstan), their rucks were too big, Stevie J was near BOG and (predictably) they exposed our depleted defence. I feared all of these things pre-game. Groundhog Day.

I don't pay too much attention to the result. Like I said earlier, this game was more probably important for the fans and bragging rights than for either club. I don't reckon Clarkson will be losing any sleep. Neither coach would be giving much away at this early stage. It's just 4 points. As for the manner in which we lost, I think it's probably the wake-up call our team needed. (I wish there more games with this type of four quarter pressure - too many easy games these days with 18 teams and half of them are no good.)

Geelong would be very happy with how they played and Hawkins would've gained a bit of confidence

Good game, both clubs did themselves proud and the code is boosted a little.
Disagree with this. I thought it was pretty crappy game, to be honest. Nowhere near as good as some previous Geel v Haw matches. Swirly breeze may have had an effect on the foot-passing. Geelong easily had our measure and should've won by 7 goals, but they fluffed a lot of chances. A number of senior Hawthorn footballers were putrid. Geelong had a hand in making us look bad, granted, but the Hawks really stunk it up, I thought. I couldn't believe we stayed as close as we did. You kept us in it.

Oh, you mean Lonergan on Gunston? You're right, we'll find a better matchup for him next time. :p

Like who?

Not being a dick im genuinely interested where Lonergan will fit in v Hawthorn next time...

Its clear he is a top class defender on the guys like Cloke and Bud (could of used him on Hawkins too) but Hawthorn dont have a big monster key forward and Taylor is a better player...

Like who?

Not being a dick im genuinely interested where Lonergan will fit in v Hawthorn next time...

Its clear he is a top class defender on the guys like Cloke and Bud (could of used him on Hawkins too) but Hawthorn dont have a big monster key forward and Taylor is a better player...

Good question. As it is now, he really doesn't have a matchup against the Hawks. I'd still play him to try and minimise the effectiveness of Hale / McEvoy when forward. Gunston isn't an easy player to matchup on.

Are you Dermie?

'Hawks have played badly, while Geelong have played above themselves'

Massive copout.

I actually think both sides have plenty of improvement left based on yesterday. Didn't hear Derm but don't disagree we played poorly. Cats applied pressure no doubt but we looked flat and our skills were just abysmal even when under no pressure. Likewise, I don't think the Cats necessarily played anywhere close to their best either so he is well off the mark there.

Probably one of the lesser quality matches between the 2 teams but one that the Cats always looked like winning IMO. They were just that bit more polished all day and to be honest I'm surprised we even managed to find ourselves in front during the last quarter.

You think Geelong played that well? We ####ed up that many easy chances at goal it was ridiculous. Lonergan won't play on Gunston again either. Could argue that match up was just as bad and kept Hawks in it somewhat. Stop posting ignorant bull shit please and suck it up that you were miles off.

You imbecile.

So the Hawthorn FC didn't miss any easy chances either? Ruff from 5mtrs out? Ruff from 25 mtrs out? Rioli from 30mtrs out? Gunston could have just about put you blokes away in the final term after we played an absolute stinker.

Mate, don't get ahead of yourself. Th Geelong footy club beat us, you were much better and certainly deserved the points however there are a few things that took place yesterday that given the game had more importance would not have happened.

Mcevoy was half fit hence his subbing, Lake and Schoey didn't play and that allowed Hawkins to almost single handily end Cheneys career and both Cyril and Ruff barely touched the footy.

Hats off to your mob, once again during the home and away season you got us and I will give you rd 22 as well, so long as we keep sending you back down the highway to your sh#t farm of a town when it counts I'll be happy.

Why can't people just accept Geelong are better and marvel at the Hawks for keep coming at them.

And keep coming at you we will.

Go the Hawks!!!

Keep coming means f-all. If we continue to lose to them during the regular season it may mean we travel to Perth for a week 1 final and Adelaide/Sydney Prelim week! We need to finish top 2, it's a must and if we lock in 2 loses at the start of year to the Cats then that is severely dented. I won't accept Geelong being better and marvel at our mob coming at them, GIVE ME A SPELL.

You imbecile.

So the Hawthorn FC didn't miss any easy chances either? Ruff from 5mtrs out? Ruff from 25 mtrs out? Rioli from 30mtrs out? Gunston could have just about put you blokes away in the final term after we played an absolute stinker.

Mate, don't get ahead of yourself. Th Geelong footy club beat us, you were much better and certainly deserved the points however there are a few things that took place yesterday that given the game had more importance would not have happened.

Mcevoy was half fit hence his subbing, Lake and Schoey didn't play and that allowed Hawkins to almost single handily end Cheneys career and both Cyril and Ruff barely touched the footy.

Hats off to your mob, once again during the home and away season you got us and I will give you rd 22 as well, so long as we keep sending you back down the highway to your sh#t farm of a town when it counts I'll be happy.

Here we have a fine specimen of the 21st Century Hawthorn supporter. Entitlement and arrogance epitomised.

I actually think both sides have plenty of improvement left based on yesterday. Didn't hear Derm but don't disagree we played poorly. Cats applied pressure no doubt but we looked flat and our skills were just abysmal even when under no pressure. Likewise, I don't think the Cats necessarily played anywhere close to their best either so he is well off the mark there.

Probably one of the lesser quality matches between the 2 teams but one that the Cats always looked like winning IMO. They were just that bit more polished all day and to be honest I'm surprised we even managed to find ourselves in front during the last quarter.

Was a good period early in the last there for the Hawks, spurred by a couple of quick centre clearances and Hodge having a bit of influence - then he went to the bench for a rubdown and the Cats switched on. Is Hodgey carrying something, or a little bit underdone?

Good question. As it is now, he really doesn't have a matchup against the Hawks. I'd still play him to try and minimise the effectiveness of Hale / McEvoy when forward. Gunston isn't an easy player to matchup on.

Well how much influence on the game did Gunstan have while Mackie was out on the field in the first 3 quarters? What was it, 1 goal? After he went off he had 3 shots. Lonergan's the man for the job, he's not an ideal match-up, obviously more suited to the gorilla's but with Enright, Taylor, Rivers and Mackie in front of him blocking space and forcing him wide, it becomes effective.

Was a good period early in the last there for the Hawks, spurred by a couple of quick centre clearances and Hodge having a bit of influence - then he went to the bench for a rubdown and the Cats switched on. Is Hodgey carrying something, or a little bit underdone?

Not sure to be honest. Hasn't really got going this season yet though.

Not sure if he's carrying anything but did mention to the neutral supporter I was with at the game that I had never seen him miss so many targets by foot in a game of footy. Obviously pressure of playing Geelong would have contributed a little, but I think he may have a little niggle as this was very un Hodge like.

As for the rest of the game and the crap on here between some supporters:

Geelong way too good yesterday. Hawthorn didn't play well, and before any of you knob head Geelong supporters jump in and start whinging saying I'm suggesting Hawthorn only lost because they played bad and not because Geelong are any good please read the first sentence in this paragraph again.

Now onto the knob head Hawthorn supporters whinging about Geelong never beating us when it counts. I'm sorry, but if it's for 4 points or in a knock out final, or for a flag, then it counts. It always counts. Some count for a little bit more ('11 QF, '08 flag, '13 PF) but they all count and at the moment we have lost 11 out of the last 12 (or whatever it's f**ken up to) to a side that I have a lot of respect for.

People always ask me why I don't hate Geelong. Simple, I admire quality football and quality footballers, both which Geelong bring to my AFL experience. Do I hate losing to Geelong? F**ken oath, it makes my blood boil. Do I appreciate them, absolutely.

Yesterday's game was won in a couple of key areas IMO. Hawkins dominated his match up, in my opinion if Lake plays this doesn't happen. Selwood and Johnson destroyed Hawthorn's midfield, both champion footballers and typify exactly why we have only beaten them once in so long. To be honest, if it wasn't for Burgoyne and Mitchell yesterday we would have been belted.

McIntosh was also key in the outcome. Clunked everything and Geelong used him perfectly, well done by the GFC match planning committee. Shows just how much Hwthorn need a tall KPD or two in the side.

Don't underestimate the influence of Sewell and Sheils, we missed them badly.

Geelong's second/third tier players were better than ours. I really like Murdoch. Hallahan looked good though when given the chance and should hold his spot.

Rioli did nothing. I love you Cyril but you must get consistent mate.

That's all for now.

Would love to play again in a final with BOTH teams at full strength (actually would rather play with Geelong missing 15 players if I'm honest). Clearly the two best sides in it and always a game worth watching even if I walk back to Jolimont station wanting to punch every Geelong supporter in the face (and some Hawthorn).

You imbecile.

Hah wow. Careful throwing that insult around when you proceed to post an absolute bunch of nonsense after it. OK you wait or the finals. Now we have ruckmen back and Hawkins able to move if you think the result will magically be different 'when it counts' you're kidding yourself. Wait in fear my friend and get some more excuses ready, we have your measure.

Yesterday's game was won in a couple of key areas IMO. Hawkins dominated his match up, in my opinion if Lake plays this doesn't happen. Selwood and Johnson destroyed Hawthorn's midfield, both champion footballers and typify exactly why we have only beaten them once in so long. To be honest, if it wasn't for Burgoyne and Mitchell yesterday we would have been belted.

Nice write up mate. Don't agree with the bit about Selwood though. Langford did a great job. SJ killed us though and so did Hawkins (mind you I thought Cheney acquitted himself well for about 85% of the day - just couldn't hang on to the end).

Not sure if he's carrying anything but did mention to the neutral supporter I was with at the game that I had never seen him miss so many targets by foot in a game of footy. Obviously pressure of playing Geelong would have contributed a little, but I think he may have a little niggle as this was very un Hodge like.

As for the rest of the game and the crap on here between some supporters:

Geelong way too good yesterday. Hawthorn didn't play well, and before any of you knob head Geelong supporters jump in and start whinging saying I'm suggesting Hawthorn only lost because they played bad and not because Geelong are any good please read the first sentence in this paragraph again.

Now onto the knob head Hawthorn supporters whinging about Geelong never beating us when it counts. I'm sorry, but if it's for 4 points or in a knock out final, or for a flag, then it counts. It always counts. Some count for a little bit more ('11 QF, '08 flag, '13 PF) but they all count and at the moment we have lost 11 out of the last 12 (or whatever it's f**ken up to) to a side that I have a lot of respect for.

People always ask me why I don't hate Geelong. Simple, I admire quality football and quality footballers, both which Geelong bring to my AFL experience. Do I hate losing to Geelong? F**ken oath, it makes my blood boil. Do I appreciate them, absolutely.

McIntosh was also key in the outcome. Clunked everything and Geelong used him perfectly, well done by the GFC match planning committee. Shows just how much Hwthorn need a tall KPD or two in the side.

Don't underestimate the influence of Sewell and Sheils, we missed them badly.

Geelong's second/third tier players were better than ours. I really like Murdoch. Hallahan looked good though when given the chance and should hold his spot.

Rioli did nothing. I love you Cyril but you must get consistent mate.

That's all for now.

Would love to play again in a final with BOTH teams at full strength (actually would rather play with Geelong missing 15 players if I'm honest). Clearly the two best sides in it and always a game worth watching even if I walk back to Jolimont station wanting to punch every Geelong supporter in the face (and some Hawthorn).

And there he/she is!!!!! The best, most logical, Hawthorn supporter that exists!!!

Would definitely read your posts again!!!

Hah wow. Careful throwing that insult around when you proceed to post an absolute bunch of nonsense after it. OK you wait or the finals. Now we have ruckmen back and Hawkins able to move if you think the result will magically be different 'when it counts' you're kidding yourself. Wait in fear my friend and get some more excuses ready, we have your measure.

Fearful I am not.

Think Hawkins/Cheney really decided the match but I'd argue injuries have decided the last two. It was Hawthorn's turn to suffer the consequences of key outs. They should feel fortunate that it was in a relatively unimportant game.

I think Mackie is a really good match up for Gunston and did well, Lonergan not so much. He's a 197cm gorilla backmen and should be on Hale/McEvoy not a tweener forward even if he is dangerous. For me that hurt us but fortunately it was only for a quarter.

The other big thing in Geelong's favor other than Hawkins/Cheney was that I think our list bats a bit deeper. Perhaps i'm biased but the 19-24th player on Geelong list to me look a level above Hawthorns so having Shiel, Lake and Sewell missing hurt them in terms of quality as well as structure.

Think it will be a different game next time around. Hawks will find away to get more impact out of Roughy and Rioli i'm sure and they should be a bit more robust in the middle. Certainly they won't wilt down back with Lake too. Hopefully Geelong will have improvement of their own. Chiefly I think there run and carry with Motlop and Christenson back will improve.

All this game says to me is that it's again close and close enough that injuries might have a big say in things. Both teams should be making an impact in the finals and it should again be another twist building on a already epic recent rivalry.

Personally, I was quietly confident that we would win (hindsight blah blah). Everyone (media and supporters) have been talking about the hawks superior skills. No doubt they are a highly skilled team...but I have been extremely impressed with the cats skills...almost the best I have seen in the last few years...and that's obviously saying something. Combine that with an excellent defence, quality ruckmen and a monster full forward, and we have a team that will be difficult to beat.

I still believe, and this is only my opinion, that the cats best is the best in the comp at the moment...also another reason the cats won yesterday. They may only play in bursts, but geez they're impressive during those patches.