Autopsy Hawks v Swans

The problem with this tactic is that it's easily countered with extra defenders in our forward 50. $wans did it last night. Freo had 2 or 3 back but of course we all know they are pretty shit house.

We need to make defenders accountable for this tactic to work. Sicily and TOB have to get to more dangerous positions more often.

It'll come with time.

Also guys is it just me, or is TOB better in defense than forward?

I think its designed to counter the extra defender.

The hope is the ball tumbles forward into space, allowing our small forwards to run onto it or at least tackle them as they pick the ball up.

It just seemed the kicks last night were either a bit short or long and the Sydney defenders were chopping them off in the air.

We were off last night but there were 3 things that lost us the game: 1. #nofreekickhawthorn 2. The clangers. 3. Bad set shot kicking. Remove any one of those and we would still have won.
Hope they focus now, one week at a time, on winning the next 3, then take on Norf. We're very well positioned. This match reminded me of the match versus Sydney in Sydney in 2014 - nothing went right (Hodge late out, Cyril hamstring), we were out of it, worked out way into it, just missed.

Still say we're the team to beat.

I think its designed to counter the extra defender.

The hope is the ball tumbles forward into space, allowing our small forwards to run onto it or at least tackle them as they pick the ball up.

It just seemed the kicks last night were either a bit short or long and the Sydney defenders were chopping them off in the air.

Much like when we play Geelong

There's something NQR with the players this year, and it's more than just a lack of hunger

Much like when we play Geelong

There's something NQR with the players this year, and it's more than just a lack of hunger

We dont have many players who have gone to a new level this year.

Especially looking at that 23-30 year old range when guys are hitting or in their prime I would say only Gunston has lifted.

Everyone else has either been the same or lower this season.

Haven't read through all the posts but how is no one commenting on how bad Duryea has been?! turned it over heaps last night, ducks at any opportunity and tries to take on tacklers to no avail (all season not last night). New whipping boy for mine along with 'benny' hill

My issue is the going for marks when there's no-one behind you and going to ground. He needs more awareness of who's behind if you're going to give up all chance of following up.

I hope the pies flog the rats..Rats are 3 pts, Pies are 47 pts.. The rats are worse than us the 1st qrt last night..Come on Pies, kill them..:p:thumbsu:burn them
:fire::fire: Wait till see SookySook Whinger Scott throw his arms up in the air..Can't wait..hehe:D
Hmm. Might bump a few "Geelong are awesome" threads on the main board.....

I pretty much avoid all footy media the day after we lose, especially when it's to media darlings like Sydney.

Did anyone see Mitchell get cleaned up by Sinclair in the 2nd quarter? Mitch went in for a bump and got him a little high and Sinclair went down and made it a lot worse than it was, but didn't fool the umpire into awarding the free. Then when the ball was clear he crashed into Mitchell's back, when he wasn't looking. Dog act, especially when it's someone half your size who can't see you coming.

If Mitchell had done the same it would be played a million times during the week.
Yeah saw that, no free kick of course. Was that kind of night.

Love the unbiased AFL
0b30cceaef06968535b4d97b8d99b86c.jpg

A few observations:

1. The crowd was so flat last night. I'm in M57, and it's usually humming, but it was dead quiet.

2. The guys really tried, the effort was fantastic. Players were making mistakes, things they wouldn't usually do, perhaps they were trying too hard.

3. I hate losing to those bastards. Ugly football, the Roos influence is so strong. Buddy stands out because he is a star in a whole lot of dross.

4. The posters here criticising players, particularly the younger players, should hang their heads in shame. You don't deserve to support this great club.

Davo I called out Brad Hill's deplorable disposal.

Does that make me not worthy of supporting the Hawks?

No malice intended I just think it was a fair call.

I agree with you there. And his follow up regarding how badly we burnt the ball going forward was pretty damn accurate. We had 14 more inside 50's but our entries were deplorable.
People keep quoting this inside 50's differential - but as both sides know Bud doesn't need inside 50s to score.

Davo I called out Brad Hill's deplorable disposal.

Does that make me not worthy of supporting the Hawks?

No malice intended I just think it was a fair call.

It's probably harsh if that was your only comment.

In the circumstances of Roughie's situation and the way the WHOLE team played, it's totally unfair to single out one player.
The whole team was down. They tried damn hard, they never gave up: we should be proud of each one of them.

People keep quoting this inside 50's differential - but as both sides know Bud doesn't need inside 50s to score.
But that still counts as an inside 50 though, in fact the one where Buddy received the handball from his team mate who was taking a set shot counts as 2 inside 50s. Not saying we deserved to win or should have but our ball use going forward was awful at best. Lost count of how many times we just kicked a high ball without actually looking to hit up a player. Made it worse that you guys were playing a spare and still we did this.

It's probably harsh if that was your only comment.

In the circumstances of Roughie's situation and the way the WHOLE team played, it's totally unfair to single out one player.
The whole team was down. They tried damn hard, they never gave up: we should be proud of each one of them.

I posted a dozen or so other positive posts but fair enough.

I take it back.

But that still counts as an inside 50 though, in fact the one where Buddy received the handball from his team mate who was taking a set shot counts as 2 inside 50s. Not saying we deserved to win or should have but our ball use going forward was awful at best. Lost count of how many times we just kicked a high ball without actually looking to hit up a player. Made it worse that you guys were playing a spare and still we did this.
Yeah I know, just trying for some lols. Interesting re: 2 I50's, will have to rewatch that.

What makes the bombing in even more bizarre was Teddy sitting on the pine since Q1 - the defense was already a man down.

Yeah I know, just trying for some lols. Interesting re: 2 I50's, will have to rewatch that.

What makes the bombing in even more bizarre was Teddy sitting on the pine since Q1 - the defense was already a man down.
I think our lack of a big bodied forward meant that Richards going down had little impact. O'Brien is young and light of frame and Grundy just pushed off him too easily, never really had a run at the footy which is where he does his best work. Gunston was about our only forward who looked dangerous and was often 1 v 3 when we went to him, especially early in the game.

Richards was playing as the loose early on and I suspect that all that would have changed had he stayed on is that he'd have racked up a bunch of uncontested marks from our dumb entries. Not sure it would have changed the final result by much. Not a knock on Richards, more just an observation on how we went forward.

I think our lack of a big bodied forward meant that Richards going down had little impact. O'Brien is young and light of frame and Grundy just pushed off him too easily, never really had a run at the footy which is where he does his best work. Gunston was about our only forward who looked dangerous and was often 1 v 3 when we went to him, especially early in the game.

Richards was playing as the loose early on and I suspect that all that would have changed had he stayed on is that he'd have racked up a bunch of uncontested marks from our dumb entries. Not sure it would have changed the final result by much. Not a knock on Richards, more just an observation on how we went forward.

Richards going down actually benefited them more than it hurt them IMO. He didn't really have much of match up to begin with and suddenly they had a whole lot more run out of the back half than usual.

Autopsy Hawks v Swans