Autopsy Hawks vs Cats - Do the autopsy here.

I've been all but spat-on here on the Hawthorn board in past years for calling for Clarkson's head. I honestly think he's an exceedingly mediocre coach who happened to bring a widely-used concept from Basketball (the zone defense) across to football and rode it to victory in 2008. Great stuff, for himself and the club and his name will be etched in footy history because of it.

His coaching since then hasn't impressed me. The 'chip it around with precision kicking' style isn't going to take us to another flag - its useless against top teams in big games. The 'throw it on the boot and aim for top of the square' style isn't going to cut it with forwards like ours either.

The ball is in Clarkson's court. Either he can re-invent the gameplan over the course of the season or we won't be holding up this year's cup - and that's despite most bookies tipping us to, presumably on the back of the talent we have. Talent that I'm very far from convinced is being used to optimal effect right now.

Well Bosky you are now in good company. Jeff Kennett has called for Clarkson's sacking at the end of the season and he won't take too kindly to be spat on.

I noticed on another website that buddy had a bandage against his name can anyone give a heads up to what that was or wasn't

If buddy thought that the media had been low key about contract, I think that may get ramped up a notch now that season proper is underway - opinions will be flying left right and centre

I think his contract negotiations have just been wounded a bit

I wasn't impressed by the lack of conditioning and fitness of the team, if that improves we will be okay this year and around the top 4 again. It was a poor standard game by hawks cats standards, lots of mistakes and first round type skill errors. Hopefully we can run out the eagles game a bit better and continue to build our fitness.
You have to remember that the Cats have had an extra 3-4 weeks preseason on us due to their early exit from the finals last year. They are a good month fitness wise ahead of us, we just needed to get a bigger lead at half time than we did.

Can anyone tell me if we had anyone on Chappy or if the coaches just thought it was a good idea to just let him run around and do his own thing in the second half? He was easily worth at least 2 goals in the second half.

Clarkson must go. They need to sack this bloke right now and offer Leigh Matthews a package he cannot refuse. This team is in serious danger of implosion. Easily the most talented squad but with no spine, no mettle, no self-belief. That all falls at the coaches feet. Enuf said. They need discipline and a massive arse-kicking. Franklin lacks any emotional maturity just like his coach. Hodge hasnt got his body right since 2008 and there is no one with any intestinal fortitude at our club to call him out on being a piss-head! 2008 was won by Stewy Dew not Clarko. That myth must end right now!!! Clarko & his game plan and lack of discipline is the heart and core of our problems. His press conferences and constant denials are getting beyond the joke. We need someone with balls to take this club by the scruff of the neck and shake it to its foundations. We are gutless... Sooo un-Hawthorn like. No Johnson, Kelly or Corey! All we needed was a hard tag on Selwood & Chapman.. Just become too obvious its a joke. I will repeat... Clarkson must be sacked now or we will never beat Geelong or win another premiership for the next decade. Please heed my words Hawthorn Football Club. For all our sakes... Its gotten beyond the joke!!!

Writing was on the wall very early - Cats won contested footy in the first so the lead we had was really fortunate and illusionary imo.

Second quarter we were all over them and I actually thought we were going to be okay despite being two weeks behind them condition wise.

Second half was very much like the Swans game in Tassie last year - no petrol and many didn't have the will to win - they could take a leaf out of Selwood's book in that regard.

I've got question marks on about 8 players as to whether they could help us win our next premiership - some blokes have just stagnated or gone backwards.

And FWIW, I wouldn't give Buddy five bucks based on today's performance - clear Worst on Ground for mine.

Forward structures were piss poor today. To have Gunston, Roughy and Buddy all running around in the same forward line, but to have to resort to long bombing kicks in from the mids is damning. Those three should all be leading out from the goal square in different directions to stop the loose man coming over the top. They need some work.

I also am beginning to believe that the boys are mentally afraid of the Cats players. Can't ice games when we have the chance, and can't stop themselves from being overrun in the final quarters. Disappointing in a major way

Yep, forward structure was terrible. No seperation, no proper leading, just bombing it to big packs.
In the end we were outplayed again by the cats, plain and simple.

Gotta agree with some of the above comments .. I actually walked away feeling more sorry for the players and the psychological damage these boys seem to have.. Geelong play very smart footy and under pressure are great compared some of our boys..
Some major disappointments and no need to name again, but liked hills work early, shoey was good and Anderson in the minutes he had has some balls to to have a dip...

The momentum a win would have given us over the next 3-4 weeks Is one of the bigger losses I feel.. Going to be tough going to have a positive ledger after rd 3 -5..

Keep the faith

It's round 1, our build up to this game hasn't been great, against a side that is still very good.

I think we need to just gather our senses and move on to next week. Yeah it's the Cats, yeah we did what we normally do against them, but it's round 1 guys. A little perspective is needed now.

Reckon Buddy dropped $100 to $200k today!! (Based on 1 game disclaimer. See paragraph 3 - subsection 1).

Commiserations guys. I just shake my head with this history.

Love the look of Hill, when he can play out a game then he will be a real weapon.

We just ran you guys off your legs... and that is no doubt due to our longer preseason. Scott conceded as much.

Alright here's my "match review" for those that care to read it.

WARNING: criticism of Hawthorn players inside, if you find that offensive on principal then please direct your complains to... someone else. Thanks.

Roughead - Outclassed all day by better players. Didn't notice him hold a contested mark.
Lewis - Good in patches but didn't do enough. Seems to be spending less time in the midfield perhaps on account of his lack of pace.
Mitchell - What can you say? Only that we needed a couple more of him and I wouldn't blame him for being pissed at the lack of support he gets.
Gibson - Had a good game I thought, though his lack of size did show on a few occasions. Hardly his fault however.
Burgoyne - Did well in pressure situations, has a very cool head. Liked his game.
Hill - Dynamite in the first quarter then (understandably) eventually ran out of puff. Great game from the youngster, terribly pleasing to see.
Sewell - Typical warrior effort from Brad. No complaints here.
Birchall - Use of the ball was generally great as usual and he's such a tough competitor now.
Smith - Very disappointing. Doesn't like physical contact, poor disposal at times and doesn't get enough ball.
Guerra - Solid down back, a few stuff ups but I can forgive him.
Gunston - Would've been great had he played, who took his place in the side?
Hale - Mediocre in the ruck and didn't have a great game up forward. In other words pretty much your average Hale game vs quality opposition.
Savage - Not convinced. Gets caught holding the ball far too often, only at his best when running in a straight line with little traffic around him.
Bruest - Not a great game, closely marked and was a bit fumbly. Missed a crucial set shot under pressure which is hardly unusual.
Franklin - Did very little, as he always does against Geelong it seems. Perhaps we need to pay him more to increase his motivation.
Stratton - Some really nice clutch defensive efforts.
Shoenmakers - Very good game from Shoey, he can really hold his head up after the way he played today.
Shiels - Didn't notice him much which seems to be the norm.
Puopolo - Great at drawing high contact and competed hard. Not convinced he's best 22 material.
Rioli - Some nice clearances and he competed well all day, but didn't have a big influence.
Anderson - Nice bump, limited gametime.
Bailey - Had a great first half in particular, really gave the mids an armchair ride in the 2nd quarter. His work around the ground wasn't bad either!
Clarkson - Most overrated coach in the league? For mine he would have to go close. Playing Anderson (first gamer) on Selwood in the last quarter anyone?
Gameplan - Absolute rubbish. Tires players out enormously, doesn't generate enough easy scoring chances, usually fails against teams with great defenses ie. Geelong, Sydney, Collingwood of a few years back.
Entire Team - Mentally weak, still allowing oppositions to get huge run-ons, still woeful at set shots. Today was almost an exact replica of 2012 GF.

I don't have any particularly extended review of the match, as that is not really my style (and others do it wayyy better than I could). But I will say that I do not like and have not liked the way our forward 50 is working. The moment we switched from a leading forward style ('08/'09) to the scrambled eggs we currently have was the moment we lost the plot as a side. I know it's important to spread the goal kickers across the team a bit more and not be so predictable, but why do we look like a rabble up there everytime? Bombs away seems to be the order of the day and for what? We don't have anyone who can take a contested mark!
I'd rather go back to the Buddy/Roughy leading from the goalsquare out model, because what we have now is complete horseshit.

We couldn't even close out 1 half of football and now we have to go to Perth off a 6 day break. 0-2 just like the AFL orchestrated, then we will be feeling pressure in the next 5 games against the top 8 from 2012.

Congratulations must be given to the AFL. They know that we are to weak and gutless to respond when the going gets tough.

FFS it's only round one, but this game we were suppose to be primed for and ready for to finally break the drout, but they gave up when the going to tough.
Kennett calling for Clarko to be axed at the end of season.
Kennett should keep his mouth shut as his words are hypocritical because he gave Clarko the extra contract!

jesus_quintana.jpg

Laughable man. Real laughable

But how can we so completely run out of puff in the second half? - The boys seemed to be just standing and watching the ball go by several times.
And WTF was with our structure in the last half, particularly final qtr - they were all over the place, and no one actually 'in place'. What is Smith doing deep in defense??

I'm not going to go to town, but I must admit to being more disappointed in this loss than I normally am. That last half... *shakes head* Some players didn't even seem to try.

But big props to the Schoe, Poppy and Hill! Loved their work.
And Bailey showed some glimpses, even around the ground.. just needs to string it all together. A few times he also looked like a stunned mullet, but considering his not massive amount of game time in recent years..

Not enough props to a clearly rejuvenated Geelong side in this thread.

The Hawks were excellent for a half, Hill is a massive find and adds a whole new dimension to the team; looks like a 150+ gamer to me.
Mitchell was excellent as ever (well, since Ling's retirement).