Autopsy Hawks vs Cats, Rd 15 2013

I hate to even think it.. But our fate in this years finals will be determined by whether or not another side can oust Geelong on our behalf.

For as good as clarko has been over the journey with this group, he cannot get the players to execute what he (blindly?) obviously sees as a winning formula. Tonight's loss was just carbon copy of all the others.

Something surely must be done differently when we get these pricks again... With SJ and chapman both kitted up.

People tend to forget that Geelong's biggest winning margin against us during this streak is in a final. It is becoming a little delusional thinking we will beat them in the finals given that our players don't handle the pressure and coach doesn't a have game plan to beat them. These types of streaks tend to end when the winning team is at the end of an era or when the losing team improves (usually with the addition of personnel or player development). I thought we might have got there in terms of improvement but the results say otherwise. There is absolutely no evidence to suggest that we can beat Geelong anytime soon.

Disappointing display of footy from us but full credit to Geelong.
-Backline took a quarter or so to find their feet- did not look comfy early.
-Disposal was atrocious to our forwards. Either lobbed balls easily spoilt or bombs just hoping.
-Goal accuracy again was poor.
-Looked like deer in headlights and panicked many times. They are mentally stronger.
-Mids just don't look as quick or deadly as previously.

Plenty to work on but not giving up on our season. The sun will rise later at Glenferrie this morning.
Clarko I'm sure hasn't let all the rabbits out of the bag.

Now if Essendon do us a favour and knock Geelong out of the finals before any issues can be resolved, I'll be even happier :D

Yes, but our gameplan goes out the window when we play them. We second guess ourselves, we're second to the ball, we cannot mark a thing, and we just bomb it to no-one. There was nothing at all tonight to suggest we will beat them any time soon.

Geelong will be licking their lips if they play us in a final.

Can you imagine their morale if we come out breathing fire in a gf and they see it starting to unravel? I'm pretty sure that this streak is just another layer of pressure that you don't really need going into finals. Just like our recently ended winning streak. It's certainly no great loss that that is behind us.

People tend to forget that Geelong's biggest winning margin against us during this streak is in a final. It is becoming a little delusional thinking we will beat them in the finals given that our players don't handle the pressure and coach doesn't a have game plan to beat them. These types of streaks tend to end when the winning team is at the end of an era or when the losing team improves (usually with the addition of personnel or player development). I thought we might have got there in terms of improvement but the results say otherwise. There is absolutely no evidence to suggest that we can beat Geelong anytime soon.

Much like the Hawk teams of the eighties v the Geelong teams of eighties...

The Cats sides would look like world beaters against most other teams until they played us, man they were the good days!!!

I agree with you. I always thought that we would be able to beat them in a home and away. We are too psyched out against this team. Will be about game 20 in the streak when we finally beat them. We still have a lot of heart ache to come with this team unless something radical happens between the ears and the coaching staff. I don't want to blame Clarkson, but this trend of failures is starting to point to the top. Get the team mentally prepared for a game is as important as technically and game plan. At the moment we are at a loss with Geelong and need to go back to a white blank drawing board and start again from basics.

I would be avoiding them in the finals. I'm afraid that won't happen. They stand in our way of winning the flag this year and they know it.

images

We are Geelong's bitches and it's getting embarassing. Front-running flogs like Andrew Mackie having a crack at us. We need to nip this shit in the bud, and I don't mind if a few people get weeks next time we play them.

Few thoughts from tonight:

(1) Sewell is rubbish and is not AFL standard. His weaknesses can be hidden against sub-par opposition but he is slow, makes terrible decisions and cannot kick. We saw tonight just bombing it in long not only hurts our own chances of scoring, but exposes us on the rebound.

(2) Whitecross is, and always has been, terrible when there's any heat in a game. No idea why people seem to think he's good on this forum. Would rather Ellis as at least he'll have a dip and is a smart footballer. Has absolutely no idea what to do in a contest, can't keep his feet or execute simple 25m passes under no pressure. Needs to go to Box Hill. SHould look at trading him to GC/BL at the end of the season if he has any currency.

(3) Bruest is mentally weak.

(4) We need an open forwardline, and we need to stop just booting it into our forward line to short people like puopolo.

(5) Positives from tonight: Mitchell had a great game, Stratton, Hill and Puopolo all played well. Gunston and Lake played well in the second half.

Sewell 12 possessions. Honestly what has happened to him this year? He can't get his hands on the ball at all, he has had so many low possession games this year and he is supposed to be a fulltime mid. When he does get it, he is either tackled and caught with the ball for being too slow or he grubs the ball forward or skyballs it.

I have loved him for a long time but he is seriously a liability atm.

Lewis is another I have no idea what is wrong with him but he is a shell of his former self.

I normally don't like to roast players but I'm sick of the same players not performing every Geelong game (Sewell usually does though) but Lewis, Hodge, Buddy, Roughy, Cyril, Breust (cut slack for sure but just mentioning in the past) all topline players have absolute stinkers everytime we play the cats.

In saying that we are 12 and 2 which is remarkable so for all the worries with Sewell and Lewis it's quite amazing we are doing that well. I'm just sick of the same s*t different game when we play this mob. It's mental and the worse thing is each time we lose to them the pressure adds up even more and question marks arise as to can they ever do it.

I reckon the players individually know they collectively can't handle the pressure against Geelong but Clarko and co probably try and pretend there is nothing in it and we have just been unlucky, Geelong are too good etc but I hope next time we play them he says to the boys ok look, let's stop pretending this isn't an issue and agree there is a bit of a mental issue and just put it on the boys to overcome it and believe they can do it. Tackle the mental demons head on and overcome it boys instead of pretending we were just unlucky and Geelong are a good side etc. Yes they're a great side but we have a mental inability to handle the pressure situations against them.

End of rant, I still believe in the boys and have hope for this year to take the glory home :thumbsu:

First of....

- Against good teams, the best teams, with midfields as good as ours or even better.... we cannot carry two genuine lumbering ruckman anymore. We appear slow and void of run. Works well against inferior sides.

- Sewell is cooked, done finished. Gone. He has nowhere to hide. If he is having a stinker through the midfield...well we are just stuck with him. If we push him to the half forward flank, he's slow and he's the last person in our side that we want the ball in his hands kicking inside 50.
Sewell Out: Lewis in, eat a f*cking hamburger because you look malnourished. No negative jobs anymore, just hunt the contested football which was your strength untill we turned him into something he was not.

- Whitecross, keep your feet FFS.

- Delivery inside 50...absolutely deplorable. kicking to a forwards advantage = non existent.

-Franklin, you're not Carey. You ain't a contested marking forward.....Get on your bike like Riewoldt and run you defender ragged. That is your god given talent. use it. Use it. F*cking use it.

- Luke Hodge, you're our captain you're our leader. What you showed tonight is exactly why you're not a champion of this game. Against the best sides you continually go missing. The man you replaced as captain needed help.....Where were you?

-Why do Geelong always win...its pretty simple, its because all there on field leaders consistently stand up while ours continue to go missing. Selwood Bartel Kelly Enright compared to Hawthorn. Mitchell, who else ? Hodge Stunk, Sewell Stunk, Lewis Stunk. Then we get down to our bottom six. This is probably the area which separates the best from the rest. They have a player like Murdoch who kicks 3 last quarter goals whilst we have Savage who provided SFA. He doesn't play next week.

I may have been mistaken, but why did wait till the last quarter to bring Burgoyne through the middle of the ground.
Very very well said...my thoughts exactly.

Hill is great on the offence but just a little lacking in defence. Geelong and others just push him off in the contest. He's a little light framed at the moment but hopefully will fill out a little with time
Agreed. Hill needs to learn how to stick tackles as I've said before. Rioli showed how it was done in 2008 and he wasn't terribly muscular back then either.

That said, Hill is vital to the team and was one of the VERY few mids offering us any run & carry tonight which is something we desperately lack. His decision making & delivery to forwards is great for a young kid too.

We're lacking speed, could it be time to bring Anderson back into the side?

Pathetic really. I was a fool to be lured back in after staking the season on round 1. If we couldn't beat them with 6 months to prepare we certainly weren't going too after dogging it for 7 weeks and rarely getting out of second gear.

We are only in this position on the ladder because the rest of the league hasn't caught up. Not because we've improved. Hate to say it but we'll probably go 20-2 or 19-3 (Sydney away) with a percentage over 130 and not win the flag. It sucks that we win almost every week but lose when it matters.

That being said, we lost by 10 points, and could've quite easily won the game, if we'd not sprayed a few shots and not had such a long period in the game where we couldn't mark the ball..

I didn't watch the game, as I said I wouldn't, but **** me that sounds all too familiar. At least we didn't give up a 5 goal lead I guess.

Same old same old.

From the opening bounce our lack of composure was on display. Whilst in our previous 11 games we looked for options with the ball in hand, against Geelong we get the ball and panic a rush a kick forward, most times under no real pressure just perceived pressure, for that kick to land time and time again in the arms of a cats

Seriously? What a flog comment from a flog supporter of a flog club.

Tongue in cheek. We obviously know it wouldn't happen. Mackie would just get Pod's to fight his battles for him anyway the little pansy.

I won't watch another Hawks/Cats game.

haha classic ... ya know after round 1 i said NEVER again will i go to another cats game ... up until this week i was sticking to it, UNTIL last minute, on Wednesday i started to get toey and bought some tickets ... then Friday i got sick and couldnt go anyway so it all worked out beautifully .. hahah thankyou virus for saving me from that stink again

Autopsy Hawks vs Cats, Rd 15 2013