Autopsy Hawks vs Cats, Rd 15 2013

Geelong were way too good and the margin flattered us. Why is it that as soon as we see Geelong guernseys we play like 5 year old girls and our goalkicking is comical? FFS Bruest, Roughy and Buddy, how did I know that you would choke on all those chances early on! I reckon we could put the GWS reserves in Cats guernseys and we'd go to water:mad:

not making excuses for how poorly we played (especially in the first quarter), but is holding the man even a rule any more? I constantly see players being held by the sides of their shorts when they are trying to run to the ball, players being tackled before they take possession of the ball, and players hanging on to tackles looong after the ball has spilt free and the player being tackled is trying to get loose and continue to contest.

in my limited understanding of the finer points of the rules, these scenarios should all be holding the man, yet I can't think of a single time it was called last not or pretty much all season. this is very different to how the game was umpired in the '90s and '00s. verrrry different.

now, if there has actually been a considered change to the way the game is being umpired (not just a series of extremely bad judgement calls), then it begs the question - 'why aren't hawthorn doing it?'

this is not to say that we never do any of those things, but I can tell you that we are doing it a hell of a lot less than geelong. now, any geelong fan would scream over the deliberate oob and interchange decisions (that cost them a total of 6 points), but I could cite several occasions where these holding actions derectly resulted in geelong scores being kicked or hawthorn scores being denied - all of which would add up to much more than 6 points.

this isn't just some whinge I'm having as a reaction to last night. this is something that has troubled me for a few seasons now. it is never getting called and yet we are not doing it. holding on to your opponent is highly influential on the play, so if you are getting held and you are not holding you are ssetting yourself at a massive disadvantage. so why aren't we doing it!?

Nobody seriously believes all this rubbish about a curse do they? I man we are not living in the 13th century. We will beat them one day. Don't forget we are not losing to a team who is significantly worse than us, they are arguably better than us and have been a good team for a long time.

[/quote]
I do.. i don't think curses are obsolete...laugh all you like I see the hawks as a great team who somehow seem to falter each time we play this mob. I have often seen t he hawks figt back and win......but against t his mob... who we have beaten and who are no better................ we cannot beat these days.........

So let's find a way to liift the damn thing....then you can go back to laughing at me.... honest I don't mind if it means we win against em

It was a poor standard game made slightly intersting by a wierd 4th quarter.

Crowd was genuinely concerned about corey lets hope the time taken to treat him was just" extra" precaution

I think I have just come to expect us falling short against Geelong.

If Jeff Kennett commits Seppuku ( Harakiri) in the centre of the MCG would this erase the curse. Maybe as head of Beyond Blue, ritual suicide may not be such a good look but he should do the honorable thing and fall on his sword.
ha ha burning sage and apologising might be a good start..........

not making excuses for how poorly we played (especially in the first quarter), but is holding the man even a rule any more? I constantly see players being held by the sides of their shorts when they are trying to run to the ball, players being tackled before they take possession of the ball, and players hanging on to tackles looong after the ball has spilt free and the player being tackled is trying to get loose and continue to contest.

in my limited understanding of the finer points of the rules, these scenarios should all be holding the man, yet I can't think of a single time it was called last not or pretty much all season. this is very different to how the game was umpired in the '90s and '00s. verrrry different.

now, if there has actually been a considered change to the way the game is being umpired (not just a series of extremely bad judgement calls), then it begs the question - 'why aren't hawthorn doing it?'

this is not to say that we never do any of those things, but I can tell you that we are doing it a hell of a lot less than geelong. now, any geelong fan would scream over the deliberate oob and interchange decisions (that cost them a total of 6 points), but I could cite several occasions where these holding actions derectly resulted in geelong scores being kicked or hawthorn scores being denied - all of which would add up to much more than 6 points.

this isn't just some whinge I'm having as a reaction to last night. this is something that has troubled me for a few seasons now. it is never getting called and yet we are not doing it. holding on to your opponent is highly influential on the play, so if you are getting held and you are not holding you are ssetting yourself at a massive disadvantage. so why aren't we doing it!?

Theres been a shift in interpretation which will massively help very physical teams this year

There's no plausible reason for this to keep happening other than mental demons. Whilst Geelong are a good side, they are not near the strength of the Geelong side of a few years ago and their position on the ladder has as much do to with their refusal to lose as it does with the talent they put on the park.

I reckon they are amore balanced side than a few years ago

I dont see why the 08 was a massive upset when they went with a forward line of Lonergan, Mooney and an injured stokes and chapman

Not a lot in it in the end, and I don't buy that they let us back into the game - they were tired from their high work rate. So why did they win this one?
1) Geelong played with finals intensity from the first minute. We caught up in the second quarter, but they still had way more occasions where the ball carrier was not under pressure. Next time we have to go from the first minute, so we are not playing catch up football the whole game.
2) Geelong players were better prepared for finals intensity - they expected the ball to drop short when we kicked under pressure, while our forwards were playing a traditional structure. When we started trying to control the tempo for more careful delivery, they flooded and suffocated our forwards. Our forwards have to expect that in this sort of game it will be a lurching from one contest to another, and this will reduce the uncontested ball they got out of defense (again).
3) Geelong have a mental edge. Lake's first half was a great example, we dropped more simple marks, and fumbled more, and missed multiple set shots. Don't know what to do about that, and it will stay there till we win one.
4) Our form was OK rather than good in the last few weeks, while they had a great win against Fremantle and were high in confidence. We should start winding up in about round 18, to take us through the finals.

A small gap between the teams IMHO, with more upside for us (though they have both Johnson & Chapman to return). Looking forward to the next game. When we beat them, we can claim to be the best team going round; right now, they clearly have our measure.

that wasnt nearly as painful as i thought it would be...mostly because we were never really in the contest.
that and the game never rose to any great heights. so many fumbles, missed targets, missed tackles and basic skill errors from both sides (mostly us), particularly in the first half.

not even going to bother analyzing it or ripping into individuals. we had an off night and got beaten by a better team.
i expect a better performance next time.

Groundhog Day...
Sadly we have learnt nothing in five frickin years on how to beat them.
They make us look like fumbling, pre-pubescent school boys who are sh1t scared of going near the big boys. Both sides have changed considerably over the years, but it just doesn't seem to matter who they have introduced to their side, they come in, they have immediate impact and they play their role. They do what is asked and expected of them. What disappointed me more than the fact we lost , is that our experienced players, our "leaders" went missing again. Sam Mitchell, hold your head high!! ( And to the Geelong cow who called him a dirty player, you are lucky I didn't bit*h slap you, coz I was in the right mood)

If i drank a shot of alcohol everytime that Geelong had an uncontested mark then handball receive in the corridor last night, i would still be in hospital getting my stomach pumped.

Taught a lesson in two way running last night. The amount of times that we were slow to set-up after a free-kick or stoppage on the wing etc was laughable, and it's all well and good to have a "team defence" when the players who are dropping back actually affect the contest. Trust Clarkson and co. show how organised the Cats are in the back half, and how lazy we were running through the middle of the ground when we turned it over, or rather Geelong spread from defensive 50.

The positive is, 10 points away after playing some pretty uninspiring footy, no need to throw the toys of out the cot.

It's laughable that we have this BS Kennett curse hanging over us!!
Nothing to do with any curse or how good the Cats are, it's all to do with our mind set going into these games!
We go into these games scared of losing rather than knowing we can win!!!
and that is a pretty powerful curse, wouldn't you say?

I'm sure we will be better for it. We will have learned some lessons. We didn't even play well and still got close. Next time if we bring our A game etc etc.....

Just pray they finish second and stumble in the opposite preliminary. We are a better team than them against everyone else. We just play rubbish football against them.

I'm not sure if I'm just beaten down by the recent history, but last night didn't hurt as much as the others. Probably because I could see it happening from the first 10 minutes. Their pressure was top notch and forced us into the same mistakes we make under pressure, namely giving the ball to the opposition, and/or putting the ball in terrible spots for our forwards. At this stage of the season, I think they're a better side than us. Hopefully that changes by September.

Your joking right?. Complaining bout the umpires. They did their best to get you over the line tonight just like round 1 and you couldn't do it ( not to mention last years GF ) just be greatfull they got you across the line against Carlton

And Sewell too!!
Lewis needs weeks off to have a mini mid season pre season.
Against the swans and cats he will tire early and will get run off by his opponents. Against crap team he will get away with it.
Sewell is in the same situation. Not playing well, a relaxing break could be the best thing for him.
But Clarko hasn't played any kids (Ellis straight back in somehow) unlike Geelong, so we can't rest them all.
Rotate these two and hodge??? Mitch belted someone in the middle, will he get a holiday? Hard to rest these three if he is out.
None of this will happen, Clarko will play his 2008 GF winners until they are 40, then realise they are to slow and still can't kick on their non preferred foot, Mitch excluded.

Your joking right?. Complaining bout the umpires. They did their best to get you over the line tonight just like round 1 and you couldn't do it ( not to mention last years GF ) just be greatfull they got you across the line against Carlton

Mate every team gets those games and you team has mooneys famous dummy spit when it stopped happening

Autopsy Hawks vs Cats, Rd 15 2013