Preview Hawks vs the COLA $wans and the man they call Juda$ - it's the big dance.

Know one hates us more then David king , he actually has no idea what he is talking about can see why jobs havnt been thrown his way,any 50/50 game we play he will go for the opposition and against Melbourne he thought they were Right in it I think 5 mins had gone in the first :s

Exactly. He tipped Coll for the premiership. What a knob!

For all the fans getting pissed off because all the so called experts are tipping the Swanettes..

Just remember, they all tipped Cats in '08, Hawks '12, Dockers '13... Clearly they don't know what the f@#$ they are talking about ;)

Nah, I'm more pissed at the flog on Rohan Connolly blog that suggested yesterday that the Swans are better than Hawthorn of the 1980s

8 GF's, 5 flags vs. 4 GF's and 2 flags.

FFS the Hawks last 7 years (4 GF's, 2 flags and a chance at back2back) have shaded the Swans anyway

Massive LOL right there

I thought Watson was quite good last night while the other two were crapping on and on about Sydney he brought up about how we've had a really tough year and shown amazing resilience and should not be written off. Its nice to hear someone give us a chance for once.
Yeah Lethal seemed like a very disaffected ex player last night he gave us pretty much zero credit on just about every level so quite frankly his tip means nothing.

Nah, I'm more pissed at the flog on Rohan Connolly blog that suggested yesterday that the Swans are better than Hawthorn of the 1980s

FFS the Hawks last 7 years have shaded the Swans anyway

Massive LOL right there
LOL exactly! I'm sure the AFL probably instructed him to write that up!

I reckon this is a huge game in Hawthorn's history. I've been trying to play it down but can't do it for any longer.

25 years after our only back-to-back flags, to do it again would be phenomenal. But I also feel like it is the only way THIS team will be truly recognised for its relentless brilliance.

If you'll all remember, 2010 was a mess early on and we probably almost lost our coach. Then to drag it back but perform so poorly in that final (1.11 at one stage if I remember right) was such a bloody downer. We'd brought in Gibbo and Burger and were trying to win now but we looked to be paddling a bit after those two really ordinary seasons. I gotta admit I wasn't sure which direction we were headed.

So since then we are on 79 wins, 20 losses from our last 99 matches. For comparison Hawthorn between '86 and '89, our greatest side, were 99gm/81w/18L.

But they have the three flags of course, and that prized Back-to-Back, which has loomed in my subconscious over every Hawthorn side since. Because they are the gold-standard of our club, and history has its own intangible weight.

It seems ridiculous stakes for two hours of footy, but I guess what I am trying to say here is that for me a win on Saturday makes our current side our new gold standard. Not better or worse, but the Hawthorn side all footy fans will then speak of in the future, reminisce about their greatness like they have done for the last 25 years.

How long have us hawk supporters spoken about those sides? Their ruthlessness, toughness, precision, leadership, blood and guts, dependability, longevity and talent.

Thats how I remember our greatest team, have another read of those words. What do you see?

We only play by the rules grumbleguts and within the boundaries set out by the AFL. Don't have a crack at us for doing just that .... keep it for the Essendon FC.

Maybe Hodge or Lake should take a swing at Buddy or BIG Kurt ... he/they may just get the shock of his life. :)
If I played in a chess tournament, and the officials told me i could use 2 queens because of where i live, i'd be too embarrassed to do so. Just sayin'

LV - very true. back to back etches this teams deserved place in our clubs and afl history. we have gone through an extended period of dominance that wouldn't be justified with only 1 flag in 4 years. we need another and we need it now.

FFS the Hawks last 7 years (4 GF's, 2 flags and a chance at back2back) have shaded the Swans anyway

Massive LOL right there

Did he really say that? Really :eek: Kool aid has all sorts of side affects :oops:

I reckon this is a huge game in Hawthorn's history. I've been trying to play it down but can't do it for any longer.

25 years after our only back-to-back flags, to do it again would be phenomenal. But I also feel like it is the only way THIS team will be truly recognised for its relentless brilliance.

If you'll all remember, 2010 was a mess early on and we probably almost lost our coach. Then to drag it back but perform so poorly in that final (1.11 at one stage if I remember right) was such a bloody downer. We'd brought in Gibbo and Burger and were trying to win now but we looked to be paddling a bit after those two really ordinary seasons. I gotta admit I wasn't sure which direction we were headed.

So since then we are on 79 wins, 20 losses from our last 99 matches. For comparison Hawthorn between '86 and '89, our greatest side, were 99gm/81w/18L.

But they have the three flags of course, and that prized Back-to-Back, which has loomed in my subconscious over every Hawthorn side since. Because they are the gold-standard of our club, and history has its own intangible weight.

It seems ridiculous stakes for two hours of footy, but I guess what I am trying to say here is that for me a win on Saturday makes our current side our new gold standard. Not better or worse, but the Hawthorn side all footy fans will then speak of in the future, reminisce about their greatness like they have done for the last 25 years.

How long have us hawk supporters spoken about those sides? Their ruthlessness, toughness, precision, leadership, blood and guts, dependability, longevity and talent.

Thats how I remember our greatest team, have another read of those words. What do you see?

Terrific post.

Two more subplots.

Clarkson

By winning last Saturday Clarkson became the second coach behind Alan Jeans to take us to back-to-back-to-back Grand Finals (Alan Jeans achieved it in 1983-1987). Kennedy led us to back – to – back GF’s in 1975 and 1976 put passed on the reigns to David Parkin who took a talented Hawthorn side to a PF finish in 1977 before backing up with a flag in 1978. If he wins on Saturday he becomes the first HFC coach ever to lead a Hawthorn side to back to back flags. Both significant achievements, last year he became the first HFC coach ever to win back-to-back minor premierships replicating a feet we have only managed once in our history, 1988-89 albeit with different coaches. In the wash up of the 2014 home / away season we probably would have won our 3rd straight minor premiership if we put the gas on Collingwood in the last round.

A win on Saturday will probably elevate Clarkson as our greatest ever coach. Controversial perhaps but given Clarkson has basically masterminded a Kennedy like resurrection of the club, to win 3 flags and qualify for 4 GF's in 10 seasons is amazing.

A 12th flag in a historical context

As it stands HFC share the mantle with Carlton and Melbourne as the most successful VFL/AFL clubs since the HFC admission to the VFL in 1925. A win on Saturday would elevate Hawthorn as the only club that has won 12 flags since 1925 – and the only club to win 4 flags in the AFL era, confirming Hawthorn FC as not only the most successful club since our admission to the VFL 90 years ago but the undisputed #1 club in the AFL era.

Could turn out to be absolute bellwether day for the club…

As tempting as that is..... I will let it go
I know right, I thought of emboldening it myself when I posted it, but thought the chess reference is already stretching it a bit far for a swans supporter as it is. Way too many mixed metaphors and euphemisms for one already, they don't even understand that the basic principle of the cola is wrong.

I stopped recognising swans games and the swans as part of the afl.

As soon as the league Recognise there's 16 teams in the AFL, 1 in the PAYFL and 1 who just sits on the front porch getting high the better off we'll all be.

Who cares what the experts think, everyone thinks the Swans will win and that's pretty fair. They have the best list (Champion Data) and have had the best finals form so far. They deserve favoritism. Favoritism does sweet FA on the day and I am confident our best is good enough to beat them.

When we play our best no-one, including a rampaging cashed up Swans, will get close to us. Ask Freo in round 3, that was our best footy. Problem is we haven't been able to play it much this year due to forces that have effected us..

We played our best for about 2 qtrs against them at the G this year and won. We were missing Lake and had Litherland stand Buddy for at least a qtr. We were also missing Hale (form) and both Langars and Ceglar have come on in leaps and bounds since then. They were missing Hannebury and Shaw, which are pretty significant outs. Something like taking Shiels and Birchall out of our lineup.

All in all the team that takes its chances will win and we have been good at that, even when we have played average footy for large patches of games. If we really turn it on and they really turn it on we should shade them by 1 - 3 goals. If we turn it on and they are a bit off, we will win by 5 comfortably. If they turn it on and we don't for at least 3 qtrs, Swans by about 3 goals. We haven't lost a game this year by over 20 points, and we have played some shockers (North, Port, Syd), yet we always hang in there and give ourselves a real sniff.

I am happy for the media and all and sundry to be all over the Swans, it is a 50 / 50 game and we are easily able to put the Swans to the sword, as other teams have this year, if they are not switched on for 4 qtrs. Teams have not been able to do that against us at all this year. Us by about 20 points is my feeling

Terrific post.

Two more subplots.

Clarkson

By winning last Saturday Clarkson became the second coach behind Alan Jeans to take us to back-to-back-to-back Grand Finals (Alan Jeans achieved it in 1983-1987). Kennedy led us to back – to – back GF’s in 1975 and 1976 put passed on the reigns to David Parkin who took a talented Hawthorn side to a PF finish in 1977 before backing up with a flag in 1978. If he wins on Saturday he becomes the first HFC coach ever to lead a Hawthorn side to back to back flags. Both significant achievements, last year he became the first HFC coach ever to win back-to-back minor premierships replicating a feet we have only managed once in our history, 1988-89 albeit with different coaches. In the wash up of the 2014 home / away season we probably would have won our 3rd straight minor premiership if we put the gas on Collingwood in the last round.

A win on Saturday will probably elevate Clarkson as our greatest ever coach. Controversial perhaps but given Clarkson has basically masterminded a Kennedy like resurrection of the club, to win 3 flags and qualify for 4 GF's in 10 seasons is amazing.

A 12th flag in a historical context

As it stands HFC share the mantle with Carlton and Melbourne as the most successful VFL/AFL clubs since the HFC admission to the VFL in 1925. A win on Saturday would elevate Hawthorn as the only club that has won 12 flags since 1925 – and the only club to win 4 flags in the AFL era, confirming Hawthorn FC as not only the most successful club since our admission to the VFL 90 years ago but the undisputed #1 club in the AFL era.

Could turn out to be absolute bellwether day for the club…
And to do it in an era of 'equalisation', where the truly great clubs are brought back to earth, whilst our opposition on Saturday are gifted the world and more in a desperate attempt to get them a flag, only speaks further volumes about this illustrious club.

I'm 44, and lived through the 'glory years' of 1971 - 1991. To me, this current side will truly step out of those sides' shadows if they win this Saturday. In fact, they're probably there already....

Part of me is confident, but part of me thinks nerves will get the better of the players.

Confidence comes from watching Sydney over the last few weeks and noticing that they copy Geelong in flooding the space 40-50m out from goal, which forces teams to bomb deep over that.
After 4 yrs, we finally figured out how to beat Geelong when they do that, so if we can copy that, we're looking good.

Big games from Poppy, Breust, Shiels, Smith and Lewis where they clog that space leaving the Sydney defenders in two minds as to who to defend and we should get the set shots on goal.

Who cares what the experts think, everyone thinks the Swans will win and that's pretty fair. They have the best list (Champion Data) and have had the best finals form so far. They deserve favoritism. Favoritism does sweet FA on the day and I am confident our best is good enough to beat them.

When we play our best no-one, including a rampaging cashed up Swans, will get close to us. Ask Freo in round 3, that was our best footy. Problem is we haven't been able to play it much this year due to forces that have effected us..

We played our best for about 2 qtrs against them at the G this year and won. We were missing Lake and had Litherland stand Buddy for at least a qtr. We were also missing Hale (form) and both Langars and Ceglar have come on in leaps and bounds since then. They were missing Hannebury and Shaw, which are pretty significant outs. Something like taking Shiels and Birchall out of our lineup.

All in all the team that takes its chances will win and we have been good at that, even when we have played average footy for large patches of games. If we really turn it on and they really turn it on we should shade them by 1 - 3 goals. If we turn it on and they are a bit off, we will win by 5 comfortably. If they turn it on and we don't for at least 3 qtrs, Swans by about 3 goals. We haven't lost a game this year by over 20 points, and we have played some shockers (North, Port, Syd), yet we always hang in there and give ourselves a real sniff.

I am happy for the media and all and sundry to be all over the Swans, it is a 50 / 50 game and we are easily able to put the Swans to the sword, as other teams have this year, if they are not switched on for 4 qtrs. Teams have not been able to do that against us at all this year. Us by about 20 points is my feeling

Champion Data list analysis has reigning AFL premiers Hawthorn ahead of the pack

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...head-of-the-pack/story-fni5f8ge-1226777876749

HAWTHORN is well armed to deal with Lance Franklin's defection to Sydney with exclusive Champion Data analysis revealing the reigning premier still possesses the best list in the AFL.
But the Swans, who claimed Franklin under free agency in October, are considered to be the Hawks' biggest threat as they chase for back-to-back success.

For the second year in a row, Champion Data's AFL Prospectus 2014 has ranked Hawthorn as No.1 in a list assessment of all the clubs with a quality rating of 64.3 per cent, with Sydney close behind on 61.4 per cent.

With respect to form, the Swans shade us (although amazingly 9 of their 13 games against top 8 clubs were home games in Sydney)

Hawthorn - 107/88, 94/104
Port Adelaide - 98/94, 84/58
North Melbourne - 48/92, 136/65
Geelong - 148/38
Fremantle - 92/75, 93/69
Essendon - 114/64, 84/57
Richmond - 62/51, 65/68
10 wins from 13 games

With respect to our form, we have won 7 from 12 games against the top 8 clubs (although of the 12 games we had to travel interstate 3 times, play 2 games at Ethiad and 3 games against MCG neutral opponents)

Sydney - 88/107, 104/94
Port Adelaide - 86/100, 97/94
North Melbourne - 88/108
Geelong - 87/106, 94/71, 104/68
Fremantle - 137/89, 91/110
Essendon - 90/86
Richmond - 118/52

Most importantly we didn't get the unique advantage of playing teams off back - to - back - to back 6 day breaks like the Swans which were contributing factors in their wins against Hawthorn (19 points) and Geelong (110 points) both at home.

Significantly, the Swans victories against top 8 sides away from Sydney include - Essendon by 50 points, Port by 28 points, Richmond by 9 points and were offset by a loss to Hawthorn at the MCG in round 18. The net margin between both Hawthorn v Sydney games was 9 points in the Swans favour which suggests a very tight, evenly matched game.

As for the record at the MCG? We are 12 wins from 13 starts at the ground (average score - 113/75) while the Swans are 2 from 3 at the MCG (average score - 75/65). If we kick 15 goals, there is a far chance we will win. We are 18-0 when we score 100 or more so if its a shoot out (and it won't be if the Swans have anything to say about it, even with their Bondi Billionaires) we'll win.

The amazing thing about Hawthorn and Sydney is that if you strip away the PF results they have been incredibly even in output across the season. In fact up until that game, just 1.5% split the teams across the same win / loss. The MCG could well be a major advantage come Grand Final, the squiggle doesn't recognise home ground advantage but our record at the ground from around 2010 onwards is nothing short of amazing (51-15). If not for inaccurate kicking it really should have been 52-14 but lets not go there! The Swans by comparison are 5-10-1 (although its far more reasonable 5-4 since the 2012 GF)