Preview Hawks vs West Coast - Changes and discussion

Horses for courses for mine.

Smith for Breust (assume not yet awake)
Boumann for Birchall (assume injured)
McCauley for Gunston (match-ups)

Can't see Hodge or Pops being fit enough, although you never know.

FB: Stratton - Boumann - Guerra
HB: Cheney - Schoey - Gibson
Ce: Smith - Shiels - Young
HF: Lewis - Franklin - Whitecross
FF: Rioli - Roughead - Hale

Ru: McCauley
RR: Sewell
Ro: Mitchell

I/C: Burgoyne, Savage, Suckling + Osborne

Assuming Buddy doesn't get suspended and Birchall plays this could be the team changes.

IN: McCauley Hodge Smith
OUT: Breust (Concussion) Cheney Young

B: Guerra Roughead Gibson
HB: Birchall Schoenmakers Stratton
C: Shiels Mitchell Lewis
HF: Whitecross Franklin Burgoyne
F: Gunston Hale Rioli
R: McCauley Hodge Sewell

INT: Savage Smith Suckling Osborne (Sub)

EMG: Bateman Young Cheney

Done! :thumbsu: I gotta ask, who plays on the Big Q? TBH I'm worried about that match up then i am about Kennedy. We should match up like this.

Roughead vs Kennedy
Schoenmakers vs Lynch
Stratton vs Darling
Gibson vs The resting ruckman
Guerra vs Hill

Out
Breust
Young

In
Hodge
McCauley

B: Guerra Schoenmakers Stratton
HB: Birchall Gibson Hodge
C: Savage Mitchell Lewis
HF: Whitecross Franklin Burgoyne
F: Gunston Roughead Rioli
R: McCauley Shiels Sewell

INT: Hale Osborne Cheney Suckling (Sub)

Gibson, Birchall (if he plays) and Stratton have to be huge for this game. Gibson and Birchall need to play off Darling and Lynch as much as possible.

If there is one week where the Hawks defense need to play great as a group its this one. While Darling and Lynch are bigger than Gibson and Birchall/Stratton they dont have the greatest goal threat and there are slow, Darling isnt to bad at FWD pressure but isnt great. And Hams and Josh Hill are nothing Guerra and Cheney need to worry about. Therefore it is essential our defenders zone off and Spread with the ball and clog the space for Kennedy to lead into.

I honestly am more worried about the ruck rather than West Coast tall FWDS.

INS : Hodge, Hill, Smith (Run, Run and more Run)
Out : Young, Breust, not sure the other out maybe Birchall if injured

At the end of the day Darling - Gibson, Lynch - Birchall/Stratton, Kennedy - Schoenmakers and if NicNat or Cox rest FWD Roughead must go back.

Youngy's greatest strength was his kicking yet for some reason (leg injuries perhaps) he cannot pin point a target or kick a goal anymore to save himself. If his kicking is no longer working he has no spot.

Schoey is like a grade prep kid playing kick to kick with the grade sixers at recess. Out of his depth. SOS Gilham and Boumann...

Xavier injured again yesterday with Box Hill. :eek:

Birchall and Breust injured and will not play is my mail.

Young's greatest strength is his long kicking ability. His pin point kicks have always been iffy at best.

Would like to see us put Lewis on Shuey. I think he's become their most damaging midfielder (Priddis is a link man, Kerr isn't the same as he once was) so it will be good to really put the brakes on him and dry up the good delivery into the forward line.

Can't wait for this game. It's probably the most hostile crowd I can ever expect to be a part of. I went to AAMI stadium a few years ago for a match against the Crows and that was pretty hostile but Crows fans are generally old and boring plus its not that hard to get tickets to their games.

Out: Bruest, Birchall and Young
Ins: Smith or Hill, Hodge and Bouman

Youngy time and time again pulls out of contests....he was never tough but he was never this soft either...

Would like to see us put Lewis on Shuey. I think he's become their most damaging midfielder (Priddis is a link man, Kerr isn't the same as he once was) so it will be good to really put the brakes on him and dry up the good delivery into the forward line. .

As good as Lewis has been in the negating roles, I'd prefer Sewell gets them these days. Lewis just offers so much more than Sewell going forward that I don't want him wasted.

It is tailor made for Brad Hill to make his debut this week in front of his friends and family and on a big dry deck.

huge game in perth

against west coast hope kerr will be ruled out i think the hawks will lose by 20

Re: huge game in perth

Your margin is fair especially considering the Hawks will be dealing with:

- a second 6 day break
- trip to perth
- a well rested Eagles team after the 'bye'

Thankfully the full combination of these hurdles will not be repeated come finals time.

against west coast hope kerr will be ruled out i think the hawks will lose by 20

Dear new person,

On Big Footy, it is considered very impolite to go to opposition boards to start threads where you declare they will lose.

As you are very new, I don't think you mean to troll, but kindly refrain from these kinds of posts.

Please consider this a friendly reminder.

Regards.

Friendly Hawthorn Board Moderator

Hopefully we can get all of Smith, Young and Savage all playing this week. Subiaco is a bloody long & wide ground, the more pace we have in our side this week the better. :thumbsu:

Key Match Ups

Schoenmakers vs Kennedy
Roughead vs Lynch
Gibson vs The resting ruckman
Stratton vs Darling
Guerra vs Hams

McCauley vs Cox

Lewis vs Priddis
Mitchell vs S.Selwood
Sewell vs Kerr
Shiels vs Shuey
Smith vs Gaff
Savage vs Masten

Rioli vs A.Selwood
Gunston vs Schofield
Franklin vs Glass
Hale vs MacKenzie
Whitecross vs Hurn

That is that.

no guys i ready told u all last week that im a north fan who has put a large sum of money at centrebet.com on the hawks to win the minor premiership.

so i am seriosuly supporting the hawks ( yes for money ) this season i hope you guys dont mind but ive got a good footy brain and would liek to discuss the hawks with you all this season.

I'm gonna go out on a limb and say by Wednesday there will be an article along the lines of:

"Worsfold/Glass believe not just one player can stop Franklin but a team defence will be required. Multiple opponents to play on Franklin but the real key to stopping the superstar is by shutting down the Hawthorn midfield"

First hurdle out the way- clean MRP report card :thumbsu:

Be suprised if Birch doesn't get up for this week tbh, it didn't look too bad and its very doubtful its his calf...playing games me thinks;) with that call.

Geez it would be nice if Poppy and Hodge were ready but I guess we'll have to wait another week or so.

Hill must play this week and hopefully Smith will be right to go also.

Hill for Breust
Smith for Young

Maybe Bouman in for Cheney?

no guys i ready told u all last week that im a north fan who has put a large sum of money at centrebet.com on the hawks to win the minor premiership.

so i am seriosuly supporting the hawks ( yes for money ) this season i hope you guys dont mind but ive got a good footy brain and would liek to discuss the hawks with you all this season.

No issue with that mate, Tassieboy, who is a scum supporter contributes heaps to our board too. You say your a north supporter yet your listed as 'scum'?

Just be constructive and don't troll and you'll be fine