News Hawthorn in the media 2024

Just like last years thread, whatever Barrett has to say is not Hawthorn in the media.

Couldn’t care less for his shit takes, they don’t belong here.

We are getting plenty of love in the media and from opposition supporters for the way we are playing. We are fun to watch.

No need to throw the toys out of the cot at King and Montagna having some reservations. Thats fair. We’ve been down a long time and despite very strong form we are still 12th. Its not gratuitous trolling like Barrett, there’s at least a bit of analysis there.

If you want to look for a reason Montanga is a bit bitter with our club.... last year when Montagna made the comment about how far off we were and our 10 year rebuild, these were Dermie's comments. Talk about a whack:

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

“It’s really interesting to hear some of the vernacular going on around the place at the moment,” Brereton added.

“I’m pretty confident. You have a look back at every era of Hawthorn… and there’s a down time after their halcyon eras, because there’s been a few of them, and they never fail to come back.

There’s DNA in clubs… I just don’t want to see where we turn on our own.

“If you’re wanting to know when you’re going in the future, you do look at your history. Apart from some rumblings at the merger time and we had a few rumblings last year with a challenge to the board which Andy Gowers got up on, we know where we’ve come from, we know what we stand for, and everybody, once they're in the seat, wants the same thing.

“So don’t pull the place down off the back of two games.”

Earlier this week, former St Kilda star Leigh Montagna spoke proudly and emotionally about his time as a Saint ahead of the club’s 150th year celebrations against Essendon.

But Brereton says that highlights the difference between Hawthorn and St Kilda.

“It’s wonderful to be a St Kilda past player and engulf yourself in their history. But St Kilda, because of that (lack of success), celebrate players,” Brereton explained.

“Hawthorn, as much as we love our players, we celebrate success of premierships, and there’s a big difference in the psyche of where you walk into somewhere, you can feel it.

“The thing about Hawthorn, it’s always been bigger than the players… it is about team success.

“So I just hope people will say let Hawthorn be the way they are"
I think also there is a personal connection Montagna has that has seen his 180 with us over the past 18 months.

Been mentioned a few times so I won't go down the rabbit hole again . But it fits and sense .

I think also there is a personal connection Montagna has that has seen his 180 with us over the past 18 months.

Been mentioned a few times so I won't go down the rabbit hole again . But it fits and sense .
Just goes back to what Derm said about St Kilda celebrating people in lieu of flags.

Robert Harvey, one of their best ever players, and Ross Lyon, the one coach who has got them genuinely close to a flag in 50 years.

For Montagna it’s either believe these are two of the greatest footballing minds in the business, or accept that the club he’s committed his entire adult life to lacks the IP to win a second flag.

All the while he’s got to see Hawthorn fly by St Kilda - again - well on the way to win another flag before the end of this decade, having won 3 in a row less than 10 years ago.

Recorded after the Brisbane win, uploaded last night.

this is such a fascinating watch on so many levels.

near the end, Ginni said quite casually (after Tom praised Ginni's footy IQ "off the charts") that he and Tom would 100% coach after they'd finished playing. Then just moved on, like it was something they'd already discussed before and was going to happen.

To be fair, King spoke a bit more about Meek & was very complimentary

Montagna brushed over us pretty quick & I think even that small amount hurt him.
Yeah I was probably a bit harsh of King as when he is on with Whateley (did it again today) he does mention a positive he has found while saying we have a lot to work on which is absolutely fine.
Montagna you see the hate to mention anything positive every time.

People shouldn't get too caught up with who in the media is being positive and who's being negative at any given point in time.

These guys all like to be the one who is zagging when everyone else is zigging, and it can flip on a dime.

18 months ago, Kane was saying that we had the worst list in the league and that we had no youth whatsever. He declared that Sam was "set up to fail" and we would never find out if he could coach. He's done a hard 180 on that after getting to know Sam on SEN and Footy Classified, but I guarantee at some point in the next few years he'll flip again.

Montagna was blowing so much smoke up our asses ins 2022 there was an entire thread here dedicated to his positivity. His mate Harvey leaves and goes to Saints and bizarrely he completely flips and declares our rebuild in 2023 as "year 1 of a 10 year rebuild".

All these guys make a living by staying relevant, so, as Kane has explained before, it's about coming up with an opinion that no one else has, and then manipulating all the evidence you can to back that up.

The guys who are worth listening to imo are the ones who aren't trying to put their names up in lights every 5 minutes, the Jake Nialls, Rohan Connollys, etc.

I reckon Jimmy Bartel is probably one of the better commenters on the game. He's got some pretty good insights and doesn't care about being sensational or creating headlines.
He is the reason I listen to AW on Sunday.
Is great to listen to on all subjects

I reckon Jimmy Bartel is probably one of the better commenters on the game. He's got some pretty good insights and doesn't care about being sensational or creating headlines.
Bartel was actually all over us even when we were 0-5.

He said he wanted to buy all the Hawk stock he could. He could see what we were going to become.

I've really enjoyed listening to him. His responses are logical and well thought out. The bloke clearly knows how footy clubs work and how teams are striving to achieve.

I've been enjoying the Eddie and Jimmy podcast , they make mention of Hawthorn almost every week because they were very calm and positive about us from round one! Not jumping on the bandwagon like some others. Eddie has even said , if there's one player he'd like at the pies, itd be Will Day and he hadn't even played this season yet!
Jimmy is a ripper imo, not just because he's been on the Hawks but his overall outlook on all things footy. Seems a ripping bloke, especially for a Geelong man. Harbours zero disdain for anyone. Calls it as he sees it.

I've really enjoyed listening to him. His responses are logical and well thought out. The bloke clearly knows how footy clubs work and how teams are striving to achieve.

I've been enjoying the Eddie and Jimmy podcast , they make mention of Hawthorn almost every week because they were very calm and positive about us from round one! Not jumping on the bandwagon like some others. Eddie has even said , if there's one player he'd like at the pies, itd be Will Day and he hadn't even played this season yet!
Jimmy is a ripper imo, not just because he's been on the Hawks but his overall outlook on all things footy. Seems a ripping bloke, especially for a Geelong man. Harbours zero disdain for anyone. Calls it as he sees it.
Yep agreed

Bartel seems to see things with logic and explains them with no fuss or attention seeking. No bias and not just on Hawthorn matters.

It is chalk and cheese between him and Selwood for example. If only more ex players were this good

Yep agreed

Bartel seems to see things with logic and explains them with no fuss or attention seeking. No bias and not just on Hawthorn matters.

It is chalk and cheese between him and Selwood for example. If only more ex players were this good
Jack Reiwoldt is very good also (apart from the Dusty love-fest).

I think the overwhelming consensus here is that it's generally the ones recently involved in footy who make the best analysts / special commentators.

Bucks as a coach, Riewoldt and Jimmy as players. There's a more intimate understanding of how the game is played.

The older pundits and guys like Jono Brown who have been given the job in defiance of good sense and logic are pretty tough to listen to.

Jack is a lovely fella and a good Tasmanian!

I took a couple of my girls down to the fence just before the siren on Sat. They wanted to try and snag a footy...

My 8 yo was on the fence and someone behind us said 'excuse me guys I need to get past'. We didn't realise we were at the gate and there was no way she was giving up her spot so she stayed put so he said it again. It was Reiwoldt trying to get on the ground to interview dusty!

I asked her to move because he was important and needed to get on the ground and a tigers fan shouted 'get out if the way' a bit aggressively. She was a bit shocked and as little girls often do, started wobbling her lip at the heckle. Jack said 'it's OK sweety i just need to get on the field' and patted her on the head and opened the gate.

None of the hawks came near us so no footy but she got a high five from Weddle which perked her right up.

Sent from my SM-G990E using Tapatalk