News Hawthorn in the media 2024

Just like last years thread, whatever Barrett has to say is not Hawthorn in the media.

Couldn’t care less for his shit takes, they don’t belong here.

Browny on Couch just casually suggesting the Hawks are a top 4 chance given the draw (but percentage could hurt) 😳 🤔

Bucks had some interesting comments about the Hawks’ development too
I don't even think it's mathematically possible for us to make top 4 at this point, or at least incredibly improbable and would rely on half of the remaining games finishing in draws.

I assume his point was that if our percentage was 15-20% higher, we’d be two straight games off second right now with a softer on-paper draw than most others.

Browny on Couch just casually suggesting the Hawks are a top 4 chance given the draw (but percentage could hurt) 😳 🤔

Bucks had some interesting comments about the Hawks’ development too
We are playing well and I'm all for a bit of a pump up , but that literally came from nowhere . .........Bucks had a look of 'ok we didn't discuss that in the pre show meeting ' look at the observation from Browny

One run through on a very optimistic ladder predictor allows us to drop one game ( Carlton ), and finish 4th.

Other results need to support us too.

Jack is a lovely fella and a good Tasmanian!

I took a couple of my girls down to the fence just before the siren on Sat. They wanted to try and snag a footy...

My 8 yo was on the fence and someone behind us said 'excuse me guys I need to get past'. We didn't realise we were at the gate and there was no way she was giving up her spot so she stayed put so he said it again. It was Reiwoldt trying to get on the ground to interview dusty!

I asked her to move because he was important and needed to get on the ground and a tigers fan shouted 'get out if the way' a bit aggressively. She was a bit shocked and as little girls often do, started wobbling her lip at the heckle. Jack said 'it's OK sweety i just need to get on the field' and patted her on the head and opened the gate.

None of the hawks came near us so no footy but she got a high five from Weddle which perked her right up.

Sent from my SM-G990E using Tapatalk
Imagine the uproar if that was Sicily to a Richmond kid? (How many weeks did Cantona get again?)

I can just see Caro's headlines now...

I did a biased ladder predictor & we can make 4th
So I’m sticking with us finishing top 4 😉

Imagine the uproar if that was Sicily to a Richmond kid? (How many weeks did Cantona get again?)

I can just see Caro's headlines now...

Huh? Cantona didn’t affectionately pat a child on the head he fly kicked someone in the crowd. Bizarre comparison.

People shouldn't get too caught up with who in the media is being positive and who's being negative at any given point in time.

These guys all like to be the one who is zagging when everyone else is zigging, and it can flip on a dime.

18 months ago, Kane was saying that we had the worst list in the league and that we had no youth whatsever. He declared that Sam was "set up to fail" and we would never find out if he could coach. He's done a hard 180 on that after getting to know Sam on SEN and Footy Classified, but I guarantee at some point in the next few years he'll flip again.

Montagna was blowing so much smoke up our asses ins 2022 there was an entire thread here dedicated to his positivity. His mate Harvey leaves and goes to Saints and bizarrely he completely flips and declares our rebuild in 2023 as "year 1 of a 10 year rebuild".

All these guys make a living by staying relevant, so, as Kane has explained before, it's about coming up with an opinion that no one else has, and then manipulating all the evidence you can to back that up.

The guys who are worth listening to imo are the ones who aren't trying to put their names up in lights every 5 minutes, the Jake Nialls, Rohan Connollys, etc.
Either the mid week or Sunday rub was getting into Joey about his 10 year comment a few weeks back. He tried to back track and say we are in year 3-4 now of the 10 years 😂

Montagna can gagf. İn ten years there won't be not only the coaching staff but also 95% of our current list! We're NOT the saints or like most other clubs, if you don't perform in a 4-5 year period , to expectations, then whether if you're a player or coach, you will NOT survive! So basically, he's saying that he doesn't rate our recruiting strategy, and also Sam as a coach in a backhanded way. I'm not as robust against kingy though, he has his numbers and set ups that he goes by, so if he thinks we're still a work in progress, then I agree.

Croc kicks that goal vs Pies and we don't fluff the Port game, then we're already Top 4
It was the loss we had to have, I think.

Put steel in our veins for the next month of footy.

EDITED: You do spelling bad.

Last edited by a moderator:
I want to see who cracks first out of King and Dermie …… in saying that these wins aren’t good pushing our pick further back as our list is still one or two short of top talent. I reckon we have more than enough!
Derm did joke about our wins costing us a high pick last week on SEN.

It was the loss we had to have, I think.

Put steel in our veins for the next month of footy.

EDITED: You do spelling bad.
Reminds me of West Coast vs Geelong in 2006 when Geelong coughed up a 54 point lead. Geelong were sitting 4th last with a 3-6 record up against he ladder leaders.

Geelong won 7 of the next 11 games to finish 9th with a 10-11-1 record.

And then 2007 happened.

I'd actually conditioned myself into taking annual interest in the U18 Championships, and Coates League games.

Now I'm not sure what to do..

Same - keep watching Ned Maginness at Sandringham Dragons, Cody Anderson at Eastern Ranges and Koby Williams western Jet.

I am also waiting to see if Wilbur Harford appears in the under 18’s. I think Daniel played for the knights from memory but I could be wrong.

There was plenty of time for the Pies to respond so no idea how the game would have turned out

Pies led essentially the entire game and they had 4 more shots on goal (if we remove the rushed behinds on both sides).

WHE kicked a point four minutes after MacDonald missed the shot, and the game went on for another few minutes after that. They had plenty of time to respond. And if we claim the MacDonald miss could they not just claim the WHE miss?

Reminds me of West Coast vs Geelong in 2006 when Geelong coughed up a 54 point lead. Geelong were sitting 4th last with a 3-6 record up against he ladder leaders.

Geelong won 7 of the next 11 games to finish 9th with a 10-11-1 record.

And then 2007 happened.
God I hope this doesn't happy to North Melbourne...