Scandal Hawthorn player questioned over sexual offence allegation

sad but true - but think there are heaps of decent posters too. lets rewind 20-30 years. would likely be worse... still ... some work to do

Indeed, and it wasn't just your average footy fan either - police and courts often dealt with these sort of allegations in an abhorrent manner.

There will always be those who lag behind, but society and the law have thankfully come a long way in a few decades.

sad but true - but think there are heaps of decent posters too. lets rewind 20-30 years. would likely be worse... still ... some work to do

Go check out the NRL forums discussing Andrew Johns' sexually propositioning a woman at Toowoomba Airport. Admittedly a lesser (alleged) incident, but there were plenty of "Johns is a legend...the ugly **** should have been grateful someone like him wanted to f*** her!!" sentiments.

AFL has its fair share of bogan boofhead sexists....but we're a hell of a lot more enlightened than some.

I remember Majak was named as soon as he was questioned.....days later was charged.

Why haven't they named this guy? Comes across as double standards to me.

Majak was an historical incident (he was pre-AFL himself) which was the subject of a complaint raised several years after the fact. Police would have undertaken an extensive investigation to determine the strength of the allegation before giving Majak an opportunity for interview. It probably would have been the last part of the brief preparation before it was referred for sign-off in charges or decision not to prosecute.

Here the investigation is in its infancy. Obviously a very recent complaint has been made and several people will be interviewed (possibly others who weren't present when the alleged assault took place). Once those people have had their statements taken, and the alleged assailant interviewed, then the brief is finalised before a decision is made. I expect the taped interview may well occur before some other statements are finalised and added to the brief. In fairness to the accused he should be able to give his version (if he wishes) with the benefit of as fresh a mind as possible.

Sensitivity to the victim may also be in play here. For the Majak situation, the incident was several years prior to the complaint. The alleged victim may be more
comfortable with it being publicised as she may have dealt with it psychologically already.

Here it is very much in the moment, and thus everyone should tread carefully.

NB: I'm a criminal barrister so unfortunately I know a bit about this stuff

I don't like that the news services promote the story with phrases like "premiership players", "AFL stars" etc... If a non footballer is accused of a crime that's reported on the news, the news service doesn't lead with that persons job... They don't say "part time shop assistant accused of .... " or "self employed electrician investigated over..."
It's a cheap, obscene grab for ratings. It's a disgrace!
Also, if any player is found guilty of such thing, the attacks and comments on their club's culture, etc, is ridiculous. People who commit such crimes are animals, lowlifes, it has nothing to do with what team they play footy for.
Lastly, anyone guilty of this should rot in hell. And Anyone FALSELY accused of such things is already in hell. So we need to be very careful with such delicate issues.

I don't like that the news services promote the story with phrases like "premiership players", "AFL stars" etc... If a non footballer is accused of a crime that's reported on the news, the news service doesn't lead with that persons job... They don't say "part time shop assistant accused of .... " or "self employed electrician investigated over..."
It's a cheap, obscene grab for ratings. It's a disgrace!

No, for non-famous people they usually define them by their race, sexuality or another aspect that breaches the journalist code of ethics.

Welcome to BigFooty.

Where facts don't matter and you're guilty until proven innocent. And even then, you're still guilty.
EssendonFC likes this.

I don't really get the idea of the hawks stating "it wasn't a premiership player". Seems stupid, and narrows the list substantially and almost casts the guy out.
Becuae of the false claim by media that it was a premiership player, one name in particular was beginning to heavily circuit. It puts to rest those rumors.

I don't really get the idea of the hawks stating "it wasn't a premiership player". Seems stupid, and narrows the list substantially and almost casts the guy out.
It's a tough situation for a club. This thread alone had a lot of disgraceful posts falsely naming players, one in particular. Maybe one of those players was distressed. The false name rumours have significantly reduced with the information that it was not a high profile player.

Because they're not entirely men - I then gave some (rare) examples of ones I've come across. Can you read?
Ive experienced both sexual and physical abuse from female partners. You think i would dare report either of those? Thats whats wrong with using your personal experience with REPORTED abuse as a proxy for all abuse.

Becuae of the false claim by media that it was a premiership player, one name in particular was beginning to heavily circuit. It puts to rest those rumors.

It's a tough situation for a club. This thread alone had a lot of disgraceful posts falsely naming players, one in particular. Maybe one of those players was distressed. The false name rumours have significantly reduced with the information that it was not a high profile player.

True. I'd be careful if I was the hawks though. There's been a bit of info revealed here and as well by the media that possibly narrows it down.

Supression says hi

On what basis? Merely being high-profile is not a justification for such an order.

The name will come out one way or another if it is prosecuted. A typical day in the Magistrates' Court sex offence list involves 50+ people in the courtroom. At least one of them will leak the name.

Perhaps they're gathering evidence? Perhaps they're still investigating?

Oh wait, MacMum said he should be charged so let's speed this up! QUICK!

#flog

Who is the flog....and idiot??:rolleyes:

Read my post again. At no time did I say or imply your guy should be charged!

I was merely pointing out the difference between the two cases as reported by the media.

The poster Scribe explained the difference for me above. Sensibly

You need to THINK about what is written before automatically assuming someone is having a shot at you or yours.

Chip on shoulder much??:rolleyes:

Ive experienced both sexual and physical abuse from female partners. You think i would dare report either of those? Thats whats wrong with using your personal experience with REPORTED abuse as a proxy for all abuse.
Yep. Fair enough. Reported abuse is not an exact indication of actual abuse. And stereo-typing who is a victim or perpetrator can lead to people not reporting abuse. I still stand by what I've said in terms of men by far being in the majority as perpetrators. This is a statement that can be made relatively reliably on stats