Hawthorn renamed - The Tassie Hawks

Lidge said:
The Taswegian Whoreks

Good coin and a nice earner.

Now that North & Hawthorn have their interstate markets sewn up and keeping in the AFL expansion good books, pressure on the Dogs, Demons & Blue Baggers to scratch out an existence

What ya talking about

8 vic teams, 8 interstate teams - looking more balanced already.

It all makes sense now.

Richmond and the Kangaroos must have been in on the deal - nothing else explains why they laid down in their Tassie matches this season :cool:

BUBBALOUIS said:
i would say 9 vic teams, 6 interstate and one owned by the AFL , THE BULLDOGS

ahh yeahh.......but aren't we all.

sorry mate - that last post was a cheap shot. the hawks belong in hawthorn. we had the same thing happen when smorgan came in - renamed us without the support of the members. it's only a phase for the hawks i'd say - i thought jeff loved the history of the club.

BUBBALOUIS said:
wow, how some are easily fooled ....

Our constitution states the directors need a vote of 75% of the membership to relocate, relocation is defined as more than half our games interstate .... Tassie can not afford a relocated side, i even read where they believe any more than four games would saturate the market ...

This is a sponsorship deal for five years, we have set up substantial training facilities at Waverly, get ready for an announcement whereby we will have a membership package with access to 11 reserved seat games at the MCG

It is understandable to read from Kangas and Bulldog supporters crowing about our supposed demise, there clubs are being financed by the AFL, but when fellow Hawk supporters go along with the crap that is written

disapointing

LOL

To right.

Let's get something into perspective here, for starters it's a NAMING RIGHTS DEAL....Collingwood are the 'VICTORIAN MAGPIES' St.Kilda the 'Bills Express Saints' etc.

Secondly, Tasmania couldn't afford us,

As of last season our turnover and revenue streams were the 3rd highest out of the Victorian clubs;

1. Collingwood
2. Essendon
3. Hawthorn
4. Geelong
5. Richmond

These were the top 5 Victorian clubs in terms of turnover in the 2005 season.

Thirdly, for a relocation or an official change of name to occur - i.e. NOT HSBC Hawthorn Hawks, but HSBC Hawks, we would need 75% of the membership base to agree with the boards decision.

As it stands we have 28,000 members - which is decent considering we only had 6 home games last season, if a relocation or merger was up for proposal you could pretty much add another 10,000 fans to that membership figure wanting a vote - I'm the only member in a family of 20-30 Hawthorn supporters, like in 1996 they would sign up in a flash to get a vote on the club's existence.

For a relocation or name change to occur the board would require 22-30,000 members to agree with them. Going on 1996, you would be lucky to get 3,000

Fourthly,

We are on the verge of purchasing Waverley Park - as it stands we are the 5th most assest rich club in the league, once the deal goes through sometime in the next 5 years...we will be close to the RICHEST Asset wise club in the league

Fifthly,

The AFL needs a club based out in the SE suburbs of Melbourne, since the demise of Waverley the huge population base has been starved of football. It is within the best interests of the AFL to have a team based out in the region to protect the codes heartland from the 'round ball revolution' Hawthorn having built up a strong base over the years and owning it's facility is in the best hands to fill that void

Sixthly

The club has stated numerously that they want to continue to build their main base in Melbourne AS well as a secondary base in Tasmania;

“In addition to that, we have a very supportive following within the Tasmanian community which, along with the eastern region of Victoria, we intend to grow into a thriving membership base.”

And finally,

As long as clubs with much much smaller support/membership bases exist in the Victorian market - Bulldogs, Kangaroos and Demons - I am sure that Hawthorn can back them being one of the strong sides that survive.

But hey, let's not let the facts get in the way of a good rant...eh?

The Hawks new emblem.

vagina.jpg

rodogs said:
ahh yeahh.......but aren't we all.

sorry mate - that last post was a cheap shot. the hawks belong in hawthorn. we had the same thing happen when smorgan came in - renamed us without the support of the members. it's only a phase for the hawks i'd say - i thought jeff loved the history of the club.

Its ok rodogs, dont mind me, im just having a **** of a day, i understand the majority are just having a friendly dig, its just such a sensitive subject , that all Vic teams should be sympathetic too. As for Jeff Kennett, what can i say, he will make the Hawks a profit, but at what price!

Some of you guys are deadset thick.

It is a sponsorship deal - that is all.

We are still Hawthorn, still based in Melbourne.

We were the HSBC Hawks, much like the Lexus Magpies or the Camry Adelaide Crows. In that sense we are now the Tassie Hawks.

That's all..move on ladies.

Hawkk said:
LOL

To right.

Let's get something into perspective here, for starters it's a NAMING RIGHTS DEAL....Collingwood are the 'VICTORIAN MAGPIES' St.Kilda the 'Bills Express Saints' etc.

Secondly, Tasmania couldn't afford us,

As of last season our turnover and revenue streams were the 3rd highest out of the Victorian clubs;

1. Collingwood
2. Essendon
3. Hawthorn
4. Geelong
5. Richmond

These were the top 5 Victorian clubs in terms of turnover in the 2005 season.

Thirdly, for a relocation or an official change of name to occur - i.e. NOT HSBC Hawthorn Hawks, but HSBC Hawks, we would need 75% of the membership base to agree with the boards decision.

As it stands we have 28,000 members - which is decent considering we only had 6 home games last season, if a relocation or merger was up for proposal you could pretty much add another 10,000 fans to that membership figure wanting a vote - I'm the only member in a family of 20-30 Hawthorn supporters, like in 1996 they would sign up in a flash to get a vote on the club's existence.

For a relocation or name change to occur the board would require 22-30,000 members to agree with them. Going on 1996, you would be lucky to get 3,000

Fourthly,

We are on the verge of purchasing Waverley Park - as it stands we are the 5th most assest rich club in the league, once the deal goes through sometime in the next 5 years...we will be close to the RICHEST Asset wise club in the league

Fifthly,

The AFL needs a club based out in the SE suburbs of Melbourne, since the demise of Waverley the huge population base has been starved of football. It is within the best interests of the AFL to have a team based out in the region to protect the codes heartland from the 'round ball revolution' Hawthorn having built up a strong base over the years and owning it's facility is in the best hands to fill that void

Sixthly

The club has stated numerously that they want to continue to build their main base in Melbourne AS well as a secondary base in Tasmania;

And finally,

As long as clubs with much much smaller support/membership bases exist in the Victorian market - Bulldogs, Kangaroos and Demons - I am sure that Hawthorn can back them being one of the strong sides that survive.

But hey, let's not let the facts get in the way of a good rant...eh?

Obviously you have convinced yourself, but me thinks your struggling to convince everyone else.

I think it is a great deal;
-Millions of dollars
-Thousands of Tasmanian members
-Secured future

The name change thing is a little strange...kind of like Adelaide being known as the Camry Crows.

Might depend how the media decide to take it. ABC will keep calling them hawthorn.......but what will they be called on friday night footy? can make alot of diff as to how much it gets into the psyche.

rodogs said:
Might depend how the media decide to take it. ABC will keep calling them hawthorn.......but what will they be called on friday night footy? can make alot of diff as to how much it gets into the psyche.

We will be Hawthorn, just as we are now Hawthorn even though we are the HSBC Hawks. Got it yet?

MAG87 said:
ive been saying it for months now. a relocation is now inevitable. i cant believe it. hawthorn fans are gonna be sick in the stomach.
I'll come and visit your club when you are relocated to the western suburbs of sydney; which given your financial begging status with the afl is more possible than a HFC move to tassie.

rodogs said:
Do they call us the HSBC Hawks now?:rolleyes:

local said:
Obviously you have convinced yourself, but me thinks your struggling to convince everyone else.
No, that's all facts.

In fact our membership this season was 6,000 below our record, if our future was ever in question I am 100% adament that our record number of members and then some would answer the call.

In the consituation a merger/relocation/name change require 75% of the membership to vote in favour of it...that will never happen nor will any organisation ever be able to purchase that many tickets.

DynamoUltra said:
We will be Hawthorn, just as we are now Hawthorn even though we are the HSBC Hawks. Got it yet?

Wrong. Similar situation to the Western Bulldogs.

It's not like the "Camry Crows" that's a sponsor this is a state.

Your club will still officially be called Hawthorn but you'll be refered to as the Tassie Hawks like Footscray are now the W.Bulldogs

Keithy George said:
Wrong. Similar situation to the Western Bulldogs.

It's not like the "Camry Crows" that's a sponsor this is a state.

Your club will still officially be called Hawthorn but you'll be refered to as the Tassie Hawks like Footscray are now the W.Bulldogs
It's true - melbourne supporters are congenitally stupid...

Sharkey said:
I'll come and visit your club when you are relocated to the western suburbs of sydney; which given your financial begging status with the afl is more possible than a HFC move to tassie.

chill mate. and what are you saying. wce are gonna be relocated to west sydney LMAO. i wouldnt want hawthorn or any team in that matter to be relocated it makes any fan angry. but for you suggesting wce would move to sydney is preposterous. your club is more likely to go than wce which is arguably the richest club behind adelaide and still used to reap in crowds when they were on the bottom of the ladder.