Hawthorn renamed - The Tassie Hawks

I don't believe the hoo-ha about this. Tassie Hawks or Camry Crows or whatever ... it's not where they come from it's who sponsors them. Hawk fans should be delirious because this is a mega deal - it's going to pour millions of dollars into the Hawthorn Footy Club and thereby ensuring their secure Victorian presence for years to come - and probably put them on a par with the 'richest' clubs.

I only wish this kinda deal had been done with the Roys, we'd still be around and laughing all the way to the bank.

Sundog said:
I don't believe the hoo-ha about this. Tassie Hawks or Camry Crows or whatever ... it's not where they come from it's who sponsors them. Hawk fans should be delirious because this is a mega deal - it's going to pour millions of dollars into the Hawthorn Footy Club and thereby ensuring their secure Victorian presence for years to come - and probably put them on a par with the 'richest' clubs.

I only wish this kinda deal had been done with the Roys, we'd still be around and laughing all the way to the bank.
That's the part of the deal I'd prefer to focus on and the club should be applauded for gaining such a deal and securing our future rather than petty attempts to pretend to state that we have relocated because it wouldn't happen.

Put it this way, If Tasmania were thinking of getting a team in the next 10 years..who is most likly to move there? the Lease Plan Bulldogs..or the Tasmanian Hawks?

This could be seen as win for the bulldogs, Thats one state down. All the dogs have to do now is make sure North make a real go of south QLD and thats another one down. Which leaves us with Sydney....If only we could convince the AFL that Sydney don't give a %$# about football. (and do mexican waves at games) :( its over...all Hail the aFL dictators.

Richmond, Melbourne, Roos and Dog supporters are jeleous because they rely on AFL support to survive. This is a five year deal, the same as any other major sponsor deal that's going to set our club up to be one of the wealthiest in the AFL.:) :)

WE will always be HAWTHORN!

cschreuder61 said:
In Victoria, but its still not your home side, its plays its game an hour or so out of Geelong. Its about a 50 minute plane flight to Launie and heaps of supporters come over. Its not difficult to watch the game.

We play 3 home games at TD instead of Kardinia Park for the benefit of Melbourne based members like myself.
This will most likely be 3 at the MCG next year.

3 home games at the G vs 4 home games interstate.
I know which I prefer.

I guess its like selling 4 nights every year with your wife to the tassie premier for 15M....

yeah, laugh all the way to the bank .....

anyone ever see indecent proposal?

LongBomb said:
We play 3 home games at TD instead of Kardinia Park for the benefit of Melbourne based members like myself.
This will most likely be 3 at the MCG next year.

3 home games at the G vs 4 home games interstate.
I know which I prefer.
Do you receieve $millions for playing these games?

How can you compare it then.

Stop nitpicking and look at my total argument.

1. See us about the same as interestage sides
2. More games at G, which should increase melbourne members if anything
3. Money for playing in Tassie
4. Increase in Tasmania members.

Plus I'm Tasmanian so I'm even happier with the deal ;)

not only does it make things financially rosy but it also ties them with an expanding market during a tenuous period for Melbourne clubs

how? well, if there are any club merger talks in next few years, the Hawks will be one club who wont come under consideration as they are 'part of the solution' rather than 'part of the problem'

it's on the horizon so its better for a club to be on the front foot

clever stuff by the Hawks...

An added bonus for the club that comes from all of this is that crowds are counted by heads....thats double pay for any game in tassie! Show Me The Money

Do you receieve $millions for playing these games?

If you are happy with that deal, then fine. And as you pointed out you are a Tasmanian so you have somewhat of a vested interest.

My point is that I like watching my club play at Victorian grounds - not having to drive to Tullamarine and catch a plane interstate.

My club plays 17 games in Victoria and turns very good coin.
Easily comparable to the 'millions' you speak of and we don't have to wear a 'Map of Tassie' on our jumper.

I know some of you 'Tassie Hawks' people have to throw cold water on this to save face, but seriously, you can't be happy with it can you?

It might just be a 'Camry Crows' type of thing but the whole location aspect of the name is certainly a strange move by the club, if not just for the confusion it causes.

Hawthorn-2007.gif

While I have calmed down a little from when I first heard it I'm still angry about it.

LongBomb said:
If you are happy with that deal, then fine. And as you pointed out you are a Tasmanian so you have somewhat of a vested interest.

My point is that I like watching my club play at Victorian grounds - not having to drive to Tullamarine and catch a plane interstate.

My club plays 17 games in Victoria and turns very good coin.
Easily comparable to the 'millions' you speak of and we don't have to wear a 'Map of Tassie' on our jumper.
As you do because you live Melbourne.

We can see the club play in Vic as much as West Coast can in Perth and Adelaide in South Australia etc.

Black JuJu said:
I know some of you 'Tassie Hawks' people have to throw cold water on this to save face, but seriously, you can't be happy with it can you?

It might just be a 'Camry Crows' type of thing but the whole location aspect of the name is certainly a strange move by the club, if not just for the confusion it causes.
Depends how much it is refered to. I've never heard HSBC used by anyone, and I don't intend to call the club by the new sponsor's name.

Just want to clarify Richmond have never received even 1cent from the assistance fund- not 1 cent. We pay our own way at Punt Rd unlike some other clubs who sell there souls and their supporters up the river.

Mero said:

I've just head the news - is this jumper for real? The brown and yellow are already ugly - but this jumper is awful.

I'm a bit confused - Will Hawthorn be known in the official AFL fixture/ladder etc as "Hawthorn" or "Tassie Hawks"? If it is still Hawthorn, then what's the big deal? It would be dreadful to win a flag and have "Tassie Hawks" engraved on the cup.

I didn't really like us having "Kangaroos" engraved on the 1999 cup, would have preferred "NM". I guess it's a nice dilemma to have.

cschreuder61 said:
Depends how much it is refered to. I've never heard HSBC used by anyone, and I don't intend to call the club by the new sponsor's name.

Of course you don't, but if the media jump on it and the presence of the Tasmania logo on the jumper it could become something that is brought up more often than other such sponser names. Say an advert is done to promote Tasmania and references the 'Tassie Hawks' with a big picture of Luke Hodge with a Tassie logo on his Hawks jumper, to a casual follower of the game, that would cause a lot of confusion. Remember it's the casual supporters of the AFL that make the difference between clubs getting by and clubs making real money.