Stan The Caddy
- Jan 26, 2013
- AFL Club
- Geelong
Good on ya Bob!
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Good on ya Bob!
While that's true, don't forget that some ten other sides passed up on the chance to have him after we picked Billy.He's a great mark for his size, a pretty good kick for goal, very mobile, competes on the ground, tackles well and can also go through the midfield.
IMO he's exactly what we needed to complement Hawkins and Menzel and as far as I'm aware we could have had him instead of Smedts but oh well.
Apparently Bews is playing well and I'm sure the club who picks him up next season will appreciate his attributes.The backline is suffering from Taylor's absence and Thurlow, Tuohy, Stewart and Ruggles all being suspect defensively.
He's a great mark for his size, a pretty good kick for goal, very mobile, competes on the ground, tackles well and can also go through the midfield.
IMO he's exactly what we needed to complement Hawkins and Menzel and as far as I'm aware we could have had him instead of Smedts but oh well.
I seriously hope not. We've put a lot of development into Bews and he's really ready for games now.Apparently Bews is playing well and I'm sure the club who picks him up next season will appreciate his attributes.
I also liked the look of Adam Tomlinson from GWS, who's a bit taller than Darling and plays in a similar fashion at both ends of the ground, though I think GWS have cemented him into their defence.While that's true, don't forget that some ten other sides passed up on the chance to have him after we picked Billy.
I reckon we need someone a bit more competitive in the air and athletic than Darling - if I was to pick one footballer to complement Hawkins in the AFL, I'd actually pick Ben Brown.
We should, but we're not because.... honestly I have no f****** idea why.I seriously hope not. We've put a lot of development into Bews and he's really ready for games now.
We need to be playing him now.
I hope it wasn't for a character flaw because if it was, surely our high quality leadership and culture at the club would've straightened out any issues.From an article in 2012:
Some suggest the Eagles played a game of subterfuge, ensuring Darling's alleged character flaws were enhanced, to discourage other teams from drafting him.
But the young man arrived at the draft camp with a doctor's certificate and police reports giving him the all-clear after the Subiaco king-hit, hardly the stuff of subterfuge.
Bottom line is some clubs decided he was a character risk in an AFL climate far less accepting of off-field indiscretions. And others made serious mistakes in ranking others above him.
- maybe we were concerned about his character. (Sorry not sure how to add quotes when using my iPhone)
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...d0e8e7c33?sv=b3f3df2bd1f4240cf4af6cc5ee190970
Because he doesn't win enough of the footy to hurt in the other direction, so when Mackie's beaten the best small forward in the opposition three weeks running, there's no easy spot for him.We should, but we're not because.... honestly I have no f****** idea why.
He's better than Ruggles defensively and he's quicker - there's his spot.Because he doesn't win enough of the footy to hurt in the other direction, so when Mackie's beaten the best small forward in the opposition three weeks running, there's no easy spot for him.
Yeah but he started it.
But ruggles gets more of the ball. I like Bews and love his toughness and I think if Ruggles has a bad game on Monday then Bews is in. But Bews need to get more of the ball.He's better than Ruggles defensively and he's quicker - there's his spot.
Yep fair call, but I would rather my Small defender keep a guy like Eddie Betts to a minimal impact, like he did twice last year and then worry about getting more of the pill.But ruggles gets more of the ball. I like Bews and love his toughness and I think if Ruggles has a bad game on Monday then Bews is in. But Bews need to get more of the ball.
I reckon he can if given a chance.As well as break some lines and tackles.Because he doesn't win enough of the footy to hurt in the other direction, so when Mackie's beaten the best small forward in the opposition three weeks running, there's no easy spot for him.
If he doesn't play soon he will want out no doubt.... I wouldn't be surprised if he was tied up in the ablett trade, as he will get a game at the gold coast week in week out.I seriously hope not. We've put a lot of development into Bews and he's really ready for games now.
We need to be playing him now.
I reckon there's a lot of absence making the heart grow fonder on this board. We fall in love with players here as long as we don't have to watch them every week.If he doesn't play soon he will want out no doubt.... I wouldn't be surprised if he was tied up in the ablett trade, as he will get a game at the gold coast week in week out.
And then there's some that we HAVE to watch every weekI reckon there's a lot of absence making the heart grow fonder on this board. We fall in love with players here as long as we don't have to watch them every week.
Yeah for sure it happens.I reckon there's a lot of absence making the heart grow fonder on this board. We fall in love with players here as long as we don't have to watch them every week.
Mate I'm still waiting for Daniel Foster to nail down CHB.Yeah for sure it happens.
I'm really guilty of seeing just certain passages of play (even in the VFL) and thinking players will be guns.
Can't change my mind either. Saw Dev Smith play against Melbourne last year and I'm convinced he'll be an out and out star.
Hell I've only seen a few minutes of Son of Sean at training and I'm almost certain he'll be a gun.
I'm also still waiting for Mitch Brown to take the competition by the throat.
One of the late JJs favs. Memories!
Holy Crap!!!Mate I'm still waiting for Daniel Foster to nail down CHB.
Who was the bloke from SA who was destined to become a star? Roberts?Mate I'm still waiting for Daniel Foster to nail down CHB.
EnrightWho was the bloke from SA who was destined to become a star? Roberts?