Game Day Hawthorn VS Sydney : 7:40pm @ the MCG

Much more dangerous than Goodes on Saturday night that Derm is sooking about.
Our club in the darker times employed Dermie to entertain and make news for the Sydney crowd back in the day and he did his best to make a show as his best football was well behind him, don't blame him he did his best to help the cause.

Laughable when you stop and think about it.:p
Not really. The Hawks were gifted large tracks of every other clubs' recruiting zones and the zones weren't rotated every year as they were supposed to be to avoid the situation that occurred where a few teams had access to the richest recruiting grounds in the league and others got the Sunraysia Football League.

Exactly!! o_O

Dermie has played in the same amount of premierships in his 13 year career as the Swans have in their 139 year history.... Poor buggers.

Yet your club basically said up yours and get out in his 20s

Probably time to stop counting old regional flags, maybe its best to say Sydney 2 Hawthorn 1 premiership

Our club in the darker times employed Dermie to entertain and make news for the Sydney crowd back in the day and he did his best to make a show as his best football was well behind him, don't blame him he did his best to help the cause.

He did that in a practice match... he didn't really do much for a struggling Sydney. 14 games suspended for the season for his big pay packet.

Yeah what a pick up he was stood on tallis' head helped beat melbourne and karate chopped tony free, did he even play a home game for sydney in his 7

His commentary on the grand final dvd is sooky

Hey guys, hope you don't mind me intruding. We were definitely more switched on for this game than you were, and maybe better prepared after some recent games against good sides. Your guys looked pretty poor at times, but that's happened to everyone. Richmond beat both of us last year, and look what happened after that. In all likelihood it's just a bit of short-term poor form.

But I was wondering if anyone seriously thought it was more than that, because reading some comments here reminded me of our 2009 season. We had a rash of injuries that exposed poor depth, and Clarko later admitted that they'd masked deeper problems with the game plan being unravelled and surpassed. The coaching staff just assumed that once we got blokes back we'd start winning again - it took until we were 1-6 in 2010 for them to really grasp what had happened.

I don't know your list well enough to comment on your depth. And I haven't seen most of your games this year, but I'd reckon modern coaches know how quickly game plans have to be tweaked, so hopefully you won't fall into that hole (and I mean that, would love another cracking contest in September). Good luck over the next four weeks - we might have some answers after that.

Hard to say if it's one, the other or both, but I'd probably say both. I've noticed opposition coaches are a lot more hesitant to push too many players too far up the ground against us now.

I'm sure Longmire isn't going to sit around waiting for the rest of the competition to figure us out though. We'll probably find out more about our gameplan when Tippett comes into the side.

Hey guys, hope you don't mind me intruding. We were definitely more switched on for this game than you were, and maybe better prepared after some recent games against good sides. Your guys looked pretty poor at times, but that's happened to everyone. Richmond beat both of us last year, and look what happened after that. In all likelihood it's just a bit of short-term poor form.

But I was wondering if anyone seriously thought it was more than that, because reading some comments here reminded me of our 2009 season. We had a rash of injuries that exposed poor depth, and Clarko later admitted that they'd masked deeper problems with the game plan being unravelled and surpassed. The coaching staff just assumed that once we got blokes back we'd start winning again - it took until we were 1-6 in 2010 for them to really grasp what had happened.

I don't know your list well enough to comment on your depth. And I haven't seen most of your games this year, but I'd reckon modern coaches know how quickly game plans have to be tweaked, so hopefully you won't fall into that hole (and I mean that, would love another cracking contest in September). Good luck over the next four weeks - we might have some answers after that.
Most here are talking constantly about the fact we have key players out injured, and that therefore the form is not a cause for concern. They are wrong, and you are correct to bring this point up. Every team in the competition has key players injured, all the time. I agree with you that it is really hard to judge us properly at the moment, as we've lost to the 2 best sides and the only teams we've beaten are outside the top 8, including GWS and GC. After the next month we'll have a much better idea.

There have been a few Hawthorn supporters posting some fairly average stuff here so your quality post is appreciated and you don't need to apologise for the intrusion (though bedford will probably tell you to **** off)

Thought provoking post. I guess only time will tell.

Good perceptions.

The truth is, I don't think anyone knows.

And I guess that's as it should be. That's why we follow footy! To find out what happens next. (It's basically a soapie, isn't it?)

All the best and cognratulations on a great win on Saturday.

Thanks for the responses. It's probably true that no one knows yet. You guys might just be starting slowly and building towards September, which is something we didn't do well enough last year. If so, you'd think it'd be this block of games the club would target to really get going - you wouldn't want to drop more than one or two.

MalceskiFan, you might be right about Tippett, but a) he's not going to give you the rebound you were so good at last year, and b) you'd hope he doesn't cause you guys to bomb it in - he'll probably mark a couple of bombs per game but that won't win you another flag.

bedford, are we The Filth? Funny - on the Hawks board that's Essendon.

I think it's a combination of things.

1. Everyone gets up to play the reigning premeirs,
2. Every club spent an entire off season working out tactics to upset the 'slingshot' game plan and Jetta's impact. Clearly based on early season form with a good degree of success. Same can be said of limiting Kennedy's impact so far.
3. Every club gets injuries and some key ones at the moment are Johnson, Shaw and LRT. Hawthorns forward line is quality indeed and covering Franklin, Bruest, Gunstan and a ruckman forward was far too much with those 3 out PLUS we really miss Shaw's run and direction out of the back half and have for a few weeks as this is the starting point for the 'slingshot'.
4. A fair bit of our depth was traded\sent out last year partly to create cap space to accomodate Tippetts recruiting. Spangher would've been handy the other night with the outs I mentioned in particular.

Most notably on the night was Hawthorn were far more switched on and applied greater pressure than us.
Pure and simple.

That being said, plenty of positives.

1. We performed much better in the 2nd half and never gave up.
2. Tippett will be a massive inclusion and tgake a lot of heat off Reid.
3. Mumford + Pyke is an essential, not a luxury. Leave Tippett at FF when he's allowed in.
4. Finals aren't played in May, despite the bleating from Hawthorn flogs in general. (no offence)
5. Injuries heal.

Exposed 4 the Premiership Pretenders that you are!

1. Thank the AFL for gifting you the flag with THAT Rigged Finals Scheduelling! 3rd placed team gets all the 1st placed teams advantages!
2. Thank the AFL 4 Getting u Tippett & the added salary cap...Another Joke!
3. Thank the AFL that Goodes is playing for the next few weeks!

1. Thank the AFL for gifting you the flag with THAT Rigged Finals Scheduelling! 3rd placed team gets all the 1st placed teams advantages!

I love the idea that this guy posting that relieves him of something. It lessens the pressure that he feels in his life. Something like this gives him pleasure.

It kinda blows my mind.

With permission ? piss off troll