Here's a question for you Hawthorn greatest team of all backers.

It's called a national league but Victorian teams allow you to play in it. While sydney can't fill SCG for a final I doubt they'll play a grand final there ever.

You need a history lesson before you start posting crap like that - the VFL was on the verge of bankruptcy. Why do you think that the interstate clubs had to pay an 'entry' fee.

Would Hawthorn have their three-peat if their grand finals weren't played at their home ground????

There already is a thread about the grand final being at a neutral venue, or who is better Brisbane, geelong, hawthorn etc, however what about this....

Hawthorns three grand final wins have come against interstate teams who have had to play on a pitch which has different dimensions to their own, a stadium where they had only played minimal times during the year, and not to mention the significant crowd advantage and influence the hawks have.

Lets look at 2013 grand final. Hawks win by 15 points. Played against a team that had barely played a game at the MCG all year, and traveled from Perth, where they played over 50% of their games on a pitch with much smaller dimensions.

2014 Grand final. Hawks win by 63 points. Annihilation, and you'd have to be stupid to say that the MCG is a 10 goal advantage for the hawks, but had the game been played in Sydney with a majority of supporters being Sydney supporters would it had been Sydney who crumbled under pressure early on, and then were forced to chase the game, or would it potentially been the Hawks who crumbled under the pressure of playing on a foreign ground, with no home crowd support??

2015 Grand Final. Hawks win by 46 points. No excuses for the Eagles here but an embarrassment really. Many fumbles, easy mistakes, made Hawthorn look like they couldn't do no wrong. However, just 3 weeks back at the Eagles home ground we saw the complete opposite occur?? Is it just a coincidence the Hawks had a bad game 3 three weeks ago, and three weeks later the Eagles just happen to have a bad game?? Or could it be similar reasons to 2014. Early on pressure of a grand final, playing on a ground which they are not used to, infront of an intimidating home crowd. Meanwhile the hawks had the advantage of playing on their home ground, infront of their home crowd, and were able to settle quicker, and hence get out to a marginal advantage and force their opponents to try and chase for the rest of the game??

Firsly before i get criticized like i said the game could have been played at Pattersons and the way the eagles played, and the way the hawks played their wouldnt have been much difference, but for all those saying Hawthorn is the greatest team of all, bar their 2013 season, they haven't been the best team throughout the home and away seasons of 2014, and 2015 yet were fortunate enough to play the grand final on their home ground, in front of their home crowd.

Had all three of these three finals been played in Perth, and Sydney would the hawks still be 3-0?
Quite probably yes they would win anyways.

Free agency. What a time for free agency and the Hawthorn football club. Already in the upper echelons of the ladder, as a destination club Hawthorn have been able to top up at just the right time. They're a superbly run club, so I'm far from being critical, but it's another avenue for a top team to remain a top team. FA has been perfect for Hawthorn.
Please name all our free agents...

FA or destination club.

But clearly there's an inequality to the days when Brisbane were winning flags.

Anyway, don't get your knickers in a not. You'd still be smelling the roses.

Why do you even bother when you have absolutely no idea what your talking about?
If you want to speak about inequality Brisbane Lions were the kings for that. Completely manufactured by the AFL.

While I do like the Lions and laughed about them beating Collingwood twice, their 3peat is worth 2 at best due to the AFL buying them success.
Here is just a few of the draft concessions (Gifts from the AFL) that Brisbane received while still the Bears. Michael Voss, Darryl White, Marcus Ashcroft, Jason Akermanis and Clark Keating. Just a couple Brownlow medalists, with 1 of them been perhaps the best player in Fitzroy/Brisbane history. Along with a heap of other key players.
The Brisbane bears also benefited from a merger Chris Johnson (not the twins became a 2 time AA) and then trading of Fitzroy players that they gained for free netted them Mal Michael and Martin Pyke.
Despite already having ludicrous draft concessions to offset what I'm about to mention the merger allowed Brisbane to draft Jonathan Brown under father son, so with the players already listed and a father son pick lets now all except that the merger was extremely beneficial.

This merger also occurred directly after the Brisbane Bears team finished the 1996 season in 3rd. Imagine this for a scenario? GWS with all their stacked young talent finished 3rd next year and then they merge with the bottom team on the ladder, pick over their bones to take who they want, have an extended playing roster to accommodate, trade players they don't want for others and gain father son selections. Throw on top of that a PHAT salary cap. Congratulations you've created an all conquering monster. Sorry to once and for all remove the Lions from this debate. Word has it the Lions have to share their premiership cups with AFL headquarters.

I can understand why you have virtually no knowledge of football it's due to lack of interest in footy due to your own teams success.
It's either no idea or just a troll as clearly demonstrated that with your posts.

Maybe you should learn about Hawks trades (not free agency) many were done, unwanted, undervalued. Next thing bumms like yourself will be saying if Fitzpatrick comes good at the Hawks will be we poached him off poor Melbourne? Never mind that he was delisted.

Why do you even bother when you have absolutely no idea what your talking about?
If you want to speak about inequality Brisbane Lions were the kings for that. Completely manufactured by the AFL.

While I do like the Lions and laughed about them beating Collingwood twice, their 3peat is worth 2 at best due to the AFL buying them success.
Here is just a few of the draft concessions (Gifts from the AFL) that Brisbane received while still the Bears. Michael Voss, Darryl White, Marcus Ashcroft, Jason Akermanis and Clark Keating. Just a couple Brownlow medalists, with 1 of them been perhaps the best player in Fitzroy/Brisbane history. Along with a heap of other key players.
The Brisbane bears also benefited from a merger Chris Johnson (not the twins became a 2 time AA) and then trading of Fitzroy players that they gained for free netted them Mal Michael and Martin Pyke.
Despite already having ludicrous draft concessions to offset what I'm about to mention the merger allowed Brisbane to draft Jonathan Brown under father son, so with the players already listed and a father son pick lets now all except that the merger was extremely beneficial.

This merger also occurred directly after the Brisbane Bears team finished the 1996 season in 3rd. Imagine this for a scenario? GWS with all their stacked young talent finished 3rd next year and then they merge with the bottom team on the ladder, pick over their bones to take who they want, have an extended playing roster to accommodate, trade players they don't want for others and gain father son selections. Throw on top of that a PHAT salary cap. Congratulations you've created an all conquering monster. Sorry to once and for all remove the Lions from this debate. Word has it the Lions have to share their premiership cups with AFL headquarters.

I can understand why you have virtually no knowledge of football it's due to lack of interest in footy due to your own teams success.
It's either no idea or just a troll as clearly demonstrated that with your posts.

Maybe you should learn about Hawks trades (not free agency) many were done, unwanted, undervalued. Next thing bumms like yourself will be saying if Fitzpatrick comes good at the Hawks will be we poached him off poor Melbourne? Never mind that he was delisted.

Jeez you're a try hard. Post something we don't know. We know about the draft concessions, and yes, Johnson was the only benefit of the "merger".

And as they say in the classics, you protesteth too much. Way too much. But that will go over your head.

Also, learn the difference between your and you're.

You need a history lesson before you start posting crap like that - the VFL was on the verge of bankruptcy. Why do you think that the interstate clubs had to pay an 'entry' fee.
History is written by those who win

Near Bankrupt doesn't mean a thing, they still had the best product and the foresight to see that there was a way back by getting people to pay to join.
Other's that went near bankrupt Apple and Lego.

Thats all she wrote.

Jeez you're a try hard. Post something we don't know. We know about the draft concessions, and yes, Johnson was the only benefit of the "merger".

And as they say in the classics, you protesteth too much. Way too much. But that will go over your head.

Mate, you have had your rather ignorant, ill-thought out post ripped to shreds by more intelligent people than you who have come to the table with both facts and evidence.

And your response is "you protesteth too much" followed by a churlish, pedantic comment regarding grammatical accuracy.

It's ironic given that you're a lightweight, an intellectual minnow in fact. It would be best if you run along now and let the adults talk.

History is written by those who win

Near Bankrupt doesn't mean a thing, they still had the best product and the foresight to see that there was a way back by getting people to pay to join.
Other's that went near bankrupt Apple and Lego.

Thats all she wrote.
lulz...another wannabe that knows FA about the history of footy.

Well clearly you don't know much grammar cop. You have constantly Made false statements that clearly show how little you do know. Perhaps you should read my previous post again as the merger gave the Lions a lot more than just Johnson.

Ok then, your flags against Port Adelaide and St Kilda are lesser flags because you had a significant home ground advantage.

Is that the game you really want to play?

Seriously?
Port played 4 times at the MCG in 2007 including finals and Geelong played there 5, hardly a 'significant home ground advantage'. In 2009 it was Geelong 7-4. Leading into the GF St. Kilda played at the G 3 weeks in a row compared to Geelong's 2, so they would have been acclimatised. If there's an advantage to Geelong in those scenarios it is slight. Don't forget that if it was up to Geelong they would play all their home games in Geelong.

For Hawthorn in 2013 it was 12-3
2014 it was 14-4
2015 it was 11-2

So if you believe there is an advantage to Geelong then you obviously agree there is a much more significant advantage here to Hawthorn.

Port played 4 times at the MCG in 2007 including finals and Geelong played there 5, hardly a 'significant home ground advantage'. In 2009 it was Geelong 7-4. Leading into the GF St. Kilda played at the G 3 weeks in a row compared to Geelong's 2, so they would have been acclimatised. If there's an advantage to Geelong in those scenarios it is slight. Don't forget that if it was up to Geelong they would play all their home games in Geelong.

For Hawthorn in 2013 it was 12-3
2014 it was 14-4
2015 it was 11-2

So if you believe there is an advantage to Geelong then you obviously agree there is a much more significant advantage here to Hawthorn.

Clearly the tone of my post went straight over your head. The advantage to Hawthorn, whatever it is is irrelevant when we are talking about the last three premierships. In 2013 we finished on top, therefore if we are talking about home ground advantage then the Hawks were entitled to it anyway. In 2014 and 2015 they belted their opponents, so much so that they would have won regardless of where the game was played.

Do you finally understand?

Learn the difference between "trade" and "free agent"

So watching them beat the Minor Premiers in their homeground didn't do anything for you? Besides, unfortunately the Eagles played awful footy on the day of GF, they would have lost to almost any team that played at their best. Same for Sydney and Freo before them. Intimidation factor is huge and only a great team will do that to you. Sydney beat them in 2012. This notion of MCG advantage is stupid. Ever since 2000 only Essendon, Geelong, Pies and Hawks have won the big one from Victoria. There was also the big period between 2001 and 2006 where there was no Victorian winners. Geelong mustered up one of the all time great teams and so did Hawks and that is what it took for a Victorian team to win it. Collingwood had a good gameplan and it worked for a couple of years but we dropped right off after that. Collingwood beat Brisbane in a qualifying final but couldn't do it in the big one, both games at the MCG too. You win some and you lose some, that is just how it is.

Much respect to this post.

Everyone questioning Hawks efforts at MCG, don't seem to be mentioning the win in Perth over Freo. Obviously home ground advantage is good for Hawks, but useless for their opponents.

Also Hawks did actually beat Eagles in home and away at Subiaco. Somehow that should be devalued, and the finals loss to west coast is way more important. Oh and of course, losing a final means that the whole premiership is devalued. Newsflash, other teams have done that before.

The absolute crap in this thread, it's like 'what negatives can we possibly come up with'.

If you want, you can question most premierships, eg should hall have even played for Sydney in 2005 when he could have been suspended and missed gf? Port winning after Lions playing away final in 2004 when should have been at Gabba? I'm sure I could continue.

And free agency? Do people know the the difference between free agency and trading? And it's not like every person is coming to hawthorn. Hawthorn did have McGlynn and Kennedy leave for swans after all. And really, compensation for Franklin was pick 19, Melbourne got pick 3 for Frawley. Indeed free agency has been rubbish for Hawks.

I could deal with trades individually, but let's look at mcevoy. He was TRADED for, basically st. Kilda received a pick, that they used on dunstan and also they got Shane savage, who I understand wanted to leave for more opportunities. I recall lots of laughter on BF in 2014 of how the saints won that trade. But, somehow the Hawks manipulated things just like they did with everything else.

And, the real laugher is expansion happened at right time. Seriously? So the Hawks were perfectly placed, unlike any other team? Yes I forgot, hawthorn played the grand final in 2009(oh no actually didnt make finals), and 2010 (nope, flogged by freo in ef). But somehow, none of the other teams were in such a good place as hawthorn.

Shock fact, best team ON THE DAY won the gf. Like 2014. Like 2013. Like 2012. Like 2011. Like 2010. Like 2009. Like 2008. Like 2007. Like 2006. Like 2005. Is that enough for you, or I can keep going?

If you don't like the idea of team winning gf may NOT be best team consistently during the season, lobby afl to change the system. But, news flash, to win, you win the gf. To do that you have to get there. To get there you have to get top 8. That's it. Every team knows that is the system, it's not like they change things in week 6, or week 12, or week 20.

Apologies for all those who have made the same points previously, just I think the truth should be out there.

Much respect to this post.

Everyone questioing Hawks efforts at MCG, don't seem to be mentioning the win in Perth over freo.
Yeah, that post is talking WAY too much sense for Bigfooty, home of the 'bloody poos and wees, they only win because of the home ground advantage/umpire favouritism/cherry picking other team's best players/getting the best players through free agency/winning in a weak competition' morons...

Is anyone seriously of the mindset that Hawthorn would have lost a single one of their 3 recent grand finals, if the games had been played elsewhere?

It's not hard to understand that many people aren't leaping into the air with joy at another HFC GF win, but really, is their no end to the level of bitterness in some people....?

Hawks fans begrudgingly gave respect to Sydney for their 2012 GF win, and it had nothing to do with the venue. They were the better team on the day, while key players for Hawthorn served up a dog $#!@ sandwich that afternoon.

That kind of mindset requires an adult brain of course.

If you're going to get up on your literary high horse and go all grammar nazi, best do it correctly.

The lady doth protest too much...protesteth? seriously?

A more apt Shakespeare quote for you: A fool thinks himself to be wise, but a wise man knows himself to be a fool.

It's funny but didn't swans beat Hawks at the MCG? So it can be done. Hawthorns Threepeat will be remembered forever and be uttered by everyone in the media on a weekly basis next year! Get used to it flogs!

Here's a question for you Hawthorn greatest team of all backers.