Hoops is surely on the table

May 14, 2008
AC Milan
before you get upset, we have to give up something of value to get that second big forward.

Who would be in the market for 26/27 yo skilful soft cok?

Saints, Freo, Crows?

before you get upset, we have to give up something of value to get that second big forward.

Saints, Freo, Crows?

Prefer to trade many players before him. In case u missed this season we desperatley need small fwds who can hit the scoreboard

would have thought the presence of Betts, Fisher, Gibbs in the F50 and the over reliance on Fev (as the only tall forward) would indicate the importance lies in a key fwd, but thanks for filling me in.

fyi - we also need a stronger key backmen so we dont get killed by monsters (evidenced by how well we combat Hawks, Bris, David Hale et al) but we cant have everything.

Surely he is not!

before you get upset,

Why would we? Unless you are just another keyboard hero who gets their rocks off insulting their own players? But obviously you're not, because you apparently really rate Hoops

we have to give up something of value to get that second big forward.

Or do you?

& how many milliseconds do you think it would take the soft cok to knock your lights out?

For the record, when you have elite skills like Hoops, you don't need to be at the bottom of every pack or become an enforcer on the field to be able to get games at AFL level, it's the guys that don't have the skills that need to make up for it with aggression and bravery, kinda like when you're really good looking you don't need to be a nice guy do well with the ladies ;)

& how many milliseconds do you think it would take the soft cok to knock your lights out?

For the record, when you have elite skills like Hoops, you don't need to be at the bottom of every pack or become an enforcer on the field to be able to get games at AFL level, it's the guys that don't have the skills that need to make up for it with aggression and bravery, kinda like when you're really good looking you don't need to be a nice guy do well with the ladies ;)[/quote]

do rate him heaps but trading trucks like bentick or fisher isnt' going to attract anything of value.

didnt say he couldnt play the game either just giving a profile re: soft cockness.

and fwiw, i think id have him covered.

For the record, when you have elite skills like Hoops, you don't need to be at the bottom of every pack or become an enforcer on the field to be able to get games at AFL level, it's the guys that don't have the skills that need to make up for it with aggression and bravery, kinda like when you're really good looking you don't need to be a nice guy do well with the ladies ;)

do rate him heaps but trading trucks like bentick or fisher isnt' going to attract anything of value.

didnt say he couldnt play the game either just giving a profile re: soft cockness.

and fwiw, i think id have him covered.[/quote]

nah don't reckon you have a chance in hell

Houlihan is worth a lot more than any club would be willing to give us in exchange for him, so he stays.

In a team that lacks quality forward options capable of kicking 25+ goals per season, we're not in any sort of position to be trading these players away for well under their worth to the team.

Houlihan is the type of player that will struggle in an ordinary side, but will thrive in a more successful one. We've already seen that when we made the transition as a club on the top, to a club right down the bottom through the early 2000's.

Now that we're well and truly on the way back up the ladder I see no reason why Houlihan can't return to his sublime goal-kicking ways.

Houlihan is worth a lot more than any club would be willing to give us in exchange for him, so he stays.

Exactly right. :thumbsu:

Personally, I'm eagerly anticipating what Houlihan brings in 2009. He has stated on multiple occasions that the recent surgery has him feeling better than he ever has. Having been hampered by injury for years, I'm guessing we'll see Houlihan return better than ever next season after a hopefully injury free preseason.

I've been one of Hoops' harshest critics on these boards, but given his sublime skill and kicking skills, I would most certainly be hanging onto him. Besides, I doubt we'd get that much for him anyway.
News to me HBF - I thought you had been one of his strongest supporters!
If he can play like rnd 21 often enough then HAS to be in the team. But if he is injured or not motivated - move out of the way of a youngster like Ellard who need time at the top to make the transition to the big time.

I've been one of Hoops' harshest critics on these boards, but given his sublime skill and kicking skills, I would most certainly be hanging onto him. Besides, I doubt we'd get that much for him anyway.

I think this is the key. Our skills as a team were not the best this year. As we begin to develop as a group we will start to make better decisions and have more time to use the ball. Hoops uses the ball better than plenty of people in the comp and with a bit of time to find the option could absolutely murder defences with his passing game. Not to mention the ability to kick a few himself. Surely when we are in a game that demands a high skill level we would not trade someone who uses the pill so well. You can't have a whole team of inside players. What's the point in getting the ball if we don't have anyone to use it?

Hoops on the table....yes, yes he is

1RYANHOULIHAN.jpg

Thats what they say in commercial road too.

ROTFLMFAO! Well at least he has a career after footy!

But how did Hoops play against the Hawks?

Actually looking at the stats I can see why we got smashed, once again our B'graders - Houla, Russel, Simo (sorry), Fish - did sweet FA and got freaked out by the Hawks. I guess shows in the result.

Houlas won't be going anywhere. He's one of a small group in our side who can carry the pill into the forward half and then lace it onto a leading forward's nipple. We need more of him, not less of him.

Which forward do you think we can trade Hoops for?

Hoops has minimal trade value, so the forward that this would attract would either be crap......or you would have to package a pick with it.

True Bluebear. We stick with him or let him fade. Same as Farmer, it is a gamble for the club and nobody else is willing to roll the dice.
I am in 2 minds with Hoops. He would have to work hard over summer and show his body is up to it and his mind is also up to it. Does he have any fire in the belly?

Hoops is surely on the table