Vic How would you rate Daniel Andrews' performance as Victorian Premier? - Part 4

I'm sure Scomo is plotting how he can jump in at just the right time to take credit for something like this after shirking responsibility for a year.

Exactly, so play that card now, at the end of the day as long as it gets done in my opinion that is all that matters.

I was surprised how different people are city to city.

I'm Melbourne we used to go out, pretty much from Frankston up to South Yarra and StKilda (and everything in between) for shopping, dining, and pubs/clubs

Sydney was the exact opposite I found, and people stayed mostly in their local area.

After living up there, I do understand why. Sydney is a b*tch to drive around. After two weeks I pretty much stuck to the Hills district. It sucked, but it was better than driving (or god forbid taking the bus, hated them something bad)

Nah i just live a boring life :)

my concern is how you keep 15000+ people in a camp from leaving their units. Howard Springs have its small size and isolation on its side - Avalon and Toowoomba are walking distance from pubs and maccas (and remember people have escaped HQ for a smoke and KFC runs)

Avalon Airport to the nearest pub or Maccas is about a 1 hour 40 walk!

I still can't see that happening.

Firstly feds are desperate to be Arma length from this, and airports are fed regulated.

Second, ever since Sept 11 airport access has been highly regulated. I used to be able to go on tarmac, that's a massive no no now. Even the land around the airport has serious access constraints (had this with a cargo claim once, I couldn't even see what had been damaged)

I doubt tulla is possible at all. Avalon maybe, but it needs to be well away from any of the airport activity (and I mean well away).

So glad I don't deal with that sh*t anymore (airports are the worst to deal with)
Yep fair enough, good points.
There has been like a city of demountables halfway up the Calder freeway (?) that I see when driving to Castlemaine. Maybe they could turn that into a place- it seems to be pretty isolated and those old school portables can be pretty good.

Have the Vic government quietly dropped the Stay Safe, Stay Open slogan?

View attachment 1058871

This is where I put my old hat on.

As stupid as it sounds, the verb is okay. It's when you make the outcome claim you're in trouble. Im not gunna slogan it, but if you where a mask you will be safe from contracting covid, then you're ****ed.

I used to hate those meetings with a passion (you'd literally have a dictionary and the govt regulation on hand to review every word used)

Yep fair enough, good points.
There has been like a city of demountables halfway up the Calder freeway (?) that I see when driving to Castlemaine. Maybe they could turn that into a place- it seems to be pretty isolated and those old school portables can be pretty good.

Depends which ones. The ones my school had didn't even have heating/cooling

Wonder how much they spend on each rebranding?

Just a guess, not much. Reeks of an internal job (just my guess)

You tend to pick the external agency stuff pretty easily (it's usually good for a start)

Depends which ones. The ones my school had didn't even have heating/cooling
Yep-the newer ones have that- they are pretty good nowadays but theses ones are probably old and they’d have to add heating cooling kitchen bathroom -too much I guess.
Although if Lindsay Fox wants to pay, well..

I did that last night walking the dogs (with an extra half hour).

100 mins is a piece of piss

1 hour 40 each way. That's 200 minutes. Plus you would think the complex would be fenced off. Explain to people that if caught outside the complex they have to start the quarantine period again.

I reckon Avalon is a good location. You can fly people in then transit them round the corner to their digs. It's handy for staff and other services to drive there but far enough away from pubs and fast food to discourage the inmates to take that walk. It's also near enough to hospitals in case people require that. Then there are existing transport links to get people on their way home when they have finished their quarantine.

They mentioned setting them near Avalon, or even Tullamarine -which all seems sensible to me -near airports and plenty of space and not offending regionals.

Heading into a Melbourne winter? Mr Fox lining up to add $more .... the problem with remote is labour/accomodation. Howard Springs is 30k from Darwin?
Get quarantine out of Vic.

1 hour 40 each way. That's 200 minutes. Plus you would think the complex would be fenced off. Explain to people that if caught outside the complex they have to start the quarantine period again.

I reckon Avalon is a good location. You can fly people in then transit them round the corner to their digs. It's handy for staff and other services to drive there but far enough away from pubs and fast food to discourage the inmates to take that walk. It's also near enough to hospitals in case people require that. Then there are existing transport links to get people on their way home when they have finished their quarantine.

Are the workers going to use these transport links?

From twitter :mad:, surely they can have a better set up to protect peoples privacy rather than a garbage bag, maybe some big screens instead. People have the right to privacy

The above could have been useful for Dan to wear at the Coates Inquiry or his Press Conferences to capture the garbage spoken as it came out of his mouth.

The shit that came out of his mouth would make his arse jealous.

not that hard to do that twice. how overweight are you? ;) :p :D

and fences dont mean shit - remember people have been escaping hotel detention, even with fences in place, for KFC runs

FMD id get in trouble if i was consistently 10m-15m-20m late to work meetings........and then turn up and say 'everyone ready?'

Probably looking at what bus to throw his next underling under he sociopath.

What shits me is how patronising he is. Bullshitting about this super hyper deadly variant to scare us into compliance.

Then there’s the completely unnecessary shutting down of the construction industry - the only thing keeping this state’s economy going, he has zero care for people’s livelihoods.

Or the vilifying of the guy he tried to pin the blame on for this lockdown - that backfired.

Ok there’s unlimited things that shit me about this incompetent flog but I’ll stop there.

What shits me is how patronising he is. Bullshitting about this super hyper deadly variant to scare us into compliance.

Then there’s the completely unnecessary shutting down of the construction industry - the only thing keeping this state’s economy going, he has zero care for people’s livelihoods.

Or the vilifying of the guy he tried to pin the blame on for this lockdown - that backfired.

Ok there’s unlimited things that sh*t me about this incompetent flog but I’ll stop there.

No, please go on - it's really interesting.

Ok there’s unlimited things that sh*t me about this incompetent flog but I’ll stop there.
I love how he talks about "the virus" as if it's Ultron.