Vic How would you rate Daniel Andrews' performance as Victorian Premier? - Part 4

Has anyone actually explained to the population that, after vaccines, Covid will still transmit and the borders will eventually have to open and that Covid will circulate like any respiratory illness?

I mean, too many people I see actually frightened of Covid itself WHEN what we are actually only doing is preventing the very elderly from getting it - the long term plan would see practically every one get it at some point.

I don’t think most of those obsessed with the vaccine understand this at all. They think the vaccine is a magic cure and they can return to a normal life again as soon as they’ve had it.

It’s the fault of governments and opposition who’ve been pushing this vaccine like crazy as the holy grail. They don’t understand it’s not like a vaccine that protects you but more a flu shot that might reduce its impact.

No, they'll teleport.

There will obviously be details to iron out but I wouldn't anticipate staff would be coming and going from the site everyday.

Bit hard to have any confidence in the ability of Vic to get this right. Get it out of Melbourne & thats not Avalon because it will be effectively the same staff, same public servants, just a change of address.

Has anyone actually explained to the population that, after vaccines, Covid will still transmit and the borders will eventually have to open and that Covid will circulate like any respiratory illness?

I mean, too many people I see actually frightened of Covid itself WHEN what we are actually only doing is preventing the very elderly from getting it - the long term plan would see practically every one get it at some point.
I think this message is coming, but it will come slowly, especially in risk adverse Australia.

Boris Johnson for example is making it quite clear that he doesn't want another lockdown ever in the UK.

Why would you need to smuggle a ps4 in? Surely they aren’t banned???

You are not allowed physical contact with the outside world squib. Unless they invented an energy pattern transporter while in lockdown, they have had access with someone outside quarantine to get it in.

Quarantine is pointless if you're allowed contact with family and couriers

ps. I do love when journos sook about being critiqued themselves and turn to slagging off the masses (hello Chris Uhlmann). They need to learn no one is above criticism.
This wasn't criticism, it was a typical twitter lynching/sook just because she was criticising the wrong politician.

What shits me is how patronising he is. Bullshitting about this super hyper deadly variant to scare us into compliance.

Then there’s the completely unnecessary shutting down of the construction industry - the only thing keeping this state’s economy going, he has zero care for people’s livelihoods.

Or the vilifying of the guy he tried to pin the blame on for this lockdown - that backfired.

Ok there’s unlimited things that sh*t me about this incompetent flog but I’ll stop there.

Yeah the hyper deadly variant that moves at hyper-speed but then contradicts and says people who tested positive today werent positive the other day and it can take a hile to infect.....

And shuts down construction unless of course its a government site and that can go ahead. I know of 4 tradies currently on government jobs who are working and their mates, same job, same industry, arent allowed to work as its not a government site.

You are not allowed physical contact with the outside world squib. Unless they invented an energy pattern transporter while in lockdown, they have had access with someone outside quarantine to get it in.

Quarantine is pointless if you're allowed contact with family and couriers

So they can’t drop something off to be left with their food? They are allowed Uber ears deliveries but not something to pass the time? Makes sense...

Nothing that I saw. This won't replace HQ either - they are talking a maximum capacity of 1000 people (which is less than a week's worth of Vic intact, at the reduced level)
Still needs to be planned, most likely will need some testing to make sure the place is appropriate and facilities to be added to the area as well as well as the buildings to be set up and moved in.

Until they actually announce a plan rather than talking about doing it this is just a distraction

So they can’t drop something off to be left with their food? They are allowed Uber ears deliveries but not something to pass the time? Makes sense...

They can't get uber eats delivered to them. Anything like that has to go through security.

To be blunt, food is one thing, we don't need security dropping off multiple deliveries a day to each room.

It's detention, not a holiday

A must read (I seem to be able to open it beyond the paywall through Google).

Coronavirus lockdown lunacy is frying our minds
ADAM CREIGHTON

'And in the land of the blind, the one-eyed man is king. So thank god for NSW, where relative sanity has prevailed for now.'

Well put Mr Creighton.

They can't get uber eats delivered to them. Anything like that has to go through security.

To be blunt, food is one thing, we don't need security dropping off multiple deliveries a day to each room.

It's detention, not a holiday

So getting as much Uber eats as you like is fine despite the fact you’re being fed but a delivery of a ps4 is too much.

Yeah that makes sense...

Maybe if they were more flexible you wouldn’t have people sneaking things in.

So getting as much Uber eats as you like is fine despite the fact you’re being fed but a delivery of a ps4 is too much.

Yeah that makes sense...

Maybe if they were more flexible you wouldn’t have people sneaking things in.

This is about managing infection risk squib.

Every time the door is opened to a room, the security guard risks being infected.

Every time the security accept a package from a courier, they risk infecting the courier.

We need to minimise interactions, not incentivise them

This is about managing infection risk squib.

Every time the door is opened to a room, the security guard risks being infected.

Every time the security accept a package from a courier, they risk infecting the courier.

We need to minimise interactions, not incentivise them

Just get a tennis player to drop it off or a government construction worker - they dont seem to be able to get the virus

It can be managed.

If you throw staff at it, which means more interceptions and more risks of infection

FFS it's two weeks. They don't need a PS4 or their pillow from home or their fav fry pan

Arent drugs still getting in?

And that's another reason to restrict packages coming in.

Jokes aside, how ****ing dumb were they to think the takeaway bags wouldn't be searched??

If you throw staff at it, which means more interceptions and more risks of infection

FFS it's two weeks. They don't need a PS4 or their pillow from home or their fav fry pan

We are talking about a fenced Airport that is 1 hour 40 from the nearest pub or McDonalds etc. Then you build a facility that is secure and comfortable for staff and inmates.

I'm not sure how you brought PS4s, pillows and frying pans into the discussion.

We are talking about a fenced Airport that is 1 hour 40 from the nearest pub or McDonalds etc. Then you build a facility that is secure and comfortable for staff and inmates.

I'm not sure how you brought PS4s, pillows and frying pans into the discussion.

You said a simple fence would control things and noone would jump over it for KFC.

I said we have had that happen already multiple.times (Inc one where some one smuggled in a PS4)

You're naive if you think people will politely sit behind the fence and that's that.

Would be smarter to make it more like FIFO arrangements.
Finding live-in staff might be a problem. Even jail wardens get to go home each night (or morning). FIFO is a tough gig and miners get paid well. How much realistically would you pay a live-in cleaner?