Vic How would you rate Daniel Andrews' performance as Victorian Premier?

You've got seven years of sooking, possibly 11, ahead of you.

Liberals can’t win win these current leaders but the next election will be a lot closer. At this early stage who can predict, but I’ll guess 8 seats will change hand.

Its been the year from hell for Andrews.
Massive blow outs
Significant project delays
The emergency services no violence bill being made a mockery in its first test
The injecting room issues that won’t go away
The China agreement
The fines fiasco
Metro performances plummeting
Huge community opposition to North East

The liberals will continue to remind the voter of these incidents.

By 8 years, Dan would wanna hope the trains are working properly, I suspect voters patience will be reaching breaking point by then.

“We’re getting it done” could easily become “Why isn’t it done”.

Liberals can’t win win these current leaders but the next election will be a lot closer. At this early stage who can predict, but I’ll guess 8 seats will change hand.

Massive blow outs
The China agreement
The fines fiasco

By 8 years, Dan would wanna hope the trains are working properly, I suspect voters patience will be reaching breaking point by then.

You didn't get back to me on what would happen if they did shut down the injecting room.

Massive blow outs
The China agreement
The fines fiasco

You keep adding to the post.

Nobody even knows who O'Brien is.

Lib state branch is rooted.

2022 will be won by Labor easily, even if the libs do get the likes of Hawthorn back.

As I said, minimum seven more years sooking.

You keep adding to the post.

Nobody even knows who O'Brien is.

Lib state branch is rooted.

2022 will be won by Labor easily, even if the libs do get the likes of Hawthorn back.

As I said, minimum seven more years sooking.
Nobody knew who Andrews was in 2014 either.
And many still don’t.

State opposition leaders have never been A class celebrities and they don’t have to be.

I don’t know. Half way houses become a thing?

People would just shoot up and die in the laneways and park there, like they did before if opened.

And here it is. if you’ve been wondering why they haven’t mentioned the airport link since the election..this is why.

There’s no money left. Dan will build it still, because he is a revolutionary transport premier as he thinks, but every single transport initiative has been a dud barring the Level Crossings.

Dan likes to make big announcements about how they are “getting on with it” but when push comes to shove, the transport track record of this government is woeful.

Woeful is the high point for state governments for 2 decades then

‘Everything except level crossings’. LOL If they were so pedestrian, how come they havent been done?

The Victorian Libs are in serious trouble, their heartland is turning very progressive, especially on climate change, and Labor has the outer suburbs buying the "we'll build it" mantra, because it delivered the level crossings.

Meanwhile the party itself is being taken over by far right weirdos.

Andrews is a formidable politician. Morrison is his only equal tactically.

Their best hope is that when Andrews goes, and that will be sooner than people think, the shine comes off a la when Bracksy and Thwaites left, and people decide to vote the other way. But even then, strategically, the direction of travel for the right in Victoria is poor and has been for a long time.

Come the 2022 election (which Labor will not lose despite the fantasising of Adz ) Labor will have been in power for 29 of the last 40 years, and four of those Lib years were pretty bloody shabby, especially the final two.

Premier jeff summed up the airport rail link when he said something like ‘no matter how well it gets you to southern cross, most people will prefer some kind of door to door, usually by road

That will remain true no matter what, maybe the suburban loop will change that. But lets say you drive part or whole of the way, where would you prefer to leave your car for a week or so. The airport with security of some kind, or a suburban car park?

For tourists, most hotels run road connections door to door, theres direct buses to backpacker haunts around st kilda.

Theres a probably unsurmountable list of reasons why money should be spent elsewhere, it usually ends up with ‘every self respecting capital city has one’ that may be, but I bet every one of them has a list of bad points

Premier jeff summed up the airport rail link when he said something like ‘no matter how well it gets you to southern cross, most people will prefer some kind of door to door, usually by road

That will remain true no matter what, maybe the suburban loop will change that. But lets say you drive part or whole of the way, where would you prefer to leave your car for a week or so. The airport with security of some kind, or a suburban car park?

For tourists, most hotels run road connections door to door, theres direct buses to backpacker haunts around st kilda.

Theres a probably unsurmountable list of reasons why money should be spent elsewhere, it usually ends up with ‘every self respecting capital city has one’ that may be, but I bet every one of them has a list of bad points

Nah he's full if shit and just trying to downplay something he chose not to do.

Airport rail will be great.

The Victorian Libs are in serious trouble, their heartland is turning very progressive, especially on climate change, and Labor has the outer suburbs buying the "we'll build it" mantra, because it delivered the level crossings.

Their best hope is that when Andrews goes, and that will be sooner than people think, the shine comes off a la when Bracksy and Thwaites left, and people decide to vote the other way. But even then, strategically, the direction of travel for the right in Victoria is poor and has been for a long time.

Come the 2022 election (which Labor will not lose despite the fantasising of Adz ) Labor will have been in power for 29 of the last 40 years, and four of those Lib years were pretty bloody shabby, especially the final two.

Best bit is Morrison will already have been to an election, how hes going to defend another three years of not much we can only wonder

They have no control over the immigration portfolio. None.

Bullshit. Morrison went to the COAG meeting wanting to gain the states’ co-operation in lowering Australia’s migration rate. Only Gladys Berejiklian for NSW was in favour. The state leaders are all much more concerned with grabbing their share of Federal funds.

Andrews maintains he is neutral on Melbourne's population growth whilst quietly benefiting from it by virtue of massive revenue increase. Given that it has a major impact on our lives it should be a declared election policy.

Why do you think Andrews will be going 'sooner than people think'?

I disagree with him on many things but tactically I think he's head and shoulders above anything the Libs have or any other in the Labor cabinet - they are a pack of duds. It will be interesting when he goes but as you point out Victoria is generally a Labor voting state.

Bullshit. Morrison went to the COAG meeting wanting to gain the states’ co-operation in lowering Australia’s migration rate. Only Gladys Berejiklian for NSW was in favour. The state leaders are all much more concerned with grabbing their share of Federal funds.

Andrews maintains he is neutral on Melbourne's population growth whilst quietly benefiting from it by virtue of massive revenue increase. Given that it has a major impact on our lives it should be a declared election policy.

Yeah correct weight, a Big Melbourne is institutionalised Vic Labor policy, Brumby was the architect there.

Why do you think Andrews will be going 'sooner than people think'?

I disagree with him on many things but tactically I think he's head and shoulders above anything the Libs have or any other in the Labor cabinet - they are a pack of duds. It will be interesting when he goes but as you point out Victoria is generally a Labor voting state.

I don't think he wants to be Premier for ever and ever and to exit politics a loser.

I reckon he wants to go out a winner and into something on his own terms, probably at the international level.

I wouldn't be at all surprised if he goes before the 2022 election.

Yeah correct weight, a Big Melbourne is institutionalised Vic Labor policy, Brumby was the architect there.

Cain did that too, in a hamfisted way. Lets face it these guys are better liberal govenments than most liberals. Not hard to see why blue ribbon seats swung so easily
He won't want to stick around for the results of his handiwork, when traffic doesn't ease as promised.

The least they could do is try to embed some greenery into all these construction monstrosities.

Its not going to ease at all, just mitigate the rise in congestion, and hopefully get more efficient

Fair user pays congestion charging would solve the congestion almost immediately, but its a political suicide note cos no one trusts anyone to implement it fairly (and with good reason)

The clue is how much congestion is there at 2am?
The problem is we all want to live close together and move around at the same time.

Making its worse is we Are losing the ability to plan ahead. We buy online and expect it almost immediately, even though we could have ordered it last week and it been delivered off peak.

No they are not.
We saw an emphatically rejection of that at the last Federal election in Victoria where Labor/Greens failed to pick up seats in the “great climate change election?” The Greens the climate change pioneers lost seats at the state election.

Both parties claim to be “progressive” - this not a term owned by the left. Turnbull used this during his term.
Morrison’s tax cuts could be considered ‘progressive.’

The most progressive state in Australia?
Banning smoking in Bourke St and claiming it as “progressive” is the political grandstanding Andrews is good at. Legalising marijuana and introducing pill testing - two initiatives he continues to reject - would be truly progressive. Oh and how about spending 2 billion on new prisons to the detriment of public housing. SO PROGRESSIVE.

The Liberals need fresh voices and a half decent communication strategy and they’ll be right. Most of the Eastern seats they lost in 18 they’ll get back in 22. It’s not all doom and gloom.

No they are not.
We saw an emphatically rejection of that at the last Federal election in Victoria where Labor/Greens failed to pick up seats in the “great climate change election?” The Greens the climate change pioneers lost seats at the state election.

Both parties claim to be “progressive” - this not a term owned by the left. Turnbull used this during his term.

Banning smoking in Bourke St and claiming it as “progressive” is the political grandstanding Andrews is good at. Legalising marijuana and introducing pill testing - two initiatives he continues to reject - would be truly progressive. Oh and how about spending 2 billion on new prisons to the detriment of public housing. SO PROGRESSIVE.

The Liberals need fresh voices and a half decent communication strategy and they’ll be right. Most of the Eastern seats they lost in 18 they’ll get back in 22. It’s not all doom and gloom.

Federal elections and state elections are very different.

Admirable if you're going to keep this up for the next seven years. Probably eleven.

No they are not.

If you want to lock up people as regularly as you suggest in here mate, where dou you think theyll be actually locked up. Prisons are full