Is It Time For Tough Decisions?

Ho do you propose we fix our structural problems?

For 2011

B: Armfield, Jamo, AJ
HB: Russell, Bower, Walker
C: Waite, Gibbs, Simpson
HF: Houlihan, Henderson, Yarran
F: Betts, Hampson, Garlett
Foll: Kreuzer, Judd, Murphy

Int: Warnock, McLean, Lucas, Robinson

& White/Austin/Carrazzo/Grigg

Reckon Hampson is/will be a premiership FF?

There is definite potential there.

I'm not saying we don't need to get in a FF, or other good players. I'm just saying we should not give up Gibbs to get them. Very few premiership teams are built around FFs, or even CHFs. They are built around strong defense and gun midfields.

I don't think the players in the forward line are a problem. Recently (since the Hawthorn game) teams are putting huge numbers down back to take all the room out of our forward line, it's working well for them because we haven't found a way to get them out of there.

We either hold the ball up with slow movement or kick to a contest where we're outnumbered. I worte in another thread that I think the best way to beat it would be to flood their forward line as well for just a few weeks and show the other teams we're not just gonna let them play the game on their terms, even if it means turning it into a shit game.

Early in the season the tall forwards were leading up the ground and leaving the smalls with heaps of room, but this has been worked out by the opposition. We can get back to playing like this, but only if we find a way to stop them putting so many players in our forward line.

to Sin: Easy to beat a flood and thats kick over it... hendo has a very nice 50m kick technique but hasnt the confidence to try it as often as i would like him too and hasnt polished it off.

To Mal: I get what your saying and i say never say never about a trade. I'm sure if we fish him out we could find a trade worth it for gibbs, having said that the potential to rotate murph and gibs on our HFF or HBF as murphy is very good up forward and gibbs too can kick well from 50m while the other plays center with judd and hopefuly mclean can prove himself a little bit more. thats a very good center with good legs.

IF we where to trade gibbs to adelaide they where so annoyed that we got him we could exploit them and take them for more than any other club would be willing to pay.

you never know what will fall out of the tree til you shake it.

Mal,

With the potential of trading Gibbs, your strategy is geared towards finding another long term forward to work alongside Hendo.

Really don't think we need to give Gibbs up for this, it's too high a price

Your team doesn't mention Austin, who from all reports can play forward and would supplement Hendo quite well. However, my thoughts on Aussie is as a backman. I also like Waite down back as he's more consistent down there and doesn't get as frustrated because he can run in straight lines, but realise we can't fit Aussie, Waite, Bower & Jamo in the one backline.

However, this doesn't resolve your original point about needing a quality, long term forward.

Don't think Hammer has shown enough (yet) to suggest he'll be a forward, so I'm not banking on him being a forward (happy to be proved wrong). However, reckon he'll develop into a valuable, mobile ruckman.

The strategy for another forward at this stage seems to be to go after Trengove from Port, exchanging Sauce & another for him (possibly Thornton). I'd also go for Trengove, he's having a good year and is promising but not in the Tippet territory. Hear what you're saying about offering sh*t and you'll get sh*t. Couldn't agree more.

The issue is that Port needs a ruckman. Carlton can deliver that. Yes, we're exposing ourselves for half of next year if Warnock or Hammer fall, but that's a risk worth taking. Chuck in Thornton to measure the Port backline (T-Bird is 26), because this is an area Port will struggle in with Cornes on his last legs. T-Bird can take a tall. May have to give another senior player, but i'd be giving a mid-level senior player (ie. Carrots style), not a high level one (ie. Gibbs)

Mal,

With the potential of trading Gibbs, your strategy is geared towards finding another long term forward to work alongside Hendo.

Really don't think we need to give Gibbs up for this, it's too high a price

This :thumbsu:. As somebody else pointed out, premierships are won from a solid back 6 and elite midfield. I'd be happy with a red-hot finals crack in 2 yrs time with Hendo, Waite and (For arguments sake, a Trengove) as our three tall options up front. Hammo clunking his marks like last week in the Ants might be icing on the cake.

Looking at our 1995 team, we had McKay, SOS, Sexton (at the height of his game) along with a few others - great backlines have for a long time been the key to premiership success

Now, the midfield is becoming more and more an important issue, and the strong midfielders will get back and help out the defence

On a broader front the question is whether Gillard is a good fullback who can defend all day?

to Sin: Easy to beat a flood and thats kick over it... hendo has a very nice 50m kick technique but hasnt the confidence to try it as often as i would like him too and hasnt polished it off.

To Mal: I get what your saying and i say never say never about a trade. I'm sure if we fish him out we could find a trade worth it for gibbs, having said that the potential to rotate murph and gibs on our HFF or HBF as murphy is very good up forward and gibbs too can kick well from 50m while the other plays center with judd and hopefuly mclean can prove himself a little bit more. thats a very good center with good legs.

IF we where to trade gibbs to adelaide they where so annoyed that we got him we could exploit them and take them for more than any other club would be willing to pay.

you never know what will fall out of the tree til you shake it.

yes as this whole thread is based on a hypothetical situation and "what ifs" its fair to say 90% of popel are in fantasy land. even 99% of BF posts and threads are fantasy lands themselves.
But i do not understand what part of my post you are referring to, the henderson part or the never say never about a trade because both those seem to be rational. realistically i cant see us trading gibbs after sending him to leadership courses (BTW why isnt he being more of leader now) and pretty much setting him up to be our next captain after judd.

Having said that no player in the afl is untradeable and you do never know what will fall out of the tree until you shake it, I just applied these 2 realistic rules to a hypothetical situation.

There is definite potential there.

I love Hammer. The guy is a tank. Fantastic potential.

Ive just yet to see anything that leads me to believe he will deliver on that potential any time soon.

Its a big risk to place our premiership hopes on the big man.

Surely hedging our bets to aquire a proved FF marking target is the wiser option?

I'm not saying we don't need to get in a FF, or other good players. I'm just saying we should not give up Gibbs to get them.

How else will we aquire one? You can virtually rule out finding one in the draft for the next two years (and even if we get lucky and find a good one, common wisdom suggests it takes 2-3 years minimim before they come on).

Trade Thornton? Carrazzo? Scotland? Not likley.

We want a good young one, we will have to trade something of value.

Very few premiership teams are built around FFs, or even CHFs. They are built around strong defense and gun midfields.

Recent history suggests otherwise.

Premiership teams and FF/ CHF:

Geelong: Mooney + Johnson
Hawthorn: Buddy + Roughead
WCE: Lynch + Hansen
Sydney: Hall + Micky O
Brisbane: Lynch & Brown
Essendon: Lloyd & Lucas
Roos: Carey + Mckernan
Carlton: Kernahan + Spalding

Elite players in bold.

I don't think the players in the forward line are a problem.

We are easily countered my congesting the forward 50.

We also clearly have no confidence kicking to any of our forwards.

Some weeks it'll work, some weeks it wont.

We want consistency, we need marking key forwards.

Watch Brown lift Brisbane over us single handendly this year against the flow, or how Buddy got the Hawks over the line last week v Essendon.

We need to capitalise on our rebounding defenders and more than capable mids with more marks inside 50, and more marking firepower up forward.

It would be nice.....not many truly elite CHF's floating around....and not many teams willing to let them go, unless you sell your soul.......you don't look after your prized #1 draft picks and repay their loyalty by turning around and trading them away and fracturing the playing group......so I'd give it up unless there was another way....but you're apparently a lawyer, so I'm not holding out for a change of heart or tack ;) :p

Mal,

Yes. I simply cant see another way.

Your team doesn't mention Austin, who from all reports can play forward and would supplement Hendo quite well.

I retained him for depth. He simply hasnt shown enough to suggest he is going to make it as an AFL quality key forward target.

Don't think Hammer has shown enough (yet) to suggest he'll be a forward, so I'm not banking on him being a forward (happy to be proved wrong). However, reckon he'll develop into a valuable, mobile ruckman.

Agree. He could become a very dangerous tall foward. We're having a hard enough time developing him into a Ruckman at the moment.

He's making progress, but I for one wouldnt want to rest our premiership hopes on him 'making it'.

The strategy for another forward at this stage seems to be to go after Trengove from Port,

Would be all over it if we could get him.

Sauce & another for him (possibly Thornton).

They'd laugh at that.

The issue is that Port needs a ruckman. Carlton can deliver that.

They also need a forward with Treadrea and Cornes retiring.

Yes, we're exposing ourselves for half of next year if Warnock or Hammer fall, but that's a risk worth taking. Chuck in Thornton to measure the Port backline (T-Bird is 26), because this is an area Port will struggle in with Cornes on his last legs. T-Bird can take a tall. May have to give another senior player, but i'd be giving a mid-level senior player (ie. Carrots style), not a high level one (ie. Gibbs)

Thornton and Carrots turn 27 this year. Port would not give up one of thier promising your kids for Thornton and Carrazzo, Jacobs or no Jacobs.

Simply adding another fringe player or aeging player will not change their minds either.

To Mal: I get what your saying and i say never say never about a trade. IF we where to trade gibbs to adelaide they where so annoyed that we got him we could exploit them and take them for more than any other club would be willing to pay.

Adelaide (and Port) both have players that we need and we should be targetting (Tippett and Trengove).

They wouldnt release those players for peanuts.

Such as 27 year old medium sized defenders, 27 year old mids with dodgy diposal or our 4th best ruckman.

Yes. I simply cant see another way.

I retained him for depth. He simply hasnt shown enough to suggest he is going to make it as an AFL quality key forward target.

That's cos in the scheme of things he's barely been tried there, is largely an unknown factor, but has shown brief glimpses at AFL level up forward, let-alone VFL.....but don't let the facts get in the way of your Gibbs story :)

you don't use a Gibbs to prise loose a Trengove. Your heart is in the right place, but I think your minds all over the shop.

you don't look after your prized #1 draft picks and repay their loyalty by turning around and trading them away and fracturing the playing group......so I'd give it up unless there was another way....but you're apparently a lawyer, so I'm not holding out for a change of heart or tack ;) :p

Team first before the individual mate.

Always been my position.

Whatever will be better for the side and gets us closer to 17.

If we have to break a few hearts along the way then so be it.

By the way, reckon Gibbs would be pretty happy at either Adelaide or Port.

Would become the number 1 midfeilder in either team, would be a shoe in for the captaincy (for either team) a lot earlier, would be back in his home State, and wouldnt have Juddy and Murph stealing all those Brownlow votes.

Its a win for all parties.

It's not a win for all parties as we lose an A-grader (when we could give up far less) for potential in Tippett or Trengove.....neither are shoo-ins to be the Buddy or Brown you are arguiing for.

Far from a win. Lunacy I would have said.

How about Trengrove and a top ten pick?

Or Trengrove and Boak?

TBH I don't enjoy this public speculation on trades that nobody has control over anyway.

I'll end by saying how about we just target and try to get across a Trengove without giving up a core member of our midfield group?

over and out.

Is It Time For Tough Decisions?