JA nominates for the Pre-Season Draft

Same league of w***erage or same league of playing ability? By god I hope you meant the former.

either or, although i can't see anyone usurping the w***er crown from carey any time soon. i'm not comparing the two, just saying that being an arrogant forward isn't exactly against type.

It behooves me to point out that JA would have not been privvy to the planned trades we got over the line so he would have had no idea that both Tarrant, a direct competitor for his spot and Krakour also a likely competitor would be on our list come the end of the week. Secondly, it's been suggested he was shopped around for trade but I reckon that is unlikely as he would have found his way into the Freo trade is that was the case. Thirdly the club would have been keeping him waiting regards any contract extension until Trade week was done.
What else do you think he could do?

Sadly JA faced with the, still not yet completed, list for next year which had Tarrant and Krak, saw a "brick wall" in front of the spot he saw himself filling. A "brick wall" which was not there this season, and still got him little game time.

I can't get the least bit dirty on JA. In the end he has done the only thing he could have if he wanted to play AFL in the near future, which is not only his right but the reason a player nominates in the first place.

If you want to start sounding like Saint's supporters go for it, but at least pick the situation which warrants it.

On another related note, I would have preferred to see that announcement on the Pies site with a thank you to Jack before the HUN. We should aim to be the best at everything, even farewelling leaving players.

Good luck Jack.:thumbsu:

What does that even mean? Clubs don't have the choice to act like ratbags and rip up contracts when injuries happen. When his contract was up for renewal, obviously the club was satisfied he could still play footy, which has proved correct. The club was simply acting in its best interest.

Jack, too, is simply acting in his best interest. If anyone here Jack's age suggests that they would take a 1 year contract over a 3 year contract (with better pay and opportunities) they're either a liar or a moron.

The only thing I'm disappointed in is that we didn't have the foresight to move him when we had the chance - if the club were only ever going to offer him 1 year, they should have known he'd go.

Can't believe some of the bitterneess here.

JA was a god Collingwood player, worked his butt off to get back to football and was very good for us in 2009. Unfortunately, due to circumstances he found himself out of the side in 2010 and it looks a long road back. You're a long time retired and he's much better off pursuing senior opportunities at other clubs, and good luck to him.

I wish him well, but do hope he goes to one of the bottom clubs, as I don't want to see a contender strengthened.

As for the trade, I think we probably weren't committed enough to trading him until we got Taz over the line. That deal was done late and we had little time to find a home for JA. I'm sure there were plenty of clubs encouraging him into the PSD as well.

GOOD LUCK JA, and thanks for your good service at the Collingwood Football Club.

Geez there have been some immature reactions to JA's decision in this thread. The above posts sum up the situation the best for mine. People moaning that he has dogged us and we could have gotten compensation are totally ignoring how late the Tarrant deal got done in trade week which effectively left Anthony with no time to sum up his future given his changed circumstances.

And this is why people like you give a great club like Collingwood a bad name. This is why people hate Collingwood and their supporters. Lose him for nothing hey?

Just because I'm a Cats fan, I can't be held accountable for what some other bitter Cats fans are saying/thinking.

The ironing is delicious. I think you should heed your own advice mate.

Will really hurt our depth down both ends long term. I expect we will look to add some KPPs now.

This is what i'm thinking now. And Hine doesn't do things by half measures. I wouldn't be surprised to see him pull the trigger on two key position players with our first two back to back picks. Our depth at key forward is now a real concern.

Disappointed that he's gone but couldn't see where he would fit into the 22 next year, barring injury. IF there are injuries to KPPs though we're going to miss him.

Sorry, to see him go and would have been nice to get something in return but these things happen.

Comparisons with Luke Ball are silly (as others have already said) given that St Kilda had the chance to get something for him, whereas we never really had that opportunity with JA. You would imagine someone would have given at least a 3rd round pick for him, maybe 2nd if we were lucky.

being a dangerous forward and being a w***er can be synonymous, ala w***er carey, not that JA can be regarded in the same league yet, so he's one player where i don't give a stuff about his attitude. if he goes to freo and gets a good preseason under his belt, then our forward line looks much better.

does this also make collingwood more vulnerable next season, in terms of depth? given their backline has just aged with the addition of an increasingly injury-prone tarrant and retention of presti (who wasn't best 22 last season)? makes the race to top four next year a much more interesting prospect.

It leaves our key forward depth alot thinner but our defensive depth is better than last year considering Tarrants inclusion.

the way some of my fellow fremantle supporters are talking, you would think he had already signed on the dotted line, and gone through the PSD. To be honest id be suprised if he would still be available to us come our PSD selection, and until JA states publicly that he wants to play for us, im going to assume that it is all still up in the air. i reckon GC would be in the box seat here, as they simply dont have a FF yet.

on the tarrant/anthony thing. the way tarrant acted during trade week was pretty childish, but in reality we probably dug our on grave by not trading him to a vic club at the end of last year, he always tried his arse off when playing for us, and the fremantle supporters who think he was poor in his first couple of years for us are either ill-informed or simply jumped on the tarrant bashing bandwagon. He averaged over 20 possessions as a full-forward/half forward, his field kicking was excellent, and if he had of kicked straight would have been a raging success. ironically it was his poor kicking in his first couple of years that saved his career by prompting the move to the backline. he gave us 3 1/2 good years IMO so im not bitter about anything except his childish "collingwood or retirment" threats, if he had of shut his mouth, then a lot of resentment would have been saved

as for JA, if he comes to freo id be stoked, if the tarrant deal had of been done earlier than you may have very well gotten something for him, but the bitterness towards him is a little suprising given he wasnt in your best 22 during a premiership year :confused: so whats the problem?

People just don't like losing a player for nothing when he had promise to be a good player and we stuck by him when he wasn't getting games.

As far as depth goes it does put us back a bit but if you look at the premiership side both Presti and Tarrant would be ahead of him, and Keeffe must be close to getting a game as well. He's probably more of a loss up forward than down back, but I don't think we really need him.

A fully fit John Anthony would have been great, but as we saw in the 2010 season he's not a loss to the team as such, he's a loss to our potential improvement for 2011, but he hardly played well for us in 2010 and we dominated games.

And I think the only way I can see JA getting to Freo would be if he nominated for the National Draft. There are too many teams before Freo in the PSD.

You get some you lose some. I will always love Jack, he brought so much excitement to use last season and with the winning goal against the Crows was just sensational. You cant blame the bloke for leaving if he has more oportunity at another club and you cant hate him becuase he is not a Collingwood player anymore. I hope he kills it where he goes except if he goes to Carlton. Good Luck in the future Jack.

That's a cute rant Invig, but it also happens to be nonsensical. You can't both understand why someone does something but at the same time be bitter enough to wish them ill.

My issue isn't with him leaving, it's how he chose to do it. I don't begrudge him for looking for greater opportunities (although I question whether they may even be present, clubs didn't seem to go out of their way to enquire about him during TW), I'm bitter that in choosing to do so he left us without compensation - something he didn't have to do.

I don't particularly like that he left either, I do begrudge him to an extent but that comes solely from the illogical one eyed supporter in me. I understand he as simply a player drafted to this club he obviously isn't going to harbour the same loyalty and commitment that we as supporters do.

You can be bitter about the situation, but directing your bile at JA is asinine.

The situation Jack caused? The majority that are angry are angry about the timing of his departure, not the departure itself.
I mean if a club had put a 3 year offer to him during trade week and we only offered 1 year you wouldn't hear a bad word said against the man. Instead we have a bloke who wasn't wanted by anyone during trade week, elected to sit and stew over his contract offer at Collingwood only to ultimately decide the luck of the draft was better than the offer he currently had from us.
Our offered deal might be average, but it's better than anything that came his way during trade week evidently or why else wouldn't he have grabbed at it then (i.e. demanded a trade)?

At the end of the day he has stiffed us and I think people are entitled to feel pissed off at him.

Noticed you aren't a mod any more, disappointing, I always enjoyed your work. Hope you are still intending on sticking around?

dam i like JA but this is a good career decision.
i think hes underrated and being only 22yo could kick some serious ass in future.
big loss to our depth if injuries hit too oh well. tbh i would love to see have great career and rub it in collngwoods face

Haha, love the post Invig, graphics and all.:D:thumbsu:

Yep, John Anthony is a nobody now, just another squib player from another irrelevant club.

There's only one club that counts, and they wear Black and White stripes, and oh yeah, WON THE FLAG WITHOUT YOU (Jack).:thumbsu::D

I could easily be wrong but I have a feeling him wanting to stay at Collingwood caused this situation. When he was recruited he was over the moon that it was Collingwood who picked him up. If you look up on YouTube the interview he did with the club when he was drafted you could see he was stoked.

Us recruiting Tarrant late I feel is what caused him to have to weigh things up and realise that this could be his last shot at being an AFL player. He wouldn't have realised he wanted to leave the club until he sat down and weighed it all up, which is a bit hard to do, especially when you enjoy being at the club and the only reason you want to leave is to get a game.

Like I said it might not have gone this way at all, but it's easy to point the finger and say "why didn't he request a trade during trade week" and say he's weak and all this sort of crap.

Yes people have a right to wish Jack well and yes they have the same right to criticise him.

And yes Jack has the same right to do what's best for him without any consideration to the above rights of others.

on the tarrant/anthony thing. the way tarrant acted during trade week was pretty childish, he gave us 3 1/2 good years IMO so im not bitter about anything except his childish "collingwood or retirment" threats, if he had of shut his mouth, then a lot of resentment would have been saved

The thing is, it was Tarrants manager who said this not Taz. No where has it been quoted as this is what Taz said?

Paul Connors says to Taz "who do you want to play for?"
Taz says "Pies. The premiers"
Connors says " OK. What if another club is interested would you like to go anywhere in Victoria?".
Taz "Well... Let's see if we can get to the Pies 1st"

Connors acting in the best interests of his client to get the outcome his client wants uses whatever tactic he has available to him.

Also on JA, yep disappointed we didn't get anything for him and there is no way I'd wish a player from an opposition team the best of luck, but I hope he has a good run with injuries. He wouldn't have decided that he really wanted to leave until the Taz trade went through when he knew he'd just been knocked down the pecking order. Not much time to get a deal done then, although he knew full well we were chasing Taz.

Key forwards-Trav & Dawesome
Key Backs - Reid & Nate Brown

Leroy can go forward (possibly bringing in Wood to ruck), Taz forward or back and Presti would go back.

JA would have been the 3rd string option behind these guys and would have gotten very little game time. Time to move on for him.

The thing is, it was Tarrants manager who said this not Taz. No where has it been quoted as this is what Taz said?

Paul Connors says to Taz "who do you want to play for?"
Taz says "Pies. The premiers"
Connors says " OK. What if another club is interested would you like to go anywhere in Victoria?".
Taz "Well... Let's see if we can get to the Pies 1st"

Connors acting in the best interests of his client to get the outcome his client wants uses whatever tactic he has available to him.

Also on JA, yep disappointed we didn't get anything for him and there is no way I'd wish a player from an opposition team the best of luck, but I hope he has a good run with injuries. He wouldn't have decided that he really wanted to leave until the Taz trade went through when he knew he'd just been knocked down the pecking order. Not much time to get a deal done then, although he knew full well we were chasing Taz.

Key forwards-Trav & Dawesome
Key Backs - Reid & Nate Brown

Leroy can go forward (possibly bringing in Wood to ruck), Taz forward or back and Presti would go back.

JA would have been the 3rd string option behind these guys and would have gotten very little game time. Time to move on for him.

still trying to find the article that quoted tarrant, but havent yet, he did go from, trying to help the club secure a trade, to collingwood or retirement, the moment the words draft tampering were mentioned he backed down. anyway irregardless, a deal was done, im not bitter, i just wish he had of handled himself better then there would be far less resentment. If it was the managers fault (which im almost certain it wasnt) then he should have reigned him in...

So...exactly what were you expecting Freo to get if he retired?
If these were his options, Pies or retire, and he promised to get as much for Freo as he could then you can't complain as it was either a pick or nothing....there were no other options.
You're just imposing what you believe he should have delivered on what he could actually deliver.

So...exactly what were you expecting Freo to get if he retired?
If these were his options, Pies or retire, and he promised to get as much for Freo as he could then you can't complain as it was either a pick or nothing....there were no other options.
You're just imposing what you believe he should have delivered on what he could actually deliver.

there are a few of us who are of the belief that it would have been better for us to see chris retire. it certainly doesnt help us giving the best team in the league one of the top two full backs in the league. we will see who we pick up with pick 55, heres hoping for another mick barlow

Re: JA off to Blues

The reason why some pies fans are bitter on him is he gave us no chance to get anything for him, making his decision this late.

This sentence sums up this thread, the people with a chip on their shoulder are pissed off we didn't get a pick for him and view that as selfish from JA....

NEWSFLASH, our season finished on the 2nd of October and trade week started the three days later! You can't make a decision of this magnitude in three days. He would've thought long and hard about it, and the fact it took him ages to figure out what he wanted to do with himself shows how big of a decision it was.

There is no way he wanted to screw Collingwood over, it was the circumstances that didn't allow him to make a decision before trade week.

The bitter people need to give him a break, he's a kid wanting an opportunity, have the decency to thank him for his service then move on.

This is what i'm thinking now. And Hine doesn't do things by half measures. I wouldn't be surprised to see him pull the trigger on two key position players with our first two back to back picks. Our depth at key forward is now a real concern.

With Jack gone it is just a case of move on and adjust to the situation.

Particularly up forward it really hurts us because I feel Tarrant is much better down back than he is up forward. L.Brown short term can play KPF if an injury hits which means we probably play a little shorter and play Caff at full forward for minor minutes.

With Rocca, Rusling and Jack all gone from the forwardline we need to add more talent up forward pronto.

My draft plan was purely based on Jack staying which is why all along I wanted to add high hurt factor medium forwards. But with him now going it opens up a new path because we don't have that young player anymore who can comfortably come in and play AFL standard footy down both ends which isn't ideal and does hurt us long term, so we do need to do something about it now.

Tarrant + L.Brown figure to have around 2 years left in them each so it would be ideal to add the appropriate KPPs now.

The problem with entering the draft at 45 is that the top end KPPs are all well gone. But this is a good draft for KPPs none the less so maybe we can get 1-3 late-rookie KPPs.

Ben Brown is a really natural forward so he would be my choice late. Obviously L.Brown replacement which makes him ideal if he develops as hoped.

As a rookie would look to add the best available KPD and really hope that works out.

Around the 45 position Tom Gordon and Alex Johnson might be interesting KPP prospects. Both have the ability to play down either end. Of the pair Gordon is the more talented but Johnson seems like a Collingwood type pick because he seems to have the right personality.

Maybe something like:
45: Sam Crocker and if not available then Daniel Farmer *both high hurt factor HFFs who have the versatility to play other positions. could with a bit of luck release Beams into the midfield. if both available then I would still use 45+46 on these*
46: Tom Gordon/ Alex Johnson *depends on who is available. maybe both are and we get a choice. but two of the better options*
59: Matthew Rankine *ideal crumbing forward who again has high hurt factor. much better option than Milera*
72: Ben Brown *Leigh Brown replacement*

rookie:
*Min 1-2 KPP.
If a Darcy Barden slides to the rookie draft he is a possibility. Otherwise there are a few appealing KPDs around the 194cm mark who could potentially be decent pickups.

Re: JA off to Blues

It's not like Luke Ball at all though because he made it clear on the first day of trade week that he wanted to go to Collingwood, which gave St.Kilda a full week to organise a trade. That didn't happen in this instance though.

There's circumstances for why this occured.

Our season finished 3 days before trade week. This is not enough time for Jack to weigh up his playing future with so many uncertainties i.e. Presti's decision and Tarrant's pending arrival.

The other main factor was the Tarrant deal getting done 30mins before the deadline. This left Jack in limbo in terms of what he wanted to do. There simply was insufficient time for player and club to find a suitable suitor and/or deal. There is no doubt that Tarrant's arrival complicated things alot more for Jack, who would have been planning to stay.

At the end of the day, he had to do what was in his best interests with the circumstances in place. Not his fault.

If he regains his 2009 form he'd walk into just about any club.
I'm not sure about that. I think he's on the border at a number of clubs, but there is also an opening at some of them for him.
Just like Luke Ball, Jack had to do what was in his best interests. Only difference here is both Collingwood and Jack are not bitter and have not burnt any bridges.
It's not like Luke Ball at all though because he made it clear on the first day of trade week that he wanted to go to Collingwood, which gave St.Kilda a full week to organise a trade. That didn't happen in this instance though otherwise it definitely would have been reported that he was determined to move on.

I don't think he knew which club he wanted to play for in trade week though, and that is the reason he didn't ask to be traded, and he still doesn't really know now, except that he no longer wants to be at Collingwood. It seems that he didn't do as much as he could to make sure that Collingwood received compensation, and that is poor.

JA nominates for the Pre-Season Draft