Oppo Camp Jaidyn Stephenson (Traded to Nth Melb. 2020)

Should This Thread Be Kept Open?

• Yes

Votes: 30 54.5%
  • No

Votes: 25 45.5%

He does say in his interview that the condition is still not diagnosed. I don't quite see that this equates with an all clear. Other clubs ruled out taking him. We need a KPP and didn't get one at either pick. We gambled but hopefully won't lose. But in retrospect I am not so convinced by our selections as I was immediately after the draft.

He actually said "I'm not really in a diagnosable area for the disease, or whatever it is".

Some reports mentioned it was an irregular heart beep.Though that has not been confirmed.

Reading that comment from him, it reads as though the issue isn't serious enough to be diagnosed as a fully fledged heart condition.

He actually said "I'm not really in a diagnosable area for the disease, or whatever it is".

Some reports mentioned it was an irregular heart beep.Though that has not been confirmed.

Reading that comment from him, it reads as though the issue isn't serious enough to be diagnosed as a fully fledged heart condition.
Nevertheless, I have changed my opinion on Stephenson and now believe we should have gone for a KPP or Fogarty with the first pick.

Another awful decision by the club. When you are a top 4 team, there's room for the 'left-field' call. When you are a perpetually declining team like ours, you take the best available. He's got a f*cking heart condition for absolute f*ck's sake.

We are completely screwed with these clowns running the show.

I can reassure you that his heart condition is very manageable. He has about the same risk of dying in a plane accident than encountering issues with his heart. The cardiologist who gave advice is a world leader in this field.

Saints wouldn't have taken Stephenson with either of their 2 picks, multiple club doctors from other clubs put a line through him.

After saying no to a few guns over the years due to our club doctor's not ticking it off, lets hope the one we do go for doesn't bite us in the ass.

Heart issue aside though, his attitude and work rate is first class.

If he stays healthy, we have a kid who is going to bust his ass to become the best player he can, will play senior footy next year.

Agreed. But he isn't risk free. Other clubs were not prepared take him. I think he's a gamble we could ill afford to make. We have many injury prone and riddled players and top 10 picks don't grow on trees.
All players are a risk. His condition has been assessed as not being a problem by medical specialists.

So does Stephenson, a need for speed.
1*p-9HyEY9R2zbHCq1dQydrw.gif

I love this guy!

Sent from my MHA-L09 using Tapatalk

Thanks for that. Just to sum up his comments on the heart.
  • "Irregularity of the electrics of the heart"
  • "Nothing been proven or diagnosed yet"
  • "No worries at all".
  • Takes medication three times a day as a precaution.

Was a Brisbane Lions supporter growing up, because they were winning flags when he was a kid. Delist!

Agreed. But he isn't risk free. Other clubs were not prepared take him. I think he's a gamble we could ill afford to make. We have many injury prone and riddled players and top 10 picks don't grow on trees.

In my opinion, Stephenson's 'heart condition' --which is the tabloid phrase which has been getting some use over the past week-- doesn't make him any more injury-prone than other prospects. On the contrary he seems quite durable, and the green light given by specialists in the field is enough for me.

Of course Stephenson is a risk, but then I'd say that no draft prospect is risk-free. Some of them have a more problematic injury history than Stephenson. Some of them are from interstate and at risk of going home after two years in the system. Some of them seem like KPPs today but will simply develop into big-bodied midfielders. The point is that the draft is necessarily speculative, given that the prospects within it have yet to develop as either footballers or as people.

Stephenson is a gamble I'm happy with. The KPP prospects were underwhelming, and we instead settled for a player who has shown an ability to kick goals from all angles on both feet, an aggressive runner who likes to break lines, and a player who seems as capable to winning his own ball as much as he loves the uncontested stuff. I don't deny that Collingwood need more KPPs, but our list overall is also crying out for more elite talent, and that is the need which I think Stephenson can help to fill quite nicely.

He does say in his interview that the condition is still not diagnosed. I don't quite see that this equates with an all clear. Other clubs ruled out taking him. We need a KPP and didn't get one at either pick. We gambled but hopefully won't lose. But in retrospect I am not so convinced by our selections as I was immediately after the draft.

Show me the interview if you can find it please mate.

I heard from an article that he said he is not in a "diagnosable area for the disease" because it's only borderline and his sister has it as well and plays netball.

If he is managing it with prescribed medication then that at least gives me some peace of mind that the doctors do know what the ailment is.

Not all heart conditions are interimly serious.

Heart condition is a very scary word. People see that or hear that and immediately think the worst.

I have a heart condition. A valve defect. But it's not going to affect me or my athletic performance during my life (at least until my body breaks down after age 60 where I'll probably need a valve replacement but who doesn't have issues after that age?l)

In other words, it's mild. But it's still a heart condition.

Obviously what Jaidyn has is a little more severe than mine noting the fact he is on medication and I am not, but I have seen top cardiologists and geez do they know what they are doing. Best of the best. For Jaidyn's condition to be signed off by multiple cardiologists and doctors then I am completely reassured he will have a long AFL career should he turn out to be a good player.

I can reassure you that his heart condition is very manageable. He has about the same risk of dying in a plane accident than encountering issues with his heart. The cardiologist who gave advice is a world leader in this field.
How/why are you speaking with such apparent authority?

Another awful decision by the club. When you are a top 4 team, there's room for the 'left-field' call. When you are a perpetually declining team like ours, you take the best available. He's got a f*cking heart condition for absolute f*ck's sake.

We are completely screwed with these clowns running the show.
ty for your opinion dr lovelace