Player Watch Jordan De Goey

Clarifying my Auskick comment: there would be some parents who'd have an issue and as De Goey ages, if he keeps offending, sending him down to the clinic just looks like a bad idea. De Goey might make an appearance at a centre at some point. BUT his overall ability to do community work is lesser and there will always be the tag. Think of players who have made poor choices repeatedlyGenerally, star players connect with the community because some want to, some have the requirement to but also the club wants to use it for their gain. If you sent Jack Crisp, it's not going to be reported better and flip into a media opportunity for good rather than the line we've all heard "Collingwood bad boy Jordan De Goey." That's what I was trying to say.

The irony is, of course, if your kiddies are hanging out with Jordy, you have a lot more certainty than if the little ones are hanging out with some child worker who managed to get a work with children permit....

I remember a case of hundreds of boys who went to christian brothers schools and their parents thought they were being taught to be responsible men - although I must admit you can only question the sanity of people sending their kids to catholic schools

Clarifying my Auskick comment: there would be some parents who'd have an issue and as De Goey ages, if he keeps offending, sending him down to the clinic just looks like a bad idea. De Goey might make an appearance at a centre at some point. BUT his overall ability to do community work is lesser and there will always be the tag. Think of players who have made poor choices repeatedlyGenerally, star players connect with the community because some want to, some have the requirement to but also the club wants to use it for their gain. If you sent Jack Crisp, it's not going to be reported better and flip into a media opportunity for good rather than the line we've all heard "Collingwood bad boy Jordan De Goey." That's what I was trying to say.
No. You looked back on your shit comment and have made a fanciful attempt to turn it into something else. At least have the balls to own it. That you chose to chuck a laugh emoji at me when I initially pulled you up on it shows exactly where you are.

2 actually - both young adults. I find the question of whether I would like one of them to be with DeGoey a little insulting to my daughters - not for me to like or dislike. That is their decision.

Although if he showed up on my doorstep with one of them I would have absolutely no worries.

That you suggest otherwise just tells me you are easily swayed by the media.

So let's play hypothetical, your daughter comes home, introduces you to her new lad, later on she let's you know that he has been charged with sexual assault twice, but the charges were bullshit and didn't stick.

You are just cool calm and collected and just giving her your blessing. No concern at all there?

So let's play hypothetical, your daughter comes home, introduces you to her new lad, later on she let's you know that he has been charged with sexual assault twice, but the charges were bullshit and didn't stick.

You are just cool calm and collected and just giving her your blessing. No concern at all there?
Lol

oh comeon.....jordan - if he was a normal type person - could have assumed that if he was in a crew of instagram posters and he was partying, that it would end up on instagram....and with his history, it was going to make front page news, whether or not he grabbed at a top .....

a normal person would have foreseen that...

I dont think that he did anything wrong. He didnt disrespect women or anything like that. Certainly, nothing more than thousands of jocks in the community who conduct their lives in a similar way to Jordan.

You can blame the media for this obsession but its the average punters out there ...the average population... who want to be entertained by this stuff. If John Ralph left the scene, he would be replaced by a similar type doing similar things.

People having a go at the club should realise that the AFL was looking over its shoulder. The AFL get a lot of funding from government and it is based on the premise that the sport will promote good healthy behaviours in the population. Because of that, there are a lot of people now associated with the Pies who couldnt give a crap about whether it wins a premiership, or even whether it does well. They are using the sport to drive their agenda regarding women's rights.

I dont say that we should accept women getting bashed or killed. I'd like to get to the men who do this to women and put them out of business - by any means necessary. I'd like to shake some sense into men who think that women are incapable. However, the government people and the corporate people and others are using footballers as a blunt instrument to teach the community not to bash or kill......good luck with that strategy..

So into this comes Jordan. I accept he is one of those types who have one of those traditional male attitudes to his mates, women and having a good time. Hopefully, he doesn't bash women but he might be the type of guy who shares a few stories with his mates.....you know the stuff that males have been doing for thousands of years. I must admit that I dont really like these types of guys but others can judge.

If I'm right about Jordan, he wouldnt be a particularly empathetic type of guy and he's probably not used to catering to the restrictions others put on him. But when he signed on for AFL, he signed on....he signed on....he accepted the money - probably elevated by all the government and corporate support - and he agreed to abiding by this system that puts restrictions on his behaviour.

Now, you can say that it isnt fair ...or unnecessary ....or doesnt achieve anything and I would agree with you on all counts. However, he needed to know that he was risking the scenario that eventuated.

I wouldnt want him to admit to doing anything wrong or of disrespecting women, but I would like him to acknowledge that any reasonable person would have anticipated what happened to him and that he has compromised the goals of all the team-mates and others at the club. He has done that by his actions. Yes, the media might have ignored his highjinks but every single person on the planet knows that the media does not ignore these situations.

Accept the responsibility. Accept that you signed a contract and some restrictions came with it....and get on with it.
Well said.

The only issue is this:

I wouldnt want him to admit to doing anything wrong or of disrespecting women, but I would like him to acknowledge that any reasonable person would have anticipated what happened to him and that he has compromised the goals of all the team-mates and others at the club.

The reality is that he has to admit to doing something wrong and disrespecting women, whether he did or not or believes it or not. Because that's just part of the current game - fake apologies to who knows who to give a slight appeasement to those who will then tear apart the fake apology.

Why do you always turn this into a male vs female thing?
Perhaps start your own thread in the Nest?

I live in an area that I wouldn't go out after 10pm and if I am out always ask security or a friend to see me to my car.

You and your experiences aren't necessarily the yardstick.
Simple Maggie- the media has once again made it a male/female thing. Headlines screaming Collingwood let down women, articles telling the world we are perpetuating a culture which demeans and disrespects women. Many on this forum writing about Degoey having a problem with women

You do t like the fact that I push back when I hear the relentless bashing of men and boys in our media and by our governments. I have never introduced the topic in all my time on Big Footy. I simply respond

Well said.

The only issue is this:

I wouldnt want him to admit to doing anything wrong or of disrespecting women, but I would like him to acknowledge that any reasonable person would have anticipated what happened to him and that he has compromised the goals of all the team-mates and others at the club.

The reality is that he has to admit to doing something wrong and disrespecting women, whether he did or not or believes it or not. Because that's just part of the current game - fake apologies to who knows who to give a slight appeasement to those who will then tear apart the fake apology.

I understand that....and I understand that it may be necessary. However, I said that I wouldnt like him to have to do that...

A lot of times, someone can say something like "I understand that many people believe my actions display a disrespect for women. I can see it from their point of view. However, I assure Pie fans and AFL fans yada yada ....."

and then he can go on to say something about wanting to get into Remy's pants etc etc...

Think you are confounding 2 decision-making principles here in your hypothetical:

1. As a society, rule of law works for property and liberty. This includes the presumption of individual innocence. As citizens this is worth upholding because its abandonment would have a very high cost. We are averaging our response over large numbers of interactions.

2. In the specific case, one's offspring is mixing with a previously accused for whom charges have been dropped, he sample size is that of 1 and the risk of harm is asymmetric. A rational response is to extend trust in small bets and test assumptions.

The problem with connecting the principles in the way that you have is to elevate a sense of threat so we abandon the rule of law and fairness.

No woman in my life has ever had a problem. Therefore. There is no problem.

Cool thinking.

"1 in 3 women (31.1%) has experienced physical and/or sexual violence perpetrated by a man they know."

That's in Australia.
It's a crock based on disingenuous surveys designed to bring the worst possible results. Did you know surveys about sexual abuse in universities include unwanted staring, being asked out on a date more than once by an unwanted suitor and other ridiculous actions?

If you truly believe one third of all females in Australia have been sexually assaulted or abused by a man they know you must believe that one third of your matesand male relatives are violent sexual abusers.
Commonsense tells us that no society with that level of rampant sexual violence and abuse could function let alone flourish.

It is absurd on its face.

That doesn't mean I don't care for the tiny minority who are victims of such abuse. I just don't swallow propaganda.

Violence once meant physical abuse. Now silence can be a form of violence as can withdrawal of sexual favours, economic control (both by men and women) shouting, threats, slamming doors and making someone feel unsafe- an entirely subjective experience.

This ensures the numbers remain high in these surveys and the public continues to accept the demonization of males in spite of all the evidence to the contrary.

Most men devote their lives to ensuring the females in their lives are happy and safe . Perhaps the media could write an article about this wonderful truth.

All talk and not a very good runner, bum hip.:(

Still true, people talk about Frankston but Broady not far behind, maybe even ahead now.
I was having some specific repairs on my Car (manufacture & install brushes), the only place I could find was in Somerton.
Dropped the car off early morning, decided a nice day for a 9 km stroll to Broadmeadows Central for a Cappuccino & wait for the car to be repaired.
Walked passed the old Ford Factory, then decided to cut through the suburb.
I was quite surprised…the area just felt unsafe to me (during the day), run down houses, lawns unkept, junk everywhere…reminded me of Hill Valley parallel universe in Back to the Future.
No disrespect…just my observation & feeling.
Nothing happened…although I was glad to arrive at Broadmeadows Central.
I caught an Uber back to collect my car.

Yours is a different scenario. I answered you on Jordan. What I know (note, know) of his indecent assault charge (I won't consider NY as even a charge), no problem.

Think you are confounding 2 decision-making principles here in your hypothetical:

1. As a society, rule of law works for property and liberty. This includes the presumption of individual innocence. As citizens this is worth upholding because its abandonment would have a very high cost. We are averaging our response over large numbers of interactions.

2. In the specific case, one's offspring is mixing with a previously accused for whom charges have been dropped, he sample size is that of 1 and the risk of harm is asymmetric. A rational response is to extend trust in small bets and test assumptions.

The problem with connecting the principles in the way that you have is to elevate a sense of threat so we abandon the rule of law and fairness.
If he started going out with one of my daughters, the biggest worry would be the reduction of the father-daughter dynamic to a single question, "When's Jordy coming 'round?".

It's a crock based on disingenuous surveys designed to bring the worst possible results. Did you know surveys about sexual abuse in universities include unwanted staring, being asked out on a date more than once by an unwanted suitor and other ridiculous actions?

If you truly believe one third of all females in Australia have been sexually assaulted or abused by a man they know you must believe that one third of your matesand male relatives are violent sexual abusers.
Commonsense tells us that no society with that level of rampant sexual violence and abuse could function let alone flourish.

That doesn't mean I don't care for the tiny minority who are victims of such abuse. I just don't swallow propaganda.

Violence once meant physical abuse. Now silence can be a form of violence as can withdrawal of sexual favours, economic control (both by men and women) shouting, threats, slamming doors and making someone feel unsafe- an entirely subjective experience.

This ensures the numbers remain high in these surveys and the public continues to accept the demonization of males in spite of all the evidence to the contrary.

Most men devote their lives to ensuring the females in their lives are happy and safe . Perhaps the media could write an article about this wonderful truth.

I am sincerely pleased that you have lived a life that has not seen these horrible events, but sexual assaults and physical assaults on women are a massive problem in today's society. Read pretty much any investigation into this topic and it will give you the same answer.

Or don't. Stay in a world where you will never have to look into a reality that you don't want to be true.

It doesn't have to be 1 in 3 men that perform the assault. One man can assault numerous women himself.

Yours is a different scenario. I answered you on Jordan. What I know (note, know) of his indecent assault charge (I won't consider NY as even a charge), no problem.

Haha, because you know him and the incidents so well right? You know how he footyballs and how all his team mates love him?

What a joke.

I was having some specific repairs on my Car (manufacture & install brushes), the only place I could find was in Somerton.
Dropped the car off early morning, decided a nice day for a 9 km stroll to Broadmeadows Central for a Cappuccino & wait for the car to be repaired.
Walked passed the old Ford Factory, then decided to cut through the suburb.
I was quite surprised…the area just felt unsafe to me (during the day), run down houses, lawns unkept, junk everywhere…reminded me of Hill Valley parallel universe in Back to the Future.
No disrespect…just my observation & feeling.
Nothing happened…although I was glad to arrive at Broadmeadows Central.
I caught an Uber back to collect my car.
Not offended, have seen similar. Although I don't live in Broadmeadows, (next suburb), it isn't really a safe area, drugs, alcohol etc.

I shop at Roxburgh Shopping Centre and avoid Broadmeadows unless I need to go to Bunnings.

For those who are interested in the facts, I normally believe what Joe Rogan tells me but some people out there might need more....

Simple Maggie- the media has once again made it a male/female thing. Headlines screaming Collingwood let down women, articles telling the world we are perpetuating a culture which demeans and disrespects women. Many on this forum writing about Degoey having a problem with women

You do t like the fact that I push back when I hear the relentless bashing of men and boys in our media and by our governments. I have never introduced the topic in all my time on Big Footy. I simply respond
Forget it, you just don't get it and have totally ignored my point.

ONG are you related to Mark Robinson