Player Watch Jordan De Goey

Guaranteed better weather in Bali than in FNQ at this time of year. And the night action looks way better in Bali than in Port Douglas.

Still a fair plane trip to both. I think the media have seen the name Degoey and gone to town with it. If the club approved him going whats the horrendous crime hes guilty of? Being a knob and flipping the bird? Dancing like a drunk uncle? 🤷‍♂️

Get a grip mate.

My response wasn’t to you, it was the poster who called it a “vile act”.

I can’t believe I’ve been transported back to the 1950s.
Music Video Sigh GIF by Old Dominion
elvis presley 50s GIF

Still a fair plane trip to both. I think the media have seen the name Degoey and gone to town with it. If the club approved him going whats the horrendous crime hes guilty of? Being a knob and flipping the bird? Dancing like a drunk uncle? 🤷‍♂️

What’s with the drunk uncle hate? We are people too.

I know GC. Jordy's not all good and he's not all bad. But he does have a tendency to look awful in social media footage which goes beyond his terrible dancing.

I agree, he is by all reports a good bloke, and kind with his time. For me, l was wrapped the way he had come back after the NY saga, he got fit, and playing great footy, but now it feels we're back to square one. Not saying what happened in Bali, compares to NY, in any shape or form.
The media will continue on this week, the reporting on TV this morning is ridiculous, calling it a boozed filled, wild trip to Bali. One night of drinking isn't booze filled. Hopefully we just stay the course this week and focus on GWS. Unfortunately the media will be doing their all to deter that from happening....

De G may well be a tool. Still he is a regular at my nephews school and I am informed has a natural way with these kids that face a lot of life challenges. Gets easily involved. That alone tells me he must have some good about him. My SIL did have a great photo taken one day of herself, her son, De G and Maynard ( who has been even better again down there). Mysteriously when it came to be cropped to be her phone photo Brayden and my nephew had disappeared
Perhaps he has a way with them because he is one of them.

In the soft science of health and fitness perhaps. Oops. Truth is no one can measure these things with any certainty so its just a guess. My guess would be its helps Jordy like it would have helped Swanny. I
I know GC. Jordy's not all good and he's not all bad. But he does have a tendency to look awful in social media footage which goes beyond his terrible dancing.
He has one of those heads.

I’m not a particular fan of DeGoey and am a little annoyed that this has dominated the headlines and become the circus that was so predictable when it became public knowledge that he chose to spend his break in Bali.I think it is fair to say that it wasn’t the wisest choice and best option for a short break, especially for someone of his history and profile. But having said that, this pile on is ludicrous and outrageous and is a textbook example of how media coverage and the subsequent narrative being driven out of that differs based on the individual and/or the club.

Imagine if DeGoey had been drinking whilst under concussion protocol, or punched on and gotten into a brawl with a team mate, or caught on video with a substantial bag of illegal drugs instead of committing the heinous crime of being a bogan and going to Bali whilst on a mid season break. The suggestion that sanctions including a suspension is warranted is utter rubbish, I hope the club does not get sucked into this and stands firm.

jathanas will have just suffered a week long training setback due to head explosion because you called health and fitness “soft science”.

Head hasn't exploded GC hit the nail on the head!

My degree is not in "sports science" and I see fisthand the amount of quackery and misinformation in that field. Recovery is well understood though. Rehydrate, eat well, sleep, & relax to be able to train again the next day. That's the privileged life of an elite athlete. Some are so talented and naturally gifted that they can party hard mid-season and still kick-butt. Most can't afford that ill-discipline.

You feel compelled to defend JDG because you (and GC) are aware of a human side to him that largely goes uncredited.

It's important that you bring that perspective to the discussion. It's helped me frame the situation in a more balanced way.

By the same token I think you are loathe to admit that it's a bad look and that he isn't doing himself any favours.

I’m not a particular fan of DeGoey and am a little annoyed that this has dominated the headlines and become the circus that was so predictable when it became public knowledge that he chose to spend his break in Bali.I think it is fair to say that it wasn’t the wisest choice and best option for a short break, especially for someone of his history and profile. But having said that, this pile on is ludicrous and outrageous and is a textbook example of how media coverage and the subsequent narrative being driven out of that differs based on the individual and/or the club.

Imagine if DeGoey had been drinking whilst under concussion protocol, or punched on and gotten into a brawl with a team mate, or caught on video with a substantial bag of illegal drugs instead of committing the heinous crime of being a bogan and going to Bali whilst on a mid season break. The suggestion that sanctions including a suspension is warranted is utter rubbish, I hope the club does not get sucked into this and stands firm.

The big question is will Remy get the coveted slot as Jordy’s Brownlow guest?

Kane Cornes and Matthew Lloyd on the Sunday Footy Show. Couldn’t disagree with them more. Lloyd’s big statement was that JDG has never made the best of himself, never finished top 5 in the B&F.

Except for his 4th last year.

Head hasn't exploded GC hit the nail on the head!

My degree is not in "sports science" and I see fisthand the amount of quackery and misinformation in that field. Recovery is well understood though. Rehydrate, eat well, sleep, & relax to be able to train again the next day. That's the privileged life of an elite athlete. Some are so talented and naturally gifted that they can party hard mid-season and still kick-butt. Most can't afford that ill-discipline.

You feel compelled to defend JDG because you (and GC) are aware of a human side to him that largely goes uncredited.

It's important that you bring that perspective to the discussion. It's helped me frame the situation in a more balanced way.

By the same token I think you are loathe to admit that it's a bad look and that he isn't doing himself any favours.

Not compelled at all. Having footage taken of him and then someone publishing it was the only piece of stupidity/bad decision-making.

You only have to look to the Dees’ dinner at Entrecôte (not just May, they were surely all on it) to see that there is plenty of in-season drinking (they weren’t on their mid-season break). That is something between Jordan and club. We shouldn’t be critical of that.

Not compelled at all. Having footage taken of him and then someone publishing it was the only piece of stupidity/bad decision-making.

You only have to look to the Dees’ dinner at Entrecôte (not just May, they were surely all on it) to see that there is plenty of in-season drinking (they weren’t on their mid-season break). That is something between Jordan and club. We shouldn’t be critical of that.

Yes, not only were they drinking mid season ( and presumably heavily in the case of a number of them)….they were all implicitly condoning May drinking whilst on concussion protocols by being there in his presence and doing nothing to stop it. . Every person there let the club down. Espec Melksham. How did he get that infection? Did he cover up his injury for a few days before finally getting it treated? But they will address that behind the scenes.