Player Watch Jordan De Goey

So you are basing your opinion on another double down click bait article from Rupert media?

How’s that quote at the end from this Foster person? Wowee. He’s now misogynistic for flirting around consensually with a woman? So that means he hates women?
That’s the second time I’ve seen misogyny used incorrectly in this thread in the past few pages. The first one didn’t surprise me, but someone from a womens advocacy group should know better. Astonished that she’d be outraged on behalf of a woman who has already publicly stated nothing to see here. Or maybe I shouldn’t be surprised at all…

For me this is all so much rubbish. Absolutely nothing to see except for the "perpetually outraged". I will say I haven't looked at the video and dont intend to but have heard the description. You cant make a judgement based on whats been presented. They are on a dancefloor, friends do all sorts of stuff on dancefloors and elsewhere , if you dont know them and whats going on its impossible to judge. Nuance, nuance nuance.

I will use a much more benign example. My partner and her friends (all 50+ agewise)are massive boob grabbers. Hand grabbing boob photo bomb, surprise her when you walk past her, do it to piss her off etc etc. Get them on a dancefloor and you up the ante, will they make "innappropriate" sexualised gestures to each other and the blokes? Yes. Will they simulate sex acts with or without consent? Yes. Will there be grabbing?Yes. Will they do this in public or private? Both.

Will people think they are over the top? At times for sure. Will they hog the dance floor? they will try to. Should anyone be perpetually and morally outraged? Yes clearly, but its a small group. Their young adult children. Of course one of their mates will chime in with "Nah, your mums grouse"

So I use this as one of 100's of examples people could come up with friends acting like idiots with each other and having fun. The girl in the video has come out strongly suggesting this is the case here. So there is nothing to see.

My hope is the club and the AFLPA come out and say we are glad Jordy had a great break in Bali, we reckon he is primed to have a great 2nd half of the season and we think the media preoccupation with stalking our players is creepy. A forlorn hope no doubt.

P.S Bailey Smiths suspension was rubbish and the only major player behaviour or recent times is the Melbourne fight. The only one I would have any concern over and it seems to get the wet lettuce leaf punishment. Staggering

There's enough leadership within the playing list to ensure that this won't negatively impact the group or set a bad standard for what's acceptable during a short break.

De Goey needs protection from the media and from himself. A more experienced and effective manager/minder would go a long way to both ends. He'd end up a better player and more importantly, someone who makes better life decisions.

We're as good as the advice we can afford/source. Jordy has better options than the ones he has chosen.

The media is guilty; there is no trash that would be deemed too low to publish for these ambulance chasing gutter journalists. I question whether this is broadcast worthy news.

That’s the second time I’ve seen misogyny used incorrectly in this thread in the past few pages. The first one didn’t surprise me, but someone from a womens advocacy group should know better. Astonished that she’d be outraged on behalf of a woman who has already publicly stated nothing to see here. Or maybe I shouldn’t be surprised at all…

Would be nice to know how many opinions the journo sought before finding the one that suited their narrative?

There's enough leadership within the playing list to ensure that this won't negatively impact the group or set a bad standard for what's acceptable during a short break.

De Goey needs protection from the media and from himself. A more experienced and effective manager/minder would go a long way to both ends. He'd end up a better player and more importantly, someone who makes better life decisions.

We're as good as the advice we can afford/source. Jordy has better options than the ones he has chosen.

The media is guilty; there is no trash that would be deemed too low to publish for these ambulance chasing gutter journalists. I question whether this is broadcast worthy news.

This should galvanise the playing group If anything. Us against the world. Jordy did nothing wrong.

Well said. Although I wouldn’t necessarily say he has not prioritised performance. A couple of days on the sauce doesn’t do any harm over the course of a season.

And for some players(guessing Jordy is one) they can benefit from the mental reset that a few days away can give. Sadly, he is now going to cop some unnecessary attention.

Shame the media don’t highlight the time he spent at a specialist school footy clinic or taking time out with a kid whose mum has MND. Both of which happened in the week before QB. Wonder if any of the hand wringers have done similar recently?

You'd be surprised. A big night out can impact one's training for days. It's one of those little 1% things that can have an accumulative effect.

Agree that this sh*tstorm will impact JDG's mental health and am concerned about this. No human should live under this scrutiny.

You'd be surprised. A big night out can impact one's training for days. It's one of those little 1% things that can have an accumulative effect.

Agree that this sh*tstorm will impact JDG's mental health and am concerned about this. No human should live under this scrutiny.

And just as likely the “happiness” derived from a few days’ RnR might have been a good carrot over the past months and/or make the training grind easier to get through over the coming months.

Don’t be a wowser!

As I've said before - JDG needs sympathy and special consideration- esp re dance moves - NEVER FORGET - he's a St Kevin's boy

This is absolute madness and the hypocrisy is palpable. Everyone in the media is so forgiving of Steven May who by his own admission was so out of control his team mate had to punch him out. He gets one week for drinking. The AFL say 1 week all good. DeGoey parties with consenting adults and the pitchforks are out. If gets suspended at all I will be extremely disgusted! Bias in the media is alive and well.

For me this is all so much rubbish. Absolutely nothing to see except for the "perpetually outraged". I will say I haven't looked at the video and dont intend to but have heard the description. You cant make a judgement based on whats been presented. They are on a dancefloor, friends do all sorts of stuff on dancefloors and elsewhere , if you dont know them and whats going on its impossible to judge. Nuance, nuance nuance.

I will use a much more benign example. My partner and her friends (all 50+ agewise)are massive boob grabbers. Hand grabbing boob photo bomb, surprise her when you walk past her, do it to piss her off etc etc. Get them on a dancefloor and you up the ante, will they make "innappropriate" sexualised gestures to each other and the blokes? Yes. Will they simulate sex acts with or without consent? Yes. Will there be grabbing?Yes. Will they do this in public or private? Both.

Will people think they are over the top? At times for sure. Will they hog the dance floor? they will try to. Should anyone be perpetually and morally outraged? Yes clearly, but its a small group. Their young adult children. Of course one of their mates will chime in with "Nah, your mums grouse"

So I use this as one of 100's of examples people could come up with friends acting like idiots with each other and having fun. The girl in the video has come out strongly suggesting this is the case here. So there is nothing to see.

My hope is the club and the AFLPA come out and say we are glad Jordy had a great break in Bali, we reckon he is primed to have a great 2nd half of the season and we think the media preoccupation with stalking our players is creepy. A forlorn hope no doubt.

P.S Bailey Smiths suspension was rubbish and the only major player behaviour or recent times is the Melbourne fight. The only one I would have any concern over and it seems to get the wet lettuce leaf punishment. Staggering

Do you feel objectivised when your man boobs are violated?

This is absolute madness and the hypocrisy is palpable. Everyone in the media is so forgiving of Steven May who by his own admission was so out of control his team mate had to punch him out. He gets one week for drinking. The AFL say 1 week all good. DeGoey parties with consenting adults and the pitchforks are out. If gets suspended at all I will be extremely disgusted! Bias in the media is alive and well.

Melksham got nothing , because it was deemed that May deserved what he got. Apparently it’s acceptable to swing punches in restaurants if the bloke you punched deserved it.

But it’s not acceptable to have fun at a nightclub on a sanctioned break.

Online outrage is the new form of village stocks - join in one and all

This is complicated. Again.☹️

I wish I’d never seen footage of JDG’s crass and boorish behaviour in Bali. But the hypocrisy from the footy media is breathtaking. Many of those condemning De Goey have behaved like that themselves, or wish they could.

The club can’t win with this one. If they suspend him - what is it for? He’s not done anything illegal, and the partying was amongst consenting adults. He let his hair down for a few days, after (as far as we know) a highly disciplined few months. And he’ll return to that this week.

As for the footage showing behaviour that the AFL doesn’t want to see - I have some sympathy for that. Many of you may not agree, but De Goey gives off aggressive entitled male vibes that I, and more than a few of my female friends, don’t like. I’ve had a lot of texts about this over the last 24 hours, including from other Pies supporters. Big Footy, I suggest, is not representative of our fan base and none of my female friends who follow the Pies come anywhere near this forum.

The AFL is putting a lot of work into respect for women, and whether you agree or not, the Bali footage is a disaster for this agenda. And it’s an agenda which is not going away.

But in saying that, JDG is not the Lone Ranger and I don’t think he should be hanged for footage of this behaviour, when plenty of others are - or would if they could - doing the same. Off camera.

He’s an example of why there’s more work to be done on education in this space. But not suspension.

In the meantime he’s a very good footballer who - I’m starting to think - parties like he plays. It’s his persona. I also don’t have to like him as a person.
The AFL would love to be able to box this issue up in a pretty carton and present it to the world in a PR blitz. But like the illicit drugs they is a very nuanced issue well beyond their scope to handle for mine. Inappropriate sexual touching is a serious issue and difficult to traverse. I dont think the way this has been handled helps at all.

The most outrageous part for me is the immediate judgement the media jump to and stoke. Dancefooor behaviour could fill a hundred doctorates. impossible for us to judge in this instance. We have to go on the word of the girl involved, surely that is by far the best indicator. After that why are we interested? Such behaviours would have occurred 1000's of times in Melbourne last night at clubs and pubs.

De G may well be a tool. Still he is a regular at my nephews school and I am informed has a natural way with these kids that face a lot of life challenges. Gets easily involved. That alone tells me he must have some good about him. My SIL did have a great photo taken one day of herself, her son, De G and Maynard ( who has been even better again down there). Mysteriously when it came to be cropped to be her phone photo Brayden and my nephew had disappeared

This is complicated. Again.

I wish I’d never seen footage of JDG’s crass and boorish behaviour in Bali. But the hypocrisy from the footy media is breathtaking. Many of those condemning De Goey have behaved like that themselves, or wish they could.

The club can’t win with this one. If they suspend him - what is it for? He’s not done anything illegal, and the partying was amongst consenting adults. He let his hair down for a few days, after (as far as we know) a highly disciplined few months. And he’ll return to that this week.

As for the footage showing behaviour that the AFL doesn’t want to see - I have some sympathy for that. Many of you may not agree, but De Goey gives off aggressive entitled male vibes that I, and more than a few of my female friends, don’t like. I’ve had a lot of texts about this over the last 24 hours, including from other Pies supporters. Big Footy, I suggest, is not representative of our fan base and none of my female friends who follow the Pies come anywhere near this forum.

The AFL is putting a lot of work into respect for women, and whether you agree or not, the Bali footage is a disaster for this agenda. And it’s an agenda which is not going away.

But in saying that, JDG is not the Lone Ranger and I don’t think he should be hanged for footage of this behaviour, when plenty of others are - or would if they could - doing the same. Off camera.

He’s an example of why there’s more work to be done on education in this space. But not suspension.

In the meantime he’s a very good footballer who - I’m starting to think - parties like he plays. It’s his persona. I also don’t have to like him as a person.
Well said

Melksham got nothing , because it was deemed that May deserved what he got. Apparently it’s acceptable to swing punches in restaurants if the bloke you punched deserved it.

But it’s not acceptable to have fun at a nightclub on a sanctioned break.
Didn’t May get the week for breaking concussion protocols?

In the soft science of health and fitness perhaps. Oops. Truth is no one can measure these things with any certainty so its just a guess. My guess would be its helps Jordy like it would have helped Swanny. I

jathanas will have just suffered a week long training setback due to head explosion because you called health and fitness “soft science”.

Agree and unfortunately this may now cost him a contract extension at Pies.
Besides being silly enough to let someone video him being out, he has done nothing different to what many 26 yr old single guys/gals go out and do at the end of the working week.

And just as likely the “happiness” derived from a few days’ RnR might have been a good carrot over the past months and/or make the training grind easier to get through over the coming months.

Don’t be a wowser!

Not being a wowser, I wouldn't bedrudge anyone some RnR. I understand that for some the benefits of pressure relief during the season outweigh the dehydration effects of a severe handover and we're not even sure that JDG did in fact get sloshed.

I'm with you, this is over-the-top. By the same token this behaviour is not consistent with the recovery habits of elite athletes. Soft-science or not. :)

P.S: This is a small but significant moment (for me) as it's the first time I quote and reply to both of you in a BF post. Are you crazy b*stards teaming up on me?

Not being a wowser, I wouldn't bedrudge anyone some RnR. I understand that for some the benefits of pressure relief during the season outweigh the dehydration effects of a severe handover and we're not even sure that JDG did in fact get sloshed.

I'm with you, this is over-the-top. By the same token this behaviour is not consistent with the recovery habits of elite athletes. Soft-science or not. :)

P.S: This is a small but significant moment (for me) as it's the first time I quote and reply to both of you in a BF post. Are you crazy b*stards teaming up on me?
Once you've recognised this site is full of "crazy b*stards" you are well on the road to recovery.

The AFL would love to be able to box this issue up in a pretty carton and present it to the world in a PR blitz. But like the illicit drugs they is a very nuanced issue well beyond their scope to handle for mine. Inappropriate sexual touching is a serious issue and difficult to traverse. I dont think the way this has been handled helps at all.

The most outrageous part for me is the immediate judgement the media jump to and stoke. Dancefooor behaviour could fill a hundred doctorates. impossible for us to judge in this instance. We have to go on the word of the girl involved, surely that is by far the best indicator. After that why are we interested? Such behaviours would have occurred 1000's of times in Melbourne last night at clubs and pubs.

De G may well be a tool. Still he is a regular at my nephews school and I am informed has a natural way with these kids that face a lot of life challenges. Gets easily involved. That alone tells me he must have some good about him. My SIL did have a great photo taken one day of herself, her son, De G and Maynard ( who has been even better again down there). Mysteriously when it came to be cropped to be her phone photo Brayden and my nephew had disappeared
I know GC. Jordy's not all good and he's not all bad. But he does have a tendency to look awful in social media footage which goes beyond his terrible dancing.

Im till trying to figure out what he’s done so wrong for the dickhead media to meltdown like this. Not a great look heading to Bali I guess but what’s the difference between Bali and hundreds of other players heading to Cairns, Darwin etc?

Guaranteed better weather in Bali than in FNQ at this time of year. And the night action looks way better in Bali than in Port Douglas.

"I blame all those rule changes - the players are confused - need time off - then do crazy things - where is Bali anyway?"

Screenshot_20220619-093612~2.png