Traded Josh Dunkley - [Traded with F3 (Melb), F3 to Brisbane for #21, F1, F2, F4 (Geel)]

I doubt we would want to push all the Dunkley assets out a year. We need talent in asap.
We can take picks after trade period is over so we could get into this year's first round (potentially)

I think this whole idea that trades set "benchmarks" is just a massive furphy, tbh.

Player worth is independent of how stupid another team was or wasn't. Trades exist on a huge spectrum - from those that hugely advantage the buyer (Josh Kennedy for a spare training footy, Patrick Dangerfield for p9, p28 and a fringe player), to those that hugely advantage the seller (Jesse Hogan 1st time, Dayne Beams every time).

21, F1, F2 & F2 for Dunks & 39.
Depends on whose Future 2.

Assume Brisbane finish top four again next year with Dunkley, Ashcroft and Gunston. Their F1 is therefore 15 to 18, and their F2 is therefore 32 to 36, after bids.

If it's, say, North Melbourne or West Coast's F2, which should be around p20, then I'd accept it.

So it's still two first rounders or PSD. There's no need for Brisbane to get to cute and they should have just done the deal if they want him that badly. Pickering sounds like he's starting to panic.

Feels like we're all keen for this to fall over.

We don't have to get cute with anything. We had to get our points sorted which we almost have now, in spite of Dogs teeth gnashing and stomping their foot through media when pick 15 got downgraded. Not waiting for you to make up your mind on Dunkley trade was the correct decision and it has worked out well for us overall.

Depends on whose Future 2.

Assume Brisbane finish top four again next year with Dunkley, Ashcroft and Gunston. Their F1 is therefore 15 to 18, and their F2 is therefore 32 to 36, after bids.

If it's, say, North Melbourne or West Coast's F2, which should be around p20, then I'd accept it.
The 2x F2s are Brisbanes and Geelongs, so expecting both to be top 4 again it’s effectively something like 21, ~16, ~32, ~36 for 39 & Dunks. It’s a very good deal for them still but I suspect we’d take it and it’s probably roughly the equivalent of 2x mid-late firsts as we’ve requested

We don't have to get cute with anything. We had to get our points sorted which we almost have now, in spite of Dogs teeth gnashing and stomping their foot through media when pick 15 got downgraded. Not waiting for you to make up your mind on Dunkley trade was the correct decision and it has worked out well for us overall.
Lol there was never us making up our mind, your original offer was 15 & F1 for 30, 39 and a F3 which was complete bullshit.

If you’ve upgraded your hand now and can still offer us what we originally wanted, ie two firsts or equivalent then sure you’ve done well & we’ve still got what we wanted. That still requires you shifting dramatically from your current position

No one is gnashing or stomping though, we have our price and its up to you guys if you want him that badly to pay it. Nothing has changed since negotiations started.

There's no need to invent drama.

So judging by the laugh reacts Brissy supporters aren’t happy with 21 & ~16, ~32 & ~36 for 39 & Dunks?

But previously they made it quite clear 2nd rounders aren’t worth anything and we were stupid not to give them ours for 1sts, so wonder why you wouldn’t take that deal which is easily in your favour still

Except even if you walk him to the draft he has a choice of signing a contract or not, and can just wait till he is a delisted free agent and walk into Brisbane anyway.

(Pointless talking about because if it happens both clubs will get a tap on the shoulder from AFL house telling them that whatever the last offer was has been accepted and to deal with it because they don't even want the possibility of a restraint of trade suit)

Restraint of trade is back!

Lol there was never us making up our mind, your original offer was 15 & F1 for 30, 39 and a F3 which was complete bullshit.

If you’ve upgraded your hand now and can still offer us what we originally wanted, ie two firsts or equivalent then sure you’ve done well & we’ve still got what we wanted. That still requires you shifting dramatically from your current position

Yep our original offer was exactly what we needed to address our points scenario. You didn't like it which is fine and you clearly didn't want to work with us either. Then you've to sit back and be quiet while we were sorting it out ourselves.

But you did run to media crying about the offer and subsequent pick downgrade. Shows who panicked and couldn't keep up with what was going on.

Except even if you walk him to the draft he has a choice of signing a contract or not, and can just wait till he is a delisted free agent and walk into Brisbane anyway.

(Pointless talking about because if it happens both clubs will get a tap on the shoulder from AFL house telling them that whatever the last offer was has been accepted and to deal with it because they don't even want the possibility of a restraint of trade suit)
Tell us you don’t understand how the system works without saying that

No one is gnashing or stomping though, we have our price and its up to you guys if you want him that badly to pay it. Nothing has changed since negotiations started.

There's no need to invent drama.

Drama was invented the moment you ran to media mate.
Waa waa, big bad Lions downgraded pick 15, we'll let Dunkley go to PSD, guess who started it ?

What do opposition fans (ie not the Brissy nuffs in here who think they’re only giving up a F1) think of this:

21, F1, F2 & F2 for Dunks & 39.

Effectively 1x late first rounder, 1x early 2nd, 1x late 2nd & an upgrade from early 3rd to late 2nd for Dunks.

Could also do just 21, F1, F2 as absolute minimum we’d take, but the extra pick swap gets them more points this year

Leaves Brissy with 3200 points

Think you should add in rights to Will Ashcroft just to even things up

Yep our original offer was exactly what we needed to address our points scenario. You didn't like it which is fine and you clearly didn't want to work with us either. Then you've to sit back and be quiet while we were sorting it out ourselves.

But you did run to media crying about the offer and subsequent pick downgrade. Shows who panicked and couldn't keep up with what was going on.
Clearly didn’t want to work with you? We told you not to trade 15 yet and you did so obviously the ones not wanting to work was you.

We then said to media our position, ie we will walk him to the draft if the offers not up to scratch, as is our right. No sooking at all, great you’ve gone off and done your own thing you now have the capacity to pay whilst we’ve sat tight and waited. So pay up what’s required and get on with it

I think this whole idea that trades set "benchmarks" is just a massive furphy, tbh.

Player worth is independent of how stupid another team was or wasn't. Trades exist on a huge spectrum - from those that hugely advantage the buyer (Josh Kennedy for a spare training footy, Patrick Dangerfield for p9, p28 and a fringe player), to those that hugely advantage the seller (Jesse Hogan 1st time, Dayne Beams every time).

Correct…Mark Stevens is a 🤡

I’ve noticed many Melbourne-based journos playing PR manager for the Melbourne-based teams…it’s kinda sad to see them compromising their integrity (😂) to pander to the biggest supporter bases

Better start getting used to the reality that you are not getting 2 first rounders no matter how much you huff and puff like your club has in the media. Hasn't it been fascinating to watch?

Lions quietly going about the business while Doggies, Power, Pickering all making plenty of noise in the media.

Better start getting used to the reality that you are not getting 2 first rounders no matter how much you huff and puff like your club has in the media. Hasn't it been fascinating to watch?

Lions quietly going about the business while Doggies, Power, Pickering all making plenty of noise in the media.
If we don’t get two firsts or equivalent you don’t get Dunkley it’s that simple, what do you think you’ll offer then?

As I mentioned, 21, F1, F2 and upgrade from 39 to F2 is close enough to equivalent - will you pay it though? Doesn’t seem like it at this point

You do realise all your good work is for nothing if you still can’t get Dunkley over the line, trade periods not over yet mate

Drama was invented the moment you ran to media mate.
Waa waa, big bad Lions downgraded pick 15, we'll let Dunkley go to PSD, guess who started it ?

No one ran anywhere though, people are asked to comment and they give an update. We want 2 first rounders and we'll deal, it's a consistent message.

Lipinski was a fringe player, hardly anything else you could have expected there.

I agree Taranto is a good comparison, I actually think Dunkleys has better upside than Taranto, I can’t wait to see him in a lions jumper next year.

We don’t know what the trade will be, but the speculated pick 21 and F1 is comparable to 12 and 19, which bizarrely Bulldogs supporters refuse to acknowledge

The Taranto trade is the precedent - an early to mid first and an early second. Lions have no need to offer more than that now that the precedent has been established

Clearly didn’t want to work with you? We told you not to trade 15 yet and you did so obviously the ones not wanting to work was you.

We then said to media our position, ie we will walk him to the draft if the offers not up to scratch, as is our right. No sooking at all, great you’ve gone off and done your own thing you now have the capacity to pay whilst we’ve sat tight and waited. So pay up what’s required and get on with it

We were always going to trade 15 or Future first to get our points. Those are our most valuable assets draft hand wise and there were no current players who were penciled in for a trade move of their own interest. We were not going to march players out who want to stay and continue with us. Done it before and it just set our club back for nearly 6+ years, that mistake will not happen again.

So you're saying give us 15 and future first - that was going to happen only if you help us solve the points issue. If you say points is Lions problem to solve, then you can get in the queue and wait while we go to work with one of our first picks. This is exactly what we did.

Traded Josh Dunkley - [Traded with F3 (Melb), F3 to Brisbane for #21, F1, F2, F4 (Geel)]