Recommitted Josh Kelly [re-signed]

Wow! How far is one match going to get you? What is it going to prove?

Face it. Many would rather take Carlton's list over your lot for long-term.

I'm honestly struggling to work out how you arrived at this conclusion.

I think your side is a mile off being a genuine finals contender, and the fact North (a side with a heavy offensive focus) beat Carlton (a side with a heavy defensive focus) is testament to the differences between the sides.

I absolutely acknowledge the North lists shortcoming, but I truly believe our issues can be fixed with less changes than your side.

Goldstein's trade value is no longer equivalent to a first-round pick.

That should go without saying.

Yes agreed but if we paid majority of his hefty salary in 2018 they might view him as worth a punt.
They might want us to pony up Pick 22 to go with it.

Pick 4 + Pick 22 & Goldy (Most of his salary paid by us next year.)

I can handle it. I just think the way you're bending over backwards to write off GWS's flag chances for the next two seasons smacks of desperation.

I'm not sure what facts you're talking about.

What you've offered so far is an absurdly skewed account of GWS's prospects, spliced with cliches and wishful thinking.

They might not win this year.

But they are better placed to have a crack in 2018-19 than any team trying to poach Kelly. So if on-field success in the immediate future is one of his criteria, that would favour GWS over everyone else.

What desperation? I just simply stated my opinion for why I can't see them winning a flag. GWS have often been criticized for their lack of unity. I see the clash of individuality and not seeing eye to eye a possible reason why it could block them from seeing a premiership. If they can fix that up, then they probably will see a flag, maybe even two. If you think different, good for you. So there is no need to jump down my throat.

If Kelly's decision is based purely on success then he would of signed by now. Compare GWS to the other teams after his services. Giants are miles ahead. So having not done so obviously means something else. There is more to it that we may not know. Maybe he just wants the season to finish first (yet Hopper decided before the finals so that would be a pretty stupid reason. It would've taken pressure off his back if he did the same). Most likely it could be based on how far the giants go from here. Besides, do you think he will unhesitatingly say yes to a new deal if they lost the semi this week after doing one better last season? He will most likely have a long hard think about his future after it's all over.

I just pointed out one or two possible reasons for why he is still yet to decide on what he wants to do and then you immediately jump all over me. Yes everyone wants to win a flag, but there can be more to switching clubs than just money or success.

I think your side is a mile off being a genuine finals contender

Geebus! You gone soft? That is oh so much nicer than I'd have put it if asked. Have finished 16th, 14th,18th and 13th over the last four season and have won 24 of their last 88.

Unless you're a shit judge of distance I'd suggest a mile isn't near enough.

Not if hes waiting to see if we somehow start playing football and jag a flag to make his decision.

Extra week or 2 doesnt change the likelihood if that was the base of his decision. We will find out soon enough what his decision is
So what you are saying is he has not made a decision yet and soley basing it on the last 2 games. So do you think he will leave if you win the flag. Not trying to be smart just interested in your opinions thanks.

I think your side is a mile off being a genuine finals contender, and the fact North (a side with a heavy offensive focus) beat Carlton (a side with a heavy defensive focus) is testament to the differences between the sides.

I absolutely acknowledge the North lists shortcoming, but I truly believe our issues can be fixed with less changes than your side.

Both sides are miles off. Carlton destroyed themselves with impatience when it decided to sack Ratten. They paid the price.
North had a window and blew it. Carrying one too many old blokes and barely focused on the youth. They are now paying the price.

Yes, it is known that my team plays unattractive footy. But the coach is teaching the kids to defend first. It's nothing the club is going to stick with forever. By 2019-20 they will hit the scoreboard more often.

As for the last line, that is a matter of opinion. I see my team being fixed with less changes than yours. All we need is a fit and healthy list, more midfield class and more attacking. But everywhere I look, I see articles and other people saying how Carlton are in better shape for their star factor and pillars going forward and I understand why. So don't shoot the messenger here. Perhaps argue with them.

Our side in 2019 if we landed Kelly through a deal like the one i suggested.
We could be back in finals and we also be able to hit the 2018 draft hard
All hypothetical.

FB - M.Williams (26) - Durdin (23) - Nielson (23)
HB - Macdonald (24) - Tarrant (30) - Atley (26)
C - Clarke (22) - Kelly (24) - Mountford (22)
HF - Ziebell (28) - Brown (26) - Garner (25)
FF - Turner (23) - Wood (25) - Simpkin (21)

R - Preuss (23) - Cunnington (28) - Dumont (24)
INT - Higgins (31) - Ahern (23) - Zuuhaar (21) - Hrovat (25)

Is this your read on why he hasn't committed yet?

Don't you think this is odd?

I can't remember another big name player that has done this and stayed, does anyone else?
I know as much as everyone.

I know he said his decision will be made at the end of the season. And nothing has been said since that has any real truth to it.

I dont really think its odd if i use an example as i did previously because then i can just sit back and not be affected by all the bs speculation. Its like my own "happy place" where i dream of losing the gf and keeping josh. Or win the gf and lose josh.

Yep my own happy place is just as conflicting as this thread.

So what you are saying is he has not made a decision yet and soley basing it on the last 2 games. So do you think he will leave if you win the flag. Not trying to be smart just interested in your opinions thanks.
I think he will stay if we dont win the gf.

But i dont have any hun articles or twitter links to justify my solid evidence and sources

Both sides are miles off.

This doesn't appear to even approach what you stated earlier.

Yes, it is known that my team plays unattractive footy. But the coach is teaching the kids to defend first. It's nothing the club is going to stick with forever. By 2019-20 they will hit the scoreboard more often.

I hope for your sake that this is correct and your coach isn't masking deficiencies.

As for the last line, that is a matter of opinion. I see my team being fixed with less changes than yours. All we need is a fit and healthy list, more midfield class and more attacking. But everywhere I look, I see articles and other people saying how Carlton are in better shape for their star factor and pillars going forward and I understand why. So don't shoot the messenger here. Perhaps argue with them.

Two ready to go midfielders and we are back in the top 8.

I can't see two players making that difference with Carlton.

I know as much as everyone.

I know he said his decision will be made at the end of the season. And nothing has been said since that has any real truth to it.

I dont really think its odd if i use an example as i did previously because then i can just sit back and not be affected by all the bs speculation. Its like my own "happy place" where i dream of losing the gf and keeping josh. Or win the gf and lose josh.

Yep my own happy place is just as conflicting as this thread.

If he stays, he stays and if he goes, he goes, but this dragging out of the re-signing is a bizarre scenario if he's staying.

I can't recall it happening before.

If he stays, he stays and if he goes, he goes, but this dragging out of the re-signing is a bizarre scenario if he's staying.

I can't recall it happening before.
Very few teams have been in the position we are.

I can actually tell you how many times this situation has happened. Zero.

Its only bizarre because there is no comparative circumstance. Given our situation i find it normal. Maybe to an extent that is just how i view it because i kinda know what trade period means for us.

If thats the case. Im the wrong person to ask about why this is bizarre

This doesn't appear to even approach what you stated earlier.

I only ever said that Carlton were in better shape going forward. That in no way meant they were finals contenders and North weren't

I hope for your sake that this is correct and your coach isn't masking deficiencies.

What deficiencies would he be masking? Most have clearly pointed out that our midfield is the root of our problems.

Our backline looks as if it could be one of the very best in years to come.
Our forward line may not look pretty from where we sit, but it's hard to look good with the lack of time and space they have, especially when they receive poor delivery. A slow game plan is going to see them with harder expectations to meet (like outmatching an opposition's well-structured defense). More attacking can make them look heaps better. But our forward line deficiencies mostly stem from the midfield.

Losing Cripps and E.Curnow exposed us badly. It is why we are making a play for Kelly and looking for other alternatives in case Kelly is out of the question (since North and St. Kilda are making bigger plays for him).

Two ready to go midfielders and we are back in the top 8.

I can't see two players making that difference with Carlton.

Funny because that is what we need to try and contend for the 8 in 2 years time.
That and the continuation of getting the kids to gel together.

I personally can't see the same way with North. Again, it's a matter of opinion.

Everyone posts crap on their own board, if someone from another club decides to read it then that is their own issue. This particular thread includes a number of different clubs, yet it is only one that is acting childish.
From this thread alone, a lot from St Kilda posters.

Kinda like the sound of the TassieRoos. Got a good ring to it :D
No way Kelly would want to play for the Tassie Roos
Wonder whether Kelly factors in the Tassie situation if he is considering North .
10 years is a long time and many changes can take place over the lifespan of a contract like that ...
Does the talk of Tassie affect Kelly's decision? He'll be on a long term deal so wouldn't the threat of playing even more games in Tassie come into consideration here?
Wanted heeney, moved onto Kelly and dusty. End up with suban.

Lolz
Yeah I'm sure Josh would love the prospect of playing in front of 10,000 down in Tassie every week. I can't wait until you blokes end up with Mitch Honeychurch at the end of the trade period after all the players you've supposedly gone after, least desirable club in the AFL

Real maturity shown by saints and blues posters. This is only a portion of the juvenile crap written in this thread and there's a whole lot of deleted stuff from this thread, but keep your head in the ground about big bad north posters.

I actually agree with your reasoning re the timing of the annoucement is the strongest indicator, and he is very likely keaving.
You lost me using meaningless speculation as evidence of anything though.

Nah wasn't going off the media reports, but off our reliable ITK posters on our board.

If Kelly does leave, i think it will be proven that the 'Kelly is staying at GWS' talk was a tactical ploy to keep the speculation down and let GWS focus on finals.
And so far it's worked very well, you barely hear about him anymore.

Our side in 2019 if we landed Kelly through a deal like the one i suggested.
We could be back in finals and we also be able to hit the 2018 draft hard
All hypothetical.

FB - M.Williams (26) - Durdin (23) - Nielson (23)
HB - Macdonald (24) - Tarrant (30) - Atley (26)
C - Clarke (22) - Kelly (24) - Mountford (22)
HF - Ziebell (28) - Brown (26) - Garner (25)
FF - Turner (23) - Wood (25) - Simpkin (21)

R - Preuss (23) - Cunnington (28) - Dumont (24)
INT - Higgins (31) - Ahern (23) - Zuuhaar (21) - Hrovat (

Tough times ahead looking at that .... no offence mate but your club will be down the bottom of the ladder for a while yet . Not a hope Kelly considers that list a option . Blues hawks pies bombers will trump you . North Melbourne would be last on his list if he had to chose . Take your medicine and go to the draft for 3 seasons .

A lot of crying by carlton supporters in here. The media rates your team because you collect high draft picks and then the media hands out rising star noms just because they are highly ranked. You went backwards this year. Kelly is smart enough to tlread between the lines and understand North are in a better position than both carlton and st kilda.

Ace Cannon
You do realise your team finished 13th last season? Things can click in an instant. The sense of entitlement by richmond supporters is laughable. Thank christ you haven't had the last decade hawthorn and geelong have had. The competition is very even and if a few things go right you can be in with a real shot.

I think he will stay if we dont win the gf.

But i dont have any hun articles or twitter links to justify my solid evidence and sources

Odds of Kelly staying at GWS - $6.00
Odds of Kelly being at North in '18 - $1.10

IMHO.

However.........Do North fans really believe it's because JK thinks your list is better than Carlton?

Laughable!

From this thread alone, a lot from St Kilda posters.

Real maturity shown by saints and blues posters. This is only a portion of the juvenile crap written in this thread and there's a whole lot of deleted stuff from this thread, but keep your head in the ground about big bad north posters.

Jesus we play 3 games there a year.
We are never relocating there, period.
They act like its such a horrible place haha.

And we are the immature ones !

It's not. Your list is terrible.
Carltons is better and I hate them, so admitting that is not easy.

KELLY will be a Roo because of money #1, and connection #2.
Yeah but you're a big footy peasant so your opinion is about as useful as terry wallace's.

Our list is good. Even across the voard and ready to improve. Get some luck with injuries and North is laughing. Only issue is A-grade talent in midfield (have cunnington). Kelly fits that requirement.

Recommitted Josh Kelly [re-signed]