Judd and Hodge...again but difft

I concede Judd is a better player, BUT who has more impact on a team?

It's line ball when you add Hodge's fearlessness, his continuous yelling of instructions during a game (just watch one to see how much of a General he is) and his adaptability.

1. Fearlessness - every player walks a bit taller when he comes on. He puts his body much more on the line than Judd.

2. A General and clearly our ON-FIELD captain. Even Mitch said this. Mitch is great and clean cut, good for the media and a good player. But not a Hodge.

3. Hodge goes in the guts, CHB, Forward and is clearly more versatile than Judd.

BUT Judd has that speed factor which takes your breath away and he's a fabulous player - the best INDIVIDUAL in the league.

Judd is as quiet as a mouse on the field as a leader and hence is not much of a Captain in my eyes, but he's a super gun. So who has more impact on a team?

I still may lean toward Judd, but Hodge as a package makes it more difficult to decide who I would take.

And don't give us this Brownlow Norm Smith crap. Lethal never won a Charlie and was voted the greatest of all time. A charlie is just the Umps view. And clearly they favour Judd - refer eye gouge/Brown tribunal farce(Farmer would have copped 6 weeks for that). Though Judd deserves a Brownlow. As a package who is it? And I don't mind if everyone picks Judd. Just interested.

Obviously a Happy Hawk is a hawk on drugs. List your top 10 of the AFL and I bet once all the acid is out of your system Hodge wouldn't be in that list. Lucy in the sky with dimonds!!:D

Judd's record speaks for itself when he is fit and flying.

Something on Hodge which Judd does not have. Toughness and pushing through pain. In the final against the Crows we were 33 points down and Hodge goes off hopping in pain. Did not look good. Watched him on the boundry line flicking away medical staff trying to run off the pain. Goes back on soon after and I kid you not he hopped straight out into the centre square and I was thinking what is the coach doing. Two seconds later he puts his body on the line by diving into an opponent like a catepolt knowing he was going to get a hard hit but at the same time gets a handball away to a running player who sends it down forward and we get a goal out of it. I love this bloke and as good as Judd is don't care as I don't think that Judd would have done this in the circumstances. At the end of there careers Judd may be in front but not by much.

Judd's record speaks for itself when he is fit and flying.

Something on Hodge which Judd does not have. Toughness and pushing through pain. Against the Crows we were 33 points down and Hodge goes off hopping in pain. Did not look good. Watched him on the boundry line flicking away medical staff trying to run off the pain. Goes back on soon after and I kid you not he hopped straight out into the centre square and I was thinking what is the caoch doing. Two seconds later he puts his body on the line by diving into an opponent like a catepolt knowing he was going to get a hard hit but at the same time gets a handball away to a running player who sends it down forward and we get a goal out of it. I love this bloke and as good as Judd is don't care as I don't think that Judd would have done this in the circumstances. At the end of there careers Judd may be in front but not by much.

Considering he played most of the season this year with OP whilst clearly in pain, topped the contested possession tally for the past couple of seasons, racks up heaps of hardball gets, etc... I would not say that Judd is a slouch in the 'hardness' department.

David Parkin has said on a number of occassions that when Hodge arrived at Hawthorn the club had never seen a worse case of OP. Every one talks about Judd's OP but never remember what Hodge has had to manage.

Another thing about that Crows game I remember is that Mathews while commentating said that Hodge's courage reminded him of Voss's courage. Mathew's does not muck around with words and Luke's courage should be acknowledged as something he has over Judd.

So Seethus still wants to argue that a player who wins a Brownlow is automatically better than one who hasn't......:D

When are you going to learn, or are you just too thick/stubborn?

It has nothing to do with the poll results my friend, you ask any person who knows anything about football and they will all tell you same thing, winning a Brownlow does not automaically propell you into being better than anyone who hasn't won one.

Who is was a better player out of Tony Liberatore and Leigh Matthews?

Scott Wynd or Gary Ablett Snr?

Come on mate, back up your theory and tell us which of these players were better. :thumbsu:

Hodge is not as good as Judd
Bartel is not as good as Kerr

Has nothing to do with Brownlows my friend, one player is simply a better player then the other, very simple. :rolleyes:
Forgive me if I dont roll over and change my mind, because the almighty Sir Jim has again stated his own INDIVIDUAL OPINION. :rolleyes:
Im not going to go and say Paul couch is better than Gary Ablett because he won a brownlow, and Snr didnt. But it sure goes a long way to prove your a good bloody player!
It just happens that Jimmy has achieved alot, INCLUDING a brownlow.
Forgive me that I use it as evidence, I know you're not accustomed to analysing facts ;)

I love it how you ended with 'Come on mate, back up your theory and tell us which of these players were better' as if you are the one providing legit evidence. LOL. Sorry my brain cant deal with that amount of reversed reality.
How about you show me where Kerr has achieved MORE in his career than Bartel. NOT YOUR OPINION, Im sick of hearing it. Facts mate.

Forgive me if I dont roll over and change my mind, because the almighty Sir Jim has again stated his own INDIVIDUAL OPINION. :rolleyes:
Im not going to go and say Paul couch is better than Gary Ablett because he won a brownlow, and Snr didnt. But it sure goes a long way to prove your a good bloody player!
It just happens that Jimmy has achieved alot, INCLUDING a brownlow.
Forgive me that I use it as evidence, I know you're not accustomed to analysing facts ;)

I love it how you ended with 'Come on mate, back up your theory and tell us which of these players were better' as if you are the one providing legit evidence. LOL. Sorry my brain cant deal with that amount of reversed reality.
How about you show me where Kerr has achieved MORE in his career than Bartel. NOT YOUR OPINION, Im sick of hearing it. Facts mate.

Can i ask how old you are? You just seem very naive and you use words such as evidence and proof when discussing topics such as these. Anyone who actually believes that one can provide proof or evidence in order to state one player is better than another, clearly is not the sharpest tool in the shed. Providing statistics neither proves or disproves a players rating. You keep saying you don't want to hear opinions but only proof, don't you understand that when rating a player, it is based on opinion and is subjective. Sure, people take into account what players have and haven't acheived in there careers but there are many other factors which are taken into account, at the end of the day a person forms an opinion on who they believe is a better player. It is impossible to provide evidence to prove a players worth and they fact that you believe it can be done makes me think you must be about 11 years old.

I can reel off the many reasons why Kerr is a better player than Bartel and come up with all of the so called facts you are after but i don't think you are the sort of person to take any notice anyway. You are clearly a very biased football follower who fails to see reason. In the poll that was conducted 99 people voted for Kerr and 23 voted for Bartel (all the Geelong supporters), 99 people were of the opinion that Kerr is a better player. More often than note if you have such an overwhelming level of support, it would tend to mean that in fact the majority of people were right, don't you think?

BTW, Hird was named as the 3rd greatest player to ever represent the Essendon football club, if he didn't win a Brownlow he would still have been ranked at number 3. You can ask any Essendon supporter and they will tell you the same thing. :thumbsu:

Can i ask how old you are? You just seem very naive and you use words such as evidence and proof when discussing topics such as these. Anyone who actually believes that one can provide proof or evidence in order to state one player is better than another, clearly is not the sharpest tool in the shed. Providing statistics neither proves or disproves a players rating. You keep saying you don't want to hear opinions but only proof, don't you understand that when rating a player, it is based on opinion and is subjective. Sure, people take into account what players have and haven't acheived in there careers but there are many other factors which are taken into account, at the end of the day a person forms an opinion on who they believe is a better player. It is impossible to provide evidence to prove a players worth and they fact that you believe it can be done makes me think you must be about 11 years old.

I can reel off the many reasons why Kerr is a better player than Bartel and come up with all of the so called facts you are after but i don't think you are the sort of person to take any notice anyway. You are clearly a very biased football follower who fails to see reason. In the poll that was conducted 99 people voted for Kerr and 23 voted for Bartel (all the Geelong supporters), 99 people were of the opinion that Kerr is a better player. More often than note if you have such an overwhelming level of support, it would tend to mean that in fact the majority of people were right, don't you think?

BTW, Hird was named as the 3rd greatest player to ever represent the Essendon football club, if he didn't win a Brownlow he would still have been ranked at number 3. You can ask any Essendon supporter and they will tell you the same thing. :thumbsu:
Yes I know you started a Bigfooty poll. Good on you. Just because I dont believe its evidence doesnt make me "Naive" or "Biased" The fact that you use PERSONAL ATTACKS really reflects on your character, and your inability to form coherent arguments to prove your point.
'YOU MUST BE 11 YEARS OLD LOL'
Wow I should give up now, thats a really convincing argument you have there mate :rolleyes:

I can reel off the many reasons why Kerr is a better player than Bartel and come up with all of the so called facts

What? Whats that, you are actually going to give me facts? Oh please do!
I cant wait to hear your justification of the Greatness of Kerr as opposed to Bartel

Yes I know you started a Bigfooty poll. Good on you. Just because I dont believe its evidence doesnt make me "Naive" or "Biased" The fact that you use PERSONAL ATTACKS really reflects on your character, and your inability to form coherent arguments to prove your point.
'YOU MUST BE 11 YEARS OLD LOL'
Wow I should give up now, thats a really convincing argument you have there mate :rolleyes:

Opps theres that word again......big fan of Judge Judy are we? :D

Sorry mate, not going to go into the whole Kerr vs Bartel thing again, it's already been done and you lost........BAD!

I suggest you go back and read through the posts, there are many, many relevent points on why Kerr is a far better player than Bartel. :thumbsu:

Kerr>>>>Ablett>>Bartel.....

Oh wait Ablett hasn't won a Brownlow either, better scratch him off that list then...:p

Opps theres that word again......big fan of Judge Judy are we? :D

Sorry mate, not going to go into the whole Kerr vs Bartel thing again, it's already been done and you lost........BAD!
What word? facts?
the only 'BAD!' thing in this whole situation is that you cant accept that all you've 'WON' is the right of your opinion, so nice try bud :thumbsu:
You never gave any reasons, you never "won" anything.
If anyone should be having a go at someone for acting like a Child its me to you.

I concede Judd is a better player, BUT who has more impact on a team?

It's line ball when you add Hodge's fearlessness, his continuous yelling of instructions during a game (just watch one to see how much of a General he is) and his adaptability.

BUT Judd has that speed factor which takes your breath away and he's a fabulous player - the best INDIVIDUAL in the league.

Judd is as quiet as a mouse on the field as a leader and hence is not much of a Captain in my eyes, but he's a super gun. So who has more impact on a team?

I still may lean toward Judd, but Hodge as a package makes it more difficult to decide who I would take.

...... As a package who is it?

not in the same ball park i'm afraid.

..and some of the things u want to hype Hodge about can be bad things on the paddock.

The bloke mouths off far too much and there's been way too many times when u see him finger pointing or yelling at teammates but allowing his own man free. Bad Habit and egotistical.
Yelling orders that are no better than anyone else's isnt his job...maximising his own contribution is his job. Barking orders and finger pointing are totally meaningless but must look impressive to you for some reason.

Yelling orders and finger pointing doesnt make u a leader of men...those orders can be totally useless, confusing, wrong and also detrimental to the other guys.

Leading by example makes u a leader....i'm probably not the only one that has found that the guys barking the most orders on the ground can simply be the guys with a lesser fitness level and are puffed.

Hodge is a good player but not anywhere near Judd's level.

u say couragous. i say ball is way more coragous. and u guys always talk about judd and hodge. when ball is fully fit he is as good as those two. they are all about equal with judd slighty ahead but you saw climpses of wat ball can do like one of his games this year 30 possessions and 3 goals. and don't gimmy that injured shit because ball had the same surgery as jud by the same surgeon so watch out for next. p.s we had sydneys injury guy yay

ball is very courageous, yes....but his injuries have held him back, in as much as showing what he can do talent wise. It will be interesting to see whether Ball will recapture some good form. Judd has been talking to Ball about his injuries, so we will see if judd slows down any. However, your still dreaming, when all of them are fit, Judd>>Hodge>>>Ball

Originally Posted by HappyHawk
Judd is as quiet as a mouse on the field as a leader and hence is not much of a Captain in my eyes, but he's a super gun.
So what? James Hird was pretty quiet but he was one of the best captains ever.

As for Hodge being far tougher than Judd, I disagree completely. People get blinded by the fact that Judd breaks away from packs so often, but he wins heaps of contested footy, hence why he was one of the leading hard-ball get winners in 2006.

Obviously a Happy Hawk is a hawk on drugs. List your top 10 of the AFL and I bet once all the acid is out of your system Hodge wouldn't be in that list. Lucy in the sky with dimonds!!:D

Mods. Can we get this idiot off the board. If not, I will refer this to the club.

not in the same ball park i'm afraid.

..and some of the things u want to hype Hodge about can be bad things on the paddock.

The bloke mouths off far too much and there's been way too many times when u see him finger pointing or yelling at teammates but allowing his own man free. Bad Habit and egotistical.
Yelling orders that are no better than anyone else's isnt his job...maximising his own contribution is his job. Barking orders and finger pointing are totally meaningless but must look impressive to you for some reason.

Yelling orders and finger pointing doesnt make u a leader of men...those orders can be totally useless, confusing, wrong and also detrimental to the other guys.

Leading by example makes u a leader....i'm probably not the only one that has found that the guys barking the most orders on the ground can simply be the guys with a lesser fitness level and are puffed.

Hodge is a good player but not anywhere near Judd's level.

Hey noodle. Why does Mitchell call Hodge our on field captain. Before you post go get a brain transplant with a chimp. Then you might post something even close to accurate or enlightening.:confused:

Judd and Hodge...again but difft